Donegal v Cork

Replying To bennybunny:  "Hurley is a big loss to us (many will say he has never really shone at the top level). Patrick Kelly looks like he has recovered some form after a long injury spell. In my opinion guys like Peter Kelleher, Sean White, Ian Maguire, Sean Powter are also very good footballers. I doubt they are on your radar (or anyone outside of Cork really). Why would they be? Who takes a team serious when they have the results we have had. Hopefully our management can get the best out of these guys and get people to take notice."
Isn't Kelleher the full forward? I was very impressed with him in the u-21 campaign. He might not ever have encountered anything like Neil McGee before though! Should be an intriguing battle to follow. Although if Colm O'Neill starts (did he only come off the bench against Longford?) I would expect Neil to be picking him up with Eamon tasked with Kelleher.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 26/07/2016 09:45:55    1890158

I think Donegal will have too much for Cork. Looking forward to this game. If Donegal win it will at least set-up 2 Very interesting Quarter Finals
Dublin V Donegal
Mayo V Tyrone

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 26/07/2016 09:55:21    1890161

I think Cork might win this one. I was disappointed with Donegals performance in the Ulster final. If Cork can keep mcbrearty and ryan mchugh quiet then they should have enough to beat them ....i think. The likes of Michael Murphy and the two magees are having less and less of an impact in my opinion. C'ship starts to kick off from now on!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 26/07/2016 10:26:37    1890182

I would make Donegal slight favourites here. Having 2 weeks break after provincial defeat will stand to them. Cork are such an unknown quantity but have alot of talented ball players. Donegal to learn the lessons of the 2nd half v Tyrone and get over the line by a couple of points IMO

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 26/07/2016 10:45:22    1890200

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "I have no doubt Dublin will be hoping that Cork win, approaching this game more in hope really, we won't know how the Ulster final loss has impacted on us till the game is in the melting pot,
Think we will just shade it by a point or two."
Don't know a single Dub that wants Cork to win. We all want Donegal.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 26/07/2016 10:54:29    1890210

I would say that Cork have a good opportunity in this one, especially as in the past they have a good record against Ulster teams and Donegal's momentum has been halted by the defeat last week. However, I have to say that Donegal are still rightly favourites, with both teams performances overall in this season to date.

Good luck to both teams and I hope it is real championship fare on Saturday.

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 26/07/2016 11:34:30    1890247

Replying To jacktheDub:  "I think Donegal will have too much for Cork. Looking forward to this game. If Donegal win it will at least set-up 2 Very interesting Quarter Finals
Dublin V Donegal
Mayo V Tyrone"
Suppose if Cork win it could be Tyrone v Cork Dublin V Mayo
They would be great quarter finals too,Mayo could give the Dubs are serious test, hard to see anyone stopping the Dubs though in all fairness, though Kerry will probably coast into the final at their ease and be ready for an ambush.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 26/07/2016 14:38:59    1890425

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Isn't Kelleher the full forward? I was very impressed with him in the u-21 campaign. He might not ever have encountered anything like Neil McGee before though! Should be an intriguing battle to follow. Although if Colm O'Neill starts (did he only come off the bench against Longford?) I would expect Neil to be picking him up with Eamon tasked with Kelleher."
Kelleher is a horse of young lad and in the under 21 championship he was well capable of fielding in a crowded square with plenty of company. As you say, he may not have met Neil Mcgee's aquaintance up to now! The game is an opportunity for him now. I hope he puts himself about and causes a nuisance.

I don't know why Colm O'Neill didnt start. he and Paddy Kelly changed the game when introduced. Nice to have subs to bring and it is good to give lads like Sean Powter and Michael Hurley a start (massive prospect too). One or both the two lads should start this week. They are our best players.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 26/07/2016 15:06:11    1890445

Replying To bennybunny:  "Kelleher is a horse of young lad and in the under 21 championship he was well capable of fielding in a crowded square with plenty of company. As you say, he may not have met Neil Mcgee's aquaintance up to now! The game is an opportunity for him now. I hope he puts himself about and causes a nuisance.

I don't know why Colm O'Neill didnt start. he and Paddy Kelly changed the game when introduced. Nice to have subs to bring and it is good to give lads like Sean Powter and Michael Hurley a start (massive prospect too). One or both the two lads should start this week. They are our best players."
O'Neill is lethal when he's on song so we'd have to be wary of him. Paddy Kelly is a classy playmaker as well. Both have had their injuries to contend with however. I hold an opinion that if Cork were properly organised and motivated they could have had at least another 2 AI's this decade given the talent they've had at their disposal. I know the big ball is the poor relation somewhat down there, but it must be incredibly frustrating all the same.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 26/07/2016 15:32:53    1890461

Will younger Cadogan see any game time?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/07/2016 15:49:29    1890473

I can't imagine it will be the negative affair that many would expect from Donegal. Key players like McGlynn, Lacey and O'Reilly are improving with each game they play. I reckon early goals will win it for Donegal and MacNiallais MOTM again. 3-10 to 1-12.

donegalboy (Donegal) - Posts: 120 - 26/07/2016 16:53:00    1890516

Replying To Lockjaw:  "O'Neill is lethal when he's on song so we'd have to be wary of him. Paddy Kelly is a classy playmaker as well. Both have had their injuries to contend with however. I hold an opinion that if Cork were properly organised and motivated they could have had at least another 2 AI's this decade given the talent they've had at their disposal. I know the big ball is the poor relation somewhat down there, but it must be incredibly frustrating all the same."
I always say that if we had Jim McGuinness, James Horan or Jack O'Connor in charge - if they were told they had 5 years ininterrupted, no-interference years in charge, you would have a completely different Cork team. We would be disciplined (any inflated egos would be shown the door), committed and consistent. We would stick to a game plan and not panic after one defeat ( as we did in 2014). It then comes down whether we have the talent to win or not and I believe that we do. Still as long as this county board is around, no foreigner will ever be give the job and many of the qualified locals either don't want it or are not faces that fit.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 26/07/2016 17:00:24    1890524

Replying To waynoI:  "I want Donegal to win.

I want another shot at them.

But i actually think Cork will win."
You want to watch what you wish for. You might be better not having another shot at them

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 26/07/2016 17:29:31    1890554

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Will younger Cadogan see any game time?"
Widespread changes are made to the panel and team for every game. There may or may not be method to this chopping and changing. Cadogan may make the panel. He is a seriously good footballer (was at under 21). Would love to see him concentrate on football. Our hurling team would be goosed but we are goosed anyway..

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 26/07/2016 20:01:59    1890623

Replying To donegalboy:  "I can't imagine it will be the negative affair that many would expect from Donegal. Key players like McGlynn, Lacey and O'Reilly are improving with each game they play. I reckon early goals will win it for Donegal and MacNiallais MOTM again. 3-10 to 1-12."
I would expect him to be a sub at least. There is no point in himself, Walsh and Cahalane joining the football panel if they're not going to be given a chance.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 26/07/2016 20:08:15    1890624

I wish we would just throw the shackles off and play an old style game of attacking football, I'm fed up of all this defending, to hell with it if you get beat at least you got beat trying to play football.
I know you have to defend,but wouldn't it be great to see Donegal and Cork go toe to toe, suppose that's wishful thinking nowadays.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 26/07/2016 21:43:05    1890671

I think we will have a cracker of a match. Indeed it could either way but I'm hoping we do win.
But cork do have some nice players and our midfield could be in bother Sat.
But if we get our running game going we could have Cork in big trouble. Still I'm expecting one of the best games of the year.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 26/07/2016 21:46:31    1890673

CroiGorm

Thats Mighty Talk' "We all want Donegal" I just Wonder Would you be as vociferous on the matter and be saying the same had we Won Ulster and progreesed to the AI Final the other Route and not after a 6 day Turnaround if we manage to Beat Cork.?

I remember talking with some Mayo men after last years quarter final defeat to them and they where Saying that alot of Dub's they where talking with were Sh*****g themselves about the prospect of playing Donegal had we won.

So you got a couple of meaningless league wins over us and you think youse have our Number...Its just a real pity we wont have longer to prepare if we win aginst Cork.. but hey thats life.

One thing that is pretty obvious though' is that the 2014 Master class Still is troubling you Dub's and your clearly are not over it yet.
And if we do manage to beat Cork and meet The Dub;s 6 days later and youse Win' you know doubt will make a big thing about it but i wouldnt exactly call that wiping the slate' if it is the Scenario that plays out.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 29/07/2016 17:54:08    1892067

I think cork have a game in them..and i reckon they will beat donegal in a close game..they've been wrote off all year and that will motivate them..plus donegal havnt been playing any decent football either so they are there for the taking..cork by 1 or 2 points..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 29/07/2016 19:12:38    1892088

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Don't know a single Dub that wants Cork to win. We all want Donegal."
Yous will get Donegal. All your wishes will be fulfilled (or all your dreams shattered)

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 29/07/2016 20:29:52    1892107