Is this Mayo's year?

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Unlike Philly, Dermo, Michael Darragh et al. who are quite lovable........"
Remind me , What did Tomas O'Se call the gurriers?

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 04/08/2016 23:46:40    1895966

Replying To liner:  "Remind me , What did Tomas O'Se call the gurriers?"
doubt you need any reminding

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 05/08/2016 00:17:36    1895975

It's curtains for Mayo on Saturday :)

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 05/08/2016 00:32:39    1895981

Aidan O'Shea will play at the edge of the square and score 2-1. Tyrone will struggle with the high ball and Mayo forwards.The O'Connors are in the form of their life. Tyrone dont have the forwards for croke park. will be Mayo 2-15 Tyrone 0-16

Mullerm (Cork) - Posts: 87 - 05/08/2016 00:52:02    1895985

I've been saying every year since 1996 that if Mayo don't win the All-Ireland this year then they never will.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 05/08/2016 01:01:16    1895990

Mayo's year? What for, Tidy Towns, Castlebar, Westport? There is as much chance as Planet X (Niburu) striking Earth before Christmas and wiping civilisation out than Mayo winning SAM! They have some very good footballers but are mentally brittle and don't have the inner belief or strength to get over the line. Harsh but true.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 05/08/2016 01:12:46    1895993

If you say it every year sooner or later it's bound to happen.

I believe all the pressure is on mayo. They failed to win their provincial championship, it took a dive for them to beat fermanagh and the players got their management team sacked last year. They can't use the management team as an excuse this year. Pressure is on mayo to shut up and deliver or to fade away

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 05/08/2016 09:37:39    1896040

There is an obsession with Mayo from the outside.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 05/08/2016 09:52:16    1896052

no.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 05/08/2016 10:22:32    1896071

No.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 05/08/2016 12:43:26    1896180

Well I believe there is still one maybe two of the '51 panel still kicking around so No, it's not their year yet.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 05/08/2016 13:14:58    1896206

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Mayo's year? What for, Tidy Towns, Castlebar, Westport? There is as much chance as Planet X (Niburu) striking Earth before Christmas and wiping civilisation out than Mayo winning SAM! They have some very good footballers but are mentally brittle and don't have the inner belief or strength to get over the line. Harsh but true."
What! There's a planet going to hit earth before Christmas. Why didn't someone tell me? Have to clear out the cellar and make a list. Right, tinned beans, tinned corned beef, tinned.............

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 05/08/2016 13:27:41    1896218

No

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 05/08/2016 13:28:36    1896220

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Well I believe there is still one maybe two of the '51 panel still kicking around so No, it's not their year yet."
lol - booooo, down with this sort of sentiment. Would the phantom thumsdowner preferred I said, No, if they play like they have played to this point and Tyrone play like they have til this point then Tyrone will win. Or has my reference to 'the curse' further upset the spirits of the Whest and added a few years on to 'the curse'?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 05/08/2016 13:31:38    1896222

I think Darragh O'Sé's column and also the GAA hour talking about Mayo been talked down a bit is pretty on the button. This Mayo team have pushed every big team they've faced for the last 5 years, all that's changed this year is they've stumbled a bit before hitting Croke Park. They've had most games won in 10 minute spells, why exert yourself any more? I think the thing about them is nobody is quite sure, just like Kerry on the other end, what they're capable of when the game is in the melting pot.

Tyrone will be an incredibly tough test but I think you'll see a bit of swagger about Mayo this weekend and we're in for a cracker. If they get over Tyrone then I'd tip them to win the lot

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 05/08/2016 13:49:01    1896235

No, can't see it this year but would like to see them do it. There is only so many times a heart can be broken!

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 05/08/2016 13:49:48    1896236

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "I cant see ye getting by tyrone they are a different animal even though I really hope they do. The hatred of mayo is going now and id really like to see them to well. The loss in Connacht may have done them know harm.

Best of luck,
Ye have some rossie support"
We aren't that good, seriously , the team of 08 was far better. We almost lost to Cavan and scrapped by decentish Donegal team. The hype for us has no foundations apart from the fact we gave one or two hammerings of weaker teams and have won the U-21's recently . My heart says Tyrone but my head says Mayo. They simply have better players than us ,form might be shite but you can see what they do when they step it up and they will step it up for us.If they have Diarmaid O Connor for this one we are totally screwed ,I've witness him drag their U-21s single handed past the finish line when the rest of the team was asleep.He was the reason they won the U-21s and he will be the reason they beat us tomorrow (if they do). Looking forward to a good game

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 05/08/2016 16:50:10    1896328

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I think Darragh O'Sé's column and also the GAA hour talking about Mayo been talked down a bit is pretty on the button. This Mayo team have pushed every big team they've faced for the last 5 years, all that's changed this year is they've stumbled a bit before hitting Croke Park. They've had most games won in 10 minute spells, why exert yourself any more? I think the thing about them is nobody is quite sure, just like Kerry on the other end, what they're capable of when the game is in the melting pot.

Tyrone will be an incredibly tough test but I think you'll see a bit of swagger about Mayo this weekend and we're in for a cracker. If they get over Tyrone then I'd tip them to win the lot"
They're pushing for 5 years so when do you say it's NOT gonna happen for this bunch? Every year in recent memory is Mayos year! I wish they would just do it ffs so we can move on past this tripe every year. Off course I hope they don't do it tomorrow given the opposition but for crying out loud how long must this label of the nearly men stick to this bunch of Mayo lads. I know they have new lads comin through but it's the same core lads for years now that have not done it when it mattered,on all Ireland final/semi final day in Croke park. This is a new Tyrone team for the most part with a few older heads on board. They will have a few more years to prove themselves regardless of tomorrow's result and they have given us a great year so far. Ulster champs again,still unbeaten in all competitions and we truly are in bonus territory now. It's all on Mayo and I just don't think they have the fight left to put away a team that will go at them for 70+ mi s which will be the case tomorrow. They have done nothing to say otherwise this year with their very poor outings to date. Personally I think a lot of them are tired and just goin through the motions. Tyrone to push on.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 05/08/2016 18:27:57    1896366

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "We aren't that good, seriously , the team of 08 was far better. We almost lost to Cavan and scrapped by decentish Donegal team. The hype for us has no foundations apart from the fact we gave one or two hammerings of weaker teams and have won the U-21's recently . My heart says Tyrone but my head says Mayo. They simply have better players than us ,form might be shite but you can see what they do when they step it up and they will step it up for us.If they have Diarmaid O Connor for this one we are totally screwed ,I've witness him drag their U-21s single handed past the finish line when the rest of the team was asleep.He was the reason they won the U-21s and he will be the reason they beat us tomorrow (if they do). Looking forward to a good game"
Why do some Tyrone lads on here continue to put the team down and portray the lads in the worst possible light? They have just won the Ulster championship after 6 year wait,they won Mc Kenna Cup,O'Fiach Cup,and achieved promotion back to div 1. They have done this while maintaining an unbeaten record this year. In all seriousness they actually could not be doin any better at this point! What do some of you want for gods sake?

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 05/08/2016 18:33:13    1896368

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Why do some Tyrone lads on here continue to put the team down and portray the lads in the worst possible light? They have just won the Ulster championship after 6 year wait,they won Mc Kenna Cup,O'Fiach Cup,and achieved promotion back to div 1. They have done this while maintaining an unbeaten record this year. In all seriousness they actually could not be doin any better at this point! What do some of you want for gods sake?"
Think they might be doing the poor mouth routine seanie! I wouldn't be too worried!

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 05/08/2016 19:28:29    1896393