Why no women senior county football managers

firstly its not just the GAA being backward, I don't think you will find to many women managing mens teams in any sport.

As for the dressing room same as with any man managing a ladies team. I am involved with a ladies team in my club, previously managed the mens team and have to say the ladies are so much easier to deal with, and far more organised.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 27/07/2016 10:04:02    1890812

women wouldnt hold the same attention in a male dressing room like a man would in a female dressing room.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:10864 - 26/07/2016 18:20:56

Would depend what she's wearing !!

Burnsey (Down) - Posts: 561 - 27/07/2016 13:53:59    1890941

Replying To Rosineri1:  "firstly its not just the GAA being backward, I don't think you will find to many women managing mens teams in any sport.

As for the dressing room same as with any man managing a ladies team. I am involved with a ladies team in my club, previously managed the mens team and have to say the ladies are so much easier to deal with, and far more organised."
They might be easier to manage but try reffing them. I had to give it up. The whinging and crying was unreal.

Possibly because all of them that are playing senior are teenagers and full of horomones.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 27/07/2016 14:25:47    1890964

Replying To ruanua:  "I'm picturing lots of gold chains - a Mohican and a retro Cavan Jersey"
And she ain't gettin' on no plane, fool!!!

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 27/07/2016 15:08:02    1890999

Liamwalkinstown here

Tom, don't ever change.....don't ever change.......

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 27/07/2016 15:15:05    1891005

Replying To tomsmith:  "Mr Goldrick
de
In Cavan as you would know most Chapels have a womans side and the men in the other side. That is the way where the great Mrs T was born bred and reared.As she is from that background she feels that to mix it with men would not be right. Hence she choose me as a Husband and she is a house wife"
...and I always thought Kilkenny was the medieval capital of Ireland.

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 27/07/2016 16:25:02    1891051

Tomsmith Cavan here

I just wonder why we do not have woman managing senior mens football and hurling teams at inter County level. Was it ever know for a senior County mens team (to be manager by a woman sorry lady) to be managed by a female
Mrs T posed the question on the pillow last night after the Sunday game and I did not have an answer for her
tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts:2670 - 25/07/2016 11:35:17

I hope you told her to stop talking silly, and put the tae pot on.

My wife was giving out one day about lack of women in Irish Politics, I told her yer man who's First minister in the North is rumoured to be a woman.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 27/07/2016 17:41:18    1891106

Replying To GaryMc82:  "Tomsmith Cavan here

I just wonder why we do not have woman managing senior mens football and hurling teams at inter County level. Was it ever know for a senior County mens team (to be manager by a woman sorry lady) to be managed by a female
Mrs T posed the question on the pillow last night after the Sunday game and I did not have an answer for her
tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts:2670 - 25/07/2016 11:35:17

I hope you told her to stop talking silly, and put the tae pot on.

My wife was giving out one day about lack of women in Irish Politics, I told her yer man who's First minister in the North is rumoured to be a woman."
.......Now now be good!

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 27/07/2016 18:48:14    1891134

Replying To tomsmith:  "Mr Goldrick
Tomsmith Cavan Yes indeed the great Mrs T does exist and is indeed a formidable person in her own right from a great GAA family . Very knowledgeable person who poses many different questions concerning football. It makes for some very interesting/veryintellegent conversations.
In relation to the question posed about Ladies managing teams now one came up with an answer as to why females do not manage teams
Has anyone an answer for my question"
Out of curiosity do you introduce yourself to your wife at the beginning of every conversation

'Mrs T .. Tom Smith anseo'

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 27/07/2016 23:32:50    1891301

Interesting point.

How many ladies football teams have a lady manager? Very few I'd imagine as ladies football as an organised sport is in its relative infancy so may take a few more years for that to happen.

In Camogie it's not all that common either to have a lady manager either, Ann Downey of Kilkenny and Bernie McNally in the past from Down are the obvious exceptions, but once again they're few and far between and that's when women themselves are looking for managers!!

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 28/07/2016 09:49:42    1891360

In fairness they'd have to put up with a fair bit of sexism once they started in a coaching job, even it's only a bit of banter and bravado between the lads. But if they're strong enough and determined enough to take the job that'd be no problem to them. Then it's the same as a male coach with the same level of coaching abilities. Ladies and mens teams will spot if they have a good coach or a poor one and they'll keep or get rid regardless of whether they're male or female.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 28/07/2016 11:26:09    1891409

There's a few lads on the sidelines poured into Bainisteoir tops & there are similarities to their female counterparts in relation to cup size....

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 28/07/2016 13:10:05    1891482

How many women manage ladies teams at club and county level

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 28/07/2016 14:11:57    1891518

Replying To waynoI:  "Out of curiosity do you introduce yourself to your wife at the beginning of every conversation

'Mrs T .. Tom Smith anseo'"
I suppose it's like using the auld interwebs forums like the way you would with a phonecall or really old telegram's.

Back on topic I would love to know if a woman ever applied for the bainisteoir job at either club or county level for male teams.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 28/07/2016 16:45:00    1891629

please god lets not force a feminist agenda on hoganstand..its in enough places now

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 28/07/2016 19:07:19    1891682

Probably because the women's game has only significantly improved over the last few years, it's not easy being a manager and it takes a lot of experience to be a rounded manager, either coaching or playing at a top level.

There isn't a lot of women that are out there like that, and for the few that exists are they better than their male counterparts looking for the same job?

I don't think we'll see a female manager in senior football/hurling over the next 20 years

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/07/2016 19:34:41    1891690

Probably because they want to continue to grow ladies football and get more young girls active and enjoying playing team sport.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 28/07/2016 20:12:16    1891702

I've heard it all now.

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 340 - 28/07/2016 21:53:11    1891756

Replying To hill16no1man:  "a few simple reasons
women havent as much interest in sport.
women wouldnt hold the same attention in a male dressing room like a man would in a female dressing room.
a lot of traditional values still hold true in that women when retired from sport would be seen as mothers first and foremost and therefore time would be very limited compared to a male."
Here, put down the club, your T-Rex needs milking.

No female managers yet, but last year Tyrone appointed the country's first female County Chairperson. A small crack in the glass ceiling...

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 29/07/2016 09:58:50    1891852

Have they not got their own Championship?

They shouldn't even be allowed into watch the mens matches unless they get season tickets to the ladies matches

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1126 - 29/07/2016 10:09:30    1891856