Dublin people do not extend the hand Friendship

Replying To theweanling:  "I don't know who Tom is or where he's from. but i'm starting to think hes some sort of comical genius. Just look at the terms he has used in order to reel as many of you in as possible. ''away up to dublin'' (a play on the backward cavan man) touched on the ''loud'' dubs and how you leave early (knowing full well this has been thrown around against dubs for years.......and then finishes off with mention of a lockhard.
And still people fall for it. Tom you're a rascal hahaha!!!!"
I don't know who Tom is or where he's from.
methinks this cavan man doth protest too much.

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 17/08/2016 14:16:18    1902301

Tom, what have u done!
What a rogue
What a legend

Tom for Taoiseach
Enda for the OCI!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 17/08/2016 14:28:29    1902304

Replying To Jaden:  "And worse that that, the Flithy Dubs that we are, we would probably queue up to shake the hand of the man who did it, whilst getting our picture taken with him. We'd put it on the mantelpiece, next to an old and tattered black & white photo of our Grandparents holding Sam.....

I have to say, OP is a great fisher of men. I took the bait whole. Well Played Sir. :)"
Hahaha

Gas post!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/08/2016 14:32:21    1902306

Great stuff Tom Smith

Probably the funniest post I've ever read, laughin out loud stuff.

People who are even replying to this seriously are just as funny.

Brilliant.

Absolutely brilliant.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 17/08/2016 15:36:38    1902334

Jesus..I fell for this hook, line and sinker. Feeling stooopid now, duhhhh.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 17/08/2016 16:34:40    1902363

Replying To avonali:  "Jesus..I fell for this hook, line and sinker. Feeling stooopid now, duhhhh."
Always play the double bluff!

There are those that also fall for it that agree with it...

And there's an opportunity there to annoy

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/08/2016 16:39:43    1902366

I'm glad you guys are getting such a laugh out of Tom. Cavan's finest export, eh. .

Spare a thought for those of us who use the Cavan forum page too and have to deal with this s***e on the double!!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 17/08/2016 17:08:01    1902378

im perplexed there are over 215 clubs in dublin and if you just put 800 people per club which is rediculously low for some clubs you get 172K people, its probably around 350K (but taking out young kids) . So to say there are a lot of people in croke park that are not real gaa fans is insane. The differenc ein dublin is most people follow a number of sports not just gaa.
There aint no county in ireland that doesnt have good or bad supporters.
However my rela question is why is it always Louth, cavan and monaghan fans that have this 20 foot chip on their shoulder about dublin, most of them work in dublin or families do so......
Probably the closest fans from mutual respect to dublin fans are kerry fans.

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 17/08/2016 17:52:17    1902394

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith Cavan here
On virtually all the times that I go away up to Dublin to games I have noticed that the Dublin people appear to either not like the Country Cousin coming up to GAA games or just simply look on us as fare game to make a few Euros on us.It seems that Dublin feel that the GAA belongs to them and that we from the Country should be glad to be afforded the opportunity to visit Croke Park. It is that feeling that I get every time I go. The Dublin supporters are very arrogant and loud, They decide when to come into a game ( ie last minute) and when to leave. If Dublin are getting beat the Dubs are gone before full time. Even lockhard will not look after your car for nothing. All are out the money from us"
helloTomsmith here live again
I made several good points in my first post concerning my gut feeling on my visits to Dublins GAA fields, I take onboard what some of say about the friendly Dublin city, Sure it is all non National that are working where this survey was done in the Tourist section.what Dubs would work there. I still stand over my comments that Dublin is very in-hospital place (years ago standing under C-----Clock was traumatic) and that people should while not being frightened should be on ones guard. I feel that Dublin Gaa people can be robust in the support of the County team which has one contributor stated what he saw against Donegal Supporters. I applaud him for his views . I also say let others speak out and dont be intimidated

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 17/08/2016 18:11:10    1902407

Replying To jimbodub:  "http://www.independent.ie/life/travel/travel-news/cad-mle-filte-dublin-voted-second-friendliest-city-in-the-world-31457386.html"
They forgot to mention that the pollsters said at 4 o'clock in the morning!

offtheboat (USA) - Posts: 57 - 17/08/2016 19:11:11    1902427

So Tom, does Mrs Tom accompany you on your trips to the capital and have you taken out a Brown Thomas storecard for her to amuse herself while you're at the game?

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 17/08/2016 20:12:29    1902453

Replying To jimbodub:  "Always play the double bluff!

There are those that also fall for it that agree with it...

And there's an opportunity there to annoy"
Oh you were playing the double bluff were you, answer for everything, lol. The Dublin clique out in force ridiculing every other county, the like hits aren't going so well for some of you, some of those culchies who are as bad as you here will soon pass you out. All counties have fans who behave like animals including Galway & it's wrong but the Dubs, what are they like, in 1974 I saw kids hurt in the Nally stand by Dub fans with the big timber poles that held up their flags they were allowed to bring in that time by driving them through the fence between Hill 16 & the Nally at the Galway kids. The same day the pulled two Galway lads off the flat concrete roof toilet that was on the hill then & beat them senseless, pure scum. In 1983 the ammount of Galway lads bet up outside the Hill alleyway was terrible & the ammount of buses that had windows smashed that evening on the old road at the hill in Lucan was a disgrace. Over 10 buses stoned that night, I was on one & kids sitting in seats where rocks shattered the glass. So yeah Tom was correct & the only man playing the double bluff was Tom, giving it to ye as he sees it but getting a rise out of ye as well.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 17/08/2016 22:16:06    1902512

Replying To tomsmith:  "helloTomsmith here live again
I made several good points in my first post concerning my gut feeling on my visits to Dublins GAA fields, I take onboard what some of say about the friendly Dublin city, Sure it is all non National that are working where this survey was done in the Tourist section.what Dubs would work there. I still stand over my comments that Dublin is very in-hospital place (years ago standing under C-----Clock was traumatic) and that people should while not being frightened should be on ones guard. I feel that Dublin Gaa people can be robust in the support of the County team which has one contributor stated what he saw against Donegal Supporters. I applaud him for his views . I also say let others speak out and dont be intimidated"
Legend.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 17/08/2016 22:56:25    1902530

In a former life, I used to work in a call centre taking calls from all corners of the country. I found Dubs to be the friendliest and most easy going. Even if there was a feck up on their account, they were philosophical about it and generally accepted it as one of those things. I found Cork people to be the most temperamental, they would fly off the handle about any little thing. It could have been the pitch of their accent though, it sometimes sounds argumentative when it might not necessarily mean to be.

Any Dubs fans I've met have been salt of the earth though. I had great craic with a few of them the night of the match v Laois. I will agree with Tom that prices in Dublin are steep. But Dublin people have to pay those prices every day, we only have to pay them a few times a year on our trips to the capital.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 17/08/2016 23:41:23    1902544

Rumour has it that it was Dublin Gaa that decided to charge 2 x tolls on the M3
(And only charge the Navan lads one) in a nutshell how the the dubs regard the Cavan men.

And it doesn't stop at that - when ye asked for management help they sent down Tommy Carr

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 18/08/2016 00:28:21    1902552

Replying To jimbodub:  "Yeah it only a matter of time before we start running on the pitch to attack refs...."
But shur ye already do that. Remember the U21 game earlier this year between Mayo and Dublin?

A Dub gentleman had to be restrained after he went for the ref at the end of the game.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 18/08/2016 03:56:09    1902562

Replying To jimbodub:  "Oh I've seen and heard a few choice bandwagon Tyrone fans in my time too, and sure we've seen former players being spat on as they sat in the crowd.

No doubting Dublin has some bad fans, no doubt but going to the effort of highlighting such things is just stating the obvious, a more than a tad bit passive aggressive

You never see Dublin fans bringing up points about "bad apples" amongst rival counties support - if you do it's usually in response to the tired aul posts we see drummed out.

All sets of fans have bad supporters

Yet we have to listen to this garbage every year"
Lots of shite Tyrone fans obviously they just wont bother travelling (usually),You'll find more of them at a local game, it's just a fact north Dublin around croke park has many bandwagoners because of its location I'm not saying anything about the average decent Dub fan I'm just saying its very easy for these bag of cans lads to hijack a match because they live a stone throw away. It is the only reason the dub fans get a bad name.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 18/08/2016 07:58:27    1902568

Replying To Uimhir.a.3.:  "Oh you were playing the double bluff were you, answer for everything, lol. The Dublin clique out in force ridiculing every other county, the like hits aren't going so well for some of you, some of those culchies who are as bad as you here will soon pass you out. All counties have fans who behave like animals including Galway & it's wrong but the Dubs, what are they like, in 1974 I saw kids hurt in the Nally stand by Dub fans with the big timber poles that held up their flags they were allowed to bring in that time by driving them through the fence between Hill 16 & the Nally at the Galway kids. The same day the pulled two Galway lads off the flat concrete roof toilet that was on the hill then & beat them senseless, pure scum. In 1983 the ammount of Galway lads bet up outside the Hill alleyway was terrible & the ammount of buses that had windows smashed that evening on the old road at the hill in Lucan was a disgrace. Over 10 buses stoned that night, I was on one & kids sitting in seats where rocks shattered the glass. So yeah Tom was correct & the only man playing the double bluff was Tom, giving it to ye as he sees it but getting a rise out of ye as well."
Yeah Im not shocked .I have witnessed lots of this myself .This is the point im trying to make via Dub fans.It is not perosnal , the true fans are the best of banter and ive had many the pint and banter with them, just 5 percent of the north side of town will hijack a match and turn it rough if they get the chance.Im pretty sure there wouldnt be half as much of that stuff even if croke park was around blackrock,it is just a few fools,im not trying to get at dub fans on this because the ones I'm talking about will 100% not be on a forum chatting about GAA before a game

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 18/08/2016 08:08:27    1902570

Replying To jimbodub:  "Oh I've seen and heard a few choice bandwagon Tyrone fans in my time too, and sure we've seen former players being spat on as they sat in the crowd.

No doubting Dublin has some bad fans, no doubt but going to the effort of highlighting such things is just stating the obvious, a more than a tad bit passive aggressive

You never see Dublin fans bringing up points about "bad apples" amongst rival counties support - if you do it's usually in response to the tired aul posts we see drummed out.

All sets of fans have bad supporters

Yet we have to listen to this garbage every year"
Im not getting personal about Dub fans here.Im just saying north side of Dublin has more scummy lad/girls than most of the country and if they are at or around games you can be sure there will be trouble.I'm not having a go at fans just the scummy element that far outnumbers other counties simply because of location and that is a sad fact.I've been spat at and jeered at almost to the point of assault on the way back from matches from croke park but once im in the city centre or the south side it disappears , no coincidence there .

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 18/08/2016 08:15:55    1902572

Replying To Uimhir.a.3.:  "Oh you were playing the double bluff were you, answer for everything, lol. The Dublin clique out in force ridiculing every other county, the like hits aren't going so well for some of you, some of those culchies who are as bad as you here will soon pass you out. All counties have fans who behave like animals including Galway & it's wrong but the Dubs, what are they like, in 1974 I saw kids hurt in the Nally stand by Dub fans with the big timber poles that held up their flags they were allowed to bring in that time by driving them through the fence between Hill 16 & the Nally at the Galway kids. The same day the pulled two Galway lads off the flat concrete roof toilet that was on the hill then & beat them senseless, pure scum. In 1983 the ammount of Galway lads bet up outside the Hill alleyway was terrible & the ammount of buses that had windows smashed that evening on the old road at the hill in Lucan was a disgrace. Over 10 buses stoned that night, I was on one & kids sitting in seats where rocks shattered the glass. So yeah Tom was correct & the only man playing the double bluff was Tom, giving it to ye as he sees it but getting a rise out of ye as well."
Good one too but not as good as Tom's. LOL

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 18/08/2016 09:04:25    1902579