Dublin v Donegal

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "The treble.. You sound like a Man Utd supporter there! If you're counting Leinster titles, well..."
...and God help us if you support soccer as well as GAA....tut tut!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 31/07/2016 19:10:06    1893058

Replying To JayP:  "How's that semi final trophy looking?"
Hows ur loosing semi final trophy looking??

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 31/07/2016 19:40:13    1893076

Replying To Pericles:  "Thought Murphy was wearing the number 14 jersey Eunan, my mistake if that wasn't so."
Your point is- makes no sense at all??

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 31/07/2016 19:42:57    1893079

Replying To TheUsername:  "I agree mate it is a massive advantage, it is defacto Dublins home ground with other counties visiting occasionally, the fact that Croke park is in Dublin though isn't going to change, it's our county after all. Dublin also has a big migrant population I wouldn't say there would be much in the difference of fans travelling from Kerry, Mayo and Donegal and fans from those counties who live and work in Dublin, so while it suits Dublin it also suits a lot of ex pats see their county in the championship.

Personally I would like Dublin to have a 40k-50k stadium in the City that we could blow the roof of, anyone who was down in Kilkenny would tell you what the atmosphere was like, simply amazing, in a lot of respects playing league and earlier Chapuonship games in Croke park takes awsome thing away in how well Dublin fans san support there team.

Realistically though the only ground that hold the Dublin support from a Leinster semi onwards safely is Croke park in terms of capacity, transport and infrastructure.

Personally I would like more away games, but would leave the GAA with a ghost town stadium like we saw over ge weekend.

As for the game I thought we would blow you away in 2014, I won't make that mistake again, Ive been saying all year I don't think Dublin will win an AI this year and this was the one game I feared. I'd hate to miss though, will be a great spectacle and how the championship should be, proper all ireland football by two top counties as opposed to the turkey shoot we are seeing in the Munster Championship two on the other side of the draw, that must be more gauling for yee, given the games you have already played, all respect to Donegal as a result, I think yee will be battled hardened despite the quick turn around."
only stadium capable controlling the jacks for safety reasons is croker on the hill behind the cage

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 31/07/2016 19:47:51    1893082

Replying To CroiGorm:  "No. I'm on about his kickout in the final in 2014 that gifted Donaghy a goal and lost them the game. Or are you the only one allowed to find the outcome and aftermath of a game 'hilarious'?"
thats a shockingly disrespectful post.............

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 31/07/2016 19:48:49    1893083

Replying To JayP:  "Nightmares?! Clean sweep in 2015 followed by 2/3 major trophies on offer to us again this year so far........

Look I've a healthy respect for Donegal but if you win next Saturday I'll purchase you a Quarter Final Trophy to put beside your Semi Final Trophy from 2014. As I said, if we beat Kerry by 40 points in a semi final it would feel hollow if we didn't go on and win the ultimate prize. After provincial honors are handed out, there's only one winner. At the business end of things, that's where Mayo, Donegal, Kerry, Tyrone and Dublin want to be."
you have some amount on quarter/semi loosing/winning trophies in fairness..........

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 31/07/2016 19:51:20    1893086

Jesus eunans, would you ever put a sock in it?
Are you not content being a pain on the Donegal page that you feel the need to be one on the national page as well?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 31/07/2016 20:27:15    1893110

Replying To eunans4ever:  "thats a shockingly disrespectful post............."
Awh diddums!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 31/07/2016 20:33:00    1893117

Replying To eunans4ever:  "only stadium capable controlling the jacks for safety reasons is croker on the hill behind the cage"
Haha and you've the nerve to tell other people their posts are disrespectful!! Pot, kettle...

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 31/07/2016 20:36:21    1893125

Replying To eunans4ever:  "you have some amount on quarter/semi loosing/winning trophies in fairness.........."
Great comeback pal!

Donegal.....2 All Irelands ever.

Dublin 3 of the last 5!

Don't bring a sword to a gunfight!

Relax about 2014 already.....its gone. Only thing that matters is this Saturday. I'm sure that Dublin will try their best. They've a huge challenge.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 31/07/2016 20:39:44    1893135

Replying To Jackeen:  "...and God help us if you support soccer as well as GAA....tut tut!"
Actually, you're right, it's always good to have another bandwagon to support when things go wrong like 2014.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 31/07/2016 20:45:42    1893145

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Actually, you're right, it's always good to have another bandwagon to support when things go wrong like 2014."
I'm sure you'd know more about that than I would!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 31/07/2016 21:42:17    1893208

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Actually, you're right, it's always good to have another bandwagon to support when things go wrong like 2014."
You'd know all about things going wrong in 2014 yourself..

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 31/07/2016 21:45:06    1893212

Replying To Jackeen:  "I'm sure you'd know more about that than I would!"
Not at all, I'll be at the game on time on Saturday unlike half of the hill and yourself who'll be watching a Liverpool ore season game or something!

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 31/07/2016 21:59:16    1893229

You seem to think if you keep saying it we will get offended? We lost, but your lads came up short in a Final. That must of hurt.

Best of luck Saturday.

Should be a great game, you'll need to up your "wit" for pre and post game. It's lacking.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 31/07/2016 22:08:19    1893238

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Not at all, I'll be at the game on time on Saturday unlike half of the hill and yourself who'll be watching a Liverpool ore season game or something!"
Bahahahahahahaha if only you actually knew me!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 31/07/2016 22:11:42    1893240

Massive ask for ourselves on Saturday. An extra week woulda been helpful for prep and to rest the legs.

A few of the match ups will be interesting.
Cooper on Paddy Mc. , Mc Gee on BB, Fenton on Mc Naillias just a few to mention. Will Mc Carthy be fit? Who picks up Mc Hugh? Who picks up DC?

We need a vast improvement in midfield. The Dubs will not let us take any short kick outs like cork did yesterday.

Can't afford to give away many scoreable frees with the form Dean Rock is in.

Can't wait.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 31/07/2016 22:15:31    1893241

It's set up 4 Donegal...a great run n of games an da dubs untested. Stick Murphy on da verge of da square, bom it n an watch da startled earwigs around him!!

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 31/07/2016 22:25:28    1893247

Replying To waynoI:  "Agree.

Unbelievable.

And he will be the very man only dying to kick us when we are down if indeed Donegal do win next week.

Noone will look past Donegal, Although I think we will win the game, its crazy to suggest we are already there or only have to show up

I'd like to think we, as a fanbase, and as a panel and management group, learned out lesson from the last time we met in the championship.

If we prepare for an ambush, Turn up and keep our heads sticking to how we play football and trust in ourselves, leave nothing in the changing room (clichéd talk, but true all the same), Then we will win.

Anything less and we will be in serious bother."
Well I suppose I am expecting Dublin to win but you never know in sport and with the players we have there is always a chance, thought it very disrespectful from O'Rourke but we are used to this bias against Donegal from RTE.
Don't know if you can get BBC NI Wayno but they give great coverage of the Ulster championship, pity they don't cover the All Ireland series too.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 31/07/2016 22:49:21    1893261

Have that feeling before last championship meeting in 2014 of "We havn't a hope" before we won comfortably by 6 points.
In saying that, its different circumstances now:

- Jim Mc Guinness had Dublin on his rader for a long time prior to that meeting
-We were going in as Ulster champs which in itself is a boost in confidence
-Dublin thought they just had to show up on the day and surely have learned their lesson.

However, I'm looking at that Dublin defence.

James mc carthy, mc caffery and o carroll. All gone, thats if mc carthy is not fit.
Mc carthy and mc caffery have been their driving forces from the back over the last few years while o carroll, well, I never seen him getting roasted before.
The new guys in their potions havn't experienced playing championship football against a division 1 side.

On the other side, Donegal have no anchor in midfield and I feel MDMA and bastick could clean up on Saturday.
Dublin forwards are also immense, so it will be down to keeping them quiet as long as possible

fielder (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 01/08/2016 00:00:09    1893293