Mayo fans

Mayo footballers have more supporters than most counties apart from Dublin obviously so they also have more knobheaded supporters tan anyone apart from Dublin.I know Mayo lads in Dublin who show little interest in football until August when they jump on the bandwagon and take out the green and red gear for its annual outing/humiliation.Some of them couldn't even name the team! Fact.
For the sake of the genuine Mayo football fan I hope they end the long wait for Sam soon but when they do I'm dreading having to listen to the bandwagoners.
Ps It won't be this year lads.Sorry.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 08/08/2016 12:20:46    1897957

Load of c**p on here. Some Mayo fans did indeed boo some of the ref's dodgy calls. So did Dublin and Donegal fans. Mayo fans cheered when wides happened against us in relief. Dublin and Donegal fans did likewise. The same actions happen at just about every big game in the Championship as does sledging and borderline behaviour. Time some of ye got off the high horses and condemn all for the same carry-on condemn nobody.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 650 - 08/08/2016 12:34:42    1897977

When a team becomes successful(ish) the bandwagoners come out of the woodwork.
Its the same with every county. They tend to disappear quickly too when things go wrong.
I would say 90% of Mayo supporters are genuine. There will always be gobshites.
There was one in front of me losing the plot for the whole game. I spoke to him afterwards
and he was a decent lad just got totally carried away.
I shouted at the ref on saturday probably being totally biased as it was such a tense game.
But so did the Tyrone supporters around me. I found the Tyrone supporters exceptionally
gracious after the match considering what a tense match it was.

I hope Sean Cavanagh gives it another year. One of the all time great players..

Ah_Here (Mayo) - Posts: 42 - 08/08/2016 13:02:20    1898000

Replying To ponga:  "Load of c**p on here. Some Mayo fans did indeed boo some of the ref's dodgy calls. So did Dublin and Donegal fans. Mayo fans cheered when wides happened against us in relief. Dublin and Donegal fans did likewise. The same actions happen at just about every big game in the Championship as does sledging and borderline behaviour. Time some of ye got off the high horses and condemn all for the same carry-on condemn nobody."
Ponga I was the Fermanagh game and they booed every free that went against them.
I watched the Kildare game and could hear the booing on the tv
I didn't hear any boonig in the Westmeath game
Saturday I could hear booing again for every free that went against them.

I watched all the other games over the weekend and last weekend and didn't hear one boo on the tv bar the Mayo fans. Yes there are bellend fans for every team but there really seems to be a lot of them out West. During the second round game there was a group just up from me going mad about the length of time Fermanagh were taking with their kickouts. As soon as the ball was put on the tee they were shouting about the length of time he was taking. It was so bad that a Mayo fan right beside me turned to me and said I hope i never have to sit beside those bol*xs again at a game.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 08/08/2016 13:03:21    1898001

Replying To Ah_Here:  "When a team becomes successful(ish) the bandwagoners come out of the woodwork.
Its the same with every county. They tend to disappear quickly too when things go wrong.
I would say 90% of Mayo supporters are genuine. There will always be gobshites.
There was one in front of me losing the plot for the whole game. I spoke to him afterwards
and he was a decent lad just got totally carried away.
I shouted at the ref on saturday probably being totally biased as it was such a tense game.
But so did the Tyrone supporters around me. I found the Tyrone supporters exceptionally
gracious after the match considering what a tense match it was.

I hope Sean Cavanagh gives it another year. One of the all time great players.."
I agree with you, i've often found myself shouting at the ref with my green tinted glasses on. But i'm yet to boo a ref.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 08/08/2016 13:18:10    1898016

We've seen a large increase in the number of bandwagon supporters in Mayo over the past 5 years or so. At the Fermanagh game, there was a crowd of Mayo fans behind me who spent the whole game abusing the ref. I pulled them up on it and suggested that they should use their energy to support our team instead of abusing the ref. They started abusing me then which led to a lot of bemusement amongst the genuine supporters who were in our vicinity. Fans abusing the ref and booing/cheering other teams misfortunes is totally ridiculous. Fans should be passionate about their teams but they shouldn't resort to stupid mobish type behavior

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 08/08/2016 13:23:22    1898021

Lord God Almighty is this what ye are reduced to Bitching about Mayo fans booing a ref or cheering a wide from a rival team Next ye'll be bitching about all the rain that comes from Mayo I suppose it does take your mind of your own teams inadequaties Keep rolling Mayo

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 08/08/2016 13:42:10    1898037

I am 24 years going to inter county games and travel the country with the dubs any chance I get. The bandwagon gobsh*tes from my own county have embarrassed the life out of me on countless occasions.Next in line would be Mayo fans,over the years I have had some shocking encounters with their over the top behaviour in Castlebar and Dublin. Give Respect, Get Respect is a GAA slogan some Mayo fans would do well to adopt.

CaogaCuig (Dublin) - Posts: 63 - 08/08/2016 13:47:05    1898042

Were Mayo fans 'targeting' Tyrone players with their booing and cheering on Saturday? Unacceptable behavior. Really how low can they go? Bet it was them who were targeting DC as well. GAA head honchos need to act immediately and call for an end to cheering/jeering/booing from Mayo fans in particular. They should also send a info pack around the country to every club to show to their membership. This will show the rural folk how to behave in HQ. A video of the Dubs on the hill will be included as an example to follow....

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 08/08/2016 14:26:59    1898080

Replying To gotmilk:  "Ponga I was the Fermanagh game and they booed every free that went against them.
I watched the Kildare game and could hear the booing on the tv
I didn't hear any boonig in the Westmeath game
Saturday I could hear booing again for every free that went against them.

I watched all the other games over the weekend and last weekend and didn't hear one boo on the tv bar the Mayo fans. Yes there are bellend fans for every team but there really seems to be a lot of them out West. During the second round game there was a group just up from me going mad about the length of time Fermanagh were taking with their kickouts. As soon as the ball was put on the tee they were shouting about the length of time he was taking. It was so bad that a Mayo fan right beside me turned to me and said I hope i never have to sit beside those bol*xs again at a game."
i put it down to overexcitement

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 08/08/2016 14:46:00    1898097

Replying To REDANDBLACK30:  "FGS will you drop all this nonsense. Down
fans are better fans than Tyrone in general
as they are more easy going etc. There are
some many good genuine Tyrone fans but there is a larger "nasty" element to the Tyrone fan base than there is with other
counties ie they have more "slabbers" per
head at matches. Thats what makes them
unpopular. Tyrone fans seem to love
beating Down as well and a good lot of
Tyrone fans were slabbering to Down fans
in both Championship games in 2014. Its
this element of their fan base that makes
me personally dislike them, nothing
against the genuine Tyrone fans."
"Down fans are better fans than Tyrone in general"

Well, that's us put in our box. I'm away to get elocution lessons and a loan to buy a Volvo XC90 and buy some golf sticks and join a proper golf club #housetrainedcatholics

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 08/08/2016 14:46:50    1898099

Well there were loads of Mayo lads on the hill so why not show video samples :). Can't say I really care about the booing in general and Mayo fans no worse than anyone else. Only exception is cheering when a injured players goes off ....Alan Brogan got it when he pulled up injured in 2012 and cheering for that is never good to see/hear.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 08/08/2016 14:47:51    1898100

Jabers, some of ye would swear it was a vicarage tea party we're watching and not a full-blooded championship match. Do I boo when players hit a wide? No. Do I give a monkey's if other fans do it? No.

I would never condone personal abuse, or any taunting of a racist/sectarian/homophobic etc. nature, but what's being described here is simply a bit of over-exuberance for the most part.

That being said, I wouldn't blame any Mayo man for booing a particular Kerry forward until their throat is sore.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 08/08/2016 17:23:09    1898219

I had the misfortune of being in the hill on Saturday and I never experienced anything quite like it in my life. Firstly, the abuse that was directed towards us, our players and AOS in particular was absolutely disgusting. The things I heard I wouldn't even repeat to my own mother?? During the Dubs own game there were "northern" chants directed towards the Donegal fans. I was horrified as I listened to young and old around me engage in what can only be described as clear racism. It got so bad that I couldn't cheer for Donegal anymore and I eventually had to leave. This is not to paint every Dublin fan with the same brush, we met some lovely Dublin fans who were great banter and in general I admire MOST Dublin fans. However, before ye go crying over Mayo fans (or any other fans for that matter) engaging in some harmless 'booing' you may need to look at more serious issues. Going home this left me with a really sour taste in my mouth even with Mayo's win!!

MaighEo3 (Mayo) - Posts: 1 - 08/08/2016 21:11:11    1898346

Dont know why posters feel the need to be defensive about clowns from their own county - there are plenty in every county. Take a walk through any county town at 2.30 on a Saturday night and you will see plenty - Letterkenny probably as much or more than any. I can't control their behaviour and certainly wont apologise for it. Walk from st teirnachs park to the square in clones after any Ulster final and you will see some display of wildlife - regardless of who is playing . Go to an away league match there will be 3,000 fans from your county by the first round of Ulster championship there may be 8,000 fans from each county - by the provincial final that will be 15,000 by the AI semi it will be 25,000 and by an AI final it will 35,000 - less if Dublin are in it. So in reality most of us are bandwagoners - If Cluxton misses a long free do I boo him - No - will I do a fist clench and hope he is off form yes - will I cheer a sending off - maybe if I think someone deserves it - will I shout "stuff for you" if a free is missed that I thought was soft - yes - will i give a begrudging clap if connolly sails one over the bar from 50 yards - Yes -
But I guess each to his own

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 08/08/2016 22:20:57    1898423

Mayo the soundest and most loyal supporters.

Mullerm (Cork) - Posts: 87 - 08/08/2016 22:59:24    1898461

Replying To ruanua:  "Dont know why posters feel the need to be defensive about clowns from their own county - there are plenty in every county. Take a walk through any county town at 2.30 on a Saturday night and you will see plenty - Letterkenny probably as much or more than any. I can't control their behaviour and certainly wont apologise for it. Walk from st teirnachs park to the square in clones after any Ulster final and you will see some display of wildlife - regardless of who is playing . Go to an away league match there will be 3,000 fans from your county by the first round of Ulster championship there may be 8,000 fans from each county - by the provincial final that will be 15,000 by the AI semi it will be 25,000 and by an AI final it will 35,000 - less if Dublin are in it. So in reality most of us are bandwagoners - If Cluxton misses a long free do I boo him - No - will I do a fist clench and hope he is off form yes - will I cheer a sending off - maybe if I think someone deserves it - will I shout "stuff for you" if a free is missed that I thought was soft - yes - will i give a begrudging clap if connolly sails one over the bar from 50 yards - Yes -
But I guess each to his own"
Would all the clowns on the streets of Letterkenny @ 2.30am on a Saturday night be comprised exclusively of Donegal folk .. methinks not. .

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 09/08/2016 01:03:11    1898515

its quite rich of Tyrone fans to come on here and give off about Mayo fans. As O'Connor was about to take his free kicks on Saturday, The Tyrone fans started whistling and jeering. I don't know about ye but in my opinion that's far worse than booing a referee or cheering a wide!!

mayoaresavage (Mayo) - Posts: 313 - 09/08/2016 11:45:45    1898675

Replying To mayoaresavage:  "its quite rich of Tyrone fans to come on here and give off about Mayo fans. As O'Connor was about to take his free kicks on Saturday, The Tyrone fans started whistling and jeering. I don't know about ye but in my opinion that's far worse than booing a referee or cheering a wide!!"
How about neither are appropriate?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 09/08/2016 13:03:53    1898751

Replying To mayoaresavage:  "its quite rich of Tyrone fans to come on here and give off about Mayo fans. As O'Connor was about to take his free kicks on Saturday, The Tyrone fans started whistling and jeering. I don't know about ye but in my opinion that's far worse than booing a referee or cheering a wide!!"
Have you read the thread? Not started by Tyrone supporter, majority of posts not from Tyrone supporters and those that are not saying much more than yeah it happened but there you go.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 09/08/2016 13:24:02    1898760