Tony Kelly or Austin Gleeson

Replying To PremierGold:  "Tony Kelly...for every wide Gleeson hits Kelly will hit a point."
Aussie hands down. He still has to mature as a player though. When he does mature he'll be unstoppable.

TheBlaBoi (Waterford) - Posts: 24 - 22/11/2016 10:02:36    1935893

Replying To TheBlaBoi:  "Aussie hands down. He still has to mature as a player though. When he does mature he'll be unstoppable."
How dare you speak ill of the Deise Messiah!He is mature.He is sublime.He is the great white hope of the bla brigade.He is without fault ; a supreme being of super natural Austin powers.The man can do no wrong.Player of the year having being walloped by Tipp in Munster and failing to reach an All Ireland final.Never has a poor game.Never drives a bad wide.A selfless young warrior who always picks out a man in a better position.All for the good of the team.Always see's the bigger picture.The Mount Sion maestro.Simply without equal.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 22/11/2016 10:29:32    1935899

both brilliant.end of.
nothing to see here.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 22/11/2016 10:35:53    1935904

Can't we just have both?

Told my son to sit and watch Tony Kelly last weekend. He's starting to look at county players and see what they're doing (and about time too!!!!). Kelly's workrate is phenomenal and I'm telling the lads I coach that it's not just abut being skillful, but it's about hard work too.

Both geniuses. Lucky to have them.

Cully (Laois) - Posts: 375 - 22/11/2016 10:42:33    1935908

Tony Kelly for me.

More complete hurler and for me has that Henry Shefflin type influence to drag teams over the line when the chips are down, the NHL final this year being a prime example, again also for his Club he has done the same.

Gleeson crucially though is a younger player so he has that on his side. I do feel though that the more Waterford keep moving Gleeson from pillar to post on his team the more its going to work against him.

For me he is a centre back or midfield and his potential in either of those knows no bounds.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1352 - 22/11/2016 11:16:38    1935920

Replying To TheBlaBoi:  "Aussie hands down. He still has to mature as a player though. When he does mature he'll be unstoppable."
He has some amount of maturing to do....6 wides and taken off in the Munster final, 7 then against Wexford......if he was at Tipp or KK he would have been dropped after that. At the moment what is unstoppable is the hype!!

PremierGold (Tipperary) - Posts: 121 - 22/11/2016 11:28:06    1935926

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=S0FimR4Culw

Austin haters are gonna hate.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/11/2016 11:49:52    1935937

Replying To PremierGold:  "He has some amount of maturing to do....6 wides and taken off in the Munster final, 7 then against Wexford......if he was at Tipp or KK he would have been dropped after that. At the moment what is unstoppable is the hype!!"
That's the most ridiculous post I have seen on here and that's saying something! How would he have been dropped? He'd walk into any team in the country. He's undroppable. He can improve a lot more which is scary.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 22/11/2016 12:02:06    1935941

I can't believe this thread is actually starting to resemble a Messi v Ronaldo thing. It's alright to like both or even like one of them without slating the other.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12123 - 22/11/2016 12:13:20    1935944

He also has a bit of a petulant,nasty side to him.He was very lucky not to be sent off v Tipp in Munster hurling final for a strike to the head and he was culpable of one of the worst and most cowardly acts i've seen on a hirling field when he pulled wildly across a defenseless opponents head in a Waterford club game.I think it was so bad it made the RTE News.It was definately on Youtube in all it's gorey.A brutal assault.If ye dont believe me,see it for yereselves.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 22/11/2016 12:16:42    1935945

Replying To cuederocket:  "He also has a bit of a petulant,nasty side to him.He was very lucky not to be sent off v Tipp in Munster hurling final for a strike to the head and he was culpable of one of the worst and most cowardly acts i've seen on a hirling field when he pulled wildly across a defenseless opponents head in a Waterford club game.I think it was so bad it made the RTE News.It was definately on Youtube in all it's gorey.A brutal assault.If ye dont believe me,see it for yereselves."
*U21 Muster final

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 22/11/2016 12:24:15    1935952

I find it very hard to believe that posters are making excuses for the wides Gleeson hits, fair enough anybody can hit two or three in a game but the Hail Mary shots from 100 yards out going 10 yards wide? I'd be pulling my hair out if I was a Waterford supporter!!!

At this moment in time, if I had a choice of which I'd have on my team, it would be Tony Kelly. I think we'll see him show his real class next year now that Davy is gone.

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 22/11/2016 12:50:06    1935958

Replying To Joe_Bloggs:  "I find it very hard to believe that posters are making excuses for the wides Gleeson hits, fair enough anybody can hit two or three in a game but the Hail Mary shots from 100 yards out going 10 yards wide? I'd be pulling my hair out if I was a Waterford supporter!!!

At this moment in time, if I had a choice of which I'd have on my team, it would be Tony Kelly. I think we'll see him show his real class next year now that Davy is gone."
Or the childish accusations by some posters of "begrudgers,whiners and haters" for calling it as one see's fit.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 22/11/2016 13:00:58    1935963

Do people realise Kelly is 22? People saying how young Gleeson is and he has youth on his side!! There's a year between them!

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 22/11/2016 13:16:52    1935964

yaaaaawnn nom nom nom

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 22/11/2016 15:21:12    1935993

Replying To tiobraid:  "That's the most ridiculous post I have seen on here and that's saying something! How would he have been dropped? He'd walk into any team in the country. He's undroppable. He can improve a lot more which is scary."
If a Tipp player hit 6 wides in a Munster final and then 7 in the following game, would he be selected for the third game??not a hope

PremierGold (Tipperary) - Posts: 121 - 22/11/2016 16:51:46    1936024

Replying To cuederocket:  "How dare you speak ill of the Deise Messiah!He is mature.He is sublime.He is the great white hope of the bla brigade.He is without fault ; a supreme being of super natural Austin powers.The man can do no wrong.Player of the year having being walloped by Tipp in Munster and failing to reach an All Ireland final.Never has a poor game.Never drives a bad wide.A selfless young warrior who always picks out a man in a better position.All for the good of the team.Always see's the bigger picture.The Mount Sion maestro.Simply without equal."
He had one bad game, I take it you didn't see the munster final. And I've had the privilege of meeting the chap on a few occasions. Got photos taking with my kids signed hurlers and jerseys. lovely lad. And always there for the young supporters. I've in no way spoke bad about OUR aussie and never will. Wait and see him next year.

And regards to a comment below from a begrudge tipp fan. About ever point Tony kelly scores aussie puts them wide. Austin takes long range shots from deep in tje backline and scores 7 out every 10,kelly is in the forward line and is knowing hit some wayward shots. Put aussie in the half forward line. It won't be points he'll score it will be goals. And believe that. And that is not a insult it's a fact of life. Hail hail

TheBlaBoi (Waterford) - Posts: 24 - 23/11/2016 00:38:15    1936143

Replying To PremierGold:  "If a Tipp player hit 6 wides in a Munster final and then 7 in the following game, would he be selected for the third game??not a hope"
Depends who he was. Callinan was shocking in the league game against Clare as was Bubbles. Were they dropped for the first round after hitting some dreadful wides?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 23/11/2016 08:25:53    1936148

Both Gleeson and Kelly can can hit silly wides. Gleesons can be outragous at times. I feel it wouldnt be stood for in Tipp or Kilkenny.
I think both arent as good as Reid or hogan at passing or bring others into a game either.
They are my 2 major criticisms. Both are brilliant. Gleeson is better in the air and has more athletic potential. Hes a better ball winner. Kelly has better footwork and accuracy and his hot patches come at the most important times. Overall I think Gleeson has more potential with his physique yet to be at its optimum. At this moment in time I couldnt separate them

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 23/11/2016 09:00:24    1936153

Replying To TheBlaBoi:  "He had one bad game, I take it you didn't see the munster final. And I've had the privilege of meeting the chap on a few occasions. Got photos taking with my kids signed hurlers and jerseys. lovely lad. And always there for the young supporters. I've in no way spoke bad about OUR aussie and never will. Wait and see him next year.

And regards to a comment below from a begrudge tipp fan. About ever point Tony kelly scores aussie puts them wide. Austin takes long range shots from deep in tje backline and scores 7 out every 10,kelly is in the forward line and is knowing hit some wayward shots. Put aussie in the half forward line. It won't be points he'll score it will be goals. And believe that. And that is not a insult it's a fact of life. Hail hail"
Didn't he get an All Star centre forward?

Its the norm for GAA players to stop and take photos and sign autographs for kids, do none of the other Waterford players do it? 99% of the Tipp do anyway.

I feel that he has two faults in his game, his lack of discipline and his poor shooting. I've nothing against the kid, hes a super talent and if he works on both of them areas, he could win All Irelands for Waterford on his own.
Also I'd thread carefully if I was Waterford fans, the last player that there was this much hype about was Joe Canning.

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 23/11/2016 09:02:52    1936154