Kerry coming in under the radar?

Replying To legendzxix:  "Did someone steal your lollipop?

If it's true you were on here heckling my fellow county people after last year's All-Ireland. It says a lot about you.

All the Dubs supporters I was talking to before, during and after the '09 quarter-final were very sporting. It was the same in '11."
Well it was you making that allegation whatever name you are operating under. Show us the heckling after the final and stop trying the aul smart hole stuff. You don't like it when it's told as it is that's your problem.
We're well able to take our medicine and any thing you might like to throw at us as we've shown only too well.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 11/08/2016 16:39:04    1899989

Replying To Knoxboya:  "Munster Council: "Aww now fellas, cannot yous & Cork appear in the Munster quarters from time to time. It doesn't look good if you don't".

Kerry: "Only if we can select our opponents".

Munster Council: "It's a deal"."

Kerry and Cork could have been against each other in the semi-finals as it was an open draw.

Next year's championship could see the winner of Cork's quarter-final take on Kerry with Tipperary taking on the winner of the other quarter-final.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7847 - 11/08/2016 16:40:23    1899990

Replying To TheHermit:  "I've always congratulated the winners and commiserated with the losers after a big match involving Kerry, you can go on the Dublin forum last September or the Donegal forum from the year before and see that for yourself. Most of the Kerry posters are like that.

In fairness the vast majority of your fellow county posters are the same.

Most posters on here are decent like that.

But every so often a lad like yourself comes around and well your comment after the final last year summed you up.

I've no time for you because of that, as you can tell.

Good luck now."
What I can tell is how desperate you are to play the victim and how you get the hump whenever the other side of things are pointed out as I highlighted earlier. Grand lad when you're dishing it out but not so graceful when you have to take it.
If there was any gloating just point it out like a good boy.
God knows you should know about the subject.By the way I ain't too bothered what you think about me as you have little or no class.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 11/08/2016 16:47:35    1899995

Replying To KYTitletown:  "
Replying To Dubh_linn:  "[quote=KYTitletown:  "''It's a fact ,like it or otherwise. That's all I'm saying !
If you want to talk about how amazing ye are then you have to be prepared to have the relevant factors mentioned too''"
Yeah, but seriously , you are a brown noser though."
If you want to keep throwing shade, don't expect roses and kisses in return good lad"]That's just fine, you're not my type anyway! Sniff sniff!

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 11/08/2016 16:51:25    1899998

Relevant factors? Dublin currently have a once in a generation squad. The chasing pack, for one reason or another, have generally been unable to match them. That said, consistency has yet to favour them... but the chances are that that too will soon be taken care of.

Looking further down the road, it seems to me that Kerry and Tyrone will definitely be stronger. Others too may put their houses fully in order. When that happens, normal service will be resumed. Great teams, like empires, wax and wane.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 11/08/2016 19:37:28    1900053

Replying To KYTitletown:  "Do you want me to give you the results of Ulster Winners vs Munster in the 70's and 80's seeingas every post of yours is vitriol aimed at the Kingdom?"
I have said before and will say again, that no one disputes Kerry's pedigree.

You have highlighted the 70s and 80s. Few on this site will need reminding of which County dominated - and Kerry's AI record is there for all to see. However the issue to which a number of posters refer, is whether the Kingdom actually need or needed, seeding.

My understanding is that the 20 year period to which you draw attention shows Kerry's provincial appearance stats as follows:

Munster finals: 20 (i.e. every possible final)
Munster quarter finals: 0. (zero)
Munster semi finals: erm, 19.

That's right.
A two decade amnesty from quarter finals, and - get this - in 1980 a parachute straight into the provincial final.
As we say in Monaghan "Dat's a tarra".

Seriously did / do Kerry actually need such assistance ?

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 357 - 11/08/2016 23:42:58    1900137

Replying To plike:  "Relevant factors? Dublin currently have a once in a generation squad. The chasing pack, for one reason or another, have generally been unable to match them. That said, consistency has yet to favour them... but the chances are that that too will soon be taken care of.

Looking further down the road, it seems to me that Kerry and Tyrone will definitely be stronger. Others too may put their houses fully in order. When that happens, normal service will be resumed. Great teams, like empires, wax and wane."
Tyrone maybe because of recent U-21 success and an already decent panel ,Kerry won't get stronger until they get worse. Ageing team,U-21's hasn't been won since 2008 .Minor yeah ,last two years..but will take a few years before that team develops into U-21's and senior. Mayo on the other hand are a team people are not really noticing and I don't think they will until it's just upon them in the next three years. A strong squad already ,in a semi final.Probably will go on to the final and may win the thing somehow this year.Even if they don't win , they just won an U-21's this year , the same team that won a minor in 2013 .A squad who have plenty of experience in the art of winning and how many Mayo teams are used to that level of success.They are not an aged team apart from one or two who already have replacements ..but I believe(just a thought) they will be a real force come 2018/2019/2020 seasons.Dublin will still be up there with them no doubt as they have youth on their side too and have won u-21 in 2014 and still have players progressing nicely from that..sadly I do see Kerry dipping for a year or three simply because I don't think they have good enough youths to come in until them AI winning minors grow up into seniors but they will and a fine team no doubt again in 5/6 years ..Tyrone behind Mayo and Dublin ,even Tipp could be there or there abouts top 6 for the next few years with the level of success underage,did get to a final last year at minor level (even though they got hammered) so that shows their development may be not just a fluke in the pan. They'll be a tidy team no doubt.

Went on a bit too much here with predicting sh*te ,long weather forecast rant over.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 12/08/2016 01:02:48    1900149

Agree with most of that GameOfTyrones but I don't think Kerry have the crisis you are talking about really. Most of our starting team are quite young and won't be going anywhere anytime soon. Donaghy will go this year but we already have a top class replacement at FF in Geaney (donaghy was playing midfield all year due to injury crisis anyway). Cooper, O'Sé, Mahoney, Walsh and Sheehan will all go over the next 1-2 years as well, but only Walsh is a starter at this stage out of that lot. We have just won two Minor and Junior titles in a row and have a knack of finding players when we need to, like when Murphy came out of nowhere to be a very capable replacement for Tomás Ó'Sé for example. We need to find a midfielder and a couple of good squad players over the next two seasons, that is very doable given our success at other levels. I'm not saying we'll have a team to rival the 00's but I'd bet the house on us being in the semi-final again next year, and anything can happen from there.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 12/08/2016 09:38:48    1900173

Replying To Knoxboya:  "I have said before and will say again, that no one disputes Kerry's pedigree.

You have highlighted the 70s and 80s. Few on this site will need reminding of which County dominated - and Kerry's AI record is there for all to see. However the issue to which a number of posters refer, is whether the Kingdom actually need or needed, seeding.

My understanding is that the 20 year period to which you draw attention shows Kerry's provincial appearance stats as follows:

That's right.
A two decade amnesty from quarter finals, and - get this - in 1980 a parachute straight into the provincial final.

Seriously did / do Kerry actually need such assistance ?"
A Tipperary man left a comment for you. Enjoy your county championship and winter well! ;)

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7847 - 12/08/2016 09:51:02    1900181

It really is as simple as this

Kerry are without doubt playing a weakened Dublin side compared to the 2013 / 2015 model

Arguably this is one of their best chances to beat Dublin. We still could be without JMc and of course we all know about ROC and JMc

Although I have no doubt that the Donegal game was far better preparation for Dublin compared to any game that Kerry have played this year

Dublin were in a spot of bother after conceding 1-1 and losing DC within a 5 minute window. It was a full house game played on a warm day, and that will have really brought on Dublin.

It was a real test that, and they came through it. I'd certainly prefer that game under our belt compared to anything Kerry had in preparation to play Dublin.

Which lets be honest were 3 cake walks, even Westmeath put it up to Dublin in the first half of the Leinster final

It's all to play for this one... but I think that Donegal game will really stand to this Dublin team both physically and mentally

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 12/08/2016 10:26:20    1900193

Replying To Knoxboya:  "I have said before and will say again, that no one disputes Kerry's pedigree.

That's right.

Seriously did / do Kerry actually need such assistance ?"
The set up of the championship is not, contrary to what the headbangers would have us believe, in Kerry hands. You might as well give out to a man who's lucky enough to live on the sunward side of a mountain.

I wonder about a few rabid Dublin 'fans' on here. If you're knocking this much bother out of supporting the best team in the land at present, you might be well advised to take up knitting or crochet: either way, you should stop blethering... and get knotted!

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 12/08/2016 11:02:27    1900209

So Legend, are you and your friend from Tipp advocating parachuting Kerry directly into future Munster finals, as was the case in 1980 ?

That's a very generous helping hand for what many say was the greatest ever team.

Haven't looked pre 1970 at the Munster SFC structure yet.
Will everything be above board or are few surprises in store ?

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 357 - 12/08/2016 11:05:16    1900213

Replying To jimbodub:  "It really is as simple as this

Kerry are without doubt playing a weakened Dublin side compared to the 2013 / 2015 model

Arguably this is one of their best chances to beat Dublin. We still could be without JMc and of course we all know about ROC and JMc

Although I have no doubt that the Donegal game was far better preparation for Dublin compared to any game that Kerry have played this year

Dublin were in a spot of bother after conceding 1-1 and losing DC within a 5 minute window. It was a full house game played on a warm day, and that will have really brought on Dublin.

It was a real test that, and they came through it. I'd certainly prefer that game under our belt compared to anything Kerry had in preparation to play Dublin.

Which lets be honest were 3 cake walks, even Westmeath put it up to Dublin in the first half of the Leinster final

It's all to play for this one... but I think that Donegal game will really stand to this Dublin team both physically and mentally"
Ye've been playing a weakened Kerry side since after '09. At least we take responsibility for our failing of neglecting our youth in the 00's.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7847 - 12/08/2016 11:19:31    1900216

Replying To legendzxix:  "Ye've been playing a weakened Kerry side since after '09. At least we take responsibility for our failing of neglecting our youth in the 00's."
Ye've been playing a weakened Kerry side since after '09. At least we take responsibility for our failing of neglecting our youth in the 00's.
_____

You can apply that exact logic to the Dublin teams Kerry played in the 00's

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 12/08/2016 11:37:40    1900226

Replying To legendzxix:  "Ye've been playing a weakened Kerry side since after '09. At least we take responsibility for our failing of neglecting our youth in the 00's."
would love if Hoganstand added an ignore user button. I really don't know if I can handle anymore BS from you.
Its like you feel entitled to win every year. sometimes teams are just better than you. Don't be so bitter about it and enjoy the wins you do get.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 12/08/2016 11:48:06    1900230

dstruction, don't you know that every all-ireland that Kerry didn't win was because Kerry had a weakened side or they simply allowed another team to win!!

It's scary to think that a lot of Kerry people actually believe this

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 12/08/2016 12:03:20    1900243

Replying To keithlemon:  "dstruction, don't you know that every all-ireland that Kerry didn't win was because Kerry had a weakened side or they simply allowed another team to win!!

It's scary to think that a lot of Kerry people actually believe this"
Reply to destuction
Have to agree with u any AI we lost we were beaten by a better team
we win alot we lose alot no excuses

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 12/08/2016 12:37:29    1900261

Yeah they could win a hurling all Ireland in the next 10 years if we don't keep an eye on them.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 12/08/2016 12:59:36    1900271

Replying To keithlemon:  "dstruction, don't you know that every all-ireland that Kerry didn't win was because Kerry had a weakened side or they simply allowed another team to win!!

Thats the crap we get every time we win the Ireland without fail. 'Oh sure that was a handy title' 'It was only Mayo' etc etc

Just wait if we somehow against all the odds win it this year the begrudgers will be on here within minutes cribbing about something

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 12/08/2016 13:12:48    1900278

Who says? There are many years when we travel more in hope that expectation. There are other years- in 82 and again in the noughties- when we were annoyed not to do better on the day.

Fair play to teams that win. It's no disrespect to them to use the losses as motivation... as they do in New Zealand. Better to do that than whine endlessly about unfair it all is!

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 12/08/2016 13:16:39    1900280