Harte says Sean Cavanagh was targeted?

Mr Harte is a great Manager- and a nice man. But it is time he stood aside in my opinion.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 06/08/2016 22:19:22    1896981

Replying To kevin03:  "I find it be very funny the number of people commenting here. Especially kerry people with the likes of Paul galvin in their team. Monaghan men still can't forgive tyrone for continuing to beat them. Even mc manus came out and said he would have done the same thing regarding the Sean tackle.

But sure why would ruin a good story with facts."
Mickey Harte said Sean Cavanagh never tried to get a yellow card in his career! Now that the hypocrisy of the great man. Can Tyrone people not see the hypocrisy or are the blinkers firmly on?

It was the comments by Mickey Harte that made my blood boil. Reminds me a lot of Alex Ferguson great manager but by god he is a moaner.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 06/08/2016 22:21:42    1896984

Replying To mlcollins:  "What goes around comes around, mickey harte has a selective memory."
We've no problem with it in the whole. It's the old bs that only certain teams do it. They ALL do it at times. And no matter who you are it's hard not to feel aggrieved when one of your top players sees the line in this way. It's a shame that some of you are delighting in what happened Sean Cav today when on the whole he has been a great ambassador for our game and our country in the international series,and has been one of the best players of his generation who was unquestionably sinned against more than he was ever a sinner on the field. He's taken more hits than most and gotten on with it for the most part. We'll get over it though and will be back stronger next year. It's been a great year for us. A great year for this new emerging team. I hope you're all so understanding of Keegan's antics when it comes to your own teams. That's 2 years in a row he has conspired to get men sanctioned and ultimately see the line. I'd say he's not finished yet so I hope you can all roll with it when it happens to your own teams. And for all the talk of Ricey and Gormley et al,they got in to a bit of verbals and handbags stuff for the most part. There was no sneaky intention to get men carded which is consistently the case with the likes of Keegan,he has said as much himself so it can't even be denied.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 06/08/2016 22:35:52    1896995

Replying To mlcollins:  "What goes around comes around, mickey harte has a selective memory."
Guess fitzmaurice does too when he's whining about Donaghy.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 06/08/2016 22:37:09    1896996

It would be a foolish team that didn't target him in some way. It shows the level of footballer that he is to warrant such attention.

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 06/08/2016 22:52:01    1897002

I'm not sure your comment carries much weight considering what your man did to the Cork midfielder at the throw in the All-Ireland final a few years back and then when on to write about it!- it was as bad as I have seen and before a ball was even touched It appears that all successful teams have at least one if not two who indulge in the 'dark arts' from time to time. As a general statement I don not know why bother with linesmen when you see all this ugly stuff going on behind the Refs back with linesmen /umpires playing dumb fools. Surely the guy who starts an incident should be the 'one' to get the yellow card. Now Mayo have been done out of at least one All-Ireland by this type of activity. Two wrongs never makes a right.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 06/08/2016 22:54:56    1897005

Every player is 'targeted' as opponents try to get the better of each other. It's a pity if Cavanagh's career ends in such a manner, if this is his last game for Tyrone. However he was always dicing with such a situation as he never got even close to mastering the art of tackling, His tackling has always been loose and in-disciplined but he never seemed to learn. It is a tough defeat for Harte to take and I wouldn't be too critical of any comments he made in the immediate aftermath of the game.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 06/08/2016 23:04:58    1897014

Look if Mickey Harte comes out after the game and says Cavanagh was targeted then what sort of response do you expect, how Aiden O'Se didn't flatten some man in a white jersey today I don't know as he was given ample cause. It seems Mickey sees Tyrone as always sinned against but never the sinner and how that conclusion can be arrived at I don't know. Look all teams do it we know that, Tyrone are far from being the only offenders, but don't come out making silly statements about Cavanagh being targeted when it was clear his own players were at the same carry on, to do so is just ridiculous

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 06/08/2016 23:08:48    1897015

I don't know if he was targeted or not. But I hope I didn't see Sean Cavanagh's last game for Tyrone today. Class act. Can play on the edge, I know, but he's still a class act.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7364 - 06/08/2016 23:12:52    1897016

Was there today as an interested observer. Tyrone are a good side best in Ulster but lack the greats of 10 yrs ago to make a challenge for an all Ireland. Ulster football has gone back versus the Dublins Peter Harte and Mattie Donnelly had fine games but there was no real inside line threat that would have nailed this game like an o 'Neill or a Mulligan. Mayo defended a one point lead for last 7 minutes and Tyrone will curse their finishing in this period. As for Cavanagh it is true to say Lee Keegan was at him from the start borderline stuff but seriously if you were Mayo manager would you not target the oppositions talisman. When he went off Tyrone had no one to assume the mantle to get them back into it.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 06/08/2016 23:15:40    1897019

Replying To seanie_boy:  "I can say these things were true of these players at times cos I can be objective. I've no problem with that. However you can't say it that Keegan is a dirty player which he is while also being a great player. He is both. Embrace it or shut up."
Keegan has history. Remember he did the same to Connolly last year in the semi final. And of course no villification from the media. Sean cavanagh will probably get one of his cards rescinded but all too late of course. At least Connolly got to play in last years final in spite of keegans antics

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 06/08/2016 23:32:09    1897023

Replying To shaggylegend:  "Tyrone have always been sinned against, never been the instigators. I have zero sympathy for Tyrone, Micky Harte or Sean Cavanagh. What goes around comes around and by God it took a long time for Tyrone to feel the sense of injustice that many a team has felt at the hands of Tyrone. Sean Cavanagh had no shame in rugby tackling McManus. Harte never critisised McCann for him getting Darren Hughes sent of last year, then talks about Keegan getting Cavanagh booked. The sledging that Tyrone brought to the game and every other negative and cynical aspect that accompanied there success. They have brilliant footballers but by god I'm delighted to see Tyrone knocked out and karma finally biting back."
Another poster sticking boot into Tyrone - surprised it's a Monaghan man - guess you had to get something off your chest but have just made himself look foolish - post match interviews are exactly that - blood pressure is up and Harte was disappointed - maybe your post was a bit like that.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 06/08/2016 23:37:51    1897028

Unfortunately gaelic footballers are now more like soccer players - same style of play, culture and temperament.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1823 - 07/08/2016 00:08:21    1897045

that was a very harsh decision on Cavanagh. End of.` second offence did not merit a yellow card.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 07/08/2016 00:55:55    1897060

Flip me there's me thinking it was only myself and topdownfan who thought these negative things about Tyrone, my god we must all be deluded! We must all be wrong! Heaven forbid we go against Tyrone, whatever you do lads don't say anything bad about Tyrone they're a little sensitive that way.

On a serious note, good game today, better standard of football played than the second game. Was Cavanagh targeted? Sure isn't every big player, it's a compliment to them, was glad to see some justice done and fair play to Gough for finally having the nerve to send him off.

Oh and before any Tyrone lads jump on - yes I know down aren't in a good place, we need to start from the bottom, I'm well aware of this, this doesn't strip me of my right to comment on this match. Missdown over and out a happy woman tonight.

MissDownFanatic (Down) - Posts: 411 - 07/08/2016 01:03:50    1897068

Dry your eyes Mickey, Sean WAS targeted and wound up but it's not an excuse for Tyrone's loss. Mayo out-thought, out-psyched, out-muscled and out-battled Tyrone and deserved their win. I don't like the diving antics of some of their players and the card waving antics and constant whingeing of their fans but Mayo deserved their win. Mickey has been a great servant but Tyrone need new direction and new leadership and have done for the past 5 years or so. I can understand Tyrone's loyalty and reasoning in staying with Mickey but they badly require fresh thinking and direction on the sidelines.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 07/08/2016 01:06:02    1897069

Replying To avonali:  "that was a very harsh decision on Cavanagh. End of.` second offence did not merit a yellow card."
and first was brought about by his own stupidity. (Shouldering Keegan before the restart)

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 07/08/2016 01:10:06    1897074

The people whinging about Keegan would likely love to have him on their team.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 07/08/2016 02:06:11    1897096

Replying To Richieq:  "Look if Mickey Harte comes out after the game and says Cavanagh was targeted then what sort of response do you expect, how Aiden O'Se didn't flatten some man in a white jersey today I don't know as he was given ample cause. It seems Mickey sees Tyrone as always sinned against but never the sinner and how that conclusion can be arrived at I don't know. Look all teams do it we know that, Tyrone are far from being the only offenders, but don't come out making silly statements about Cavanagh being targeted when it was clear his own players were at the same carry on, to do so is just ridiculous"
You are making very little logic sense. Harte is correct. Kavanagh was targeted and anyone who thinks differently knows little about the game and probably played junior football or indeed played no football but is an expert

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 07/08/2016 02:09:03    1897098

Replying To avonali:  "that was a very harsh decision on Cavanagh. End of.` second offence did not merit a yellow card."
All teams have to play at the edge to win these days. The fact is Tyrone have been at this type of thing for 13 years. Keegan is no saint but Mickey Harte is being very selective in what he actually watches on the pitch.
To say Sean Cavanagh never goes out to get a card might be true but he is happy to collect them depending on the situation that arises on the pitch.
Harte embarrasses himself with those type of comments.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1133 - 07/08/2016 02:42:36    1897103