Kerry coming in under the radar?

Replying To JayP:  "Ah we are more worried about the Premiership in August!"
And the Olympics!

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 02/08/2016 19:31:23    1894241

Just wondering if it's there this year for someone to sneak a handy All Ireland. At this stage with six teams left it's as open as it has been for a few years. Dublin have been weakened by the loss of their two defenders and a few of their main players have been around a while and may be finding it hard to motivate themselves. Donegal and Mayo peaked three or four years ago and though they are bringing a few new players through are still dependent on lads coming near the end of their careers. Tyrone are up and coming with an almost new team but are probably a couple of years off their best. Kerry are caught a little between the old and the new with a few of the old heroes looking for one last day in the sun before they move on. They are still dangerous but they are not the Kerry of old. Tipp are a little bit of an unknown quantity and are heading in the right direction but the element of surprise is now gone and teams will take them more seriously. Dublin are still a little ahead of the rest but there doesn't seem to be an outstanding team about at the moment.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 02/08/2016 20:39:05    1894286

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Just wondering if it's there this year for someone to sneak a handy All Ireland. At this stage with six teams left it's as open as it has been for a few years. Dublin have been weakened by the loss of their two defenders and a few of their main players have been around a while and may be finding it hard to motivate themselves. Donegal and Mayo peaked three or four years ago and though they are bringing a few new players through are still dependent on lads coming near the end of their careers. Tyrone are up and coming with an almost new team but are probably a couple of years off their best. Kerry are caught a little between the old and the new with a few of the old heroes looking for one last day in the sun before they move on. They are still dangerous but they are not the Kerry of old. Tipp are a little bit of an unknown quantity and are heading in the right direction but the element of surprise is now gone and teams will take them more seriously. Dublin are still a little ahead of the rest but there doesn't seem to be an outstanding team about at the moment."
You might be better off focusing on your own county's failure. Making the finals of '12 and '13 but no smoking cigar!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7853 - 02/08/2016 21:05:34    1894307

Replying To legendzxix:  "You might be better off focusing on your own county's failure. Making the finals of '12 and '13 but no smoking cigar!"
I'm not quite sure how focusing on my own county will change the results of 2012 and 2013 but there you go. Just giving my opinion on how teams stand at the moment. I'm sorry if my reading of Kerry doesn't meet with your approval but I may be wrong and Donaghy, Sheehan et al. may be only reaching their peak. If so I apologise in advance.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 02/08/2016 22:03:16    1894348

Donegals route so far - Fermanagh , Monaghan , Tyrone , Cork .

Kerry's route so far- Clare x2 and Tipp .

So easy to come under the radar .

We will probably be gone come Sunday and Kerry's season starts . A total farce .

James Horan the latest to acknowledge how much easier it is coming from a simple route .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 03/08/2016 06:20:45    1894448

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "Donegals route so far - Fermanagh , Monaghan , Tyrone , Cork .

We will probably be gone come Sunday and Kerry's season starts . A total farce .

James Horan the latest to acknowledge how much easier it is coming from a simple route ."
Kerry were the only quarter-finalist to beat 2 quarter-finalists on route to that stage.

We beat an All-Ireland semi-finalist in our provincial final.

Our county expects. In the context of neglecting our youth and having a few years on the quiet side people should be looking elsewhere for the main challengers just like '87 to '96.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7853 - 03/08/2016 09:55:04    1894493

Beat Clare twice and Tipp once! That's some radar to be coming in under!

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 03/08/2016 11:19:58    1894578

I cannot stand the cute hoorism (BS) that some Kerry posters try. Not fooling anyone and just annoying the hole off me. Ill go back to discussing football with real supporters instead of this sort of codding.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 03/08/2016 11:35:30    1894593

Replying To dstuction:  "I cannot stand the cute hoorism (BS) that some Kerry posters try. Not fooling anyone and just annoying the hole off me. Ill go back to discussing football with real supporters instead of this sort of codding."
Yourselves and Mayo have a lot of football to discuss alright. '96 to '09 saw great challengers in Meath, Galway and Tyrone. Mayo and Donegal were poised to take that on after the '12 final. The 4 Regions are no better than they were in '05 to '09. Mayo are most to blame in fairness. The '13 final was there for them to seize the day. Last year's semi-final again, woeful.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7853 - 03/08/2016 11:49:37    1894611

Best case scenario? Donegal play out of their skins. Dublin pull it back at the death. Game and replay to run to energy sapping extra time... with red cards aplenty.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 03/08/2016 12:07:24    1894630

Best case scenario? Donegal play out of their skins. Dublin pull it back at the death. Game and replay to run to energy sapping extra time... with red cards aplenty.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 03/08/2016 12:08:59    1894633

Donegals route so far - Fermanagh , Monaghan , Tyrone , Cork .

James Horan the latest to acknowledge how much easier it is coming from a simple route

Everyone knows Ulster is the toughest route. Why is everyone always focusing on Kerry and comparing yer route to us??

How is it anything to do with us that Tipp had a great win over Cork/Derry and Clare over laois/Roscommon/Sligo etc..

What about Mayo, Galway, Cork, Roscommon. etc
How have these counties failed year in year out and not made any impression apart from a year or two here and there if its so bloody easy.
Who have Mayo, Dublin, Galway etc have to beat so far?? They have had easier games then us IMO.

On paper Galway had an easy draw.. Beat Tipp and your in the semi final of an All Ireland. Didn't work out too well for them.

You think Roscommon, Derry, Westmeath etc would have been any better then Clare the last day..im not so sure.

I wouldnt be so disrespectful to the likes of Clare and Tipp as in the next few years I expect them to improve even more and maybe some of you guys who are looking down your nose at these teams may be on the end of a beating in the near future..just ask Galway .

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 03/08/2016 12:45:48    1894680

This game is coming nicely for Kerry. Everyone writing them off. There is a big game in Kerry

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 08/08/2016 15:29:54    1898143

Nobody and I mean nobody is even Kerry a chance - HoganStand, other message boards, Twitter, Dublin fans, general public, Bookmakers, Tv Pundits , Radio Pundits, Newspapers. Nobody

In fact the only imponderable is how much we will be beaten by, I can only hope our players don't pay heed to these factors and aren't traumatised by the heavy defeats at the hands of the Blue Juggernaut and come out and play at their optimal level.

That is all we can ask from them, if they do that I will be proud of them regardless of what the scoreboard says at the end

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 08/08/2016 17:15:59    1898208

The Dubs will tell everyone how great Kerry are, Kerry will tell everyone that they're just making up the numbers, fact of the matter is that this is a phenomenal Dublin team and a lot of things will have to go right for Kerry if they're to win this game.

Kerry are Kerry though, and Dublin if don't fire (to be fair, they've barely got out of 2nd gear so far in championship 2016) and Kerry hit top gear there's no better team around to take advantage of a slip up.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 08/08/2016 19:04:49    1898288

KYtitletown - You say nobody is giving Kerry a chance, that is total rubbish, you need only refer to "The Sunday Game "last night and Aoran Kernan is giving Kerry every chance, saying that Dublin will be wihout three All star backs which is a massive loss and gave Kerry every chance.
Likewise Thomas O'Sé said Dublin can be beaten and are not as good as they were last year. Dublin would not beat Kerry on their display last Saturday.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 08/08/2016 20:40:03    1898327

Sure look we've taken responsibility for neglecting our youth in the 00's. Other counties have contributed to this poor decade.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7853 - 08/08/2016 21:13:19    1898348

Replying To fainleog:  "KYtitletown - You say nobody is giving Kerry a chance, that is total rubbish, you need only refer to "The Sunday Game "last night and Aoran Kernan is giving Kerry every chance, saying that Dublin will be wihout three All star backs which is a massive loss and gave Kerry every chance.
Likewise Thomas O'Sé said Dublin can be beaten and are not as good as they were last year. Dublin would not beat Kerry on their display last Saturday."
I didn't see the TSG last night but come on Tomas O'Se's brother is on the team he is hardly going to say we have no chance now is he. We have eyes and ears in Kerry and we can see the narratives and how we are perceived in relation to Dublin, we aren't fools

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 08/08/2016 21:44:36    1898369

Replying To legendzxix:  "Sure look we've taken responsibility for neglecting our youth in the 00's. Other counties have contributed to this poor decade."
Ye won the u21 in 2008??

Mullerm (Cork) - Posts: 87 - 08/08/2016 22:26:16    1898431

Replying To Mullerm:  "Ye won the u21 in 2008??"
We won our first minor All-Ireland since '94 in '14.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7853 - 08/08/2016 22:59:51    1898462