Murphy v EOG

Replying To waynoI:  "If that's directed at me, I cant explain it any more black and white.

Do I think it was a red ? I think it was very harsh.. BUT, and here is my point, By the letter of the law (which, whether you, me, or anyone else likes it or not, is something the referee HAS to go by) a strike is a strike. AGAIN I repeat that there is no discrimination in the rulebook between how hard the striking action has to be, or whether the striking action is with an open palm, or a closed fist, It is considered a red card offence if seen by the officials. The Rule is vague, But the referee called it correct, Even if the rule is sh*te and no one agrees with it. But in anyways, What the hell was O'Gara even doin striking McGee ? McGee didn't lay a finger on him in the footage I seen until after O'Gara connected and McGee retaliated by pulling the front of O'Garas jersey.

Now, before you jump down my throat about Murphy. Everyone on here has agreed that Diarmuid Connolly's second yellow, was a yellow card offence. I don't think anybody has any doubt in their mind about that ? So if Dermo's second yellow is a yellow, Then Murphys is also a yellow. The colour of the jersey the culprit is wearing shouldn't influence fans' thoughts.

Murphy was lucky to stay on the pitch yesterday for a series of fouls on Dublin players.

Bastick was lucky to stay on too.

Hill even suggested on the Dublin forum that I want to see Dublin players sent off, Ridiculous comment to make. I'm only calling the incidents as I see them like you guys are."
I see your point about EOG's red card in that I can see how it might have looked to the umpire. It could have looked like an actual strike even though it was not. It'll be over turned in anyways.

Diarmuid's 2nd yellow was the correct call but it isn't in the same category as Murphy's challenge. Murphy's was late, reckless, uncontrolled and very dangerous. It may have been unintentional but that doesn't matter as he was not properly in control of his actions and committed a much more dangerous type of the offence than Connolly. He smashed Fenton in the face with his fist. Connolly was late but it was nowhere near as reckless and dangerous as Murphy's.

Again I can see how the ref thought it was a yellow as he was on the wrong side of the challenge and had a split second to decide.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 07/08/2016 23:48:06    1897753

Replying To waynoI:  "Totally agree Fenton is lucky that he didn't break his jaw.

But I believe Murphy is going in to win the ball albeit foolishly with a closed fist. Though I don't believe he is going to hurt Fenton intentionally.

Murphy and Connolly were both reckless high and dangerous, No doubt about it.

But for me both incidents are yellow cards, The problem was Derm was already on one and he saw the line.

Murphy should've seen the line later on in the game, And I'd be annoyed that he didn't. But he shouldn't have seen the line for that incident."
in my opinion in anyways, but everyone is entitled to theirs.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 07/08/2016 23:58:36    1897756

Replying To waynoI:  "Totally agree Fenton is lucky that he didn't break his jaw.

But I believe Murphy is going in to win the ball albeit foolishly with a closed fist. Though I don't believe he is going to hurt Fenton intentionally.

Murphy and Connolly were both reckless high and dangerous, No doubt about it.

But for me both incidents are yellow cards, The problem was Derm was already on one and he saw the line.

Murphy should've seen the line later on in the game, And I'd be annoyed that he didn't. But he shouldn't have seen the line for that incident."
don't agree ,murphys tackle was reckless and outright dangerous, look at the replay he was roaring with anger and intended to do damage
clearcut red card.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 07/08/2016 23:59:53    1897757

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "Fair play to you Alano and best of luck in the next round ."
not a gallagher fan..would you remove him?..jim hard replaced

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 08/08/2016 01:26:27    1897774

Replying To waynoI:  "Alano12

Take a picture if you want to remember this moment as it doesn't happen very often, But, I totally, 100% agree with you.

With DC on a yellow card, his high tackle in the second half is another YC offense, Red card the correct action from Brannagan.

Michael Murphys was high, it was reckless, but I don't think he intentionally tried to hurt Fenton who ducked into the tackle. A Yellow card. Correct decision in my view. If DC wasn't on a booking and he got sent off for the same kind of tackle, Dublin fans would have been in uproar.

As for EOG, look, its soft when you look at the reply, But rules are rules, Striking or attempting to strike is a red card offence. Says nothing about open or closed hand strike. He is 60 yards away from play, Why would he even risk it by laying his hand on his opponent. His own stupidity. That's TECHNICALLY a red card offence too. The only thing that will get him off, is the fact Brannagan seemed to suggest it was a closed fist strike, when it wasn't."
i think we agree on more than you think waynol ;)

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 08/08/2016 01:29:14    1897777

i think by the letter of the law the o gara sending off was a red but in reality it was harmless enough..when you consider what kevin keane got off for last year you would imagine o gara will get off...he is a regular for doing silly stuff so if he doesnt then he only has himself to blame

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 08/08/2016 01:31:08    1897778

I'd love to get people's opinion on this. If you were the umpire what would you have done? It seems to me the umpire called the referee in because McGee was pulling O'Garas jersey off the ball, and O'Gara retaliated with a very soft strike of his hand to McGees chest. Would you have called in the referee at all?

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 08/08/2016 10:42:23    1897870

Replying To superbluedub:  "don't agree ,murphys tackle was reckless and outright dangerous, look at the replay he was roaring with anger and intended to do damage
clearcut red card."
Thank God you aren't a ref then. It's a yellow all day and the ref made the correct decision. Fenton actually ducks into the tackle, if he stays on his feet he's not going down like that. It's clumsy from Murphy but it's not a red. Take off the blue spectacles. O'Garas for me is not a red in the spirit of the game. As wayno and Alano say by the letter of the law it's a red but in the spirit of the game it's not a yellow. It will be turned over and rightly so.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 08/08/2016 12:29:16    1897969

You'd swear Dublin lost this game. The moaning and crying from some of their fans here is unbelievable. What do ye want a public inquiry - 'The Connolly tribunal' - Someone quick lead the protests out on the streets and lets review this for 6 months or more. Sure Dublin could never be dirty, or late or reckless, they don't do verbals, there's not a cynical bone in their bodies... any sending off of a Dublin player is because the opposition made him do it... sure none of them are bad guys - they're just misunderstood. Not like those evil guys from up north. O'Gara will get his red card rescinded - bad decision. Murphy high tackle - warranted yellow card. Connolly dragging McHugh down and wrestling with him while Donegal were attacking - yellow card. His high tackle in second half like Murphy's - yellow card. But nothing like have a good moan at the injustice of it all... Poor Dublin... it's not fair.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 246 - 08/08/2016 13:09:35    1898007

Replying To Soma:  "I'd love to get people's opinion on this. If you were the umpire what would you have done? It seems to me the umpire called the referee in because McGee was pulling O'Garas jersey off the ball, and O'Gara retaliated with a very soft strike of his hand to McGees chest. Would you have called in the referee at all?"
Based on what the camera picked up, no I wouldn't.

Was there possibly a 2nd incident and the wrong replay shown?? The ref did clearly demonstrate that he was told there was a punch to the midriff.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 08/08/2016 13:24:05    1898022

O'Garas will be overturned and rightly so. Ref should've give him a ticking at best or else pretend he didn't see it. Same kinda BS as Darren Hughes last year,never a sending off and I don't care about the letter of the law when it comes to such foolishness. Pretend Ye didn't see and stop ruining games for players and fans.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 08/08/2016 13:31:22    1898030

Replying To seanie_boy:  "O'Garas will be overturned and rightly so. Ref should've give him a ticking at best or else pretend he didn't see it. Same kinda BS as Darren Hughes last year,never a sending off and I don't care about the letter of the law when it comes to such foolishness. Pretend Ye didn't see and stop ruining games for players and fans."
I cant say I agree with you - I once would have 100%.

Referee's have a near impossible job - I've recently tried giving them a break and asked the question - do the players/Management/supporters help them in any way and I don't think they do!
O'Gara harmlessly slapped out at a player - was it a strike? Technically yes so he should go. If players take on some responsibility and stop being so foolish then referee's don't have to make such decisions.

I could go on for a bit with similar situations which have happened over the last couple of seasons but I dont have the time.

One thing which really annoys me is the guys on the Sunday game commenting on a red card incident - "Technically it was red but it was very soft and probably should have been at worst a yellow" How many times have we heard that? Rules for the most should be black & white for the sake of the referee's

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 08/08/2016 13:47:10    1898043

Replying To Al_Maguire:  "You'd swear Dublin lost this game. The moaning and crying from some of their fans here is unbelievable. What do ye want a public inquiry - 'The Connolly tribunal' - Someone quick lead the protests out on the streets and lets review this for 6 months or more. Sure Dublin could never be dirty, or late or reckless, they don't do verbals, there's not a cynical bone in their bodies... any sending off of a Dublin player is because the opposition made him do it... sure none of them are bad guys - they're just misunderstood. Not like those evil guys from up north. O'Gara will get his red card rescinded - bad decision. Murphy high tackle - warranted yellow card. Connolly dragging McHugh down and wrestling with him while Donegal were attacking - yellow card. His high tackle in second half like Murphy's - yellow card. But nothing like have a good moan at the injustice of it all... Poor Dublin... it's not fair."
That's a rather large chip you have there. Yes we won. It doesn't mean we can't have an opinion on the match? Connolly 2 yellow correct....Murphy should have got the line and O'Gara well you're the first person i have seen say this warranted red.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 08/08/2016 13:47:38    1898044

You see I don't have a chip at all... that post is a reflection of some of what I was reading. It was purposely written to show how silly some posters are being here. You won the game - a sincere congratulations to you on that.

From a Donegal perspective you played the game really well and were by far deserved winners. I live in Dublin, and have nothing against Dublin... But you won the game... Enjoy the victory... you're in an All Ireland semi final.

But some of posters here need to drop the sense of entitlement and injustice you have. Yes they are entitled to their opinion but I'm also entitled to call out that opinion (as I have the right to one too) for what it is - whining and whingeing -(in the same way your manager did, disappointingly in the media after the game). You also wouldn't see any other county starting a thread like this after we won a game.

For the record most of the Dublin fans I know and were chatting to after the game are/were great craic. So, sorry no chip at all - now get on with being happy you're in the semi-final and enjoy it.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 246 - 08/08/2016 14:04:16    1898056

Replying To Jackeen:  "That's a rather large chip you have there. Yes we won. It doesn't mean we can't have an opinion on the match? Connolly 2 yellow correct....Murphy should have got the line and O'Gara well you're the first person i have seen say this warranted red."
What is the difference between Murphy and Connollys second yellow?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 08/08/2016 14:21:41    1898076

Replying To gotmilk:  "What is the difference between Murphy and Connollys second yellow?"
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Qw7-ffGG4_Q

Murphy used a closed fist to hit Fenton in the face. Fenton is not low at point of contact, Murphy's arm is parallel with his shoulder. Look at the point where Murphy makes contact with Fenton's head and see where the ball is. Does that look like it was an attempt to go for the ball? As somebody keeps pointing out, by the letter of the law a striking offence is a red card. That's definitely a red.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 08/08/2016 14:26:10    1898077

Wayno1 quoting the rulebook is admirable, equally if that same rulebook is applied literally you might as well say the bible promotes an eye for an eye , the are words in print and there is interepetation , people who have played the game tend to be able to tell the difference , the best refs can tell the difference poor ones can't , umpires are poorly trained and selective in what they report ,
I attend juvenile games to minor to senior , games would be abandoned due to lack of players if the attempt to strike was applied literally every day around the country there's lads roughing each other up off the ball , what O Gara did silly but straight from the idiotic book of referre ruling in getting a red , as for other incidents no complaints on Connoly or Murphy dealt with rightly in my opinions n , as for Liamos comparison Murphy or O Gara pointless discussion as one clouding the other doesn't do anything for me.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 08/08/2016 14:37:22    1898091

Replying To Jackeen:  "That's a rather large chip you have there. Yes we won. It doesn't mean we can't have an opinion on the match? Connolly 2 yellow correct....Murphy should have got the line and O'Gara well you're the first person i have seen say this warranted red."
By the way I said O'Gara will get his red card 'rescinded' which means he will get it overturned. So actually I'm with everyone else on that point... he wasn't deserving of a red. I've no problem being objective.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 246 - 08/08/2016 14:37:47    1898092

Replying To Joxer:  "https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Qw7-ffGG4_Q

Murphy used a closed fist to hit Fenton in the face. Fenton is not low at point of contact, Murphy's arm is parallel with his shoulder. Look at the point where Murphy makes contact with Fenton's head and see where the ball is. Does that look like it was an attempt to go for the ball? As somebody keeps pointing out, by the letter of the law a striking offence is a red card. That's definitely a red."
Looking at the replays Joxer it is clear Murphy was very lucky to stay on the field. In the referees defence he only got one look at it and the rule says that using a closed fist in an effort to dispossess an opponent is a yellow card. However Murphys fist lands on Fentons jaw and is nowhere near the ball so it is hard to describe it as an effort to dispossess his opponent. I have a feeling he committed a similar tackle late in the 2014 semifinal as well.
Interesting that some feel the umpires should have ignored the O'Gara incident when most weeks people are on here demanding umpires do more to sort out off the ball stuff.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 08/08/2016 14:49:24    1898104

Very easy with hindsight and slow motion, different camera angles.

It wasn't until the 3rd replay on tv with a different camera angle in slow motion that we did indeed see Murphy do what he did. Impossible for a ref in real time to make an assessment in the moment, other than when in doubt give a yellow.

The Ogara incident was a pathetic sighting by the umpire. Nothing to do with the ref other than follow the letter of the law.

I don't think that it amounts to the unfair victimization of players or the like. It is impossible to make correct calls all the time in the moment. I think Murphy was lucky to stay on the pitch btw.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 08/08/2016 14:52:38    1898106