County you least want to see win in football?

It's small wonder that the Irish are known for being a nation of begrudgers ;)

For me, it used to be Meath, but they have been in a dip for a while, and in fairness we usually play them once a decade, if that. Roscommon would be public enemy number one now, though it wasn't always thus. I remember cheering for them when their minors were playing against Kerry in the 2006 final. However, in subsequent years I've come to the conclusion that many of their fans carry a serious chip on their shoulder regarding Mayo, so it's hard to absorb that without a touch of schadenfreude when they bomb out in Connacht/ the qualifiers.

Dublin would also be near the top of the list, though not for the reasons that many may think. I actually enjoy their expansive brand of football, but I play for a club which has at least a dozen Dubs and only myself as a Mayo person, so I tend to get it in the neck when they beat us in the championship. It would be nice to turn the tables if only for that reason.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 28/07/2016 15:08:26    1891562

Replying To wishfulthinkin:  "they will be well beaten...and Brennan will be wiped out at midfield just as he was in the game they already played when Sheehan and Donaghy gave him a lesson. He has looked well playing against lesser players in a few games, it's silly off people to be handing him an all-stars this early. Lets judge him when he dominates midfield against teams like Kerry, Throne & Dublin"
Im confused. Brennan doesnt play for tipp. Think you have games mixed up. Im talking about tipp v galway

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 767 - 28/07/2016 15:17:04    1891565

Dublin.

ShortGrass_1 (Kildare) - Posts: 223 - 28/07/2016 15:23:56    1891568

Replying To Jackeen:  "Im almost sure Wayno is from Dublin but moved to Meath with his family correct me if im wrong Wayno? Alan you seen awfully judgemental in your opinion of what constitutes a true GAA person. Surely its subjective?"
not subjective at all...in what way is somebody who follows just the dublin senior football team like somebody follows your common man utd or liverpool over here a true gaa person?..do you not realise what the gaa is all about?..and im fairly sure waynol is a meath man, lives there, grew up there, i know meath/kildare have had some issues with lads trying to pretend like there from dublin despite moving there years ago when they were too young to know anything about dublin never mind support the football team

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 28/07/2016 15:39:33    1891578

Replying To waynoI:  "proper gaa person is somebody passionate about the sport who is usually involved in a club or at least attends club games

Says who ?

following a team like man utd which we are fast becoming isnt being a proper gaa person

Totally different. Supporting Man Utd and going to 2 or 3 games a year while watching the rest on tele is not the same as supporting Dublin up and down the country, Knowing the money you spend on them is going back into either the DCB, Leinster council, or GAA hands...

its simply following a franchise and makes us no better than anybody who supports the premier league here which people like to give out about

Your anti soccer, anti premier league nonsense is every bit as comical as me being from Meath. I may not be your ideal of a proper GAA man, but if being a proper GAA man means having your type of attitude towards other sports, and people who enjoy them, then thank god, lucky escape. I'd hate to be held down by the weight of that chip on your shoulder.

UP THE DUBS!!"
anti soccer?..im not anti soccer in the slightest and various people on here can verify...says anybody involved in the gaa..you are the follower of a franchise same as a munster rugby, leinster fan, no interest in the club, the grassroots, the sport....i follow lots of sports and you really seem to have completely misunderstood my points but continue with the hyperbole there if you wish...where do you think this great dublin team comes from?

what you had to say on the republic of ireland thread was simply disgraceful, hypocritical, wrong and plain misinformed so if anybody has a chip on the shoulder then please

should you not be saying up meath?

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 28/07/2016 15:43:27    1891583

Replying To waynoI:  "And similar to your opinion of me and my views on the irish soccer side thread, They don't hold much weight. Now move along and get back on topic. If you want to discuss a "real GAA person" , then set up a separate thread good lad."
but what about being entitled to my opinion?..you were laughed off that thread..you shouldnt be putting out such strong opinions if you have very little to say on the gaa and dont actually follow it outside of 1 team

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 28/07/2016 15:44:21    1891585

Replying To JayP:  "Alano12.....

I think you are wrong on so many levels there. I know people who have attended Dublin games in summer for 40 years who have no club affiliation. But they love going to Dublin football games come championship time. They wax lyrical about past days and past glories. Are they not "proper GAA men"? I know guys who played senior for my club who never turned up to the club fundraisers or coached 1 kid in the club, and who never went to Dublin games. Are they "proper GAA men"? I think people contribute what they can. Some more than others! But I think this "proper GAA man/woman" stuff is ridiculous."
id strongly disagree.,..sure dublin wouldnt have the team they have now if it wasnt for the effort put in at club level..without the grassroots the gaa is nothing,..im quite worried about what is being said on here...im well aware dublin has a big element of its support who dont follow club football...to not even follow the sport when dublin are not playing?..that is not a fan of the sport that is simply a fanboy of a particular team

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 28/07/2016 15:46:18    1891587

Replying To waynoI:  "And also, Why would a real GAA man like yourself, club and county volunteer. A legend among your club and county people, have any opinion on the England soccerball national team appointing Sam Allardyce as their manager. Surely your opinion of a foreign sport, being a real GAA man, pillar of the community in your area would have no interest in that particular sport. And I mean, Itd have to be an opinion that holds no weight if you are not an England football fan ?

Just what would the people of your parish think of a real GAA man like yourself dipping your toes into the England soccerball teams business.

:)"
i am a follower of a variety of sports..you really seem to have a rather misguided view...a gaa person is somebody who follows their club, supports the county team, and is a follower of the sport....what has any of that got to do with soccer?..people are allowed to like all sports and nothing wrong with that but i have to laugh at people slagging others for supporting man utd, liverpool when a lot of the people that follow dublin are doing a pretty similar thing

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 28/07/2016 15:48:20    1891588

Replying To Gleebo:  "It's small wonder that the Irish are known for being a nation of begrudgers ;)

For me, it used to be Meath, but they have been in a dip for a while, and in fairness we usually play them once a decade, if that. Roscommon would be public enemy number one now, though it wasn't always thus. I remember cheering for them when their minors were playing against Kerry in the 2006 final. However, in subsequent years I've come to the conclusion that many of their fans carry a serious chip on their shoulder regarding Mayo, so it's hard to absorb that without a touch of schadenfreude when they bomb out in Connacht/ the qualifiers.

Dublin would also be near the top of the list, though not for the reasons that many may think. I actually enjoy their expansive brand of football, but I play for a club which has at least a dozen Dubs and only myself as a Mayo person, so I tend to get it in the neck when they beat us in the championship. It would be nice to turn the tables if only for that reason."
not a big fan of mayo as simply dont trust them on the big day and their fans get a bit carried away but cant say i blame them considering what they have been through,,,,i would like to see them get it over with and win 1 soon though

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 28/07/2016 15:55:39    1891594

Replying To waynoI:  "Again, as I posted to Alan the wonderful, Alan the amazing, Alan the GAA-man, I never claimed to be a GAA-man. I'm a Dublin fan in the football and my commitment to that as someone who goes to every single football game from the start, to end of their year, year on year, cant be questioned. But I don't have as much interest in the final once we go out. Probably a jealousy thing."
If I got jealous I'd never see a match beyond the first round

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 28/07/2016 15:59:48    1891596

Replying To JayP:  "Alano12.....

I think you are wrong on so many levels there. I know people who have attended Dublin games in summer for 40 years who have no club affiliation. But they love going to Dublin football games come championship time. They wax lyrical about past days and past glories. Are they not "proper GAA men"? I know guys who played senior for my club who never turned up to the club fundraisers or coached 1 kid in the club, and who never went to Dublin games. Are they "proper GAA men"? I think people contribute what they can. Some more than others! But I think this "proper GAA man/woman" stuff is ridiculous."
obviously people contribute what they can...stop overreacting to what i said...my issue is with people who do nothing in the gaa i.e dont play, dont support, dont coach, dont follow the sport or understand what its about, the only thing they do is follow the senior football dublin team which is effectively a big franchise in this day and age similar to leinster rugby, man utd, liverpool and that is simply what the gaa is not about in my opinion

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 28/07/2016 16:02:12    1891599

Replying To alano12:  "
Replying To waynoI:  "proper gaa person is somebody passionate about the sport who is usually involved in a club or at least attends club games

Says who ?

following a team like man utd which we are fast becoming isnt being a proper gaa person

Totally different. Supporting Man Utd and going to 2 or 3 games a year while watching the rest on tele is not the same as supporting Dublin up and down the country, Knowing the money you spend on them is going back into either the DCB, Leinster council, or GAA hands...

its simply following a franchise and makes us no better than anybody who supports the premier league here which people like to give out about

Your anti soccer, anti premier league nonsense is every bit as comical as me being from Meath. I may not be your ideal of a proper GAA man, but if being a proper GAA man means having your type of attitude towards other sports, and people who enjoy them, then thank god, lucky escape. I'd hate to be held down by the weight of that chip on your shoulder.

UP THE DUBS!!"
anti soccer?..im not anti soccer in the slightest and various people on here can verify...says anybody involved in the gaa..you are the follower of a franchise same as a munster rugby, leinster fan, no interest in the club, the grassroots, the sport....i follow lots of sports and you really seem to have completely misunderstood my points but continue with the hyperbole there if you wish...where do you think this great dublin team comes from?

what you had to say on the republic of ireland thread was simply disgraceful, hypocritical, wrong and plain misinformed so if anybody has a chip on the shoulder then please

should you not be saying up meath?"
alano12, just to clarify, wayno1 is a Dub living in Meath. Why would he be saying 'Up Meath'?

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 28/07/2016 16:05:21    1891602

Replying To alano12:  "not subjective at all...in what way is somebody who follows just the dublin senior football team like somebody follows your common man utd or liverpool over here a true gaa person?..do you not realise what the gaa is all about?..and im fairly sure waynol is a meath man, lives there, grew up there, i know meath/kildare have had some issues with lads trying to pretend like there from dublin despite moving there years ago when they were too young to know anything about dublin never mind support the football team"
Why are you bringing soccer into it? What has one got to do with the other? I hardly ever go to any club games anymore due to my family commitments. My husband is on the panel and i struggle to get to intercounty games these days. Yet i can assure you that GAA is my passion. My father (a Meath man) has never been a member of any club or supported any club for that matter. He followed Meath up and down the country for many years & KK in the hurling as his father was a KK man Your telling me that this man is not a GAA man? I completely disagree with you here and i feel you are being a genuine snob.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 28/07/2016 16:05:39    1891603

Replying To alano12:  "id strongly disagree.,..sure dublin wouldnt have the team they have now if it wasnt for the effort put in at club level..without the grassroots the gaa is nothing,..im quite worried about what is being said on here...im well aware dublin has a big element of its support who dont follow club football...to not even follow the sport when dublin are not playing?..that is not a fan of the sport that is simply a fanboy of a particular team"
Wel Im heavily involved at lots of different levels. But I wouldn't consider myself a proper GAA man. I just do it because I enjoy it, but I don't feel any more or less GAA based on my involvement. I see some of those summer fans and they get excited about GAA. For me they are probably more GAA men and women than I could be. I'm way too analytical, I'm looking at what's going on. Looking at structure etc etc. I'm quite boring. But I think you are way off trying to label what a proper GAA person. Some people have kids, jobs etc and their lives don't allow them to be your particular view of what a proper GAA person is.

As I said, people just give what they can.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 28/07/2016 16:10:11    1891605

Replying To CroiGorm:  "
Replying To alano12:  "[quote=waynoI:  "proper gaa person is somebody passionate about the sport who is usually involved in a club or at least attends club games

Says who ?

UP THE DUBS!!"

should you not be saying up meath?"
alano12, just to clarify, wayno1 is a Dub living in Meath. Why would he be saying 'Up Meath'?"]in what way is he a dub?..because somebody that lives and grows up in meath is a meath man....supporting the dublin football senior team doesnt make you do a dub

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 28/07/2016 17:05:56    1891638

Replying To Jackeen:  "Why are you bringing soccer into it? What has one got to do with the other? I hardly ever go to any club games anymore due to my family commitments. My husband is on the panel and i struggle to get to intercounty games these days. Yet i can assure you that GAA is my passion. My father (a Meath man) has never been a member of any club or supported any club for that matter. He followed Meath up and down the country for many years & KK in the hurling as his father was a KK man Your telling me that this man is not a GAA man? I completely disagree with you here and i feel you are being a genuine snob."
im referring to followers of a franchise which soccer is the best example of in ireland..again you are misinterpreting my point on purpose..waynol referred to not having an interest in gaa when dublin are not playing...if you dont follow the sport outside of 1 specific team at 1 specific age group then i dont know how you can call yourself much of a gaa man,...i listed examples of what a gaa person is

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 28/07/2016 17:07:38    1891639

Replying To JayP:  "Wel Im heavily involved at lots of different levels. But I wouldn't consider myself a proper GAA man. I just do it because I enjoy it, but I don't feel any more or less GAA based on my involvement. I see some of those summer fans and they get excited about GAA. For me they are probably more GAA men and women than I could be. I'm way too analytical, I'm looking at what's going on. Looking at structure etc etc. I'm quite boring. But I think you are way off trying to label what a proper GAA person. Some people have kids, jobs etc and their lives don't allow them to be your particular view of what a proper GAA person is.

As I said, people just give what they can."
i agree but i am referring to his point that he doesnt follow the sport or has no interest in it outside of the dublin senior team, that is not what the gaa is about...i listed certain examples of what makes the gaa what it is...and summer people are not what makes the gaa what it is as if it wasnt for the grassroots and the club and people like yourself then there wouldnt be a great dublin side like we have to enjoy now

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 28/07/2016 17:10:04    1891642

Heres the thing though Alan.

Among all the stuff you preach, I never once claimed to be a genuine GAA man ?

I also never once on here complained about people supporting soccer or rugby teams like Liverpool and Leinster.

If I was on here claiming id issues with people supporting Liverpool or Leinster, Then id get your having a go at me.

But I don't.

We were asked a question, I gave an honest answer..

I was born in Dublin, I lived in Dublin until I was 13. All my family are from Dublin, I represented St. Davids BS at gaelic football in primary school, And played gaelic football on the streets of Coolock with other people until I moved out here (not by choice) in 2005. I just never played club football or had any affiliation to a club.

There ya go, Don't like it ? lump it chief.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 28/07/2016 17:43:30    1891659

Replying To alano12:  "i agree but i am referring to his point that he doesnt follow the sport or has no interest in it outside of the dublin senior team, that is not what the gaa is about...i listed certain examples of what makes the gaa what it is...and summer people are not what makes the gaa what it is as if it wasnt for the grassroots and the club and people like yourself then there wouldnt be a great dublin side like we have to enjoy now"
Summer people do make the GAA a very wealthy association actually. Summer fans do play their part. If the thousands of fans didn't turn up in the summer, the fgures clubs and county boards get would decrease dramatically and the lovely clubhouses and equipment, kits, etc etc would be that little bit harder to fund.

And I'm not a summer Dublin fan either. I haven't missed a Dublin senior game in 14 years.

But I'm finished this conversation now.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 28/07/2016 17:48:41    1891662

Wayne but honestly you do watch gaa matches other than Dublin tell me you do? I find that bit hard to believe that you don't watch other matches that's the main point he's getting at and I can understand that point he's making, for such a big contributor to this forum to not watch other inter county games doesn't make sense. I believe you ment you've no interest once Dublin are out but you still watch other matches surely? Jackeen your husband is on the Dublin panel???

Once Dublin don't win I honestly couldn't care who win's. I dislike all the opposition and when the team we have right now doesn't win (cause I feel we are the best team) I'm to sick to care who else wins.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/07/2016 18:30:21    1891674