Kilkenny v Waterford

Great game but then again same old result.
No offence to the cats but I think its a real shame Waterford didnt make it.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 13/08/2016 20:27:37    1900651

Hurling is boring...same team in final every year. Give me football any day

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11239 - 13/08/2016 20:37:41    1900657

Still though. Lots of hope for waterford.
If this team dont win an all ireland in the next few years theyll have underachieved.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 13/08/2016 20:42:45    1900660

Replying To joncarter:  "Great game but then again same old result.
No offence to the cats but I think its a real shame Waterford didnt make it."
Totally agree.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 13/08/2016 20:43:59    1900661

It still delivers as a sport, maybe it is Tipp's year after all.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 13/08/2016 20:57:36    1900666

Have to agree. I don't begrudge Kilkenny their success and what they've achieved as a county is phenomenal, but I think it really is a shame Waterford couldn't get over the line. They had plenty of opportunities to do it, particularly in the first game, and they'll feel they left that match behind them, I'm sure. Hopefully they'll come back stronger next year with some of their problems ironed out. The game could do with someone breaking Kilkenny's stranglehold on the thing at this point.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 13/08/2016 21:00:07    1900670

Replying To yew_tree:  "Hurling is boring...same team in final every year. Give me football any day"
Agree completely....but....this team can be caught.
last weeks draw was built up as a day when the cats simply didnt play, but the fact that Waterford ran them soooo close again should give hope to tomorrows victors.
Still though, to those who keep on going on about how poor the cats are compared to the past, they are now just one win away from the three in a row.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 13/08/2016 21:00:51    1900671

Replying To yew_tree:  "Hurling is boring...same team in final every year. Give me football any day"
No game of football would even come close to that game today , the pace and aggression and hunger from both side was unreal . Unlike football where teams burst out of defence and stop on the half forward line because your met with the Great Wall Of China infront of you . Maybe football is boring Mayo keep getting bet every year !!!!!

ke40 (Kildare) - Posts: 209 - 13/08/2016 21:03:14    1900672

Replying To ke40:  "No game of football would even come close to that game today , the pace and aggression and hunger from both side was unreal . Unlike football where teams burst out of defence and stop on the half forward line because your met with the Great Wall Of China infront of you . Maybe football is boring Mayo keep getting bet every year !!!!!"
Sorry ke40 but while I personally prefer the small ball game,its no good having good games when the same bloody team keeps winning them.
Yeah it was close, but as usual after watching a game involving this Kilkenny team,Im pretty disappointed, along with most other hurling supporters.
And before Kilkenny fans start having a go at me, ye should take that as a compliment.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 13/08/2016 21:11:10    1900675

Replying To joncarter:  "Agree completely....but....this team can be caught.
last weeks draw was built up as a day when the cats simply didnt play, but the fact that Waterford ran them soooo close again should give hope to tomorrows victors.
Still though, to those who keep on going on about how poor the cats are compared to the past, they are now just one win away from the three in a row."
Lol. Sorry, but just to clarify i dont agree that hurling is boring, just that the same team winning it all the time is.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 13/08/2016 21:17:50    1900677

Ah lads it was a brilliant game with savage skill commitment and courage pure edge of seat stuff Waterford gave absolutely everything but it just wasnt enough Ive nothing but admiration for Cody and his team and yeah theres the old argument they only concentrate on one sport in KK but in the bigger scheme of things so what its just fantastic to have witnessed the great mans reign its brilliant to watch

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 13/08/2016 21:35:12    1900684

Big cracks appearing in Kilkenny. They rode their luck today. And used up some of their 9 lives.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2522 - 13/08/2016 21:37:35    1900686

Replying To runnerin:  "Ah lads it was a brilliant game with savage skill commitment and courage pure edge of seat stuff Waterford gave absolutely everything but it just wasnt enough Ive nothing but admiration for Cody and his team and yeah theres the old argument they only concentrate on one sport in KK but in the bigger scheme of things so what its just fantastic to have witnessed the great mans reign its brilliant to watch"
All the same Id say ya wouldnt mind seeing them get beat.
Kilkenny have won 8 of the last 10 all Irelands, most of them quite easily.
As great and all as Cody is, iI think the hurling championship was better before he came along.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 13/08/2016 21:49:23    1900690

Fantastic game, really enjoyed it. Waterford have always been my second team after Cork so l was gutted to see them lose. Kilkenny are not the overwhelming force they were in recent years but still only a fool would write them off.
Hope the game tomorrow is just as exciting. I make Tipp favs but you never know with Galway, on their day they can be awesome.
If Galway win it's the Cats All Ireland if Tipp win they will go all the way. You read it here first.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 13/08/2016 22:00:12    1900693

Fantastic game, really enjoyed it. Waterford have always been my second team after Cork so l was gutted to see them lose. Kilkenny are not the overwhelming force they were in recent years but still only a fool would write them off.
Hope the game tomorrow is just as exciting. I make Tipp favs but you never know with Galway, on their day they can be awesome.
If Galway win it's the Cats All Ireland if Tipp win they will go all the way. You read it here first.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 13/08/2016 22:03:23    1900695

Replying To galwayford:  "Big cracks appearing in Kilkenny. They rode their luck today. And used up some of their 9 lives."
Thank you Ger Loughnane.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2481 - 13/08/2016 22:30:52    1900702

Replying To joncarter:  "Agree completely....but....this team can be caught.
Still though, to those who keep on going on about how poor the cats are compared to the past, they are now just one win away from the three in a row."
only three games away from 4 in a row

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 13/08/2016 23:00:49    1900709

Kilkenny are no longer the powerhouse they once were. All of the talk and expectation of them doing outrageous things to waterford failed to come to fruition. A beatable side...cody might see it himself after this campaign and call it a day. Already looking forward to next years challenge!!

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 13/08/2016 23:11:51    1900712

Replying To joncarter:  "All the same Id say ya wouldnt mind seeing them get beat.
Kilkenny have won 8 of the last 10 all Irelands, most of them quite easily.
As great and all as Cody is, iI think the hurling championship was better before he came along."
Yep would be nice to see a change but honestly I dont shout against them its not their fault others havent matched them over Codys time yes I agree theyre not what they were and I think Tipp will win it out but you cant not but admire KK's will to win depite all their success its incredible

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 13/08/2016 23:37:18    1900717

Is it 11 titles Cody has at this stage, the man has built an empire on a foundation of commitment, desire and heart. It's easy to say he has the raw materials in abundance but so have Tipp, Cork, Galway..... and even Dublin. He only brings one or two new players into the squad each year to keep the conveyor belt going. It is evident in their performances that new "recruits" are well prepared for what he expects mentally, physically and attitude wise (I would imagine your ego would have to be left at home) . It would not take a genius to work out Cody's methods but it's a different thing replicating it (he is the master foreman).
This is not the best team he takes to a final especially now that M Fennelly is injured but you know what you are going to get (even if he makes the final Fennelly will be targeted).
The Waterford half back line cleaned them out today, and Tip if they get through, will target this area. Tipp have the talent to win this all Ireland and if their attitude matches KK they surely will. I Just can't see Galway beating both Tipp and KK.
As for Waterford, If you were wearing Black and amber you would just have to get over it and be expected to come back stronger next year, They have the talent and I suspect the management as well (I suspect Cody is aware of this as well after today's interview)

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 14/08/2016 01:46:11    1900722