Tipp v Kilkenny

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "a tipp v kilkenny final!!!!!!!! wow i never saw that coming"
I reckon itll be a cracker. A real war and i cant wait.
Fair play to these two counties for being so good. i only wish the other teams would be able to get it together to match them.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 20/08/2016 15:33:22    1903565

Replying To joncarter:  "I reckon itll be a cracker. A real war and i cant wait.
Fair play to these two counties for being so good. i only wish the other teams would be able to get it together to match them."
Tips beat Galway by a point.
Kilkenny beat Waterford in a replay by 2 points.
It could just as easily be a Galway V Wateford final.
So less of the admiration for KK & Tipp for their 'being so good' please.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 20/08/2016 16:02:04    1903574

Replying To Condorman:  "Tips beat Galway by a point.
Kilkenny beat Waterford in a replay by 2 points.
It could just as easily be a Galway V Wateford final.
So less of the admiration for KK & Tipp for their 'being so good' please."
What do you want me to say?Ah sure theyre okay like? Something like that?
Id have loved to see a waterford v galway final but these two are undoubtedly the best in the country.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 20/08/2016 16:48:03    1903594

Brian Gavin the man in the middle.
This game went from being 50/50 to 60/40 in Kilkennys favour.

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 24/08/2016 13:17:50    1905309

Replying To Joe_Bloggs:  "Brian Gavin the man in the middle.
This game went from being 50/50 to 60/40 in Kilkennys favour."
Advantage Kilkenny all right. If Tipp are to win, they will have to do it convincingly.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1743 - 24/08/2016 13:51:07    1905329

Replying To Joe_Bloggs:  "Brian Gavin the man in the middle.
This game went from being 50/50 to 60/40 in Kilkennys favour."
Doesn't stack in our favour when Gavin has been the ref but look we need to go out and put in a 2010 like performance where the longer game went on the longer it looked like we were going to win.
Sow the seeds of doubt early. I can only see it going 3 ways.
Tipp stroll to victory.
Tight game KK will win.
Or KK will beat us handy.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 24/08/2016 15:15:10    1905374

Ive always questioned whether Gavin should be put in charge of Kilkenny matches.
In the 2011 final Tommy walsh tried to strike a Tipp player in the face with his hurl, but ended up hitting Gavin.
Not only did Gavin not send walsh off (striking is a straight up red card offence), but the two of them were actually laughing and joking with each other straight after the final whistle.
Its just one incident I know but i didnt like what I saw anyway.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 24/08/2016 15:42:18    1905390

Replying To joncarter:  "Ive always questioned whether Gavin should be put in charge of Kilkenny matches.
In the 2011 final Tommy walsh tried to strike a Tipp player in the face with his hurl, but ended up hitting Gavin.
Not only did Gavin not send walsh off (striking is a straight up red card offence), but the two of them were actually laughing and joking with each other straight after the final whistle.
Its just one incident I know but i didnt like what I saw anyway."
Nasty little nip on the nose he got him with too

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1911 - 24/08/2016 16:53:51    1905436

Tannions pull on tj reid 2012 paudi maher pull on rice 2012 two bad injuries not a word about them but the ref gets a tipp on the nose in the middle of a melee and lads have no problem picking out or mouthing off about the kilkenny player bitter begrudging people on here always something when kilkenny are playing not a word about the ref trying to do them in the replay against waterford blinded by hate

northerncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 30 - 24/08/2016 21:23:41    1905539

Replying To northerncat:  "Tannions pull on tj reid 2012 paudi maher pull on rice 2012 two bad injuries not a word about them but the ref gets a tipp on the nose in the middle of a melee and lads have no problem picking out or mouthing off about the kilkenny player bitter begrudging people on here always something when kilkenny are playing not a word about the ref trying to do them in the replay against waterford blinded by hate"
On the P.Maher incident against Rice he went for the ball and Michael was unlucky he got a belt which put him out of the game. As the nature of the pull was with one hand yes wild but not intentional. We've had that discussion over and over here already countless times.
When your champions more often than not you will be scrutinized at every opportunity. Kilkenny do get a fair share of negativity thrown their way but for me I see it's all got to do with Cody and his antics plus comments after a game which irk some people and they will fire anything negative in KK direction.
Kilkenny were seen or perceived to be getting away with over the top or playing on the edge for years and that didn't sit well with a lot of people in the hurling strongholds but it made the game what it is now.
Fitness and Physicality were not really important 25 years ago in hurling yes an element of it was there but hurling won most games. Now you need those skill sets plus a lot more and Kilkenny have them in abundance.
Tipp have always fronted up to KK but sometimes I feel we're better off hurling and not getting into the physical stakes.
Man for man we can match Kilkenny we just have to figure out how to beat them since 2010.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 24/08/2016 23:08:06    1905577

Replying To WildPundit:  "On the P.Maher incident against Rice he went for the ball and Michael was unlucky he got a belt which put him out of the game. As the nature of the pull was with one hand yes wild but not intentional. We've had that discussion over and over here already countless times.
When your champions more often than not you will be scrutinized at every opportunity. Kilkenny do get a fair share of negativity thrown their way but for me I see it's all got to do with Cody and his antics plus comments after a game which irk some people and they will fire anything negative in KK direction.
Kilkenny were seen or perceived to be getting away with over the top or playing on the edge for years and that didn't sit well with a lot of people in the hurling strongholds but it made the game what it is now.
Fitness and Physicality were not really important 25 years ago in hurling yes an element of it was there but hurling won most games. Now you need those skill sets plus a lot more and Kilkenny have them in abundance.
Tipp have always fronted up to KK but sometimes I feel we're better off hurling and not getting into the physical stakes.
Man for man we can match Kilkenny we just have to figure out how to beat them since 2010."
He pulled dangerously with one hand Michael Rice hurling career ended that day , explain his pull on Tj Reid in the second half of the same match if the same two incidents happened with a Kilkenny player ye would be still writing about it .

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 25/08/2016 00:12:08    1905592

Have tickets to this as a neutral , want a close game not like last years final. Couldn't put my finger on who I think will win.Michael Fennelly could be a deciding factor so I might just throw a few on Tipp .

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 25/08/2016 11:49:42    1905707

Replying To WildPundit:  "On the P.Maher incident against Rice he went for the ball and Michael was unlucky he got a belt which put him out of the game. As the nature of the pull was with one hand yes wild but not intentional. We've had that discussion over and over here already countless times.
Man for man we can match Kilkenny we just have to figure out how to beat them since 2010."
Taken in isolation Maher's pull on Rice could be dismissed as just being wild and reckless. Taken in context of his behaviour on the day and the numerous other incidents he was involved both before and after that incident, there's no doubt in my mind that Maher went to do Rice.

Did he mean to shatter his hand, probably not, but he was fully aware, as any hurler would be in the same position, that Rice was in a defenceless position attempting to rise the ball. He should have got a straight red for that but then he shouldn't have even been on the pitch at that stage. To think that there wasn't even a free awarded for that! Scandalous

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 25/08/2016 12:42:37    1905743

What about Jackie Tyrells shoulder into the chest of Callanan early in the game? No free given there either.
It was a "manly" tackle I suppose.

Have a look at GAA biggest hits and have a look at all the times Tyrells shoulder into lads chests are in it.
Each time there should have been a free given against him.

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 25/08/2016 13:17:32    1905777

Replying To joncarter:  "Ive always questioned whether Gavin should be put in charge of Kilkenny matches.
Its just one incident I know but i didnt like what I saw anyway."
Did Tannion get sent off for the pull on Tj Reid 2012 NO, Reid was was out for a year with the injury he got . Whinging last year about the ref in the all Ireland the Galway corner back should have been gone before half time.

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 25/08/2016 18:26:11    1905984

Replying To Joe_Bloggs:  "What about Jackie Tyrells shoulder into the chest of Callanan early in the game? No free given there either.
It was a "manly" tackle I suppose.

Have a look at GAA biggest hits and have a look at all the times Tyrells shoulder into lads chests are in it.
Each time there should have been a free given against him."
You should go back have a look about the shoulder in the chest his name was taken and a free given .

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 25/08/2016 18:39:26    1905994

I find it funny a Tipperary man coming out with a statment physicality was not really important twenty five years ago you must never have heard of hells kitchen,

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 25/08/2016 20:08:21    1906038

Replying To johnwhite12:  "I find it funny a Tipperary man coming out with a statment physicality was not really important twenty five years ago you must never have heard of hells kitchen,"
Hell's Kitchen were back in the 60s. 25 years ago was 1991.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 25/08/2016 21:30:42    1906090

Replying To johnwhite12:  "He pulled dangerously with one hand Michael Rice hurling career ended that day , explain his pull on Tj Reid in the second half of the same match if the same two incidents happened with a Kilkenny player ye would be still writing about it ."
Why are you asking me to explain his pull on TJ Reid?
My reply was on the Rice incident.
First your harping on about Rice and now Reid?
Do you see any forums up here about Kilkenny players being dirty etc? I don't.
If you want to ruin a thread talking about incidents from 5 years ago work I'm not taking part in that.
Those incidents were dealt with at the time.
Open a new thread to bring up those incidents if you want.
I have many Kilkenny friends and we all agree both teams have went OTT at times in games with many incidents going un punished.
Yer no angels in Kilkenny.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 25/08/2016 22:16:25    1906119

Replying To johnwhite12:  "You should go back have a look about the shoulder in the chest his name was taken and a free given ."
Not in 2009 a throw ball was given I believe.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 25/08/2016 22:17:36    1906120