This Mayo team will never have a better chance!

Replying To jimbodub:  "No disrespect to Tipp

They are 100% there on merit but lets not forget just how handy Kerry won Munster this year!

It would be a massive shock if Mayo lost - this is as handy a route to a final that they've had in a long time

Mayo have all the necessary experience and we've seen the lengths they are willing to go to win this year

Then just add it all up here

Dublin are missing 3 of their best players and are trying to do a back to back All Ireland titles - in fact back to back Trebles

Straight away trying to do a back to back is a massive disadvantage to any defending champion and this has long since been proven

Many of Mayo's big wins over the last 5 years have come against defending/deflated AI Champions not being the team they were...

Kerry although still capable of great things are not the truly great side they once were

Mayo have proven they are their equal in recent games against them and in fact should have beaten Kerry in 2014 when Kerry went onto win the All Ireland.

Its all there for Mayo in 2016 - the luck is also with them, all those home draws in the qualifiers, we know what AOS got up to and got away with, and then Tyrone missing several sitters, Mayo once again targeting players and getting them sent off with no retribution...

No it's going to happen at long last for Mayo - Mayo for Sam 2016

It's all adding up!"
Another dub started thread on Mayo this is getting embarrassing! Particularly disrespectful of Tipperary too! It wouldn't be a major shock sure Galway beat us and look at what happened to them. Mayo haven't played at the same level in previous years they will need to improve against tipp. And you got in your usual tripe about Mayo diving and targeting players sure we have invented it this year! Dont cry for me Argentina!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 16/08/2016 12:12:00    1901713

Replying To jimbodub:  "I'm saying that Mayo are 100% capable of beating them yes

Also all those disadvantages attached to Dublin 2016 can just as easily be taken advantage of by Kerry (as I've stated previously on other threads) who are still capable of great things but just not the overall side they once were, and this further plays into Mayo's hands

No 100% this is probably Mayo's best chance for a long time.. but it's just unfortunate that ye still wont be All Ireland champions even if you win Sam in 2016..

Well you'll be 3/4 All Ireland Champions but 51 will remain long ago... with Galway as champions of your own province"
You are right Jimbo. If Mayo are lucky enough to scrape past Tipp and then beat Kerry or Dublin, who would have to massively under perform, in the final, then it would be a complete anti climax. What good is winning an All Ireland if you can't win your own province and you haven't beaten both Dublin and Kerry on the way. Celebrations will be muted to say the least with the players crossing the Shannon in their ones and twos, under the cover of darkness. Sam will find a resting place in Steven Rochford's shed until such time as we can quietly hand it back to the real champions. The odd pint will be raised by the uninitiated within the county but the real football people,like yourself, will know better. I Think Tipp should be awarded third place automatically, at least they reached their provincial final, and let the Dublin and Kerry game count as the final. That would save the shame and embarrassment that Mayo winning Sam would inevitably cause.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 16/08/2016 12:20:58    1901718

I barely even read the GAA thread on here anymore. The same topics over and over worded slightly differently, this has been covered already on about 4 other threads.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 16/08/2016 12:24:17    1901722

Can't believe some of the Mayo lads are even falling for this stuff.

Will there ever come a day when people write what they really think? Instead of all this yerra-ing and deflecting.

buttybrennan (Cork) - Posts: 58 - 16/08/2016 12:35:22    1901726

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "You are right Jimbo. If Mayo are lucky enough to scrape past Tipp and then beat Kerry or Dublin, who would have to massively under perform, in the final, then it would be a complete anti climax. What good is winning an All Ireland if you can't win your own province and you haven't beaten both Dublin and Kerry on the way. Celebrations will be muted to say the least with the players crossing the Shannon in their ones and twos, under the cover of darkness. Sam will find a resting place in Steven Rochford's shed until such time as we can quietly hand it back to the real champions. The odd pint will be raised by the uninitiated within the county but the real football people,like yourself, will know better. I Think Tipp should be awarded third place automatically, at least they reached their provincial final, and let the Dublin and Kerry game count as the final. That would save the shame and embarrassment that Mayo winning Sam would inevitably cause."
Meh

Galway will still have beaten you (your arch rivals) and gone onto win the Connacht Championship while taking it from you

Jaysus it would be like Meath beating Dublin in CP.. couldn't properly enjoy a Sam knowing they had one over us in Leinster!

It just wouldn't be pure...

3/4 AI Champs is best you can hope for in 2016

Take what Dublin did in 2015 - Won all 4 competitions they had to win... winning a Treble

There are degrees of champion - We'd be going for an A1 win this year... yourselves will be a B2 at best

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 16/08/2016 12:38:42    1901731

It couldn't be setup any better for Mayo.

They will have truly bottled another one if they yet again let this one slip

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 16/08/2016 12:43:16    1901735

Replying To jimbodub:  "It couldn't be setup any better for Mayo.

They will have truly bottled another one if they yet again let this one slip"
See previous post for response!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 16/08/2016 12:53:01    1901746

Replying To jimbodub:  "I wouldn't.

It's a devalued achievement and it tarnishes the once great title

That title should be kept for true champions - something Mayo simply cant be in 2016

Sure Galway are champions over you.. as I said.. 51 will remain long ago!

But sure 3/4 AI Champions is better than nothing so I get your desperate point alright!"
Are Barcelona not REALLY champions of LA Liga because they lost five games last year.Are Leicester city not champions because they didn't do it unbeaten?Portugal didn't get a single win in their group and won the euros , not champions?Greece in 2004 even lost a group game.Few people would even remember it. They won't be written into the history book as 3/4 champions.

IF (big if) Mayo win the AI the fans won't care less about your opinion or anyone else thinks about them being '3/4 champions'.All teams in the AI championship play within the rules.Which mean a team can lose one provincial game and still win the AI, big deal.Thread seems like a cheap dig at Mayo ,with one hand building them up to be potential champions with the other hand implying they won't be real ones if they do, but the Dubs will be 'real' champions.It's the stuff I hear twelve-year-olds say.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 16/08/2016 12:55:03    1901748

Its Mayo's to lose!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 16/08/2016 13:04:22    1901759

Replying To TheMaster:  "So you think Kerry are a beaten docket then?"
Who doesn't?

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 16/08/2016 13:04:41    1901761

Yeah beating such great teams like Westmeath and Kildare really vindicates a side

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 16/08/2016 13:08:08    1901764

Replying To jimbodub:  "The point I'm making is that I think Mayo 100% can beat Kerry

I used example against Dublin and Kerry as to why Mayo have a great chance if they played either team

Do I think Mayo have Kerry's number - then I think yes they do."
Why would you reference Dublin at length in a post about mayo having Kerry's number though? Similarly why wouldn't you reference mayo beating Kerry at all in the initial post, of a thread that is, apparently, about mayo beating Kerry?

Sounds like you are backtracking after unwittingly revealing your dismissal of the Kerry challenge to Dublin. Why are you dismissing them? On what grounds? That you believe mayo could beat them you say. i.e. if mayo can beat them then they are of no concern to Dublin... Maybe you are right.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/08/2016 13:09:43    1901766

Thread is pretty pathetic, to be honest. I'm starting to think there are more than a few Dubs who are worried that they might have to play Mayo in a final and are getting their responses in order in case they lose ("I knew they'd win, but it's not even a REAL All-Ireland "). Why don't you go and worry about Kerry first?

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 16/08/2016 13:14:02    1901769

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "Are Barcelona not REALLY champions of LA Liga because they lost five games last year.Are Leicester city not champions because they didn't do it unbeaten?Portugal didn't get a single win in their group and won the euros , not champions?Greece in 2004 even lost a group game.Few people would even remember it. They won't be written into the history book as 3/4 champions.

IF (big if) Mayo win the AI the fans won't care less about your opinion or anyone else thinks about them being '3/4 champions'.All teams in the AI championship play within the rules.Which mean a team can lose one provincial game and still win the AI, big deal.Thread seems like a cheap dig at Mayo ,with one hand building them up to be potential champions with the other hand implying they won't be real ones if they do, but the Dubs will be 'real' champions.It's the stuff I hear twelve-year-olds say."
Get out of that

Keep your soccer comparisons for the soccer forum please...

This is GAA and if you aren't champions of your own province how on earth can you be All Ireland Champions

I understand your issue being a Tyrone man

You've benefited greatly from the back door yourselves - having one two of you 3 titles as 3/4 AI Champions

But it's not rocket science here.. you cant be All Ireland Champions if you're not champions of your own province

Simple stuff.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 16/08/2016 13:23:56    1901779

Replying To jimbodub:  "It couldn't be setup any better for Mayo.

They will have truly bottled another one if they yet again let this one slip"
I'll just add you to the growing list of nonsensical posters.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 16/08/2016 14:02:43    1901805

Donegals two All-Ireland's stand correct so . 2012 was through the 'proper' route so it is legit :)

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 16/08/2016 14:09:34    1901812

Interesting to hear that unless you win your province you are not entitled to win an All-Ireland
mmmmm! So im assuming this poster wants to scrap the qualifers.

oletothegaa (Mayo) - Posts: 8 - 16/08/2016 14:19:30    1901822

Replying To jimbodub:  "Meh

Galway will still have beaten you (your arch rivals) and gone onto win the Connacht Championship while taking it from you

Jaysus it would be like Meath beating Dublin in CP.. couldn't properly enjoy a Sam knowing they had one over us in Leinster!

It just wouldn't be pure...

3/4 AI Champs is best you can hope for in 2016

Take what Dublin did in 2015 - Won all 4 competitions they had to win... winning a Treble

There are degrees of champion - We'd be going for an A1 win this year... yourselves will be a B2 at best"
Interesting angle.

Of course, by the same rationale, Dublin's all Irelands don't really count as proper all Irelands because of their vast pile of advantages over their competitors...

Maybe one day you will win a real one.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/08/2016 14:24:59    1901826

Replying To jimbodub:  "Get out of that

Keep your soccer comparisons for the soccer forum please...

This is GAA and if you aren't champions of your own province how on earth can you be All Ireland Champions

I understand your issue being a Tyrone man

You've benefited greatly from the back door yourselves - having one two of you 3 titles as 3/4 AI Champions

But it's not rocket science here.. you cant be All Ireland Champions if you're not champions of your own province

Simple stuff."
Yeah it's a bit like claiming to be "All Ireland" champion's when you play all your game's at home....All Dublin more like.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 16/08/2016 14:28:59    1901829

Why would you reference Dublin at length in a post about mayo having Kerry's number though?

I explained that but sure if you need the sock puppet approach then I'll humour you

I was giving examples of how and why I think Mayo have a great chance by giving examples of the weaknesses of the current Tipp / Kerry and Dublin panels.

I stated an opinion

"This Mayo team will never have a better chance"

Then I gave the examples why and in order to do so, you have to give examples of each team they may have to face

Tipp / Kerry / Dublin

I cant dumb it down anymore than that

It's a huge opportunity for Mayo with so much falling in place for them....

The on paper handiest semi-final they've had in many a year, followed by a match up against a weaker Dublin / Kerry outfit that they've ever faced in an All Ireland final!

I don't understand the outrage of such an idea. It's just stating facts...

This Mayo team will never have a better chance

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 16/08/2016 14:33:08    1901834