The HS Clique - myth/reality?

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Of course there is a clique.......fecking Dubs."
Not true , I hate all posters equally doesn't matter to me if you eat supermacs ,

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 29/07/2016 11:00:03    1891880

There is a Hoganstand Civil War over in Mayo the past few years between the Flaker and the Master.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 29/07/2016 11:12:57    1891893

Replying To OLLIE:  "There is a Hoganstand Civil War over in Mayo the past few years between the Flaker and the Master."
No that's not a civil war Ollie, they're just playing hard to get :)

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 29/07/2016 11:28:27    1891901

There is no clique, There are lads who know each other well on here as we have been here years, but, if we were a clique we would all be agreeing with each other and back slapping the whole time, calling new members noobs and being pricks!
I am a compatriot of Jimbo, Wayne, Damo etc and I know them years on here. I have great time for them and often interact on there with them, however, as they will agree, I argue with them more than anyone id say!!! Hence, its no clique. Thats a good thing!!
Long may we chat, long may we argue. The day we all start agreeing with each other based on geography is the day we are in trouble on HS

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 29/07/2016 11:44:19    1891913

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "No that's not a civil war Ollie, they're just playing hard to get :)"
Med who is playing the hardest to get? By the way Happy Belated Birthday. Don't go too mad over the weekend.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 29/07/2016 12:00:52    1891923

Replying To thelongridge:  "The only way you'll get your hands on it!"
And that's pure true ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/07/2016 12:32:19    1891945

Replying To OLLIE:  "Med who is playing the hardest to get? By the way Happy Belated Birthday. Don't go too mad over the weekend."
HAha well as far as I know, The Flaker moved away from Mayo, so he's setting the pace alright! I should probably stop now though.

Thanks for the birthday wishes Ollie, one more year before another milestone!

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 29/07/2016 12:36:09    1891950

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith Cavan here

jimbo I fully agree that a click exists with very little airtime given to Cavan people, But we are used being the under dogs. we go away up to Dublin and get fleeced from lock hard to the two collection at the Chapel get as much as youse can from the Cavan men. Probably Hoganstand is based in Dublin because it seems to be very pro Dublin, From Liam away out in Walkinstown to damien the Dub to Hill 16 a few of them post rubbish. So I sat a clique exists and its a Dublin Clique"
did mrs t come up with this ?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/07/2016 12:40:10    1891955

Replying To Marlon_JD:  "Have you been holding back the electric car? Did you make Steve Guttenburg...A STAR? Oh wait, sorry, thats The Stonecutters"
We keep the metric system down too...

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 29/07/2016 13:29:05    1891980

Replying To OLLIE:  "There is a Hoganstand Civil War over in Mayo the past few years between the Flaker and the Master."
I wouldn't rule out another Hoganstand civil war occurring between my good self and Alano12

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 29/07/2016 13:34:18    1891982

Replying To waynoI:  "I wouldn't rule out another Hoganstand civil war occurring between my good self and Alano12"
Wayno I had a Battle of the Boyne royal rumble with BettystownRoyal a few times. He just disappeared of Hoganstand a few years ago now. I heard he met some Wee County Lass and he moved up to Carlingford with her.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 29/07/2016 14:07:58    1891988

Replying To TheHermit:  "Uggh, I really can't stand these nouveau riche types...."
I read that in a Healy-Rae accent.... :)

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 29/07/2016 16:25:15    1892044

Reality.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 29/07/2016 20:46:46    1892112

Replying To jimbodub:  "I've seen this mentioned a few times now

I remember when I started posting here I used to say the same thing! You have plenty to say but you mightn't get the same recognition

So is it just a thing when you start posting and feel a bit left out, or is something altogether more tin foil hat brigade stuff thinking there's an agenda against you!

For me it's only natural to back up posters that you share a similar opinion with, and that's most common amongst your fellow county men/women, but even at that there's been some right civil war posts between fellow county men/women and we've all been guilty of that!

So if there is a clique on HS... perhaps it's more down to simple recognition between posters who have been here for a while...

The way I've always approached it, it only makes sense to threat everyone with respect from the start and then wait to see if they deserve it...

You'll always have some that are looking for conflict, or have an agenda but overall I think there's plenty on here with very well informed opinions and if you're not willing to recognise that then what's the point of contributing at all, we're all here because we enjoy GAA...

IMO there is no clique..."
There's no clique Jimbo. It's just a Mickey mouse forum. Relax and get out a bit more.

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 29/07/2016 22:01:12    1892132

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith Cavan here

jimbo I fully agree that a click exists with very little airtime given to Cavan people, But we are used being the under dogs. we go away up to Dublin and get fleeced from lock hard to the two collection at the Chapel get as much as youse can from the Cavan men. Probably Hoganstand is based in Dublin because it seems to be very pro Dublin, From Liam away out in Walkinstown to damien the Dub to Hill 16 a few of them post rubbish. So I sat a clique exists and its a Dublin Clique"
Ha .you be doing well to get anything out of a cavan man..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 30/07/2016 08:50:08    1892194

Replying To liner:  "There's no clique Jimbo. It's just a Mickey mouse forum. Relax and get out a bit more."
Says the fella that goes out of his way to have a dig at 10.01 on a Sarurday night...

Hahaha

Dear oh dear..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/07/2016 11:02:33    1892233

Replying To GGdub:  "Ha .you be doing well to get anything out of a cavan man.."
Tomsmith

It's based in Meath

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/07/2016 11:03:47    1892235

It's mainly for "oul cradais" waiting for their maker.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 30/07/2016 11:57:11    1892246

Hoganstand forums are a bit like Ireland and the GAA family in general. Posters might band together for county loyalties or if they think one of their players has been slighted by a poster. It's usually just good-natured craic and banter but the odd time heated words are exchanged.

But like the GAA family we give each other a hand. Counties advising each other of good places to stay, pubs, restaurants etc if they're visiting for a match, just helping other posters. Arock's thread today about traffic in Dublin is a good example.

We're here for a goodtime and a bit of craic and many's the post I've seen here put a smile on my face.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 30/07/2016 16:54:17    1892320