County you least want to see win in football?

Replying To yew_tree:  "Wayno the GAA is not about Dublin winning in croke park abs all the glamor that comes with it. Maybe your a club man too and if you are well done. I'd follow all teams but I'm not looking for a medal. I enjoy watching football and hurling.

Do you just follow Dublin for the trill as opposed to actually enjoyed football? I actually prefer watching other teams. Watching Mayo can be stressful and I do t us usually relax until the game is over"
This is getting ridiculous.

This original thread asked who people didn't want to see win the AI.

I explained that after the Dubs, I couldn't care less who wins it as I wouldn't openly pay too much attention once we are gone. I'm not saying I would openly ignore and refuse to watch the rest of the games, Just that I wouldn't overly be worried about missing them or rush home to watch them.

Jackeen made the very same point. I agreed.

Bringing club football into it now and why I support Dublin is irrelevant. If you want to know why, go onto another thread that discusses "Its not fun being a true fan" that jim set up. Youll get your answers man.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 28/07/2016 13:03:04    1891476

Replying To waynoI:  "Good to see GAA snobbery is alive and well.

If you don't play or support a club, your opinion surely cant be taken seriously!

Says who ?

Are you a member of a political party ?
Are you a member of an army ?
Do you play soccer, Rugby or Tennis ?
Are you a drug user ?
Are you a doctor ?
Are you a paying member of the ISPCA?

Unless you are all of those, you're saying you cant have a seriously opinion on politics in this country ? An opinion on war and world conflict ? General rugby, tennis and football discussion in the pub with the lads cause you don't play those sports ? Can you form an opinion on drug use if you aren't a drug user ? Can you have a discussion on medical science and disease outbreak etc if you aren't a doctor. ? Does your view on Animal cruelty hold no water because you aren't working for the ISPCA ?

That's your logic ^

Fair enough.

I just think you're a snob.

I don't believe you have to be involved in a club to have an opinion on the game. You can read, watch, listen, and see to form your opinions on something."
The 1st part was a genuine question,nothing to do with what i wrote after that!
My point was that u say you're not bothered if dublin arn't playing so you obviously only take any interest in dublin games yes? How can you comment on threads about any other games or teams if you have no interest in them?

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 562 - 28/07/2016 13:16:30    1891484

Westmeath = noisy neighbours who unfortunately have beaten us consistently over the last 15 years in league and championship. Don't care about the rest although I do like to see the underdog win

tonorio (Offaly) - Posts: 608 - 28/07/2016 13:18:45    1891485

proper gaa person is somebody passionate about the sport who is usually involved in a club or at least attends club games

Says who ?

following a team like man utd which we are fast becoming isnt being a proper gaa person

Totally different. Supporting Man Utd and going to 2 or 3 games a year while watching the rest on tele is not the same as supporting Dublin up and down the country, Knowing the money you spend on them is going back into either the DCB, Leinster council, or GAA hands...

its simply following a franchise and makes us no better than anybody who supports the premier league here which people like to give out about

Your anti soccer, anti premier league nonsense is every bit as comical as me being from Meath. I may not be your ideal of a proper GAA man, but if being a proper GAA man means having your type of attitude towards other sports, and people who enjoy them, then thank god, lucky escape. I'd hate to be held down by the weight of that chip on your shoulder.

UP THE DUBS!!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 28/07/2016 13:24:08    1891489

Replying To alano12:  "you are entitled to your opinion but similar to the irish soccer side thread, it doesnt hold much weight"
And similar to your opinion of me and my views on the irish soccer side thread, They don't hold much weight. Now move along and get back on topic. If you want to discuss a "real GAA person" , then set up a separate thread good lad.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 28/07/2016 13:30:18    1891494

Fair play for giving an honest opinion Wayno

At least you didn't have to buy into saying who you hated the most and would like to see lose

If that's not being a true spirited GAA man I don't know what is

Your passion is Dublin GAA, nothing wrong in that

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/07/2016 13:31:36    1891496

Dublin and Mayo. Anyone else who wins best of luck to them, but can't stand Dublin or Mayo.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 28/07/2016 13:39:52    1891501

Alano12.....

I think you are wrong on so many levels there. I know people who have attended Dublin games in summer for 40 years who have no club affiliation. But they love going to Dublin football games come championship time. They wax lyrical about past days and past glories. Are they not "proper GAA men"? I know guys who played senior for my club who never turned up to the club fundraisers or coached 1 kid in the club, and who never went to Dublin games. Are they "proper GAA men"? I think people contribute what they can. Some more than others! But I think this "proper GAA man/woman" stuff is ridiculous.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 28/07/2016 13:46:10    1891505

It was Cork for me back in the 80/90s mainly because they were our biggest rivals at the time and we played them in four finals. I lived in Cork for this period, was involved at club/divisional and county level in Cork GAA, but could never bring myself to wish them well, but have to admit they were and always seem to be a very fair side to play against. Hopefully in the not too distant future we will return and give some posters plenty more b*t*h about.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 28/07/2016 13:49:18    1891506

Replying To alano12:  "u seem to have a poor understanding of what the gaa is about so, why do you follow dublin if you arent from dublin?"
And also, Why would a real GAA man like yourself, club and county volunteer. A legend among your club and county people, have any opinion on the England soccerball national team appointing Sam Allardyce as their manager. Surely your opinion of a foreign sport, being a real GAA man, pillar of the community in your area would have no interest in that particular sport. And I mean, Itd have to be an opinion that holds no weight if you are not an England football fan ?

Just what would the people of your parish think of a real GAA man like yourself dipping your toes into the England soccerball teams business.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 28/07/2016 13:49:54    1891507

Tyrone. I admire their team, but their supporters are the worst winners.

We have a word up north to describe them, slabbers.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 28/07/2016 13:56:35    1891512

Kerry - ( do admire them ) but they win it too often......
Cork because of their poor support especially in football, after that I would say who do I admire most:-
1. Leitrim - good solid club structure which defines the odds by fielding and competing
2. Fermanagh - probably a smaller GAA base than Leitrim - but fair play to them for keeping it going
3. Offaly - undoubtedly the story of the 80's and 90's - how such a county became such a force was unreal
4. Antrim - keeping it going and alive when it was on life support system during the troubles especially in places like Larne, Ballymena, Lisburn
5.Carlow - to be located beside such bigger and more successful counties must be tough....

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 28/07/2016 14:09:39    1891516

Replying To MourneArmy:  "Tyrone. I admire their team, but their supporters are the worst winners.

We have a word up north to describe them, slabbers."
To be fair most of the "slabbering" as you call it is coming from some of the Down supporters who seem totally distraught that any other Ulster county does well.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 28/07/2016 14:14:35    1891519

Replying To IrishGael3:  "To be fair most of the "slabbering" as you call it is coming from some of the Down supporters who seem totally distraught that any other Ulster county does well."
Really? Where are you basing this analysis from? Hoganstand posters?

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 28/07/2016 14:20:53    1891522

Replying To MourneArmy:  "Really? Where are you basing this analysis from? Hoganstand posters?"
Yes - there's 4 or 5 common posters on these forums, who for some reason, have an unhealthy fixation with Tyrone. The thread could be about u12 Ladies Development squads in Leitrim and they come on and slag off Tyrone - it's quite laughable.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 28/07/2016 14:29:06    1891529

For 2016 it would have to be

Dublin, Kerry, Tyrone, Galway, Westmeath, Cork, Donegal, Claire, Tipperary.

I'll be very happy if none of them win it in 2016.

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 206 - 28/07/2016 14:32:05    1891531

Replying To BlastCalyle:  "For 2016 it would have to be

I'll be very happy if none of them win it in 2016."
I always thought Claire was a lovely girl

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 28/07/2016 14:38:01    1891536

Replying To BlastCalyle:  "For 2016 it would have to be

I'll be very happy if none of them win it in 2016."
Stop picking on Claire, she's lovely!

m_the_d (None) - Posts: 1099 - 28/07/2016 14:42:22    1891539

Replying To MourneArmy:  "Tyrone. I admire their team, but their supporters are the worst winners.

We have a word up north to describe them, slabbers."
This sums my opinion of Tyrone up, I have serious admiration for their players over the years and of course for Micky Harte. But I'd have to say I wouldn't want them to win purely because their supporters are the worst.

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 28/07/2016 14:45:37    1891541

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Yes - there's 4 or 5 common posters on these forums, who for some reason, have an unhealthy fixation with Tyrone. The thread could be about u12 Ladies Development squads in Leitrim and they come on and slag off Tyrone - it's quite laughable."
I wouldn't go forming an opinion on an entire county's support from a couple of posters on Hoganstand. Fairly naive.

I've formed my opinion on experiences at matches between Down and Tyrone over many years. They seem to attract more slabbers than most. I'm sure supporters of other counties in Ulster can back me up on that. When they win they enjoy gloating. Likewise they seem to really enjoy beating Down, the gloating is immense. I'll take it as a compliment!

And it's for this reason I get a cheap thrill when Tyrone are sent packing from the championship.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 28/07/2016 14:51:10    1891549