Dublin v Donegal

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "What about Philly macmahon putting his hand up to an opponents eyes again during the connoly incident !
I hope the CCC will take the proper retrospective action. But the fact that it's a Dublin player they probably won't."
What about Kieran Donaghy last week b Clare. Not a straight red, come on don't be a hypocrite.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 07/08/2016 13:20:33    1897304

Replying To waynoI:  "Firstly, Commiserations to Donegal. A lot of people aren't too keen on them, But I think they have been fantastic over the last few years and had they beaten us yesterday, I would have had no qualms in saying I hope they go on to win it. Their fans are lovely, genuine GAA people and we had some great craic with them afterwards. In Murphy and McBrearty to name just two are wonderful footballers. I've no doubt that with a few changes you will be back fresh again next year.

As for Dublin, Well, What can I say about this group of players, They are absolutely sensational. Its a pleasure to be able to witness them live in the flesh all year round. They are just incredible. Their workrate and intensity is top notch, Even when Diarmuid Connolly got sent off we didn't cave in, We learnt our lessons from 2014, Once we got a lead in that first half I never felt we would relinquish it. Ciaran Kilkenny, Philly McMAhon, Davey Byrne and Kevin McManamon where imperious. For all the talk of our FB line being fragile, We stood up to the test yesterday, If it weren't for a lazy pass from COS in the build up to the Donegal goal, I'd go as far as saying it was the perfect defensive display from the Dubs.

It was a very entertaining game with great skill on show, Those two Diarmuid Connolly points are out of this world, likewise Paddy Andrew's effort from out at the Cusack stand sideline.

In terms of the talking points/Red cards, First yellow card for Derm I didn't see, But once he is booked you cant afford to mistime a tackle, especially a high one, Second yellow was fair. The O'Gara one, He struck out, open handed or not you aren't allowed to strike someone off the ball, he did, He did leave Ciaran Brannagan no choice but to send him off, The only was he will get off is on a technicality, ie, The Umpire said it was a close fist punch, and it wasn't.

Michael Murphys was the correct decision. A tad reckless but Fento ducked into it I feel. Red would have been harsh"
Have to disagree with you. Murphy should have walked. Closed fist and late. Also he made another head high tackle in second half that was a free which he didn't receive yellow for, come on. Dermot becoming a really worry as it is a constant in every game. EOG sending was laughable. As Jim mcguinness said it wouldn't even warrant a card in an under 8 game.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 07/08/2016 13:25:34    1897308

Replying To waynoI:  "Firstly, Commiserations to Donegal. A lot of people aren't too keen on them, But I think they have been fantastic over the last few years and had they beaten us yesterday, I would have had no qualms in saying I hope they go on to win it. Their fans are lovely, genuine GAA people and we had some great craic with them afterwards. In Murphy and McBrearty to name just two are wonderful footballers. I've no doubt that with a few changes you will be back fresh again next year.

As for Dublin, Well, What can I say about this group of players, They are absolutely sensational. Its a pleasure to be able to witness them live in the flesh all year round. They are just incredible. Their workrate and intensity is top notch, Even when Diarmuid Connolly got sent off we didn't cave in, We learnt our lessons from 2014, Once we got a lead in that first half I never felt we would relinquish it. Ciaran Kilkenny, Philly McMAhon, Davey Byrne and Kevin McManamon where imperious. For all the talk of our FB line being fragile, We stood up to the test yesterday, If it weren't for a lazy pass from COS in the build up to the Donegal goal, I'd go as far as saying it was the perfect defensive display from the Dubs.

It was a very entertaining game with great skill on show, Those two Diarmuid Connolly points are out of this world, likewise Paddy Andrew's effort from out at the Cusack stand sideline.

In terms of the talking points/Red cards, First yellow card for Derm I didn't see, But once he is booked you cant afford to mistime a tackle, especially a high one, Second yellow was fair. The O'Gara one, He struck out, open handed or not you aren't allowed to strike someone off the ball, he did, He did leave Ciaran Brannagan no choice but to send him off, The only was he will get off is on a technicality, ie, The Umpire said it was a close fist punch, and it wasn't.

Michael Murphys was the correct decision. A tad reckless but Fento ducked into it I feel. Red would have been harsh"
Murphy still should have got a yellow card when he dragged down John Small (I think) running towards goal. Yellow plus yellow equals red. But he got away with it.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 07/08/2016 13:28:16    1897310

Replying To JayP:  "Yeah All Ireland Gold looks great on tv too pal!

Mayo/Dublin/Kerry would lash most teams from the noughties.

Training/Nutrition tactics have moved on.

Kerry/Tyrone were brilliant in that era! But in that era!"
Please don't think all Kerry fans think this way the truth is this Dublin is held with great esteem in Kerry, a mixture of admiration and absolute fear which is what Kerry had in the 70's and 80's.

I wasn't born during our Golden era so I can only go on what I've seen in the flesh and without a doubt this Dublin is the most dominant team I've ever seen, the Kerry and Tyrone ides were good but were never way ahead of its competitors like Dublin are. To be honest at times Dublin look like they are playing a different sport to every one else, you never got that sense with Kerry/Tyrone of the 00's

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 07/08/2016 13:43:05    1897317

If anything the O'Gara red card hurt us because it took over 2 mins for the ref to consult with umpires and let the game continue.

Once again I don't get the added time. In both our games against Monaghan and against Tyrone there were 6 mins added. Yesterday there were only 5 even though there was a very long stoppage for a collision on the Donegal 21 and umpteen substitutions.

I need to watch again but I think the ball was only in play for about 20 secs of the first 5 mins of injury time. There were a couple more minutes played but it didn't add up to the stoppages, especially compared to other games this year.

This isn't sour grapes btw because it's likely we wouldn't have won with 15 mins added time but it's frustrating nonetheless.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 07/08/2016 13:51:05    1897321

On the Connolly sending off. He is a Wally. He was on a yellow, maybe Jim Gavin should have taken him off. Once you are on a yellow any tackle is a risk of a second yellow. So he shouldn't have been tackling, and he made 4 needless fouls before the second yellow, all that could have been yellow cards.

But..... The first yellow was a shocking decision. He gets wrestled to the ground and the result a yellow to both players? It's a cop out by the officials.

Murphy got a yellow, and later on took down a Dublin player to stop a one v one with the Donegal keeper......no yellow!? Just a talking to?

Officials need to take a look at themselves. Video ref has to be looked at.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 07/08/2016 13:51:08    1897322

Replying To endgame:  "Dublin have lost Rory O'Carroll and Jack McCaffrey to Foreign parts this year but Paul Mannion is back.He was in China last year.Thought Mannion was excellent when he came on yesterday.He scored 1-1 and hit the post.Took his goal very well.So often players faced with a one on one with the goalkeeper don't know what to do and fluff the chance.Dublin really are a team of all the talents.The best I've seen since Kerry 1970s.They need to keep their discipline though because teams who can't beat them at football will endeavour to wind them up.Only for the sendings off, they'd have won by 10 points yesterday and they won't want to be going a man down against a Kerry team that will be going all out to win."
A much better team than the Kerry team that you mentioned

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 07/08/2016 13:52:58    1897323

Replying To JayP:  "Murphy still should have got a yellow card when he dragged down John Small (I think) running towards goal. Yellow plus yellow equals red. But he got away with it."
Yea, And Bastick probably could have got black carded twice.

Some decisions go for ya, others don't.

People aren't talking about a combination of Murphy incidents, just the one on Fento, and I believe the one on Fento in isolation is a yellow card, its no worse than Connollys for which he got a yellow for, albeit a second yellow.

As for O'Gara, logic would say its not a red card, or that a red is at the very least, harsh.

But refs go by the rulebook, And he did strike his opponent. Whether we like the rule or not, it does state a strike or attempted strike is a red card offence. So, you cant really complain.

The rule probably needs clarification, but based on the definition of the rule that's ther at present, its a red card, although players, managers and fans alike don't really like the rule.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 07/08/2016 13:55:41    1897327

Replying To benjyyy:  "If anything the O'Gara red card hurt us because it took over 2 mins for the ref to consult with umpires and let the game continue.

Once again I don't get the added time. In both our games against Monaghan and against Tyrone there were 6 mins added. Yesterday there were only 5 even though there was a very long stoppage for a collision on the Donegal 21 and umpteen substitutions.

I need to watch again but I think the ball was only in play for about 20 secs of the first 5 mins of injury time. There were a couple more minutes played but it didn't add up to the stoppages, especially compared to other games this year.

This isn't sour grapes btw because it's likely we wouldn't have won with 15 mins added time but it's frustrating nonetheless."
There were 6 mins added yesterday. Just under 8 were played.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 07/08/2016 14:03:10    1897332

Replying To neverright:  "A much better team than the Kerry team that you mentioned"
Never right you're wrong.We're fellow Roscommon men but I beg to differ with you.The Kerry team that won All-Irelands in 1975 and four in a row 1978-1981 was the greatest football team in the history of Gaa.This is a fine Dublin team but they have yet to win back to back titles.They should change that this year but there'll be nothing easy against Kerry and then probably Mayo in the Final.Dublin need to keep their discipline and play their football.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2180 - 07/08/2016 14:11:08    1897337

Replying To JayP:  "On the Connolly sending off. He is a Wally. He was on a yellow, maybe Jim Gavin should have taken him off. Once you are on a yellow any tackle is a risk of a second yellow. So he shouldn't have been tackling, and he made 4 needless fouls before the second yellow, all that could have been yellow cards.

But..... The first yellow was a shocking decision. He gets wrestled to the ground and the result a yellow to both players? It's a cop out by the officials.

Murphy got a yellow, and later on took down a Dublin player to stop a one v one with the Donegal keeper......no yellow!? Just a talking to?

Officials need to take a look at themselves. Video ref has to be looked at."
Calling DC a wally, are you serious?. Does that apply to any player who gets 2 yellows or just him? Does it apply to other players, eg Murphy, who foul when trying to tackle but don't get a yellow. Are they wallys for trying to be physical in a physical game ?

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 07/08/2016 14:16:31    1897339

A fully deserved win by a great Dublin team whose defensive performance was first class. As a unit they were unrecognisable from the shambles of 2014 & that was without three of their best men. Their score taking was also much better than Donegal who had a poor day on the shooting front.

Having said that I am immensely proud of Donegal who, despite playing second fiddle to a superior outfit, never gave up & were in the game right up until the end. The absence of Neil Gallagher & Murphy's indifferent form were big hurdles & we just didn't have the personnel to fill in.

Having said that there is still the nucleus of a good team & there are some exciting young players coming through & with a change of management I believe the future is bright.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 07/08/2016 14:35:30    1897349

Replying To poguemahone:  "Calling DC a wally, are you serious?. Does that apply to any player who gets 2 yellows or just him? Does it apply to other players, eg Murphy, who foul when trying to tackle but don't get a yellow. Are they wallys for trying to be physical in a physical game ?"
Just Connolly! He knows that he is high profile. Once he's on a yellow he has to be careful. Look I've watched him get sent off time after time and some of them weren't his fault. Yesterday whether you think he deserved a yellow for the first incident is irrelevant. He's on a yellow card, and makes 5 needless fouls. He is the easiest player to send off. And refs want to send him off. They don't protect him. But in that mind of his he has to know once he's on a yellow he cannot be making silly tackles and has to be disciplined in his tackling.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 07/08/2016 14:40:57    1897354

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "Staggering lack of self-awareness shown by large sections of the Donegal support today when the decided to boo en mass Dublin's decision to keep possession. Perhaps Dublin should have disregarded their own scoreboard lead and instead played into Donegal's cynically constipated gameplan."
In fairness, I think the booing was a direct result of Dublin booing Donegal for doing the exact same thing in previous encounters. Hypocrisy and all that!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 07/08/2016 14:41:51    1897355

Turning into a bit of a brown noser man.
O gara deserved an open palm shove away a red card but a closed fist punch to face from Murphy was a correct yellow that makes no sense at all.
at least be honest it's not biased opinion to state a fact.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/08/2016 14:45:08    1897356

Replying To waynoI:  "HILL

I agree regarding players being provoked.

What I will say is that Diarmuid Connollys second yellow card was no better, nor worse than Michael Murphys on Brian Fenton in my opinion.

Both reckless tackles, and both yellow card offences.

Unfortunately DC was already on a yellow so a red card was the right call by the ref, I didn't see the first incident cause I haven't watched the whole game back, But if DC was provoked or antagonised like you say he was then id feel for him.

That said, everyone knows that the action the refs will take on "handbags" will always be two yellows. Its the norm for a long time now. I don't agree with it, but its what they do. Unless Connolly felt he was in danger like the Lee KEegan incident last year, he should know by now to just walk away, as I said I didn't see the incident so maybe you could enlighten me Hill.

As for Michael Murphy, A red would have been harsh. It was a bad tackle but I don't think its a red card offence, in my opinion. Fento ducked into it a small bit. A ywllow was the right call, and the ref was consistent on the MM and DC second yellow calls.

Eoghan O'Gara, Red card. Open handed or not, a strike is a strike. I think its a bit harsh aswell as it was open handed but the rules state any strike is a red card offence, doesn't matter if its a closed fist or open hand. Why he felt the need to do it is absolutely beyond me, He, like Derm should know by now they will try and get a reaction. He done himself no favours. Dublin may win the appeal based on the referee claiming it was a closed fist strike rather than open hand. But I think that should stand."
Connolly was pulled to the ground off the ball and was held down. It was going on all day and the linesman Joe mcquillan informed the ref and the the aggressor and the defendant get the same punishment it's a clear tactic and one which most seen to think is part of the game but yet whinge about somebody retaliating as been disgraceful.
it's not part of the game it's targetting an individual into getting a yellow as the officials haven't the guts to make a call and teams know this so they are quite happy to take the yellow for their own player in the process. It's the officials that are to blame though as they know the rules and decide to not punish the aggresor more severely than the guy who defends himself. Anybody in nowlan park could see what o gara took when he came in and the umpire was five yards away and refused to inform the ref of the carry on. The black card is there for this behaviour, I still have yet to see a single black given for it though

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/08/2016 14:55:40    1897360

Replying To HandballRef:  "Well done to Dublin yesterday. Thoroughly deserved. They were much the better team. I'm gutted, felt like there was a chance was there for us after the goal but this is a truly great Dublin team and played very smart to see out the win. Defensively Dublin were excellent.

Ciaran Kilkenny had 52 possessions yesterday which is remarkable in a game like that. What a talent. He really took control of the game when we got it back to 3. But who taught him how to hand pass like that?? One of the strangest techniques I've ever seen!! Kevin McMenanmin.. I hate him!! but I mean that as a compliment. He is the one constant thorn in our defense and definitely has our number. His point in the second half off the left boot was right in front of me and he had no right to score from there.. Mannion was brilliant as well

Dublin's point taking yesterday was so clinical compared to our own. They scored 3 outrageous points in the first half where as we missed 3 or 4 decent chances that we needed to put over. After the goal, we gave away a silly free that knocked back our momentum and then we missed 3 good chances in a row at a crucial stage in the game that we badly needed. Dublin's conversion percentage was very high whereas we had 12 wides and 4 that dropped short.

As for the red cards, I felt Connollys first yellow was soft enough. Murphy can count himself very luck with a horrible attempt of a tackle but in saying that Fenton did duck his head down and it would have been a harsh enough sending off. O Gara should never have been sent off in my opinion but Bastick should have been black carded on two different occasions but the ref bottled it on both. Did Philly McMahaon strike Leo McLoone?? Few people said he did but I must have missed it.

As gutted as I am, I couldn't be prouder of our lads. They've been brilliant all year and gave it absolutely everything again yesterday, showing great bottle and desire to come back at Dublin in the 2nd half"
Very good post and I agree with you about bastick it was a terrible decision not to black card him.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/08/2016 14:59:10    1897364

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Turning into a bit of a brown noser man.
O gara deserved an open palm shove away a red card but a closed fist punch to face from Murphy was a correct yellow that makes no sense at all.
at least be honest it's not biased opinion to state a fact."
wayno is no brown noser but is instead a fair minded & generous poster the type of which we could do with a few more of on HS.

I have to tell you hill, that the sort of myopic posting you & a number of others, Donegal men included, engage in is boring in the extreme & part of the reason I generally skip past your posts. The world is not black & white, no team is always the best, fairest or hard done by. The opposing side have their merits & story to tell & hats off to wayno for recognising it.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 07/08/2016 15:08:25    1897375

Replying To Lifford Gael:  "In fairness, I think the booing was a direct result of Dublin booing Donegal for doing the exact same thing in previous encounters. Hypocrisy and all that!"
There's a massive difference
Dublin only do that to drag the opposition out of there 14 man defence.
If we are winning by 5 points it's what Donegal want is us to run into there massed defence so they can hit us on the counter. So its Donegal staying in a 14 man defence that causes that as it makes sense for Dublin to draw them out and then hit them when the gap appears.
you seem it to perfection against mayo in the replay last year for mcmannomans goal.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/08/2016 15:19:53    1897378

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Turning into a bit of a brown noser man.
at least be honest it's not biased opinion to state a fact."
Its not a fact though Hill. It is in your view.

I don't agree. I've watched the Murphy tackle a few times, I still maintain that while it was reckless, It wasn't a red card offence in my view.

I don't agree that an incident like the one O'Gara was a part off is a red card, But our opinion doesn't matter, Its in the rule book, Its a strike/attempted strike of an opponent. That's the only reason it was a red card. But you cant say the referee was wrong for following the rule book hill FFS man cmon

I'll take your word for it on the first Connolly incident and presume it wasn't a yellow. But he was given one, But bearing in mind he was on one, You have to be sensible and use your head. Stay calm and keep away from potential trouble. He went in high around the neck and when you are already on a yellow, you cant complain about being awarded a second one. That's the bottom line. Its not about being a lickarse, Its about looking at my own team, stepping away from potential bias and viewing the situation from all angles. Diarmuid also fouled 3 times before his second yellow, Upon reflection he should've been taken off, But I'm sick of having this discussion regarding Connolly, whatever about being provoked, he doesn't do himself any favours when he reacts,.

And the Murphy incident on Fenton was no worse than Connollys on the Donegal man. Both yellow offences in my opinion, Unfortunately Murphy wasn't already booked, Connolly was.

And before you say Murphy should have been booked after that for hauling down a Dublin player breaking away, I agree he should have seen the line, But if you are going to bring up that incident, you need to be objective enough to bring up them all, And Denis Bastick was lucky not once, but twice, to stay on the field.

If looking back on a game without wearing my blue tinted glasses makes me a lickarse, fine, I prefer to be objective. That's all.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 07/08/2016 15:20:07    1897379