A pet hate of mine

Jesus but that is twisted logic and is complete nonsense.
How is it anything to do with game management if a fella is deliberately targeted and the instigator is treated with the same punishment. Perhaps if the aggressor was carded or sent off it might prevent him doing it in the first place. I'm sure that makes no sense to you though.
Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts:827 - 07/08/2016 11:54:52
I see you have never refereed a game in your life before then. You penalise both players because if someone is being targeted a lot of the time they will have done something wrong/antagonised the player. Giving both players a yellow means they are just one infringement from being off for the game and that can cut the messing out.

There are SEVEN in-game officials and the 4th official is an eighth official. Does any field game in the world have more officials? There's also Hawkeye for a lot of the big games. They're not maximising the refereeing potential for the number of officials they have. Most umpires should go to a fitness bootcamp and ref the endline on their side of the pitch when play is down there. Umpires and linesmen should be making calls and consulting with the ref when frees and cards are being given. I know they are now but I think they need to be doing more so it might prevent refs making rash and incorrect decisions. The ref hasn't eyes in the back of his head so umpires and linesmen can spot off the ball hitting,sledging etc. It'd slow the game down in parts but hopefully make it fairer. No need for a TMO just yet. A pile of money to pay for a system that mightn't improve anything when they're not making enough use of the refereeing manpower they have already.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts:2683 - 07/08/2016 12:24:24
Plenty of sports have 6/7 officials involved in game. The refereeing potential isn't helped by how referees are treated by players, coaches, supporters and the media. If the culture around refereeing was better you would have better referees
Umpires should simply be qualified referees/linesmen rather than just any person who's a mate of ref etc. Umpires and Linesmen can spot off the ball incidents and inform referees already can they not?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 07/08/2016 15:59:15    1897401

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Jesus but that is twisted logic and is complete nonsense.
How is it anything to do with game management if a fella is deliberately targeted and the instigator is treated with the same punishment. Perhaps if the aggressor was carded or sent off it might prevent him doing it in the first place. I'm sure that makes no sense to you though.
I see you have never refereed a game in your life before then. You penalise both players because if someone is being targeted a lot of the time they will have done something wrong/antagonised the player. Giving both players a yellow means they are just one infringement from being off for the game and that can cut the messing out.

There are SEVEN in-game officials and the 4th official is an eighth official. Does any field game in the world have more officials? There's also Hawkeye for a lot of the big games. They're not maximising the refereeing potential for the number of officials they have. Most umpires should go to a fitness bootcamp and ref the endline on their side of the pitch when play is down there. Umpires and linesmen should be making calls and consulting with the ref when frees and cards are being given. I know they are now but I think they need to be doing more so it might prevent refs making rash and incorrect decisions. The ref hasn't eyes in the back of his head so umpires and linesmen can spot off the ball hitting,sledging etc. It'd slow the game down in parts but hopefully make it fairer. No need for a TMO just yet. A pile of money to pay for a system that mightn't improve anything when they're not making enough use of the refereeing manpower they have already.
Plenty of sports have 6/7 officials involved in game. The refereeing potential isn't helped by how referees are treated by players, coaches, supporters and the media. If the culture around refereeing was better you would have better referees
Umpires should simply be qualified referees/linesmen rather than just any person who's a mate of ref etc. Umpires and Linesmen can spot off the ball incidents and inform referees already can they not?"
I agree with you here but a player can be black carded for talking back/arguing with an official. I have yet to see one given for this offence though. This is something I would like to see enforce and I know at times Donegal can be terrible for it.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 07/08/2016 16:15:00    1897418

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Jesus but that is twisted logic and is complete nonsense.

Umpires should simply be qualified referees/linesmen rather than just any person who's a mate of ref etc. Umpires and Linesmen can spot off the ball incidents and inform referees already can they not?"
Rubbish have you ever played gaelic football? Or attended games as most of the time the two guys getting booked one of them is being the aggressor and the other is defending themselves it does my warrant the same punishment and is the east way to deal with something instead of the fair way. Maybe if officials were more consistent and used the rule book that have properly they would get more respect it's a two at street. If a player does something wrong they get punished as it stands when officials have had calls they get away without any sanction, if you want to improve the performance of officials there needs to be incentives and punishments

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/08/2016 17:19:34    1897468

There is no honour, integrity, manliness, sportsmanship in Gaelic footballers anymore.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts:109 - 06/08/2016 20:22:49 1896865

Bit of a sweeping statement.....

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 07/08/2016 17:30:22    1897474

Replying To hill16no1man:  "agree 100% with the opening poster
as time and again connolly in particular i notice is targetted this way
the opposition are happy for their own player to pick up a yellow as long as connolly gets one with him for the incident.
whats even worse is the refs seem to punish the reactor more than the aggressor in a lot of incidents.
surely the player who goes looking for the trouble should be given a bigger caution than the player who defends himself."
Not alone Connolly, Murphy, O'Shea, Gooch, McManus & many others have been victims of this.

Yes, the standard of officiating is poor but the players & management have to take their share of the blame.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 07/08/2016 17:34:42    1897477

08/2016 11:54:52I see you have never refereed a game in your life before then. You penalise both players because if someone is being targeted a lot of the time they will have done something wrong/antagonised the player. Giving both players a yellow means they are just one infringement from being off for the game and that can cut the messing out.
What I have reffed or not reffed you don't know no more than you have any clue as to what is common sense.If you instigate and bring about an incident you should be penalised more than the player you set upon.It's simple if you think about it rather than jibbering on about game management.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 07/08/2016 17:41:29    1897481

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "There is no honour, integrity, manliness, sportsmanship in Gaelic footballers anymore.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts:109 - 06/08/2016 20:22:49 1896865

Bit of a sweeping statement....."
But accurate.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 07/08/2016 17:48:09    1897488

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Not alone Connolly, Murphy, O'Shea, Gooch, McManus & many others have been victims of this.

Yes, the standard of officiating is poor but the players & management have to take their share of the blame."
To be honest you cannot blame the managers if the officials used their rule book properly the managers wouldn't send players out using the tactic as it would mean they would be getting punished. It's the officials to blame for not applying the rules.
Like we had a situation this year where officials permitted 7 subs by laois but all the blame was thrown on laois, the 4th official had nothing else to do only look after that area and he got no blame.
we then had a clear goal from a penalty in the wexford v offaly game yet no blame attached to any official when they didn't award it. It's no coincidence these mistakes keep happening. If you don't have any incentive or pressure on an official they have no reason to up their performance.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/08/2016 17:59:26    1897493

My pet hate is lads from clubs in different counties playing for our county. I hate Deegan from Ashbourne and Niall Quinns son from Earlestown playing for Dublin at the expense of local kids with Dublin clubs. Drives me mad.

kempes (Dublin) - Posts: 118 - 07/08/2016 18:36:26    1897525

My pet hate is lads from clubs in different counties playing for our county. I hate Deegan from Ashbourne and Niall Quinns son from Earlestown playing for Dublin at the expense of local kids with Dublin clubs. Drives me mad.

kempes (Dublin) - Posts: 118 - 07/08/2016 18:36:41    1897526

Name the other sports that have 7 in-game officials Ormond.

The umpires have feck all to do but admire themselves in their lovely new jackets. They only seem to be there because it's a tradition to have umpires. Almost none of them look fit. If two players are milling each other halfway near the endline, halfway between the post and corner flag a linesman can't see them properly and a ref might be too far away so an umpire on the endline at that point where players are rowing could be an extra set of eyes.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7373 - 07/08/2016 20:56:09    1897616

Name the other sports that have 7 in-game officials Ormond.
The umpires have feck all to do but admire themselves in their lovely new jackets. They only seem to be there because it's a tradition to have umpires. Almost none of them look fit. If two players are milling each other halfway near the endline, halfway between the post and corner flag a linesman can't see them properly and a ref might be too far away so an umpire on the endline at that point where players are rowing could be an extra set of eyes.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts:2686 - 07/08/2016 20:56:09
Plenty. Tennis has 6/7 officials/line judges
Of course the umpiring system could improve but why do they need to be very fit when the rules around what they can do and cant do is so limited. An umpire can still see players scrapping from the posts but too often umpires don't simply say anything. That isn't a fitness issue its another issue altogether

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 07/08/2016 21:31:21    1897647

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Name the other sports that have 7 in-game officials Ormond.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts:2686 - 07/08/2016 20:56:09
Plenty. Tennis has 6/7 officials/line judges
Of course the umpiring system could improve but why do they need to be very fit when the rules around what they can do and cant do is so limited. An umpire can still see players scrapping from the posts but too often umpires don't simply say anything. That isn't a fitness issue its another issue altogether"
I know Ormond but I think the umpires should me more active on the endline and not just on the posts. Good spot on Tennis, never thought of that! NFL has 7 in-game officials too.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7373 - 07/08/2016 22:35:45    1897706

Replying To Whammo86:  "When there's a schmozzle between 2 players and the referee automatically gives both players a yellow card.

Sometimes one player is much more at fault than the other player. One player could deserve a red. One of the players could deserve a talking to while the other deserves a yellow.

Treat the incident and the players on their own merits.

I think it's a cop out when a ref just gives them both a yellow."
Whammo, I think what you're describing falls under the GAA category "arra shur, the both of them were at it"

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 08/08/2016 10:48:42    1897877

its very easy for a corner forward to start abit of handbags stuff and get the back he knows he wont have to be making as many tackles as the back its defiantly a way of putting a back under pressure.

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 09/08/2016 10:22:30    1898603

Why do players have autobiographies before they have finished playing? It happens across a lot of sports.

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 738 - 10/08/2016 13:20:40    1899374

Replying To Southsham:  "Why do players have autobiographies before they have finished playing? It happens across a lot of sports."
Cos he is going to make a fortune of it or so he thinks anyway.

The title is cringe too and would put you off reading it.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 10/08/2016 15:36:40    1899462

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Cos he is going to make a fortune of it or so he thinks anyway.

The title is cringe too and would put you off reading it."
Ya I realized they get advances from publishers for writing them, personally though I wouldn't be interested reading one until they were finished with the playing career

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 738 - 10/08/2016 16:14:31    1899484

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Cos he is going to make a fortune of it or so he thinks anyway.

The title is cringe too and would put you off reading it."
The subject would put me off reading it.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4244 - 10/08/2016 16:33:58    1899492

Replying To Southsham:  "Ya I realized they get advances from publishers for writing them, personally though I wouldn't be interested reading one until they were finished with the playing career"
Will it be a stocking filler for you at Christmas if he retires?

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 10/08/2016 16:35:05    1899494