Kieran Donaghy for a All Star and POTY

hard to judge performane on just 2 matches, maybe when we see him in championship after 6 or 7 matches like the rest of midfielders, we can compare him . But waiteven if kerry win all ireland they wont play that many games

madbull (Westmeath) - Posts: 195 - 30/07/2016 13:50:13    1892271

Plus angry mouthy head of the year... make that the decade!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 30/07/2016 15:29:58    1892291

He's just never had the game to be FOTY

Although let's face it and say there probably isn't an all star on the sheet up to this point, they're selected during the next 3 games

He's a lucky boy to have what he has, he did nothing against Tyrone in the 2008 final literally zilch, i'd have taken it off him for that days work alone

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 30/07/2016 16:05:30    1892303

Let's wait and see how he does when he plays a county outside of Munster.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/07/2016 16:18:40    1892306

Replying To juniorjudge:  "Carlsberg dont do unrealistic posts but if they did...."
ha ha had a little lol

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 30/07/2016 17:07:47    1892322

Replying To SaffronDon:  "to be fair, players performances up until this stage means very little going on previous years all star awards. Donaghy has performed in a semi final and final before and nicked in to take an all star over others who were shoe ins at this stage of things. The player of the year would be a tougher one to take of the back of 2 games and id suspect his influence wouldnt be as great as others on the kerry team at this stage of his career. Also considering Dublin are hot favouates to retain Sam it would be a real long shot."
Yeah if you just look at the stats of all the players who have ever won the POTY like 90% of them have been on the right side of an All Ireland final. Kerry need to win sam and Donaghy needs to rewind ten years in order for him to win POTY H. He's a good player no doubt, just not even near top 5 in the country.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 30/07/2016 17:11:04    1892324

Too early to tell.
It quite literally only takes a good performance in the 2nd half of the all ireland final to put you in the mix for this particular award so ill reserve judgement so far.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 30/07/2016 17:36:19    1892340

Replying To Seansy48:  "He's just never had the game to be FOTY

Although let's face it and say there probably isn't an all star on the sheet up to this point, they're selected during the next 3 games

He's a lucky boy to have what he has, he did nothing against Tyrone in the 2008 final literally zilch, i'd have taken it off him for that days work alone"
STAR was player of the year in 2006 so your talking rubbish.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/07/2016 18:24:06    1892387

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "STAR was player of the year in 2006 so your talking rubbish."
Sorry, have to admit I thought it was the Gooch that year!

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 30/07/2016 18:44:20    1892399

Replying To Seansy48:  "Sorry, have to admit I thought it was the Gooch that year!"
Ah you're grand out, gooch has never won player of the year strangely enough.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/07/2016 19:05:42    1892415

Solid display from Kieran.thought he kept Gary Brennan very quiet

Mullerm (Cork) - Posts: 87 - 01/08/2016 09:49:02    1893352

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "Yeah if you just look at the stats of all the players who have ever won the POTY like 90% of them have been on the right side of an All Ireland final. Kerry need to win sam and Donaghy needs to rewind ten years in order for him to win POTY H. He's a good player no doubt, just not even near top 5 in the country."
Agree nowhere near POTY but what he has done is ruin any chance Gary Brennan was going to win it.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 01/08/2016 10:07:31    1893362

The POTY and the all stars are normally selected by performances from the quater finals onwards. In my opinion Mattie Donnelly has been the stand out midfielder this year. Donaghy is a great player though but I prefer him at full forward. Midfiielders these days need to be really mobile.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 01/08/2016 10:25:17    1893369

Replying To TheHermit:  "Star is not a Kerry standard midfielder.

However he is the greatest full forward of his generation.

IMO he is the reason Kerry won at least 3 of there last 4 All Irelands.

So before a few more people post their guff on here about him, it might be worth remembering that."
Best FF of his generation.... Hermit buddy u get better and better :) he isnt even close!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/08/2016 12:06:48    1893428

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Best FF of his generation.... Hermit buddy u get better and better :) he isnt even close!!!"
As an out and out FF there aren't many better than him. He's impossible to mark and has excellent hands on him. He causes havoc every time he is left on the edge of the square.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 01/08/2016 12:39:21    1893445

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Best FF of his generation.... Hermit buddy u get better and better :) he isnt even close!!!"
So not only are you unable to make an argument about whose potentially better you are actually laughing outright at the notion Donaghy could be considered one of the greatest full forwards of his generation.

Right think I'll leave it there you getting to be no better than the other trolls on here.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/08/2016 12:46:06    1893449

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ah you're grand out, gooch has never won player of the year strangely enough."
its rare I post on the main forum theses days and I have read two threads this morning - I cutting Donaghy to shreds on that tackle yesterday and now this what i can only call a response to that thread... nevertheless regarding the 2006 player of the years and you saying you though Gooch was better that year... I have to disagree Darragh was head and shoulders above all Kerry panalists that year.. his display in the quarters against Armagh was the single biggest display by a single player I have ever seen and yes I include Mossie Fitz display in 1997 against Mayo... Darragh should have been player of the year in 2006 end of in my opinion...

now the rest of ye can get back to the squibbling...

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 01/08/2016 13:08:22    1893464

Replying To TheHermit:  "So not only are you unable to make an argument about whose potentially better you are actually laughing outright at the notion Donaghy could be considered one of the greatest full forwards of his generation.

Right think I'll leave it there you getting to be no better than the other trolls on here."
Dont worry bout Liam and his gang the hermit, they think football only started in 2011.

Star has won poty and a few allstars and has nothing to prove to any1 . He is the STAR Donaghy and he is a football legend.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/08/2016 13:28:13    1893483

Lads, there is more chance of me being called into the Mayo squad and starting full forward against Tyrone on Saturday than Kieran Donaghy winning an All star.

mayoaresavage (Mayo) - Posts: 313 - 01/08/2016 14:07:08    1893507

Replying To Horsebox77:  "its rare I post on the main forum theses days and I have read two threads this morning - I cutting Donaghy to shreds on that tackle yesterday and now this what i can only call a response to that thread... nevertheless regarding the 2006 player of the years and you saying you though Gooch was better that year... I have to disagree Darragh was head and shoulders above all Kerry panalists that year.. his display in the quarters against Armagh was the single biggest display by a single player I have ever seen and yes I include Mossie Fitz display in 1997 against Mayo... Darragh should have been player of the year in 2006 end of in my opinion...

now the rest of ye can get back to the squibbling..."
Agree big Darragh was awesome that year and a real gentleman to boot - met him with Mick Galway at a Rugby Autumn International in Ballsbridge and had a few drinks with them - Jeez they can tell a great story. He was a colossal in midfield and up there with Jacko.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 01/08/2016 14:15:38    1893515