Dublin people do not extend the hand Friendship

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "i know tom a long time on here and without a doubt, the last line for me, re paying lockhards 100% says to me this post is a wind up playing on the cavan stereotype :)
Tom = HS Legend!"
Ahh don't let the cat out of the bag...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/08/2016 11:32:53    1902193

Replying To gotmilk:  "Tom never stop posting. It's crazy the amount of people that fall for this craic, it makes for great reading."

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/08/2016 11:41:38    1902199

Replying To gotmilk:  "Tom never stop posting. It's crazy the amount of people that fall for this craic, it makes for great reading."
It's astounding really.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 17/08/2016 11:42:03    1902201

If only there wasnt perplex glass in front of us we'd extend the hand of friendship ;-)

A boy Tom! You must have lived by the sea....... expert angling!!!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 17/08/2016 11:46:10    1902205

Replying To jimbodub:  "Cavan man whinging about having to hand over money...."
are u shocked?

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2845 - 17/08/2016 11:46:15    1902206

Replying To yew_tree:  "Dublin fans like most are grand...the one's you meet in real life that is. Funny story though my sister's were on the Hill for the Mayo Tyrone game....they got some horrid abuse from a few Dublin fans near them including a woman...Enda Kenny, culchies, sheep...nobody was sparred :)
They turned into Tyrone fans....yet once the Dublin game started Donegal were nothing but a shower of Northern so and so's....;)"
Yeah it only a matter of time before we start running on the pitch to attack refs....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/08/2016 11:50:36    1902211

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith Cavan here
On virtually all the times that I go away up to Dublin to games I have noticed that the Dublin people appear to either not like the Country Cousin coming up to GAA games or just simply look on us as fare game to make a few Euros on us.It seems that Dublin feel that the GAA belongs to them and that we from the Country should be glad to be afforded the opportunity to visit Croke Park. It is that feeling that I get every time I go. The Dublin supporters are very arrogant and loud, They decide when to come into a game ( ie last minute) and when to leave. If Dublin are getting beat the Dubs are gone before full time. Even lockhard will not look after your car for nothing. All are out the money from us"
Superglue Kerry here.
Boooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 17/08/2016 11:57:19    1902217

Replying To dstuction:  "Not sure if this was a windup but Ill comment like it was genuine.
Dublin is a big place with alot of people. some are nice and some are not. some are real supporters and some arent.

In my years of supporting donegal I have came across every variety of person from all different counties.
Im sure most dublin fans would agree that alot of your supporters arent real gaa people and wouldnt travel etc but when ye play away from home ye still bring a fair amount of support.
Against Donegal a few weeks ago I encountered both sides of the Dublin fanbase. When Dublin got the goal to finally sink any hopes of a comeback there were Dubs beside me that weren't celebrating. Instead they were shouting abuse at Donegal supporters. I didnt like that. What I did like was some other Dublin fans stopping celebrating to tell their own county men to cop on.

So to summarise: Yes some Dubs think they own Croke park and that football is only played there and would never watch an away game or a club match but majority of Dublin supporters are true gaels and enjoy the occasion and the craic with the other supporters."
Look you are going to get isolated incidences but just one to balance things up. I attended the Dublin v Donegal game with my 6 year old son. I sat beside some lovely people from Donegal, Mayo, Tyrone and Kerry. However I witnessed a Donegal supporter in his mid late 50s in the " prawn sandwiches section" hitting a dublin man over the M Murphy " late tackle" on B Fenton. Absolutely nothing in it but people giving their opinions until this so called supporter lashed out aggressively and stated this is the way football should be played. A number of shocked people from all counties witnessed this but the stewards didn't see it or maybe just chose to ignore it. Trying to explain this to my little fella was really difficult, absolutely no place in our game and to be honest it made the rest of the match difficult to enjoy as it is hard to know what a person like this is capable of. Little bit of balance on things and terrible to see one individual like this in 82,000 people carrying on in such a manner.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 17/08/2016 11:58:00    1902218

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "are u shocked?"
Ah tis only a laugh right!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/08/2016 12:00:39    1902222

Replying To jimbodub:  "Yeah it only a matter of time before we start running on the pitch to attack refs...."
And worse that that, the Flithy Dubs that we are, we would probably queue up to shake the hand of the man who did it, whilst getting our picture taken with him. We'd put it on the mantelpiece, next to an old and tattered black & white photo of our Grandparents holding Sam.....

I have to say, OP is a great fisher of men. I took the bait whole. Well Played Sir. :)

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 17/08/2016 12:15:54    1902230

Replying To jimbodub:  "Yeah it only a matter of time before we start running on the pitch to attack refs...."
jimbo your great at deflecting the view away when it does not suit ya.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 17/08/2016 12:16:45    1902231

Replying To dstuction:  "Not sure if this was a windup but Ill comment like it was genuine.
Dublin is a big place with alot of people. some are nice and some are not. some are real supporters and some arent.

In my years of supporting donegal I have came across every variety of person from all different counties.
Im sure most dublin fans would agree that alot of your supporters arent real gaa people and wouldnt travel etc but when ye play away from home ye still bring a fair amount of support.
Against Donegal a few weeks ago I encountered both sides of the Dublin fanbase. When Dublin got the goal to finally sink any hopes of a comeback there were Dubs beside me that weren't celebrating. Instead they were shouting abuse at Donegal supporters. I didnt like that. What I did like was some other Dublin fans stopping celebrating to tell their own county men to cop on.

So to summarise: Yes some Dubs think they own Croke park and that football is only played there and would never watch an away game or a club match but majority of Dublin supporters are true gaels and enjoy the occasion and the craic with the other supporters."
I like your post except for one bit.

We're not true Gaels. We are Viking invaders.

Brian Boru was a b****x who didn't get the job done. King Citric Silkenbeard had the last laugh!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 17/08/2016 12:30:59    1902240

Im now wondering are some of the contributors on here even irish......complete sense of humour bypass!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 17/08/2016 12:32:06    1902241

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith Cavan here
On virtually all the times that I go away up to Dublin to games I have noticed that the Dublin people appear to either not like the Country Cousin coming up to GAA games or just simply look on us as fare game to make a few Euros on us.It seems that Dublin feel that the GAA belongs to them and that we from the Country should be glad to be afforded the opportunity to visit Croke Park. It is that feeling that I get every time I go. The Dublin supporters are very arrogant and loud, They decide when to come into a game ( ie last minute) and when to leave. If Dublin are getting beat the Dubs are gone before full time. Even lockhard will not look after your car for nothing. All are out the money from us"
The people are like anywhere in the country, generally friendly if you are too. People who work in the pubs /shops are usually full of banter when they see me with the jersey on.

Only point I will agree with him is on some on the fans.

Many of whom I wouldn't call real fans but do think Dublin has more of the bandwagon abuse giving fans than most counties(at last at croke park)

Croke Park also happens to be around one of the roughest parts of town so it's no coincidence some fans are giving more abuse than other counties fans during games. No offence to north siders but the place statistically has a few more troublesome young lads and lassies than most areas of the country.Throw in a nice summer day and a lot of alcohol and these 'fans' are out around the streets in big numbers.Troublesome culchies won't bother to travel in half as big numbers because of the expensive and effort but they too are around .I think Dublin fans get bad PR because of how easy it is for the average scumbag in the north Dub area to hijack a good GAA match and turn it into something more sinister , given the fact the population of the city outnumbers all others and it is home turf.Even if only 5% of Dublin's fans around the croke park area act in this way it will still put a bad mark on the general good welcoming behaviour the other 95% of Dubs have.

If you go to a league game down in Kerry early in the year you probably won't find that type of 'fan' down there.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 17/08/2016 12:33:57    1902243

Replying To yew_tree:  "jimbo your great at deflecting the view away when it does not suit ya."
Am I?

I would have just seen it as a counter argument to the point that there's always some in all support that let themselves down

Honestly Sorry to hear what happened to your sister but we all have our stories

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/08/2016 12:38:36    1902246

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "The people are like anywhere in the country, generally friendly if you are too. People who work in the pubs /shops are usually full of banter when they see me with the jersey on.

Only point I will agree with him is on some on the fans.

Many of whom I wouldn't call real fans but do think Dublin has more of the bandwagon abuse giving fans than most counties(at last at croke park)

Croke Park also happens to be around one of the roughest parts of town so it's no coincidence some fans are giving more abuse than other counties fans during games. No offence to north siders but the place statistically has a few more troublesome young lads and lassies than most areas of the country.Throw in a nice summer day and a lot of alcohol and these 'fans' are out around the streets in big numbers.Troublesome culchies won't bother to travel in half as big numbers because of the expensive and effort but they too are around .I think Dublin fans get bad PR because of how easy it is for the average scumbag in the north Dub area to hijack a good GAA match and turn it into something more sinister , given the fact the population of the city outnumbers all others and it is home turf.Even if only 5% of Dublin's fans around the croke park area act in this way it will still put a bad mark on the general good welcoming behaviour the other 95% of Dubs have.

If you go to a league game down in Kerry early in the year you probably won't find that type of 'fan' down there."
Oh I've seen and heard a few choice bandwagon Tyrone fans in my time too, and sure we've seen former players being spat on as they sat in the crowd.

No doubting Dublin has some bad fans, no doubt but going to the effort of highlighting such things is just stating the obvious, a more than a tad bit passive aggressive

You never see Dublin fans bringing up points about "bad apples" amongst rival counties support - if you do it's usually in response to the tired aul posts we see drummed out.

All sets of fans have bad supporters

Yet we have to listen to this garbage every year

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/08/2016 12:42:46    1902253

Tis true. Tis true. Tis true. The Jacks are all that and more. That said, the Ulster boys have been caught redhanded, the Munster lads gladhanding and the Connaught fellahs panhandling.... or something.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 17/08/2016 13:25:14    1902273

I don't know who Tom is or where he's from. but i'm starting to think hes some sort of comical genius. Just look at the terms he has used in order to reel as many of you in as possible. ''away up to dublin'' (a play on the backward cavan man) touched on the ''loud'' dubs and how you leave early (knowing full well this has been thrown around against dubs for years.......and then finishes off with mention of a lockhard.
And still people fall for it. Tom you're a rascal hahaha!!!!

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 17/08/2016 13:31:16    1902277

Replying To Jaden:  "And worse that that, the Flithy Dubs that we are, we would probably queue up to shake the hand of the man who did it, whilst getting our picture taken with him. We'd put it on the mantelpiece, next to an old and tattered black & white photo of our Grandparents holding Sam.....

I have to say, OP is a great fisher of men. I took the bait whole. Well Played Sir. :)"
Yeah becomes a cult hero!

You have to laugh

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/08/2016 13:53:12    1902288

Of all the opponents we have met over the past 5 or 6 years, I would class the dubs as being up there with the best if not the best. Gracious in victory and well wishing in 2014 also. I love going to croke park when we play them.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 17/08/2016 14:02:09    1902293