GPA club agenda

Replying To arock:  ""The job of intercounty players, after playing football, is to defend their interests." Can you explain that for me? I don't understand the defending their interest bit? Who decides who is and isn't an inter-county player? These people do not have a contract or a god given right to play for their counties, a change of manager and they go finito there are no interests for them to defend. These are club players who happen to play Inter-county, the Inter-county team is voted in/supported by (or not) by the clubs and the county membership. If clubs don't release them they won't play end of. Their job is two fold, to play for the their club and play for their county. The club/county player in the GAA is indivisible, it is one and the same thing. The harsh reality is there will be NO Intercounty game for anyone to enjoy if the GAA gets this wrong, I happen to think players do need to be rewarded but it is not a job nor never will it be one. Paying for gas in their tank won't lessen the demands on them, won't make life one bit easier except very very slightly in their pocket, it is pocket money, for which they will have to shut and put up."
The county manager decides who is and isn't an intercounty player. I thought that would be obvious.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 28/07/2016 10:55:01    1891386

Replying To jimbodub:  "Clubs don't realise just how much power they have

But it will take a leadership to be established with a clear set of goals

The GPA fought tooth and nail for a very long time to have what it has now

Club people want everything handed to them, there's too much chest beating and no direct action/commitment

Where is the CLUB PLAYERS ASSOCIATION - THE CPA? Where are the men and women willing to dedicate themselves to that cause, find funding, find common ground and the commitment to force through change

Because that's exactly what a small bunch of former/playing Inter County players did and look at what they were able to achieve with 2000+ members - imagine what 10's of thousands of members could achieve

The Clubs hold so much power but many are just a bunch of inward looking whingers, and until that changes nothing is going to be done or achieved.

Highlighting why the GPA aren't doing the work for you is so fecking misguided."
Don' t think anybody looking for GPA to assist clubs but pushing for more county games and new championship structure will damage clubs. What club players/managers/trainers/coaches are looking for is some sort of structure to fixtures and a reduced county season. In relation to GPA members the only constant are the lads and ladies at the top who are well paid for the work.

Mid Don (Donegal) - Posts: 70 - 28/07/2016 11:14:23    1891398

Replying To jimbodub:  "Clubs don't realise just how much power they have

But it will take a leadership to be established with a clear set of goals

The GPA fought tooth and nail for a very long time to have what it has now

Club people want everything handed to them, there's too much chest beating and no direct action/commitment

Where is the CLUB PLAYERS ASSOCIATION - THE CPA? Where are the men and women willing to dedicate themselves to that cause, find funding, find common ground and the commitment to force through change

Because that's exactly what a small bunch of former/playing Inter County players did and look at what they were able to achieve with 2000+ members - imagine what 10's of thousands of members could achieve

The Clubs hold so much power but many are just a bunch of inward looking whingers, and until that changes nothing is going to be done or achieved.

Highlighting why the GPA aren't doing the work for you is so fecking misguided."
The GPA have power because TV deals, sponsorship deals, filling up croke park all rest on their shoulders. Without them very little happens in terms of revenue to the GAA. They are the big show. Club players have numbers but the club game is a sideshow to the intercounty game. The chances of a strike in the club game are slim. I think they should have a better defined season in the calendar but its not an easy thing to organise. After that I don't think there is too much for the club players to give out about.

Intercounty players have a lot more gripes because people are making money off their work and they get a pittance plus abuse from gobsh*tes with cushy numbers on RTE.

Intercounty players are a credit to this country, they provide entertainment to the masses, money to the GAA & newspapers as well as towns and cities across the country where games are held. We are lucky to have them and lucky they demand so little in return.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 28/07/2016 11:24:36    1891404

Without clubs, there is nothing.

Clubs need to be looked after properly

manfromdelmonte (UK) - Posts: 541 - 28/07/2016 11:35:34    1891415

Am I the only person that thinks that clubs should suck it up? If they don't have access to county players during the county season they should just put the head down and get on with it. You look at Rugby and there are numerous club sides who train the elite players from childhood. The rugby players return to these clubs when they can but by and large they play for their province first and foremost. Why can't gaa clubs do that?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 28/07/2016 11:39:05    1891421

Replying To gotmilk:  "Am I the only person that thinks that clubs should suck it up? If they don't have access to county players during the county season they should just put the head down and get on with it. You look at Rugby and there are numerous club sides who train the elite players from childhood. The rugby players return to these clubs when they can but by and large they play for their province first and foremost. Why can't gaa clubs do that?"
The clubs should have a defined season but there's a lot of bellyaching here about the GPA and a lot of "clubs should be taken care of" with not a lot of explanation of what that means...

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 28/07/2016 11:54:27    1891435

Replying To realman2:  "They don't have an agenda for anything beyond intercounty players so the forum name isn't really dealing in reality"
Check my first post I've agreed with you , I've pointed out their manifesto , equally the name of the thread is relevant if fellas want to discuss , not going to change anything but that's what the forum is for.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 28/07/2016 13:04:08    1891477

Replying To realman2:  "The clubs should have a defined season but there's a lot of bellyaching here about the GPA and a lot of "clubs should be taken care of" with not a lot of explanation of what that means..."
Are you a GPA Member realman2..?

Mid Don (Donegal) - Posts: 70 - 28/07/2016 13:09:02    1891480

Replying To manfromdelmonte:  "Without clubs, there is nothing.

Clubs need to be looked after properly"
Without the inter county game, the number of people playing for clubs would plummet. It's the main product the GAA have, generating the vast majority of the interest, revenue, and exposure for the games.

The club and the county rely on each other.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1648 - 28/07/2016 13:28:08    1891491

Replying To Mid Don:  "Are you a GPA Member realman2..?"
Not in the least, just think its laughable the amount of abuse county players/GPA members get considering they give up their lives & freedoms to a large extent to play football with scant reward...the whole view of a lot of GAA people these days is very very warped. I think there are a lot of mini-joe brolly's around that don't have a clue what they are talking about.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 28/07/2016 14:32:56    1891532

Replying To realman2:  "Not in the least, just think its laughable the amount of abuse county players/GPA members get considering they give up their lives & freedoms to a large extent to play football with scant reward...the whole view of a lot of GAA people these days is very very warped. I think there are a lot of mini-joe brolly's around that don't have a clue what they are talking about."
Try running a club/team or playing club. There is far less reward. I agree with you on the mini Joe Brollys and warped minds of some GAA supporters but the majority of these wouldn't know where their local GAA club was never mind the struggles they face. I know from playing and managing at a Senior level that players want nothing from the GPA but they could be a strong voice in relation to the fixtures problem that is endemic in every county hurling and football.

Mid Don (Donegal) - Posts: 70 - 28/07/2016 14:52:46    1891550

Replying To CastleBravo:  "Without the inter county game, the number of people playing for clubs would plummet. It's the main product the GAA have, generating the vast majority of the interest, revenue, and exposure for the games.

The club and the county rely on each other."
The club scene would plummet..??The club scene would grow stronger without the county. Regular fixtures, Teams at full strength for each match barring injuries, Proper structured season with defined breaks to allow players to plan their lives. The clubs would survive perfectly well without county teams.

Mid Don (Donegal) - Posts: 70 - 28/07/2016 14:58:29    1891552

The biggest Club games of the year - Senior Championship finals both Hurling & Football

You'll be luck to get 20,000 at each game

There's a lot of chest beating about Club GAA... but that's where a lot of it stays

For me... Club and Inter county couldn't exist without each other

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 28/07/2016 15:06:16    1891557

Replying To Mid Don:  "Try running a club/team or playing club. There is far less reward. I agree with you on the mini Joe Brollys and warped minds of some GAA supporters but the majority of these wouldn't know where their local GAA club was never mind the struggles they face. I know from playing and managing at a Senior level that players want nothing from the GPA but they could be a strong voice in relation to the fixtures problem that is endemic in every county hurling and football."
I agree with you so. I think the club/county scene needs a defined season. At county they need a lot more fixtures condensed into a three month or so season. Perhaps the league and provincials should be done away with if it means because of them we have a season that goes from January to September. Its just too long with too many low key games between also-rans making up the numbers. Like the Football championship still hasn't really started for the teams with a view to winning it.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 28/07/2016 15:07:32    1891560

Replying To jimbodub:  "The biggest Club games of the year - Senior Championship finals both Hurling & Football

You'll be luck to get 20,000 at each game

There's a lot of chest beating about Club GAA... but that's where a lot of it stays

For me... Club and Inter county couldn't exist without each other"
20k..? There isn't that at majority of county games league or championship

Mid Don (Donegal) - Posts: 70 - 28/07/2016 15:26:26    1891569

jimbodub is spot on there needs to be some sort of Club Players Association because at the end of the day it isn't the GPAs job to look after club players.
However all county players should be made available when there is championship fixed by the county board. A lot of the time its the management of the county team who decide when the county championship should be run or a county player saying they can't play this date because they are off on a holiday or have some event so can it be changed to suit them. And in turn club players suffer.

Then you have the GPA giving out about player burn out because Johnny played a national league game Sunday and then a round of club league on Wednesday followed by another national league game on Saturday as well as training twice with the county and its not fair on him. Its Johnny's choice what he wants to do. No one forced him to play that club league game if there was already 15 players available to the club. In turn the GPA want all club games to be fixed around the county players but it never actually happens.

Finally anyone who says the inter county players aren't looked after need to take their heads out of the sand because I know 10/11 different counties pay for their players travel expenses. I know of 4 counties who are all knocked out of the race for Sam that got a meal in a local hotel after every training since the national league. All county players have free access to a gym and pool. Some get jobs or scholarships because they play for their county. Read the article about Shane Enrights day on here and tell me how tough that is. They deserve all they get because of the time they give up but its about playing games and that is were the club players suffer.

I remember last year I played 5 games in 6 days and loved every minute of it but there has been 3/4 weeks were I haven't had a single game just trained.

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 28/07/2016 17:25:11    1891646

Finally anyone who says the inter county players aren't looked after need to take their heads out of the sand because I know 10/11 different counties pay for their players travel expenses. I know of 4 counties who are all knocked out of the race for Sam that got a meal in a local hotel after every training since the national league. All county players have free access to a gym and pool. Some get jobs or scholarships because they play for their county. Read the article about Shane Enrights day on here and tell me how tough that is. They deserve all they get because of the time they give up but its about playing games and that is were the club players suffer.

And in return what do they do? Just generate millions for GAA to pump into grass roots via gate receipts, sponsorship and TV deals. All down to their hard work. And you think they have it made because they get a dinner and a gym deal and might get a job.

This is what I mean when I talk about the warped view of GAA supporters.

Some posters don't seem to grasp that the intercounty game generates money that goes into the club game.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 28/07/2016 17:49:04    1891663

Replying To realman2:  "Finally anyone who says the inter county players aren't looked after need to take their heads out of the sand because I know 10/11 different counties pay for their players travel expenses. I know of 4 counties who are all knocked out of the race for Sam that got a meal in a local hotel after every training since the national league. All county players have free access to a gym and pool. Some get jobs or scholarships because they play for their county. Read the article about Shane Enrights day on here and tell me how tough that is. They deserve all they get because of the time they give up but its about playing games and that is were the club players suffer.

And in return what do they do? Just generate millions for GAA to pump into grass roots via gate receipts, sponsorship and TV deals. All down to their hard work. And you think they have it made because they get a dinner and a gym deal and might get a job.

Some posters don't seem to grasp that the intercounty game generates money that goes into the club game."
Clubs see very little of that money. Day to day running of clubs comes from gate receipts by the club, sponsorship by local people and businesses, and club events. Jerseys are sponsored by people or businesses. Club gear is either subsidised by somebody or the club players themselves pay for it. If a club is getting a grant off Croke Park they have to beg for it.
Most club players don't get meals after training or free gym membership and certainly don't get a career or scholarship, we would be lucky to get a free pint in our local.

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 28/07/2016 18:41:29    1891676

Replying To realman2:  "Finally anyone who says the inter county players aren't looked after need to take their heads out of the sand because I know 10/11 different counties pay for their players travel expenses. I know of 4 counties who are all knocked out of the race for Sam that got a meal in a local hotel after every training since the national league. All county players have free access to a gym and pool. Some get jobs or scholarships because they play for their county. Read the article about Shane Enrights day on here and tell me how tough that is. They deserve all they get because of the time they give up but its about playing games and that is were the club players suffer.

Some posters don't seem to grasp that the intercounty game generates money that goes into the club game."
Jeez real man 2 you really are defending the GPA to the hilt & demonising alternative views as mini Joe Brollys & people who haven't a clue or an involvement, how naive you are. Mid Don from Donegal has made some excellent accurate points & you have dismissed him. For someone who dismisses everybody as not expanding on their points perhaps you will expand on your statement that money generated by inter county goes back into clubs. Clubs pay registration & affiliation averaging over €10K, most are not vested in the association so don't qualify for grants. Most Gaa coaching is in schools & development squads not in clubs. I would safely say that most clubs benefit zero from the inter county set up & after 30 years of active involvement at all levels I have never seen our club benefit from the Inter county scene. In Galway there is s debt of 4.5 million which was not spent or created by clubs, yet the county board wanted to levy clubs to help pay the interest. The GPA's Donal O Neill, Sean Potts & Donal Og Cusack have all being publicly quoted in the past as saying pay for play was their aim, now that they are to get 15% of total income it's only going to keep increasing & pay for play in some format is inevitable. More funds for the GPA means wherever else the money is going won't see it any more. I couldn't agree more with mid don that all clubs are looking for is regular played to schedule games, clubs are paying there way but are piss#d upon by county boards, inter county & Croke park. I totally disagree with the whole set up & it will eventually led to a split or clubs & players going to other codes.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 28/07/2016 19:12:10    1891684

Replying To Mid Don:  "The club scene would plummet..??The club scene would grow stronger without the county. Regular fixtures, Teams at full strength for each match barring injuries, Proper structured season with defined breaks to allow players to plan their lives. The clubs would survive perfectly well without county teams."
It's a nice idea to think that the GAA would survive on the club alone but it's a ridiculous one. If the inter county scene was dropped, we'd become known as the sporting organisation that committed suicide. The inter county leagues and championships earned €27 Million in gate receipts in 2015, and €20 Million in sponsorship. What will replace that funding? Unless club games ramp up to €200 a ticket, you can kiss goodbye to games development, facility improvements, and central funding for clubs and counties.

It's also the forefront of all media exposure about the GAA. 90% of media coverage, sponsorship and advertising are about county teams. Do you think huge international brands like Etihad or AIG would want to link up with local inter parish teams? The best attendances, the biggest TV audiences and the most discussion relates to the inter county game.

It'd be the equivalent of FIFA disbanding the world cup, the Euros, and all international teams in order to improve the focus on the club world cup.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1648 - 28/07/2016 20:10:02    1891701