Galway v Tipp Football

Very impressive from Tipp,but as I said before the game,Galway may have over-celebrated their Connacht win.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 31/07/2016 17:27:19    1892912

Replying To waynoI:  "Irrespective of how easy they are been beaten so far. They have had a really good year with alot of very very young footballers."
Agree really surprised to see Galway throw in towel after 40 mins - Tipp totally destroying them in every department - Galway very fragile.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 31/07/2016 17:29:41    1892917

I think we're witnessing the result of the Galway lads having gone past peak, having prioritised Connacht. Also seem to have come into this game complacent. Fair dues to Tipp though, really confident display. Neither Mayo or Tyrone will be foolish enough to take them for granted in the semifinal.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 31/07/2016 17:33:24    1892922

Take a bow Tipp, the performance of the championship so far. They really are a joy to watch and mix a running game with long passing. I honestly don't remember such a great performance from a Division 3 side at this stage of the championship before.

Could Tipp actually beat the winner of Tyrone and Mayo?

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 31/07/2016 17:39:10    1892930

Some performance by Tipp. Delighted for them. Hope the County get behind them and show up in numbers for the semi-final.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 31/07/2016 17:40:39    1892934

Replying To waynoI:  "Irrespective of how easy they are been beaten so far. They have had a really good year with alot of very very young footballers."
Did Kerry have a 17 year old Minor playing today? Now that is a young Footballer! He performed.

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 31/07/2016 17:41:16    1892935

Great stuff delighted for Tipp and it's great for the game as a whole as it proves in team go out and give it a go it can work.

Maybe Tipp positive approach might encourage more teams to follow suit and have a bit more faith in themselves.

Great performance from Tipp and they have some really classy footballers.

Philip Austin,Conor Sweeney and Michael Quinlivan are an oustanding trio of players in their full forward line (although Austin played out the field today).Imagine if Colin O'Riordan was still on the team.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 31/07/2016 17:44:35    1892937

Replying To WildPundit:  "Tipp and Clare could have met in round 4 qualifier as were on same side of the draw and I predicted in another post if we had to play Clare they would have the beating of us.
We'll see Sunday at 6pm anyway but in not convinced Tipp will be as near to Galway but I hope I'm wrong.
I want us to win but it's a huge ask."
Hope u enjoyed that boy !
Liam Kearns is a top coach big mistake made by rossie last year getting rid of him with Evans
Enjoy the celebrations and semi final !

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 619 - 31/07/2016 17:45:10    1892938

Great to see a football team winning by playing real football

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 779 - 31/07/2016 17:49:57    1892943

Nice to see a new team in the semi finals. But Galway blew this. 3 matches in a row was too much. 3 tough games in Connacht and now the quarter final. Still Galway hopefully will have learned from this- and send Kevin Walsh on a coaching course this autumn - to Tralee or Croke park.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 31/07/2016 17:57:56    1892955

Well done tipperary. Thought you'd be tougher the people were making out but didn't expect that. That's the galway that played the league, faced so called weaker teams and thought all they had to do was show up. Looked lost I know a lot of people will blame our full back line but it was our half back line and midfield that left them like sitting ducks and in those final painful 10 minutes our subs and full back line were the only ones who kept going. Also why was declan kyne left on the pitch he was asking to come off couldn't move his arm. kw made several subs after he asked to come off and left him on. At least we are connacht champs but the cooker curse continues

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 31/07/2016 18:03:32    1892967

Total football from the Premier today as Galway were outclassed from the very start and really lucky to only lose by 9 points!

I wonder what angle the begrudgers will attack from this week? We in Kerry have known for a long time the outstanding talent that has been developed as we have suffered many defeats to them, today it came to fruition in Croke Park and it was beautiful to watch. Total Football.

When you look at the quality of the players who withdrew from the squad , it makes what they have accomplished even more remarkable

Keep it going lads

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 31/07/2016 18:04:33    1892968

Oh baby lets go crazy, dreams occasionally come through.

Hard luck Galway. Great to get a first Connacht title since 2008 and just missed out on promotion to Division 1. Overall it was a successful year and Galway will build on this season.

Special mention for Comer, he played right to the final whistle. Shows the man he is in what was a breakthrough season for him.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 31/07/2016 18:10:12    1892983

Well done to Tipp, they were outstanding and played great attacking football which is refreshing to see and wish them well in the Semi-Final.

Supermacs88 (Galway) - Posts: 248 - 31/07/2016 18:10:13    1892984

Replying To KYTitletown:  "Total football from the Premier today as Galway were outclassed from the very start and really lucky to only lose by 9 points!

I wonder what angle the begrudgers will attack from this week? We in Kerry have known for a long time the outstanding talent that has been developed as we have suffered many defeats to them, today it came to fruition in Croke Park and it was beautiful to watch. Total Football.

When you look at the quality of the players who withdrew from the squad , it makes what they have accomplished even more remarkable

Keep it going lads"
What's total football?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 31/07/2016 18:12:59    1892994

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Agree really surprised to see Galway throw in towel after 40 mins - Tipp totally destroying them in every department - Galway very fragile."
They were out on their feet imo

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 31/07/2016 18:21:31    1893009

Replying To bert09:  "What's total football?"
When your full back is marauding forward and setting your midfielder up for goal chances?

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 31/07/2016 18:27:35    1893016

Replying To galwayford:  "Nice to see a new team in the semi finals. But Galway blew this. 3 matches in a row was too much. 3 tough games in Connacht and now the quarter final. Still Galway hopefully will have learned from this- and send Kevin Walsh on a coaching course this autumn - to Tralee or Croke park."
Ye had the last 2-3 weeks off, it was Tipp who had 78 mins of hard championship football and a long journey 1 week ago.
And as for yer hard games this season, ye have not had to play Kerry in Killarney!

PremierGold (Tipperary) - Posts: 121 - 31/07/2016 18:41:45    1893030

Well done Tipp. Brilliant performance.

Galway though where do you start? Very disappointing. Some dose of reality today. So far off the pace. Were Galway complacent?

It was the worse day following Galway in a while hopefully the hurlers can restore some pride.

mon (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 31/07/2016 18:58:44    1893045

Great win for Tipp, well done. Need to control their hunger for goals and keep knocking over the points when the opportunities present themselves. Galway were a big disappointment with their mid-field and two of the full backs struggling badly throughout the game. Comer and the right full back were the only players to keep fighting to the finish.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 31/07/2016 19:27:22    1893069