Kerry coming in under the radar?

Having neglected our youth, our semi-final opponent will be favourites. Tipperary's semi-final opponent will be favourites as well.

While Tipperary had a fine win yesterday, they are ranked 6th of the remaining teams left. Doesn't mean they can't cause more upsets.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7853 - 01/08/2016 22:04:07    1893790

Replying To legendzxix:  "Having neglected our youth, our semi-final opponent will be favourites. Tipperary's semi-final opponent will be favourites as well.

While Tipperary had a fine win yesterday, they are ranked 6th of the remaining teams left. Doesn't mean they can't cause more upsets."
The reason I ranked Tipp ahead of Kerry + Donegal was based on 2 factors - The quality of football they displayed yesterday which neither KY or DL have shown and their difficulty of reaching the final.

Secondly, while they would have to beat a 'Big 3' team to get to the Final there they won't have to face the Blue Juggernaut until the final whereas KY + DL have essentially no hope whatsoever of getting to the final bar divine intervention so that explains how I ranked the teams, it's basic mathematics

Obviously Tipp will face a very difficult assignment in the semi but not an impossible one

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 01/08/2016 22:13:08    1893795

Replying To KYTitletown:  "Don't take my word for it just look all the negative Kerry threads on here in the aftermath of yesterdays game (not to mention our 'easy' route to semi final) OR Tommy Carr's commentary OR the Dublin poster on here right now tarnishing Kerry every chance he gets

But yeah lets attack the Kerry poster and ignore the facts as usual.................."
Didn't mean to hit a nerve there mate, but pots and kettles come to mind. We've consistently met Donegal, Mayo and your goodselves in our recent all Ireland wins. I'm surprised you mention 2013 what a wonderful game of football vs your goodselves that was. The last great Kerry footballing performence of that great team and putting that great team to bed forever I still think is one of this Dublins group finish achievements. Some day it will be our turn, maybe Saturday.

I just find it difficult to hear guff around advantages a little odd, when many an all iIreland has been won through the long grass of Munster and occasional nice semi draw. You don't hear many from Munster wanting to scrap the provincials. Would you be in favour mate?

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/08/2016 22:28:34    1893801

Replying To TheUsername:  "Didn't mean to hit a nerve there mate, but pots and kettles come to mind. We've consistently met Donegal, Mayo and your goodselves in our recent all Ireland wins. I'm surprised you mention 2013 what a wonderful game of football vs your goodselves that was. The last great Kerry footballing performence of that great team and putting that great team to bed forever I still think is one of this Dublins group finish achievements. Some day it will be our turn, maybe Saturday.

I just find it difficult to hear guff around advantages a little odd, when many an all iIreland has been won through the long grass of Munster and occasional nice semi draw. You don't hear many from Munster wanting to scrap the provincials. Would you be in favour mate?"
Hate to state the obvious but our last great side had run its course by 2009, which was proved emphatically by the hammering Down gave us the following year so yeah I'd refrain for spouting about luck if I were you. We were lucky in 2014 to win, that wasn't a great side by any metric and no one ever said anything different (be it Kerry people or outsiders)

We don't have the population or resources to be great continuously, it comes and goes in cycles naturally, hopefully in 4/5 years some of our good underage players will blossom and transition to Senior, easier said than done however

I just wish people like you would stop begrudging Tipperary in their special moment, what they have accomplished this year is beyond comprehension considering the losses they have suffered to other sports and emigration not that a Dublin fan would understand those problems.

The idea that Leinster is a Juggernaut province is absolutely laughable

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 01/08/2016 23:04:34    1893818

Replying To TheUsername:  "Agreed mate, hardly seems fair, traditionally I often wonder would "the kingdom" have a grand total of 12 all Ireland's, if they had to play more then 1 sometimes 2 competitive games to win an All Ireland, all hypothetical of course, but the question is always there. Luckily as you say we have an advantage in the draw this year, well we dodged the mighty Clare any way, so we can breath again."
Maybe young fella you can go through all 37 All Ireland's THE KINGDOM have won and explain which of the 12 we actually deserved and what 25 we didn't.

Maybe you can give us all a match by match account of which opponents let us win in a particular year and which may have been bothered to put up a performance?

You strike me as a lad that has a great knowledge of it all...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/08/2016 23:14:00    1893824

Replying To TheUsername:  "Didn't mean to hit a nerve there mate, but pots and kettles come to mind. We've consistently met Donegal, Mayo and your goodselves in our recent all Ireland wins. I'm surprised you mention 2013 what a wonderful game of football vs your goodselves that was. The last great Kerry footballing performence of that great team and putting that great team to bed forever I still think is one of this Dublins group finish achievements. Some day it will be our turn, maybe Saturday.

I just find it difficult to hear guff around advantages a little odd, when many an all iIreland has been won through the long grass of Munster and occasional nice semi draw. You don't hear many from Munster wanting to scrap the provincials. Would you be in favour mate?"
Dublin Region last came up against the great Kerry team in 2009. This decade has been poor in relation to '96 to '09.

Kerry '14 wouldn't beat Kerry '97 to '00 or Kerry '04 to '09. The '14 side were dogged though. Getting to the final in defence of their title wasn't a bad effort in the context that not many champions have made the following year's final in the last 25 championships.

'11 was a strange championship. Up to halfway through the second half half of the final we were somehow coasting through that championship. The capital in fairness seized the day and to the victors goes the spoils. It masked a poor championship in terms of quality. It hasn't improved much in the last 4 championships.

Dublin Region are no better than their teams of '05 to '09. Kerry and Tyrone dropped off. It doesn't take away from capital achievements. They can only take on the opponents in front of them.

If Mayo don't win an All-Ireland, the final of '13 will haunt those players. Absolutely incapable of seizing the day.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7853 - 01/08/2016 23:26:01    1893828

Kerry won the all ireland the following year and were in the final again the year after and are going for a third final in a row this year! Yeah, u guys did a great job there

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 02/08/2016 08:13:48    1893857

Replying To GGdub:  "
Replying To Mullerm:  "If the radar is detecting bashing and abuse thrown at - Kerry show up very clearly in 2016

If the radar is detecting teams who have a realistic chance of winning Sam in 2016 - we are a tiny dot which needs a magnifying glass to spot in contrast to the 'Big 3' who everyone can see

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts:615 - 26/07/2016 11:43:59 1890261

Tell me where the abuse is. i praising Kerry football to the hilt. Kerry will bate the dubs. You dont win leagues when you do a hard training session day before a game. Fitzy has a few tricks up his sleeve"
Funny to see a corkman acting as fitzmaurices PR man..this kerry team is nowhere near dublin pal..theres no long grass and no under the radar with this bunch concerning dublin..havnt got the pace or the bench to live with us..you'll see for yourself when we meet and bury them by at least 7 points.."
He's no Corkman......it's embarrassingly obvious!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/08/2016 09:54:47    1893879

Replying To KYTitletown:  "Hate to state the obvious but our last great side had run its course by 2009, which was proved emphatically by the hammering Down gave us the following year so yeah I'd refrain for spouting about luck if I were you. We were lucky in 2014 to win, that wasn't a great side by any metric and no one ever said anything different (be it Kerry people or outsiders)

We don't have the population or resources to be great continuously, it comes and goes in cycles naturally, hopefully in 4/5 years some of our good underage players will blossom and transition to Senior, easier said than done however

I just wish people like you would stop begrudging Tipperary in their special moment, what they have accomplished this year is beyond comprehension considering the losses they have suffered to other sports and emigration not that a Dublin fan would understand those problems.

The idea that Leinster is a Juggernaut province is absolutely laughable"
Ye are odds on favourites to win 3rd All Ireland minor titles in a row. Odds to win back to back junior titles against mayo Saturday with a completely different group of players. That 60 players with all ireland junior medal in their pocket. Now 140 minutes from lifting sam. Kerry are not gone away. They could in fact dominate again

Mullerm (Cork) - Posts: 87 - 02/08/2016 11:36:12    1893948

Whether its cute hoorism or telling us how good you are, you Kerry boys sure love talking about yourselves. Talking yourselves down, talking yourselves up.......

And its all in context to your favourite topic: Dublin.

Jasus lads, I've never seen Kerry folk as rattled.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 02/08/2016 11:43:33    1893951

Replying To Mullerm:  "Ye are odds on favourites to win 3rd All Ireland minor titles in a row. Odds to win back to back junior titles against mayo Saturday with a completely different group of players. That 60 players with all ireland junior medal in their pocket. Now 140 minutes from lifting sam. Kerry are not gone away. They could in fact dominate again"
Noone from Kerry are saying we are gone. We are aware of the reality that we neglected our youth. That's a hindrance. We've only ourselves to blame.

There's no great team in the country at the moment. The fact that The 4 Regions of similar level to '05 to '09 have won a few says a lot about the rest of the country.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7853 - 02/08/2016 11:47:06    1893954

Legend has gone all "regional" again.

Face palm.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 357 - 02/08/2016 12:16:28    1893968

Replying To JayP:  "Whether its cute hoorism or telling us how good you are, you Kerry boys sure love talking about yourselves. Talking yourselves down, talking yourselves up.......

And its all in context to your favourite topic: Dublin.

Jasus lads, I've never seen Kerry folk as rattled."
Given the amount of idiotic threads started on here since Sunday and the amount of Dublin poster having they're two cents worth the evidence seems to suggest that ye fellas continue to be a lot more obsessed about us than we are about ye.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/08/2016 12:18:41    1893970

Replying To TheHermit:  "Given the amount of idiotic threads started on here since Sunday and the amount of Dublin poster having they're two cents worth the evidence seems to suggest that ye fellas continue to be a lot more obsessed about us than we are about ye."
Ah we are more worried about the Premiership in August!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 02/08/2016 13:00:05    1894000

Replying To JayP:  "Ah we are more worried about the Premiership in August!"
They'll be a small crowd on the Hill so for the semi if ye manage to get there.

Might stand there for a change!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/08/2016 13:21:31    1894010

Replying To TheHermit:  "Given the amount of idiotic threads started on here since Sunday and the amount of Dublin poster having they're two cents worth the evidence seems to suggest that ye fellas continue to be a lot more obsessed about us than we are about ye."
I thought the Mayo team we beat in '11 were on track to win All-Irelands. Two finals and no smoking cigar is pathetic.

The Donegal team of '12 looked like they'd be up there challenging too. They landed one. Is that their limit?

If people from the 4 Regions are talking about Kerry, they obviously don't think much of challenges coming from the North and West.

Everyone knows we're not a patch on our great team of '04 to '09. If we're having a few years on the quiet side and we're being looked on as one of the main challengers, it doesn't say much about the current level of championship compared with '96 to '09.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7853 - 02/08/2016 15:22:00    1894072

Really not too concerned about the dubs this year, seems that they are not able to deal with the intensity they play at in the long term hence the reason they can't make back to back finals! Expect Murphy to run riot against that dublin back line and for donegal to come through!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 02/08/2016 18:14:53    1894198

Replying To as_ky:  "Really not too concerned about the dubs this year, seems that they are not able to deal with the intensity they play at in the long term hence the reason they can't make back to back finals! Expect Murphy to run riot against that dublin back line and for donegal to come through!"
You should be concerned very concerned.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 02/08/2016 19:12:01    1894237

Replying To as_ky:  "Really not too concerned about the dubs this year, seems that they are not able to deal with the intensity they play at in the long term hence the reason they can't make back to back finals! Expect Murphy to run riot against that dublin back line and for donegal to come through!"
Looking forward to a Kerry and Donegal semi final with Kerry to win by 4-6 points

Mullerm (Cork) - Posts: 87 - 02/08/2016 19:19:15    1894239

I'd have my doubts about Donegal and Mayo. They've it all to prove. Tyrone seem to back. Saturday will tell a lot about the 3 of them.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7853 - 02/08/2016 19:24:06    1894240