Dublin v Donegal

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "There are 2 or 3 Dublin posters on here that can only see the ills of one side, and it ain't their own..

It's an embarrassment to the likes of Wayno who can see things fairly but then he gets accused of brown-nosing. Utter nonsense.

Jim Gavin at least has an agenda with his spin on things, however I fail to see why anyone here would be so biased in their blue-tinted view of things other than delusion.

Anyway, I for one will repeat that sledging and checking of runs took place on both sides, repeat: BOTH sides. Donegal were culprits and so were Dublin. None of the sendings off can be disputed bar the O'Gara one.

Connolly is a great player but can't control himself. Brogan, Andrews, McManamon... All these players are great forwards but can control themselves. If you can't control yourself on a football field or elsewhere, that's your problem, not the Ref's, not the Donegal players etc etc. Continuing to paint him as the United party here says more about yourselves than anything else."
Sorry for having an opinion. Nobody argued with the second yellow. 100% a yellow.

First yellow is outrageous. A lad drags him to the ground and he gets a yellow. That's not blue tinted glasses. You are saying his temper got him sent off? As I said in previous posts he was a numpty and kept making tackles whilst on yellow. But he didn't lose control. He was sent off for getting a second yellow which would have been a first yellow if the officials protected him. Very similar to the Cavanagh incident.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 08/08/2016 18:22:00    1898258

It's very simple EVERY single team targets certain players. the amount of baised and blind supporters here makes a mockery of the whole thing. Dublin targeted Donegal players and vice versa same and tyrone and mayo.

Most of the people here are blind idiots. This targeting will not stop until the umpires do their job properly, instead they are just lazy overweight flag wavers. Ref can't be expected to see everything. Umpires need to raise things likes players being pulled. This cop-out of giving both players yellow has got to stop. 1 player had to start it and should be solely punished.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 08/08/2016 18:49:54    1898278

Mobot you as much as said that O'Reilly was giving Connolly treatment because he is small. Look back at your posts. Have you changed your mind now? Nobody is disputing that Connolly has a temper but sure that's what Gallagher wanted to exploit. The first yellow should not have been a yellow, neither player should have got one. The second one was a yellow as a high tackle. I've no problem in saying that.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 08/08/2016 19:00:51    1898285

Replying To JayP:  "Sorry for having an opinion. Nobody argued with the second yellow. 100% a yellow.

First yellow is outrageous. A lad drags him to the ground and he gets a yellow. That's not blue tinted glasses. You are saying his temper got him sent off? As I said in previous posts he was a numpty and kept making tackles whilst on yellow. But he didn't lose control. He was sent off for getting a second yellow which would have been a first yellow if the officials protected him. Very similar to the Cavanagh incident."
Lads pick up harsh yellows all the time. In fact in nearly every single game there is someone who will pick up a harsh yellow. Very few will go on to get sent off though. That's because they know that once they are on a yellow, rightly or wrongly, they need to be careful. The same applies to Connolly.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 08/08/2016 19:29:29    1898301

Replying To benjyyy:  "Lads pick up harsh yellows all the time. In fact in nearly every single game there is someone who will pick up a harsh yellow. Very few will go on to get sent off though. That's because they know that once they are on a yellow, rightly or wrongly, they need to be careful. The same applies to Connolly."
Fair post Benjyyy and you're right. It was a silly challenge from Connolly and he deserved a yellow.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 08/08/2016 20:35:01    1898322

Replying To Joxer:  "Mobot you as much as said that O'Reilly was giving Connolly treatment because he is small. Look back at your posts. Have you changed your mind now? Nobody is disputing that Connolly has a temper but sure that's what Gallagher wanted to exploit. The first yellow should not have been a yellow, neither player should have got one. The second one was a yellow as a high tackle. I've no problem in saying that."
Why wasn't first yellow justified?

http://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/the-sunday-game-622/10607176/

49 minute mark.

From Sunday game, it seemed he was lucky to get a yellow?

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 206 - 08/08/2016 20:55:16    1898338

On off the ball tonight Bernard Flynn said jim Gavin had some neck talking bout his players being targeted with what Johnny cooper and Philly mac do be at , he also said that Dublin are as cynical and maybe even more cynical then everyother team in the country so what do ye think of that now?
Jims angels eh!

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/08/2016 21:14:20    1898350

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "On off the ball tonight Bernard Flynn said jim Gavin had some neck talking bout his players being targeted with what Johnny cooper and Philly mac do be at , he also said that Dublin are as cynical and maybe even more cynical then everyother team in the country so what do ye think of that now?
Jims angels eh!"
Ha Bernard Flynn talking about Dublin is like Trump talking about the Democrats foreign policy, you're never going to get a good word. You might as well be reading a Liam Hayes column.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 08/08/2016 21:28:45    1898359

Replying To BlastCalyle:  "Why wasn't first yellow justified?

http://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/the-sunday-game-622/10607176/

49 minute mark.

From Sunday game, it seemed he was lucky to get a yellow?"
Exactly. I said in an earlier post Connollys block on McHugh should of been a black card but some Dublin supporters on here are trying to make out that McHugh targeted Connolly. Its actually comical

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 08/08/2016 21:34:10    1898362

Tomás oshea said that the top players are being targeted ,so there you go ,it's not like anyone who knew their football or wasn't trying to be a smartarse wouldn't see.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 08/08/2016 21:40:30    1898367

This thing of targeting players has been going on for as long as I can remember in gaelic football. I think it's a hell of a lot worse now though, I mean the effort and extent that teams go out to do it is ridiculous. Correct me if I'm wrong but I thought sledging was a black card offence. Now I know that becomes something that is extremely hard to enforce but watching the way Dublin, Donegal, Mayo and Tyrone were at it over the weekend it's very much part and parcel of a teams game plan.
I thought the lads on Newstalk called it best, when you see lads running lengths to get involved, to get in someones face after they kick a wide or get knocked over the line like Tyrone did a couple of times to Aidan O'Se at the weekend is akin to Martin Keown's antics with Ruud Van Nistelrooy back in 2002.

Anyone taking Bernard Flynn's opinion on all things disciplinary should take it with a big pinch of salt. He played on a team that could teach the current generation a thing or two

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 08/08/2016 22:05:25    1898399

McKeon sums it up perfectly here. Mickey Harte makes some good points also, the two yellow card cop out. I think McKeon is right also, it's sometimes worth a yellow to get the opposition's best player on a yellow.

http://m.herald.ie/sport/gaa/double-yellow-is-refs-biggest-copout-34945355.html

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 08/08/2016 22:12:34    1898405

I think some Dublin fans on here need to take a step back and see a bit of sense. I'm not condoning the treatment Connolly gets but come on, are you telling me he didn't deserve to walk? I'm not a Dublin fan but he ticks me off mostly because he's arguably one of the best talents in gaelic football, one of the sweetest strikers of a football you will ever see but carry's on like a lunatic.
You can make excuses but he's no good to the team with that kind of discipline, by acting like this he's giving the opposition excuses to keep at it. If you're being honest with yourselves I'd say you were well ticked off yourselves when you saw him getting the line.
But at the same time, some Donegal supporters trying to play down that Murphy hit on Fenton, that's just as bad. Maybe there was no malice intended but it was clumsy at best and could have resulted in a much more serious injury that Fenton got. Just like the Dublin fans, there's some Donegal fans on here that need to admit to themselves that he was a very lucky boy to stay on the pitch. We've seen reds for less

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 08/08/2016 22:13:59    1898411

I think it's fair to say that 'targeting' is the buzzword issue of 2016. Seems to be something different every year.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 09/08/2016 00:07:07    1898507

Thoroughly enjoyed Saturday's double header, great value for €30.
Great banter between quick witted Dublin supporters and very friendly Donegal fans. Good respect evident between between the majority of players during and after the match despite the strong rivalry on the pitch. A very knowledgeable St Vincent's lady told us that McCauley, O' Gara along with former players D Farrell and Bonner all had a Donegal parent with the reverse being true for McBrearty.
Very impressed by CLUXTON'S restarts , he wasn't content to kick it short to an unmarked corner back but regularly drilled it 45m to a team mate . He still managed to find a Dublin player with pinpoint accuracy when his team were short one and later two players. Yes I know that he will be replaced as a shot stopper but very few if any brings so much with their kicking game.
My neutral view on some of the talking points :
MURPHY : Closer to a red car than a yellow. Sure people will argue that it wasn't deliberate but there is a duty of care not to injure your opponent with a careless/reckless action. There wasn't a punching action but the back of a closed hand albeit a straight arm from such a strong man is capable of inflicting a lot of damage. It seemed to play on his mind for a while as he didn't have the same appetite for the contest, a fully focused /fit Murphy would have claimed one or two of of the four poorly kicked balls into him later on.
CONNOLLY: A superb player capable of outrageous scores. Not sure what Rory Gallagher was at detailing the corner forward to mark him, talk about a mis-match in size and physical presence ..should have led to a goal after 45 seconds. Dermot was targeted a lot more in last year's semi final and got red carded when pushing a player off him after being dragged to the ground off the ball. His two yellow cards on Saturday had little to do with retaliation/targeting.
I got a bird's eye view of the first yellow card and felt it was closer to a black card. Donegal were breaking out at pace and Dermot obstructed a supporting player Ryan McHugh , dragging and pining him to the ground. All the referee saw was McHugh squirming manfully under Connolly and proceeded to book both players. The second yellow was simply a high tackle. No Donegal player was hit or injured by Dermot Connolly and no one here should call him a Wally .. leave that to TSG afternoon pundits who rejoice in that kind of offensive labeling.
O'GARA : Red card was a joke and will be reversed . He did nothing more than tickle McGee's tummy ..neither player should have got a card. Umpires have chosen to ignore much more serious incidents during this year alone and the very one time they intervened they get it so wrong... convinced the referee that it was a punch when it was anything but.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 09/08/2016 00:10:35    1898509

Replying To Joxer:  "McKeon sums it up perfectly here. Mickey Harte makes some good points also, the two yellow card cop out. I think McKeon is right also, it's sometimes worth a yellow to get the opposition's best player on a yellow.

You're" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://m.herald.ie/sport/gaa/double-yellow-is-refs-biggest-copout-34945355.html"
You're right, Connolly took one for the team to get McHugh booked

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 09/08/2016 00:28:16    1898512

Replying To Mobot:  "Exactly. I said in an earlier post Connollys block on McHugh should of been a black card but some Dublin supporters on here are trying to make out that McHugh targeted Connolly. Its actually comical"
Having looked at it numerous times, I think Connolly was dragged down by McHugh. I don't know what you are looking at mobot

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 09/08/2016 01:34:22    1898525

Replying To JayP:  "Having looked at it numerous times, I think Connolly was dragged down by McHugh. I don't know what you are looking at mobot"
Yeah, that makes so much sense alright.... Donegal had possession and were trying to lauch a counter attack and our best player on the counter (not many if any better in Ireland on the counter) was trying to break forward to support the ball carrier and Connolly checks his run and they end up wrestling on the ground. Even Tomas O'Se on the TSG said that Connolly's block deserved to be a black card and he was baffled to why McHugh received a yellow.

I really can't figure out why so many Dublin fans are so defensive over Connolly's actions on saturday. Yes, sometimes he receives unfair treatment from the opposition and at times gets a raw deal with officials but Saturday night was not one of those games. Donegal defenders tried to mark him like any defender marks a forward and were unsuccessful because he was running the show before getting sent off. It was his own discipline that let him down on Saturday and watching him for the last few years I think his anger control has got worse and I think the true Dublin supporter would be worried about this going forward as I do as a Donegal supporter when it comes some of Michael Murphy's lazy tackles because some of them can be really borderline and like the challenge on Fenton could be red cards and going forward I would like him to work on this.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 09/08/2016 10:36:15    1898616

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "On off the ball tonight Bernard Flynn said jim Gavin had some neck talking bout his players being targeted with what Johnny cooper and Philly mac do be at , he also said that Dublin are as cynical and maybe even more cynical then everyother team in the country so what do ye think of that now?
Jims angels eh!"
Well......that's just like his opinion man.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 09/08/2016 11:18:41    1898651

Replying To Mobot:  "Yeah, that makes so much sense alright.... Donegal had possession and were trying to lauch a counter attack and our best player on the counter (not many if any better in Ireland on the counter) was trying to break forward to support the ball carrier and Connolly checks his run and they end up wrestling on the ground. Even Tomas O'Se on the TSG said that Connolly's block deserved to be a black card and he was baffled to why McHugh received a yellow.

I really can't figure out why so many Dublin fans are so defensive over Connolly's actions on saturday. Yes, sometimes he receives unfair treatment from the opposition and at times gets a raw deal with officials but Saturday night was not one of those games. Donegal defenders tried to mark him like any defender marks a forward and were unsuccessful because he was running the show before getting sent off. It was his own discipline that let him down on Saturday and watching him for the last few years I think his anger control has got worse and I think the true Dublin supporter would be worried about this going forward as I do as a Donegal supporter when it comes some of Michael Murphy's lazy tackles because some of them can be really borderline and like the challenge on Fenton could be red cards and going forward I would like him to work on this."
Let it go pal. The game's over. Fans will always have differences in opinion, some can't accept that but that's what discussion forums are all about. Every has their own view no matter how crazy the other thinks it is.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 09/08/2016 11:26:54    1898663