Galway v Tipp Football

Replying To galwayford:  "Nice to see a new team in the semi finals. But Galway blew this. 3 matches in a row was too much. 3 tough games in Connacht and now the quarter final. Still Galway hopefully will have learned from this- and send Kevin Walsh on a coaching course this autumn - to Tralee or Croke park."
Tipp played cork kerry and derry and played derry only a week ago in ulster while galway had 2 or 3 weeks off. Lame excuse

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 31/07/2016 20:07:00    1893091

Great result, well done Tip.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 31/07/2016 20:24:45    1893106

Tipp Deserved to Win, By far the Better Team! Could have won by a lot more,. Since Galway beat Mayo, and Tipp could meet Mayo later.. You can start dreaming about an All Ireland. Best of Luck.

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 31/07/2016 20:26:17    1893109

Replying To blackspot91:  "Tipp played cork kerry and derry and played derry only a week ago in ulster while galway had 2 or 3 weeks off. Lame excuse"
Yeah strange comments, pity the poster couldn't be magnanimous in defeat.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 31/07/2016 20:37:28    1893130

Replying To rossy15:  "Hope u enjoyed that boy !
Liam Kearns is a top coach big mistake made by rossie last year getting rid of him with Evans
Enjoy the celebrations and semi final !"
Thanks Rossy15 didn't see that coming.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 31/07/2016 21:18:09    1893195

Replying To PremierGold:  "Ye had the last 2-3 weeks off, it was Tipp who had 78 mins of hard championship football and a long journey 1 week ago.
And as for yer hard games this season, ye have not had to play Kerry in Killarney!"
Playing Kerry in Killarney was the making of this team- if you ask me.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 31/07/2016 21:22:56    1893201

Replying To galwayford:  "Nice to see a new team in the semi finals. But Galway blew this. 3 matches in a row was too much. 3 tough games in Connacht and now the quarter final. Still Galway hopefully will have learned from this- and send Kevin Walsh on a coaching course this autumn - to Tralee or Croke park."
3 tough games n connacht.... jeebus ... come on the replay was over after 10 minutes .... Galway won a poor connacht championship and bought n to their own hype end of .... fair play to tip great stuff keep it up .. don't just be satisfied with getting to a semi final ... drive on lads these chances don't come around every year !

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 619 - 31/07/2016 21:58:32    1893228

I'm delighted to see Tipperary make an All Ireland Semi Final, although saddened to see Galway lose after finally making a breakthrough in Connacht after Mayo's dominance over the last 5 years or so.

It's nice to see fresh faces in the All Ireland Football Quarter finals, and now also the Semi Final's. Tough on the Galway lad's, but brilliant stuff from Tipp.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 31/07/2016 22:05:34    1893237

Replying To SAMMYTHEBULL:  "Tipp Deserved to Win, By far the Better Team! Could have won by a lot more,. Since Galway beat Mayo, and Tipp could meet Mayo later.. You can start dreaming about an All Ireland. Best of Luck."
Ya but Tyrone and Mayo can win in croke park! Poor old Galway!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 31/07/2016 22:58:51    1893268

Replying To waynoI:  "Irrespective of how easy they are been beaten so far. They have had a really good year with alot of very very young footballers."
They just about beat a mayo team that are all over the place .... probably the best thing that ever happened mayo in saying that ! and they bet a roscommon team that were not at the races for whatever reason ....... If this Galway team get some of their top players back they will b a force to b reckoned with..
But If not they will not !
that is all !

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 619 - 31/07/2016 23:25:39    1893281

Galway didn't give tipperary the respect they deserved and paid the price. They are better than what was shown today. Threw away all the hard work they put in. It was as if they were shocked that tipp had could actually compete with them. Awful to see especially as they do this constantly In the league. Perceive a team as weaker and think they just need to show up.let themselves down and tipperary are worthy winners

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 31/07/2016 23:37:34    1893286

Division 3 the place to be. As a Laois man I hope Mayo will win the All Ireland to get the monkey off their back but Tipp or Donegal would be my second choice. Old Moore's Almanac forecasts Mayo (9/2) to win the football and Galway (13/2) to win the hurling. (Paddy Power)

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 01/08/2016 01:38:07    1893304

This will be Tipperary's last year as the underdog. They'll no longer be the surprise packet. Best of luck Tipp

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 01/08/2016 01:43:59    1893305

Brillant football by Tipp, a Div 3 team from a hurling dominant county with a very small football club set up but boy did the play great football today & superbly managed by Liam Kearns who also did well with Limerick & the Rossies. The sheer skills they displayed & execution of them was superb & the number of players comfortable playing off both feet points to excellent coaching at development & county level. Don't forget we lost a minor c'ship quarter final to them last year as well. They deserve all the plaudits they are getting in what's been called shock of the C'ship. Tactically superb they still play a fairly simple style of play just unshackled direct attacking football, not the latest buzz word for all these coaches aping everything, of transitioning from defence to attack, what cach bó that word transitioning is. No Tipp just played football, won the tactical battle, physical battle, fitness battle as Galway looked out on their feet & the most embarrassing battle for Galway, the skill battle. Best of luck to them they gave a fabulous display of football in the C'ship to date, they won't lie down to anyone.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 01/08/2016 01:51:08    1893307

Replying To galwayford:  "Playing Kerry in Killarney was the making of this team- if you ask me."
I think it was going into the Lions Den on Munster Final day. We got a football lesson that day and belief in the camp now must be rocketing sky high.
Still there are Tipp people who frown on Gaelic Football especially up North from where I am. However if this team were to reach an AI Final they would be the very one's in the queue looking for tickets to take the family on a day out to Croker.
Given that 3 of our top players don't even play with Senior Football with their clubs in North Tipperary just shows that in some parts of the county where football is non existent there are 3 of the top footballers in the country in George Hannigan ( Shannon Rovers ) Kevin O'Halloran ( Portroe ) and Philip Austin ( Borris-ikane ).
North Tipperary football has only survived the last couple of years mainly on amalgamations especially at Senior where the division was split into 2 teams that's about 9 clubs each and they played a football final to see who would enter the county championship as the North winners. Its no surprise that the amalgamation club included the likes of Hannigan and Austin and they once won the county championship beating Moyle Rovers I believe who in contrast the same year had to represent Tipperary in the Munster championship given amalgamations are not allowed. They subsequently took Dr.Crokes to extra time and should have won in the normal time.
I hope very club in Tipperary North and South bring some support in 3 weeks to Croker and give these lads some credit for making history and putting Tipp football on the map.
I for one gave them no hope yesterday i thought the occasion would get to them and we came as far as we could but once again I have been proved wrong!!Thrilled for this group of players and I hope some get nominated for all stars and some indeed get picked cos they have been phenomenal all year.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 01/08/2016 08:28:43    1893330

Replying To galwayfball:  "Galway didn't give tipperary the respect they deserved and paid the price. They are better than what was shown today. Threw away all the hard work they put in. It was as if they were shocked that tipp had could actually compete with them. Awful to see especially as they do this constantly In the league. Perceive a team as weaker and think they just need to show up.let themselves down and tipperary are worthy winners"
Not true, it wasn't complacency or lack of respect & to say so detracts from Tipp's awesome performance. Tipp won because they played the better football & were a far better skilled team full stop. Galway football had already got enough notice not to be complacent when Stephen Joyce's Galway minors were beaten by Tipp last year. Bottom line & unescapabable truth is that the best football team won.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 01/08/2016 12:40:15    1893447

I think it was going into the Lions Den on Munster Final day. We got a football lesson that day and belief in the camp now must be rocketing sky high.
Still there are Tipp people who frown on Gaelic Football especially up North from where I am. However if this team were to reach an AI Final they would be the very one's in the queue looking for tickets to take the family on a day out to Croker.
Given that 3 of our top players don't even play with Senior Football with their clubs in North Tipperary just shows that in some parts of the county where football is non existent there are 3 of the top footballers in the country in George Hannigan (Shannon Rovers) Kevin O'Halloran (Portroe) and Philip Austin (Borrisokane).
North Tipperary football has only survived the last couple of years mainly on amalgamations especially at Senior where the division was split into 2 teams that's about 9 clubs each and they played a football final to see who would enter the county championship as the North winners. Its no surprise that the amalgamation club included the likes of Hannigan and Austin and they once won the county championship beating Moyle Rovers I believe who in contrast the same year had to represent Tipperary in the Munster championship given amalgamations are not allowed. They subsequently took Dr.Crokes to extra time and should have won in the normal time.
I hope very club in Tipperary North and South bring some support in 3 weeks to Croker and give these lads some credit for making history and putting Tipp football on the map.
I for one gave them no hope yesterday i thought the occasion would get to them and we came as far as we could but once again I have been proved wrong!! Thrilled for this group of players and I hope some get nominated for all stars and some indeed get picked cos they have been phenomenal all year.
WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts:1189 - 01/08/2016 08:28:43
There is a lot in the North of the county who frown on gaelic football, I agree, You only have to look at how gaelic is treated by many clubs.
On senior football. Yes they don't play senior with their clubs but at least they are now able to play senior football due to the amalgamated sides. Until recently that wasn't available to them. But the junior and intermediate championships have been taken quite seriously by some clubs. Kiladangan also have had strong football teams in years gone by but for hurling success and guys going to play rugby theyd have done much better in gaelic...

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 01/08/2016 12:53:57    1893452

Fantastic display by Tipp yesterday. A fine team. Galway were just awful. Tipp though won't get that sort of space and time the next day out.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 01/08/2016 13:18:29    1893479

Fair play to Tipp way the best team....... did the Sunday game clear up the legality of their first goal it looked a bit of a square ball to me.

kikfada (Louth) - Posts: 2091 - 01/08/2016 14:31:20    1893523

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "I think it was going into the Lions Den on Munster Final day. We got a football lesson that day and belief in the camp now must be rocketing sky high.
Given that 3 of our top players don't even play with Senior Football with their clubs in North Tipperary just shows that in some parts of the county where football is non existent there are 3 of the top footballers in the country in George Hannigan (Shannon Rovers) Kevin O'Halloran (Portroe) and Philip Austin (Borrisokane).
I for one gave them no hope yesterday i thought the occasion would get to them and we came as far as we could but once again I have been proved wrong!! Thrilled for this group of players and I hope some get nominated for all stars and some indeed get picked cos they have been phenomenal all year.
WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts:1189 - 01/08/2016 08:28:43
There is a lot in the North of the county who frown on gaelic football, I agree, You only have to look at how gaelic is treated by many clubs.
On senior football. Yes they don't play senior with their clubs but at least they are now able to play senior football due to the amalgamated sides. Until recently that wasn't available to them. But the junior and intermediate championships have been taken quite seriously by some clubs. Kiladangan also have had strong football teams in years gone by but for hurling success and guys going to play rugby theyd have done much better in gaelic..."
Very true my own club and Kildagan almost met year on year in the Intermediate North Final. I claim a few North Football medals underage , U21 & Intermediate more than hurling in actual fact. Not bad for a North Tipp man!!
Not too sure if you remember the olden days I'll call it where Nenagh used to have a Senior Football Team and were soley the North representatives until one year ourselves and Ballina joined forces for one year to try and topple them but our challenge lasted about 30 minutes!!
That spelled the end of Kilmastulla Rangers!!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 01/08/2016 14:51:23    1893535