Donegal v Cork

Some awful kicking and decision making by Cork after a fairly good display.
But Donegal's experience really shone out in the last ten mins.
Yep Gavin and his players wont lose too much sleep at facing Donegal though

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 30/07/2016 18:00:43    1892367

Just as I thought, Donegal can play football. A great display by Donegal and I am hoping they can up their game for the Dublin match.

Come on Donegal!

sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 797 - 30/07/2016 18:02:17    1892370

Replying To pkboher:  "There's always next year"
Great sporting game from Cork as always, hard luck, ye could have won that, great block from Mc Gee saved a certain 2nd goal, but that's the way it goes,
have to lift it now and tighten the defence to be competitive against the Dubs, looking forward to it, always great to play the Dubs,great atmosphere,going to be a full house too.
Mc Elhinney should stick to the football though, he had a very poor game today, best to keep quite in future and not be upsetting himself defending RG,
Michael looks like he needs a rest from football after this season,he is obviously playing with an injury.
Bring on the Dubs!!

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 30/07/2016 18:05:50    1892374

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "Nice game to watch for the neutral. McBreaty and MCHugh had great games , especially the former. ..

Donegal playing some interesting hand passing tactics .Strangely nice to watch not in a typical football type of way. They screened players and loped around almost in a 3man wheel basketball type of way and layed it off whilst players ran the opposite direction then used long hand passing successfully."
They're great to watch when they play like that.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 30/07/2016 18:16:24    1892382

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "There aren't many fearing Tyrone either, you were lucky to scrape through the Ulster final, Mayo will end your season."
Grow up. I wasn't having a go at Donegal. Just stating it was so poor game.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 30/07/2016 18:20:21    1892384

Replying To sam2008:  "Just as I thought, Donegal can play football. A great display by Donegal and I am hoping they can up their game for the Dublin match.

Come on Donegal!"
Amazing what football Donegal can play when they aren't being dogged by constant fouling and sledging isn't it?
Cork always play the game the right way,they have great potential but there is just something missing in their hunger to win, JMG would do a great job down with the Rebels I think, they have an All Ireland in them.
We were very poor in midfield today,Big Neil is a huge loss.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 30/07/2016 18:22:59    1892386

Replying To woops:  "Some awful kicking and decision making by Cork after a fairly good display.
But Donegal's experience really shone out in the last ten mins.
Yep Gavin and his players wont lose too much sleep at facing Donegal though"
You are probably right. But we are doing well considering the mileage on some of our lads legs, plus the week they will have to get ready for the game.

Big congrats to the boys for a gritty victory. I thought it was an entertaining game, with little or nothing in it. Both teams were very evenly matched. I was most impressed with the fact that we learned from the ulster final in that we shot and hit wides but also scores from distance as the game went on. This is a huge development.

Cork should have gone long more.

We are struggling at mid field and the dubs will surely make this count. Murphy is also a shadow of himself this year, but what an outstanding game by mcbrearty.

I was raging with the ref and officials for adding 6 minutes and playing 7 minutes of added time. For such a clean and open game, where the hell did they get that from, other than trying to force extra time to soften either side up for the following week. A disgrace.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 30/07/2016 18:32:20    1892392

What a great game 2day, lets enjoy and celebrate - there have been a whole raft of crackers this year that have not been talked about or run into the ground!!!!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 30/07/2016 18:32:34    1892393

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "Amazing what football Donegal can play when they aren't being dogged by constant fouling and sledging isn't it?
Cork always play the game the right way,they have great potential but there is just something missing in their hunger to win, JMG would do a great job down with the Rebels I think, they have an All Ireland in them.
We were very poor in midfield today,Big Neil is a huge loss."
Yes amazing what they can do when they don't try and defend a 4 point lead with 35 mins to go.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 30/07/2016 18:45:52    1892401

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "Amazing what football Donegal can play when they aren't being dogged by constant fouling and sledging isn't it?
We were very poor in midfield today,Big Neil is a huge loss."
If you lads are going to be sly over and over again i'm going to remind you who won the Ulster final over and over.

Don't be going nuts now because you beat a team you were supposed to, if the Cork man hadn't fired the 2nd goal chance into the keepers chest in the first half it would have been a different match.

Surely you would admit that when you endeavoured to go forward early in the first half there were gaps that were never afforded to Tyrone in the Ulster final? I mean the commentary did continually mention Donegals lack of intensity

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 30/07/2016 18:48:53    1892405

Nothing like a bit of knockout football to bring teams out of their shells.

Enjoyable game as were last weeks games.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1351 - 30/07/2016 18:50:33    1892407

Replying To kevin03:  "Yes amazing what they can do when they don't try and defend a 4 point lead with 35 mins to go."
Got it nailed there kevin.

If Donegal had tried to give McBrearty some of the service he got today who knows.

However, such is life & we have a big game next week against Dublin. Onward & upward.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 30/07/2016 18:52:26    1892408

Donegal came through as I thought they would. When you see what they're doing defensively up close you'd have some concerns when they meet a side who move the ball with the boot. Players seem programmed to get back to their defensive zone regardless of what's actually happening in play, regularly with their back to it. If the ball passes them out there out of the game. Can't see this approach working against the Dubs. When Cork had energy they were a real threat, but the Donegal system suffocated them when energy levels dropped.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 30/07/2016 18:53:02    1892409

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Got it nailed there kevin.

If Donegal had tried to give McBrearty some of the service he got today who knows.

However, such is life & we have a big game next week against Dublin. Onward & upward."
I was honestly in shock at some of McBrearty points today. Class act.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 30/07/2016 19:21:50    1892422

On a somewhat parochial note, I gave me great pleasure to see Kilcar men contributing 0-16 yesterday.

Is this a record?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 31/07/2016 11:30:32    1892707

Replying To Pericles:  "Donegal came through as I thought they would. When you see what they're doing defensively up close you'd have some concerns when they meet a side who move the ball with the boot. Players seem programmed to get back to their defensive zone regardless of what's actually happening in play, regularly with their back to it. If the ball passes them out there out of the game. Can't see this approach working against the Dubs. When Cork had energy they were a real threat, but the Donegal system suffocated them when energy levels dropped."
This is a great observation. This is a change from the McGuinness era. Once Donegal lose the ball up the pitch, all players turn their back on the ball and sprint back towards their own 45. This works against the average sides but not the top teams as you invite them onto you. It s also very tiring to be continually sprinting back towards your own goals, therefore we tend to run out of steam near the end of games.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 31/07/2016 15:34:12    1892842