Galway v Tipp Football

Replying To WildPundit:  "I don't think Galway will play a sweeper I expect it to be man for man.
Open game I expect Galway to win quite easily been honest there the form team at the moment.
Big pitch won't suit Tipperary we have players who like to work the ball in small spaces our forwards though if on form will rack up a decent score but our defence must b prepared for a scoreline similar to what Kerry got in the Munster final.
It's great that we are here in a QF but all good things must come to an end.
I wish our lads luck and they deserve credit for getting this far.
Galway by 9."
Galway won't play with a sweeper lol

Are you for real .

Massive congrats to Galway fur winning their province and I was hope they would but they :

Play 13-14 begind the ball V Mayo and close to that V Rosccommon the first day . The second day they played with a couple of sweepers too .

Such nonsense out there . Galway are no different than the rest now . Thus beautiful open thing is plain nonsense .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 28/07/2016 13:09:37    1891481

The key for Galway is not to get lulled out of their defensive structure but at the same time have the confidence to attack with pace and in numbers when they do break.....like they did against Rossies in replay. They have the pace and skill set to do this. When done well it is great football to watch.

The first day out they did not transition well to attack hence it was not pretty to watch and not too effective either. I think nerves were at play here and hopefully that will not be the case on Sunday.

In fairness KW identified this after the 1st Ros game and commented on it and again after the reply he brought up about backing the players to attack when we had the ball.

Great opportunity for a young Galway team. Every game they get will bring them on. In retrospect the replay was the best thing that happened them. Much better prepped than if they scrapped through the first day.

Croker will suit Tipp as well. they are young and mobile. Should be a cracker.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1833 - 28/07/2016 14:21:50    1891523

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "Galway won't play with a sweeper lol

Are you for real .

Massive congrats to Galway fur winning their province and I was hope they would but they :

Play 13-14 begind the ball V Mayo and close to that V Rosccommon the first day . The second day they played with a couple of sweepers too .

Such nonsense out there . Galway are no different than the rest now . Thus beautiful open thing is plain nonsense ."
Agree with Rightstuff. There is a myth out there that Galway play this open attacking football. They are just as defensive as anybody else, not that there is anything wrong with that, you do what you have to do to win a game. I was at the drawn Connacht final, I took a picture on my phone of a Roscommon attack and there was literally not one Galway forward in the Roscommon half. And this was the first half of the game it wasn't as if they were playing for a draw.

They cut loose against Roscommon but it seems from last weekend that Roscommon had no legs left after the focus they put on the league. Still think they should have a lot too much for Tipp though. Expect them to win by 6 pts

Goalie2016 (Mayo) - Posts: 36 - 28/07/2016 16:22:29    1891614

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "Galway won't play with a sweeper lol

Are you for real .

Such nonsense out there . Galway are no different than the rest now . Thus beautiful open thing is plain nonsense ."
I'm very real thank you very much.
I don't think they will play too defensive their game won't work in croker with a young energetic Tipperary team running at them and well able to kick scores.
Galway are going to nullify themselves. If they are serious about winning an AI they need a plan B and Sunday is the chance to showcase they can go man for man as well.
3-15 is a serious score for a defensive team in a connaught final wouldn't you say!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 28/07/2016 19:23:36    1891687

Replying To WildPundit:  "I don't think Galway will play a sweeper I expect it to be man for man.
Open game I expect Galway to win quite easily been honest there the form team at the moment.
Big pitch won't suit Tipperary we have players who like to work the ball in small spaces our forwards though if on form will rack up a decent score but our defence must b prepared for a scoreline similar to what Kerry got in the Munster final.
It's great that we are here in a QF but all good things must come to an end.
I wish our lads luck and they deserve credit for getting this far.
Galway by 9."
Wild pundit ur craiced
This game is hard to call it's hard to know how good Tipp are and I think we made Galway look a lot better than they actually are .... so its anybody guess really ....hesitant vote to Galway

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 619 - 28/07/2016 19:50:45    1891692

Replying To rossy15:  "Wild pundit ur craiced
This game is hard to call it's hard to know how good Tipp are and I think we made Galway look a lot better than they actually are .... so its anybody guess really ....hesitant vote to Galway"
I don't think so Galway are miles better than Roscommon at the moment.
Galway will b full of confidence after their Connaught final win and really this game is probably one too far for this Tipp team.
A quarter final is no mean feat for this tipp team way over achieved.
Galway have the fire power to put it up to any of the big teams left.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 28/07/2016 21:42:13    1891743

Replying To WildPundit:  "I don't think so Galway are miles better than Roscommon at the moment.
Galway will b full of confidence after their Connaught final win and really this game is probably one too far for this Tipp team.
A quarter final is no mean feat for this tipp team way over achieved.
Galway have the fire power to put it up to any of the big teams left."
On the basis if our championship performances clare are miles ahead of us 2 . If tipp were playing clare at the weekend would ya b writing tipp off .. I think not
Sure look well c at the Weeke d man ... its just right now I don't think Galway are as far ahead as they look... I do think they'll b a force n the race for sam n the next couple of years if they get a few players back
Like I say they have my hesitant vote but any other team coming n having bet cork n derry would b getting g more respect than tipp are getting imo

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 619 - 28/07/2016 22:15:05    1891775

Will Tipp play the occasion or the game? As colm o rourke said the munster final was a nice game of football, clear cut win for kerry as soon as the ball was thrown in, tipp never really believed

Im not convinced by Tipp, they beat Derry who really should have beaten by cavan and meath. Derry played open football, a good club team would have opened up their defense as it was terrible.

Galway are a coming team, defense is tighter then derry, better midfield and I expect a galway win by 5-8 points.

222 (UK) - Posts: 695 - 28/07/2016 22:38:02    1891783

This could be a right auld game to watch. Looking forward to it. New territory for Tipp but Galway will be very disappointed if they don't grab this opportunity. think it will be tight, I hope so anyway.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 29/07/2016 00:14:56    1891806

Replying To rossy15:  "On the basis if our championship performances clare are miles ahead of us 2 . If tipp were playing clare at the weekend would ya b writing tipp off .. I think not
Sure look well c at the Weeke d man ... its just right now I don't think Galway are as far ahead as they look... I do think they'll b a force n the race for sam n the next couple of years if they get a few players back
Like I say they have my hesitant vote but any other team coming n having bet cork n derry would b getting g more respect than tipp are getting imo"
Tipp and Clare could have met in round 4 qualifier as were on same side of the draw and I predicted in another post if we had to play Clare they would have the beating of us.
We'll see Sunday at 6pm anyway but in not convinced Tipp will be as near to Galway but I hope I'm wrong.
I want us to win but it's a huge ask.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 29/07/2016 00:17:02    1891807

Looking forward to this one alright.. Whatever happens this year has been a huge step in the development of this group. We have been written off since the Mayo game but have still beaten two division one teams. Yet again people on here and some in the media are giving Tipp their vote... Agreed the Rossies were very poor in the replay but Galway were fantastic in that first half especially. This game brings a different style and Tipp will be more attacking but they have conceded big scores in all of their games and i hope the Galway forwards bring their A game on Sunday. Shane Walsh and Danny Cummins should thrive in the open spaces..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 29/07/2016 07:34:34    1891822

Replying To Belclare1:  "Looking forward to this one alright.. Whatever happens this year has been a huge step in the development of this group. We have been written off since the Mayo game but have still beaten two division one teams. Yet again people on here and some in the media are giving Tipp their vote... Agreed the Rossies were very poor in the replay but Galway were fantastic in that first half especially. This game brings a different style and Tipp will be more attacking but they have conceded big scores in all of their games and i hope the Galway forwards bring their A game on Sunday. Shane Walsh and Danny Cummins should thrive in the open spaces.."
Agree Belclare. Tipp are a decent side and this is not overnight progress on their part. The development work done within the Premier county has been going on for years and the fruits are starting to come. I do feel our guys are really not rated by many outside the county (maybe they genuinely believe that Galway can come from nowhere to make serious progress and are waiting for us to lose) but remember we are Galway with a proud footballing tradition. Hoping our current crop can get their undoubted potential over the line on Sunday. Football has need a boost in Galway for a while now and this season so far is providing this.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 29/07/2016 09:35:50    1891846

Replying To Belclare1:  "Looking forward to this one alright.. Whatever happens this year has been a huge step in the development of this group. We have been written off since the Mayo game but have still beaten two division one teams. Yet again people on here and some in the media are giving Tipp their vote... Agreed the Rossies were very poor in the replay but Galway were fantastic in that first half especially. This game brings a different style and Tipp will be more attacking but they have conceded big scores in all of their games and i hope the Galway forwards bring their A game on Sunday. Shane Walsh and Danny Cummins should thrive in the open spaces.."
Lets be honest it wasn't long ago that Galway fans were writing the team off.

A team has never really come from nowhere to become serious All Ireland contenders but to be fair to Galway with the forwards they have they should put it up to anybody.

Goalie2016 (Mayo) - Posts: 36 - 29/07/2016 11:00:30    1891881

"A team has never really come from nowhere to become serious All Ireland contenders"

Galway 1998 .. Beat Mayo the previous years finalists in their own back yard and went on to win the All Ireland!

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 29/07/2016 11:23:50    1891898

Replying To Belclare1:  ""A team has never really come from nowhere to become serious All Ireland contenders"

Galway 1998 .. Beat Mayo the previous years finalists in their own back yard and went on to win the All Ireland!"
Different format though.

Goalie2016 (Mayo) - Posts: 36 - 29/07/2016 11:49:32    1891914

Replying To kiloughter:  "Agree Belclare. Tipp are a decent side and this is not overnight progress on their part. The development work done within the Premier county has been going on for years and the fruits are starting to come. I do feel our guys are really not rated by many outside the county (maybe they genuinely believe that Galway can come from nowhere to make serious progress and are waiting for us to lose) but remember we are Galway with a proud footballing tradition. Hoping our current crop can get their undoubted potential over the line on Sunday. Football has need a boost in Galway for a while now and this season so far is providing this."
Yeah it's no surprise to see Galway doing so well this year cos ye won two under 21s in the last 5 years.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 29/07/2016 15:52:04    1892031

Tipp are running through the galway defence like a dodgey curry. Holy jesus.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 31/07/2016 17:09:27    1892897

Replying To waynoI:  "Tipp are running through the galway defence like a dodgey curry. Holy jesus."
Not a bit surprised! You couldn't mention a Galway Loss around Galway for past two weeks.. People forgot where this team came from! = NOWHERE..

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 31/07/2016 17:14:35    1892900

Outrageous point just there from Kiely. When you're centre half back can slide over a point like that, you know things are going well. Unreal how Tipp football can do it seeing as it is the second sport in the county and they're missing a load of players who can okay the game. Great team

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2396 - 31/07/2016 17:17:58    1892902

Replying To SAMMYTHEBULL:  "Not a bit surprised! You couldn't mention a Galway Loss around Galway for past two weeks.. People forgot where this team came from! = NOWHERE.."
Irrespective of how easy they are been beaten so far. They have had a really good year with alot of very very young footballers.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 31/07/2016 17:18:06    1892903