Patrick McBrearty

Replying To clondalkindub:  "This is what it says when you google Paddy;

Paddy was born in Dublin and move up to kilcar at a young age, his mother Carol is from Dublin and is first cousins with former Dublin star Tommy Conroy, his father Seamus Super was a bustling feature on the Kilcar teams of the 1980's.

Listen he's a class act and a Donegal man now I was just imagining him in our team isn't a Dublin fan allowed to dream?"
You will be telling us next that young Kilkenny learned all his football in the historic Castleknock GAA club and inherited none of his football genes from his multi all ireland winning grandfather from Galway.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 722 - 30/07/2016 20:38:46    1892485

Does being bitten by a Dub now constitute them being eligible to play for them?

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 246 - 30/07/2016 20:43:11    1892488

Paddy was born in Dublin and move up to kilcar at a young age, his mother Carol is from Dublin and is first cousins with former Dublin star Tommy Conroy, his father Seamus Super was a bustling feature on the Kilcar teams of the 1980's.

Listen he's a class act and a Donegal man now I was just imagining him in our team isn't a Dublin fan allowed to dream?"
Wikipedia has him being born in Letterkenny.

The link with Dublin is becoming more tenuous with each passing minute.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 30/07/2016 20:44:01    1892489

Replying To sam2008:  "Great display today no doubt! But like manys another performance before against a mediocre team - I will only start dancing and singing when he replicates it against Dublin next week!"
Sam, if he replicates that performance against Dublin next week, singing & dancing will only be the start of it!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 30/07/2016 20:46:15    1892493

Replying To Seansy48:  "Wouldn't give it to Connolly Vs. Tyrone in 2011?

7 points from half forward is impressive

As was this by the way, McBrearty just decided he was winning it for Donegal today and wouldn't be denied!"
connolly played corner forward that day

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 30/07/2016 20:46:48    1892494

Replying To sam2008:  "Great display today no doubt! But like manys another performance before against a mediocre team - I will only start dancing and singing when he replicates it against Dublin next week!"
When ? ....... IF!!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 30/07/2016 20:47:44    1892495

Why is it that a guy has an outstanding game, instead of just acknowledging how good he was, We try and compare it to past performances from other players. Ah Connolly v Tyrone was better....No Paddy McBrearty today was better. Who cares and sure what does it matter ? Can't we just enjoy the performance of a gifted individual today for what it was. Likewise John Heslin in the second game. Worth the admission fee alone.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 30/07/2016 20:51:55    1892499

If you took out all the players in the Dublin side whose roots are in other counties they wouldn't have a team at all.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 30/07/2016 21:07:26    1892508

Replying To GDL:  "You will be telling us next that young Kilkenny learned all his football in the historic Castleknock GAA club and inherited none of his football genes from his multi all ireland winning grandfather from Galway."
Never mind all the players with country origins, including some if the current super team!
At that rate, all players should revert back to their lineage. My county included. God we would never have won anything with the teams of the 80's & 90's.
Further, I don't think Dublin need to dream of having players from other counties. Their squad is incredible as it is.
Superb performance from McBrearty. For such a small rural club, kilcar, must be delighted to produce quality players like him and the McHugh's. Ryan was excellent also.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 30/07/2016 21:16:24    1892516

Replying To Al_Maguire:  "Does being bitten by a Dub now constitute them being eligible to play for them?"
Ha ha absolutely brilliant- post of the year!!!'

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 30/07/2016 21:37:30    1892533

If only COS and Fenton were in the Kerry team............................

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 30/07/2016 21:44:17    1892543

Replying To waynoI:  "Why is it that a guy has an outstanding game, instead of just acknowledging how good he was, We try and compare it to past performances from other players. Ah Connolly v Tyrone was better....No Paddy McBrearty today was better. Who cares and sure what does it matter ? Can't we just enjoy the performance of a gifted individual today for what it was. Likewise John Heslin in the second game. Worth the admission fee alone."
Nah, Brogan V Cork 2010 was better :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 30/07/2016 22:05:31    1892561

Well done paddy, a Donegal one man show today

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 30/07/2016 22:20:42    1892569

Replying To waynoI:  "Why is it that a guy has an outstanding game, instead of just acknowledging how good he was, We try and compare it to past performances from other players. Ah Connolly v Tyrone was better....No Paddy McBrearty today was better. Who cares and sure what does it matter ? Can't we just enjoy the performance of a gifted individual today for what it was. Likewise John Heslin in the second game. Worth the admission fee alone."
Apologies lads, I feel I did give McBrearty his plaudits all the same

I simply felt as a Dublin man you'd have enjoyed Connolly's day more

Not taking anything away from McBreaty he was off the chain there today, pulled Donegal through the mire almost singlehandedly

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 30/07/2016 22:31:47    1892574

Ah sure it's just a bit of craic.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4239 - 30/07/2016 22:31:59    1892575

McBrearty is top class and anybody who watches him play club football will tell you we still haven't seen the best of him for Donegal yet. The main problem he faces when playing for Donegal is that he often plays as a lone attacker with no support. It is nearly impossible for him to get into the game.

His young borther Stephen is also top class but RG hasn't given him a chance.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 30/07/2016 23:59:47    1892622

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Ha ha absolutely brilliant- post of the year!!!'"
Maybe being bitten by a Dub turns you into one of them the same way as being bitten by a Werewolf,
was there a full moon that day? LOL.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 31/07/2016 00:04:38    1892624

McBrearty was a class apart today. It was a privilege to witness his display as he was absolutely unplayable. With himself and Murphy up front Donegal have a chance against anyone.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 31/07/2016 00:25:05    1892631

"Bite"gate again? Seriously?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 31/07/2016 01:03:09    1892634

Replying To Dubsfan28:  ""Bite"gate again? Seriously?"
And why not?

I fully expect all sorts of calumny to be thrown about in the coming week.

No blow will be too low, no perceived slight forgotten.

In this febrile atmosphere I would have thought that attempted cannibalism would be fair play.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 31/07/2016 10:06:10    1892666