Another Tipp and Kilkenny final - a joke!

Replying To oakleafersir:  "This is not even funny how many of these finals I have seen. Sure it will a good match but neutrals wanted a Galway vs Waterford final."
I'm neutral and i wanted the best two teams to get to the final. They have. Cmon the Cats!!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/08/2016 23:51:18    1901064

It's the so called traditional Final and the fifth in eight years between Tipp and Kilkenny.However, between 1971 and 2009, a span of 38 years, there was only one senior All-ireland Final between KK and Tipp, namely in 1991 which Tipp won.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2167 - 15/08/2016 09:48:14    1901121

Such a silly statement neutrals always want the underdogs but the 2 best teams are in the final.

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 15/08/2016 10:35:49    1901149

Do you know what is a real joke? The fact that Kilkenny win 4 matches and win an All-Ireland. Would love to see more of these teams, but until we admit defeat on the provincial championships nothing will change.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 15/08/2016 10:39:50    1901150

Replying To KYTitletown:  "At least there will be suspense as to who will win the Hurling unlike the Football.

The 3 semi finals have been close, exciting and high-quality games filled with tension. Will we get that in the last 3 Football Games?

In my opinion no because when the outcomes are so predictable, it's impossible to get the same knife-edge drama that was present for the 3 Hurling games"
Consistent to say the least...

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 15/08/2016 10:46:38    1901153

It could have easily been a Waterford v Galway final but they both fell agonisingly short, both counties had their respective semi finals there for the winning, champions find a way over the line but unfortunately for Waterford and Galway they couldn't find that killer instinct. Kilkenny and Tipperary are in the final as they are the two best teams in the country without doubt, we want our finals to have the two best teams competing and we have that. The hurling championship was a pile of dung before the semi finals and now we know we are going to get a belter of a final, at least we are getting a guaranteed brilliant end to the hurling year, I would have thought everyone would be glad of they and not let popular sentiment get in the way.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 15/08/2016 10:51:47    1901156

Happy to have these two teams in it again.Im in tipp for the next few weeks right on the Kilkenny border so great to be around the hype even if I'm just a neutral.Gf will have tickets so I'll be up at the final.Tipp really have a point to prove they haven't won an AI since 2010 I think (correct me if I'm wrong) but they will be dying to get one over their noisy neighbours. Can't wait for this one .The 3 semi finals have been some of the best games I've ever watched , hopefully it won't be a repeat of last years final where Kilkenny ran away with it in the second half.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 15/08/2016 11:26:52    1901179

It is a joke, a joke in so far that after so many years they are still producing better sides then Waterford Clare Limerick Dublin Wexford and Galway despite those sides winning the minor and 21 championships, they haven't stepped up to the level at senior yet and credit Kilkenny and tipp for that

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 15/08/2016 13:13:43    1901238

If GAA history has thought me one thing, it is that underage success is not the equivalent of senior success. Many counties have squandered underage success.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 15/08/2016 13:31:36    1901255

Replying To Pinkie:  "Do you know what is a real joke? The fact that Kilkenny win 4 matches and win an All-Ireland. Would love to see more of these teams, but until we admit defeat on the provincial championships nothing will change."
Pinkie,how many matches would Tipp have to play to win the AI

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 533 - 15/08/2016 13:38:35    1901259

Replying To Pinkie:  "If GAA history has thought me one thing, it is that underage success is not the equivalent of senior success. Many counties have squandered underage success."
On a big scale that is not true.

Tipperary football: Minor winners 2011,U-21 finalist last year...This years senior semi-finalists

Tyrone football: Minor winners 1998,2001,2004,U-21 winners 2000 and 2001..All Ireland champions 2003,2005,2008...Them underage teams formed the backbone to winning all them all ireland ..In more recent times we have a decent team making the semis last year and losing by one to Mayo which is decent success because of the Minor team/U-21s of 2010 and last year.

Mayo Football: U-21 winners 2006- that team was the backbone of all the finals/semi finals of the last five or six years.Few stil around from it.
Minor finalists two years in a row 2008/2009.They are the likes of Aidan O'shea Cillian o Connor lads and they just won an U-21s so I would expect more success in the future.2013 minor winner went on to be U-21 champions

Dublin Football: Do I even need to explain this one .The dubs have been pretty dominant underage and senior.Minors winners 2012 runners up the year before.U-21 2010,2012,2014. No shock lots of them players make up the panel that won senior medals in 2011,2013,2015.Success breeds success.

Kerry football:U-21 winners 1995,1996,1998 these players went on to win senior all Irelands in 2000,2004,2005,2007

You might ask why teams like Roscommon or Galway have not become super powers because they had underage success and the answer is simple. Dublin,Mayo,Tyrone,Kerry have already had a good team in place.If you bring minor and U-21 all Ireland winners into an already good panel they become a great panel.If you bring minor/U-21 winners into an average panel they become good. Roscommon /Galway are good(ish) they were much worse but are improving as a result of underage.

In the hurling it is no different .Wexford got to finals recently U-21 but you won't expect them to get good over night , they have improved and beat Cork this year if I remember.Same can be said with clare as they had 3 on the trot and I would really be expecting them to come into fine form over the next three years at senior level.

You can't expect a team to win a senior all-Ireland just because they won a minor or U-21.It's about the team that is already there .If that is already good well them senior All-Ireland is achievable .

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 15/08/2016 14:23:41    1901297

2 best teams in the final. We cannot complain about that.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 15/08/2016 14:30:00    1901302

Tipp at best 5 depends on Munster draw.
QF,SF,Final,AISF, and AIF.
Given that both Tipperary and Kilkenny struggled in my view just shows Waterford and Galway are up there with them.
Both shipped 2 goals ,both got crucial goals,both were hanging in there at the finish after going lengthy spells without scoring.
kilkenny only scored 3 points between 52nd minute and 75th minute. 18 minutes without a score.
Tipperary went from 49th minute to 73rd minute only scoring 2-01.
Pretty dismal from both teams but that was the chance for Waterford and Galway to capitalize.
Both games down to the wire and both Tipperary and Kilkenny have hard earned their place in this final.
Gonna be one great final it can go either way.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 15/08/2016 14:55:24    1901314

Replying To mooncat:  "Pinkie,how many matches would Tipp have to play to win the AI"
Good point, I forgot Tipp have to play the same, but did they play in the prelimnary round this year?
But just to point out, I was meaning it as a negative regarding the championship structure, sure KK can only do what they have to do.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 15/08/2016 15:06:51    1901317

Replying To oakleafersir:  "This is not even funny how many of these finals I have seen. Sure it will a good match but neutrals wanted a Galway vs Waterford final."
Well then the neutrals need to turn their ire on galway and Waterford, not Tipp and Kilkenny as so many are.
I admit that the championship badly needs these two to stop dominating, but what do we want them to do? Lose on purpose? Stop trying?
Waterford have played the cats lots of times in the championship these last 15 years, and lost each and every time.
What about cork? Befors Cody came along Cork were well ahead in the all Ireland roll of honour. Now they can barely win a Munster.
Time to start pointing the finger at those who have continuously failed over the last 20 or so years, instead of criticizing the cats and Tipp.
The whole point of playing sport is to win at the end of the day.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 15/08/2016 15:48:28    1901340

Replying To joncarter:  "Well then the neutrals need to turn their ire on galway and Waterford, not Tipp and Kilkenny as so many are.
I admit that the championship badly needs these two to stop dominating, but what do we want them to do? Lose on purpose? Stop trying?
Waterford have played the cats lots of times in the championship these last 15 years, and lost each and every time.
What about cork? Befors Cody came along Cork were well ahead in the all Ireland roll of honour. Now they can barely win a Munster.
Time to start pointing the finger at those who have continuously failed over the last 20 or so years, instead of criticizing the cats and Tipp.
The whole point of playing sport is to win at the end of the day."
Fair point and look I know it's no consolation but Galway are getting to finals unlucky just to meet great Cork team in 2005 and Kilkenny in 2012 and 2015.
Even if Galway won Leinster like in 2012 ye would probably end up playing kilkenny in the final.
No matter how bad Tipp and KK have done recently over minor and U21 they can both still pull players from no where and make them into Senior inter county. Kilkenny are not going away by any stretch of the imagination.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 15/08/2016 17:20:58    1901395

Replying To endgame:  "It's the so called traditional Final and the fifth in eight years between Tipp and Kilkenny.However, between 1971 and 2009, a span of 38 years, there was only one senior All-ireland Final between KK and Tipp, namely in 1991 which Tipp won."
"Its the so called traditional Final"

Is it? I've never heard it called that.

I would say Cork v Kilkenny is more traditional, having met 24 times in an All-Ireland final, more than any other All Ireland hurling final fixture. Tipperary have met Kilkenny 19 times in the final (20 come September).

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2476 - 15/08/2016 17:55:00    1901419

Replying To Jackeen:  "I'm neutral and i wanted the best two teams to get to the final. They have. Cmon the Cats!!!"
So you're a Kilkenny supporting 'neutral'? I don't think we use the word neutral in the same way....

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 15/08/2016 18:51:03    1901455

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""Its the so called traditional Final"

Is it? I've never heard it called that.

I would say Cork v Kilkenny is more traditional, having met 24 times in an All-Ireland final, more than any other All Ireland hurling final fixture. Tipperary have met Kilkenny 19 times in the final (20 come September)."
Certainly more traditional than Galway v Waterford would have been.Cork,Kilkenny and Tipp were always regarded as hurling's big three.Cork v Kilkenny or Tipp v Kilkenny would have been regarded as a traditional Final.Until the back door, cork and Tipp couldn't meet in a senior Final and it's never happened.I know there have been more Cork v Kilkenny finals than Tipp v Kilkenny finals Down the years and I did point out that between 1971 and 2009, Tipp and Kilkenny only met in one senior Final namely in 1991 won by Tipp.They did meet in the 2002 and 2003 semi finals both won by Kilkenny.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2167 - 15/08/2016 19:19:16    1901464