Murphy v EOG

Replying To Joxer:  "https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Qw7-ffGG4_Q

Murphy used a closed fist to hit Fenton in the face. Fenton is not low at point of contact, Murphy's arm is parallel with his shoulder. Look at the point where Murphy makes contact with Fenton's head and see where the ball is. Does that look like it was an attempt to go for the ball? As somebody keeps pointing out, by the letter of the law a striking offence is a red card. That's definitely a red."
I have watched it.
1.) It's not a closed fist
2.) Fenton is ducking down to get away from Murphy and as a result goes into his hand.
3.) At no point does Murphy throw a punch

It is a clumsy high challenge. Yellow card all day long, nothing more, nothing less.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 08/08/2016 14:54:59    1898109

Replying To Soma:  "Looking at the replays Joxer it is clear Murphy was very lucky to stay on the field. In the referees defence he only got one look at it and the rule says that using a closed fist in an effort to dispossess an opponent is a yellow card. However Murphys fist lands on Fentons jaw and is nowhere near the ball so it is hard to describe it as an effort to dispossess his opponent. I have a feeling he committed a similar tackle late in the 2014 semifinal as well.
Interesting that some feel the umpires should have ignored the O'Gara incident when most weeks people are on here demanding umpires do more to sort out off the ball stuff."
Hard to take anyone's opinion seriously when they claim Donegal were happy with the losing margin.

An first class insult to the great Gaels of my county who put their souls on the line for the cause .

That's your true colours - well done .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 08/08/2016 15:06:17    1898124

Replying To gotmilk:  "I have watched it.
1.) It's not a closed fist
2.) Fenton is ducking down to get away from Murphy and as a result goes into his hand.
3.) At no point does Murphy throw a punch

It is a clumsy high challenge. Yellow card all day long, nothing more, nothing less."
Soma Dongelman agree with you both. Gotmilk I don't agree with you. Looks like a closed fist, Fenton's jaw bears that out, Fenton is not low when impact is made, Murphy's fist is nowhere near the ball so not a legit attempt. Lads above I agree, ref only saw it once and made the call so wouldn't blame him.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 08/08/2016 15:06:52    1898126

Replying To Joxer:  "Donegal's systematic targeting and sledging of Dublin players today was shocking but we won out in the end. I understand the win at all costs mentality but the targeting of Connolly and O'Gara today was something to witness, will not have been caught on TV. I've lost some respect for what was a decent group of players at one stage. How Murphy, a great player if he could lose the dark element of his game, stayed on the pitch I don't know. I know he must be frustrated playing that brand of football but he needs to control his aggression. Not sure how many points Donegal got from play but couldn't have been many. A good tough game for the Dubs and let's hope we see a football match in the semis. Well done Paul Mannion on scoring one of the goals of the season."
A classless post from you and very disrespecting .

You's won fair and square - now move on.

We won't mention our targeted players but your boys are angels .

Well done on your win but show some respect in victory .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 08/08/2016 15:09:01    1898128

Replying To Joxer:  "Soma Dongelman agree with you both. Gotmilk I don't agree with you. Looks like a closed fist, Fenton's jaw bears that out, Fenton is not low when impact is made, Murphy's fist is nowhere near the ball so not a legit attempt. Lads above I agree, ref only saw it once and made the call so wouldn't blame him."
There's no changing your view even though it's wrong. Ref got it spot on in my opinion and a number of the dubs see it the same way.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 08/08/2016 15:44:15    1898149

Replying To Joxer:  "DL and Hill, agree with both if you. Yes DL you're right, a lot of players mouth and that's accepted. Clearly Connolly was targeted for exceptional treatment. I watched him from the off around halfway line and within seconds of the throw-in he was receiving verbals, took a punch and nearly had his shirt ripped off his back. The Donegal player even kept his back to play so that he could continue mouthing in Connolly's face. Mayo did it to him last year and we had Westmeath doing it this year. What is the job of linesmen and umpires when refs cannot see this going on? Maybe a second ref is the solution. And yes Philly is not one to keep his mouth shut either so I'm not saying Dublin don't engage in this either. Just thought we saw a different level in deliberate attemts to get Connolly sent off. And you know, it worked!"
Joxer, I know we're having contrasting views on a different thread regarding Connolly and off the ball treatment etc. but I couldn't let this slide without pulling you up on this. You say within seconds of the throw it he was punched and O'Reilly (his marker) was mouthing into his face???? Are you sure you were watching the same 2 players? I was watching this very closely as I was going mad at the fact that O'Reilly was marking Connolly. As the ball was thrown in Connolly pushed off his marker who fell to the ground and ran from left half forward to right corner forward, O'Reilly tried his best to catch him but couldn't and the ball was worked to Connolly who was denied a goal by McGinley's fine save. I no longer believe anything you say as you are obviously just making stuff up!!

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 08/08/2016 17:20:35    1898215

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "A classless post from you and very disrespecting .

You's won fair and square - now move on.

We won't mention our targeted players but your boys are angels .

Well done on your win but show some respect in victory ."
Nothing to do with class. I'm just stating my opinion. There's no harm in pointing out the bleeding obvious. I haven't heard many/any Dubs claiming that Murphy should not have been sent off. You can be damn sure that had Donegal won that game following that incident with Murphy staying on the pitch then there would have been uproar from all Dubs. The fact that we won means that the a lot of the disgruntlement from Dubs has been dampened but the fact remains, it was a terrible challenge and a straight red according to any rule book. You have form in jumping to conclusions, Connolly dismissal last year comes to mind and didn't you claim that Philly headbutted AOS. Now that's classless, in a game that your county wasn't even involved in. Keep up the good work!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 08/08/2016 18:36:21    1898270

Replying To gotmilk:  "There's no changing your view even though it's wrong. Ref got it spot on in my opinion and a number of the dubs see it the same way."
I'm afraid not Gotmilk but that's what opinions are about afterall. But regardless of whether you think it was a palm (since you say it wasn't a fist) and regardless of whether you think Fenton was low (look at the height of Murphy's are at contact) it was still a striking offence.

Red card offence for striking wording...
"Striking or attempting to strike with arm, elbow, hand, knee or head."

We disagree on it. Move on.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 08/08/2016 18:43:23    1898274

Replying To Mobot:  "Joxer, I know we're having contrasting views on a different thread regarding Connolly and off the ball treatment etc. but I couldn't let this slide without pulling you up on this. You say within seconds of the throw it he was punched and O'Reilly (his marker) was mouthing into his face???? Are you sure you were watching the same 2 players? I was watching this very closely as I was going mad at the fact that O'Reilly was marking Connolly. As the ball was thrown in Connolly pushed off his marker who fell to the ground and ran from left half forward to right corner forward, O'Reilly tried his best to catch him but couldn't and the ball was worked to Connolly who was denied a goal by McGinley's fine save. I no longer believe anything you say as you are obviously just making stuff up!!"
Sorry Mobot I didn't have the stop watch on but the attention began immediately. It was very obvious that Connolly was receiving a lot of verbals, shirt pulling pushing etc. You will see other Dublin posters saying the same thing. If you want to bury your head in the sand and say it wasn't happening then grand. Keegan openly admitted that he targeted him last year, Cribben admitted it this year and I'm sure if you asked Gallagher he would admit it to. Sure look at McGee on O'Gara. Ripping the shirt with a clenched fist under his throat when O'Gara slapped. I'm sure Philly was giving Murphy verbals as well but the difference is that I will admit that.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 08/08/2016 18:50:23    1898279

As a netural watching it. Yes it was a closed fist, the pictures all show it. Ref could easily have given a red but I can see why it was a yellow, it was a lazy half hearted attempt at a tackle as the player was skipping past him.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 08/08/2016 19:05:08    1898289

Joxer if ISIS wore Dublin jerseys you'd be a sympathiser

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 08/08/2016 19:07:03    1898291

Replying To SaffronDon:  "Joxer if ISIS wore Dublin jerseys you'd be a sympathiser"
Ha I'll give you that Saffron. Will always defend my county men if I think they need defending but will always criticise them if they need to be criticised. I'm not sticking up for anyone if you read my posts. I soppose the main point is that the likes of Connolly, Gooch etc should expect some form of protection when it's clear that they are being openly and publicly admittedly targeted. Also interesting to see the views on Murphy. Most absolutely adamant that he should have walked but some actually believe that he shouldn't. Goes to show you the tough job that a ref has. Anyway I admit I've become like a dog with a bone on this so time to hang up the boots on it. Hard luck Donegal!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 08/08/2016 20:32:11    1898320

A lot of one eyed comments. As a Galway man I have no connection either way ..... This is how I saw it

Murphy's foul was at best extremely reckless at worst assault. Definite red.

EOG was at worst stupid, don't know rules well enough to say if it still qualifies as a strike.

Re D Connelly I didn't see how wrestling started for first yellow but it is a cop out when a ref gives 2 yellows. Second yellow seemed fair enough.

In general how can 7 officials miss so much off the ball stuff. Do we need qualified referees doing all the jobs when we get to the big games?

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1834 - 08/08/2016 23:51:35    1898498

Replying To Joxer:  "Nothing to do with class. I'm just stating my opinion. There's no harm in pointing out the bleeding obvious. I haven't heard many/any Dubs claiming that Murphy should not have been sent off. You can be damn sure that had Donegal won that game following that incident with Murphy staying on the pitch then there would have been uproar from all Dubs. The fact that we won means that the a lot of the disgruntlement from Dubs has been dampened but the fact remains, it was a terrible challenge and a straight red according to any rule book. You have form in jumping to conclusions, Connolly dismissal last year comes to mind and didn't you claim that Philly headbutted AOS. Now that's classless, in a game that your county wasn't even involved in. Keep up the good work!"
Ha ha this is getting comical . Everyone thought that Philly done that to AOS at first viewing as naturally is wonderful reputation exceeded him.

Admit what ? I've played football in two different counties . Verbals and sledging is no different from most county / club sides . Donegal give verbals as do Dublin . You seem to think ours is someone worse. How do you know that ? .

Move along and don't give the good Dublin fans a bad name with your embarrasing posts . Try show some class in victory too .

It's a super Dublin side . Enjoy these moments and good luck V Kerry .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 09/08/2016 10:33:48    1898613

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "Ha ha this is getting comical . Everyone thought that Philly done that to AOS at first viewing as naturally is wonderful reputation exceeded him.

Admit what ? I've played football in two different counties . Verbals and sledging is no different from most county / club sides . Donegal give verbals as do Dublin . You seem to think ours is someone worse. How do you know that ? .

Move along and don't give the good Dublin fans a bad name with your embarrasing posts . Try show some class in victory too .

It's a super Dublin side . Enjoy these moments and good luck V Kerry ."
I'm not surprised that you've got petsonal on this. Again you have form here. You seem to have a huge problem with people who have a difference of opinion with you and can't accept that. Your name calling speaks volumes. I'm posting on here for more years than I care to remember and I've played a lot of ball myself, midfield for club with a 95 Dublin AI winner also, attending Dublin matches since 70s so I've seen a bit. I'm not too sure why you think that your football playing is relevant to anything but you're not alone in having played. Anyway, hard luck on the game I'm sure Donegal will be back. I'll refrain from name calling. It's not my style!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 09/08/2016 11:37:24    1898670

Replying To Joxer:  "I'm not surprised that you've got petsonal on this. Again you have form here. You seem to have a huge problem with people who have a difference of opinion with you and can't accept that. Your name calling speaks volumes. I'm posting on here for more years than I care to remember and I've played a lot of ball myself, midfield for club with a 95 Dublin AI winner also, attending Dublin matches since 70s so I've seen a bit. I'm not too sure why you think that your football playing is relevant to anything but you're not alone in having played. Anyway, hard luck on the game I'm sure Donegal will be back. I'll refrain from name calling. It's not my style!"
Ahhh heee-orrr...leave it beleedin' ou'.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 09/08/2016 13:34:56    1898772

Replying To Joxer:  "I'm not surprised that you've got petsonal on this. Again you have form here. You seem to have a huge problem with people who have a difference of opinion with you and can't accept that. Your name calling speaks volumes. I'm posting on here for more years than I care to remember and I've played a lot of ball myself, midfield for club with a 95 Dublin AI winner also, attending Dublin matches since 70s so I've seen a bit. I'm not too sure why you think that your football playing is relevant to anything but you're not alone in having played. Anyway, hard luck on the game I'm sure Donegal will be back. I'll refrain from name calling. It's not my style!"
Name calling and getting personal ?

Please point out ?

You've called a post or two of mine in the oast embarrasing so I've no idea what your on about ?

You seem to be picking arguments for the sake of it and enjoy running down ourselves . There plenty of disrespectful comments down the years .

In relation to playing - all county teams are nasty in this regard .

Hopefully Kerry give you's 'a game of football'

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 09/08/2016 14:57:53    1898850