David Fitzgerald's Behaviour

Lads we are in a situation in our games where we have talented intercounty players (both hurling and football) with serious levels of individual flair and skill being completely subdued and caught up in systems so much that they play like robots following a pre ordained set of rules that must be adhered to at all times.

Every bit of individuality in the game is being slowly eradicated. We have no more characters. We have robots who live lives like monks forbidden from speaking to the press or media and forbidden from expressing themselves on the field of play.

We should be celebrating characters like Davey, I was sitting right behind the dug out yesterday and loved it. Yes he lost it at times but I didn't hear anything from him that was abuse. The man cares and by god does he show it. He wears his heart on his sleeve and I know from personal experience the man off the pitch is a different character altogether.

The GAA I remember growing up was full of characters and individuality. No kid took a hurl in their hand, went down to the field and wanted to play as a sweeper, the same with football. We remember the characters and the individuals more than anything.

Leave Davey alone, in a GAA world gone mad with "political correctness", systems and robot like obedience hes' a breath of fresh air

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1339 - 25/07/2016 13:17:03    1889674

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "He is what he is, he's passionate and dedicated and brings a bit of excitement to proceedings so I've no problem with it, perhaps if all these referees, linesmen and umpires and their committees all actually admitted when they made mistakes instead of being defended by blind officialdom then they would get more respect, some of the decision making is ludicrous and whilst I'm certainly not one to condone abusing officials at times I'm not surprised that frustration boils over. Dissapointing defeat for Clare today but it's been there best year since 2013 with winning the league and undoubtedly I would say preperations this week weren't perfect. I expect to see Davy and Donal Og on the line again next year.
Richieq (Meath) - Posts:2530 - 24/07/2016 19:37:38
Referees do admit mistakes but should all players and coaches not then have to admit all mistakes, apologise for every shit pass, every attempt at a goal or point that goes wide,
Decision making can be poor but unless you change the culture around referees then its harder to help referees improve and get people who may be very good referees to volunteer to referee games.

Leave Davey alone. His one of the most animated managers in the game and I've seen worse at an under 12 match.
His eats ,drink and s&&ts every ball. Every decision counts we seen it all before 1 bad decision can turn a game.
Not saying his behavior is great but I love his passion even if it's OTT.
remember Davey having to put up with abuse as a player himself not that he was a saint he was able to stick up for himself.
Some character in fairness I love it.
WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts:1172 - 24/07/2016 19:49:55
His behaviour is not great and as others have said that you have seen worse at an under 12 match says a lot about you that you are ok with that and a lot about the GAA that this is ok.
That Davey had to put up with a lot as a player should mean he would be a bit more considerate but....."
You obviously didn't read my later post where I cleared up what I said.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 25/07/2016 13:29:34    1889688

Lads just on this point if the GAA Higher brass thought Davey was out of line I'm sure he would have been pulled up on it by now and banned ages ago.
Obviously either players , referees or indeed other managers we believe Davey has abused would have reported this ?
Lots of people in fairness have personal agendas with Davey and I mentioned it earlier he can give it as well as take it.
We all know some stuff said on the sidelines comes with the territory but there's a line you don't cross.
For some reason those people think he hasn't crossed it.
I stand by my comment that I like his passion over the top or not he breathes every ball and I'm sure if any of our counties had a manager like him on the sidelines we'd love it.
Always sticks up for his team lose win or draw. Would be worse if he done nothing on the sidelines. Storm in a tea cup in my view.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 25/07/2016 13:39:13    1889693

I find it hilarious that lads can be so shocked and disgusted with Davey's antics , and on another thread there's lads openly admitting that its OK to go down if there is contact , winning a penalty and feigning injury are OK .
I know which of the two I cant stomach.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 25/07/2016 13:52:35    1889703

Replying To tearintom:  "Lads we are in a situation in our games where we have talented intercounty players (both hurling and football) with serious levels of individual flair and skill being completely subdued and caught up in systems so much that they play like robots following a pre ordained set of rules that must be adhered to at all times.

Every bit of individuality in the game is being slowly eradicated. We have no more characters. We have robots who live lives like monks forbidden from speaking to the press or media and forbidden from expressing themselves on the field of play.

We should be celebrating characters like Davey, I was sitting right behind the dug out yesterday and loved it. Yes he lost it at times but I didn't hear anything from him that was abuse. The man cares and by god does he show it. He wears his heart on his sleeve and I know from personal experience the man off the pitch is a different character altogether.

The GAA I remember growing up was full of characters and individuality. No kid took a hurl in their hand, went down to the field and wanted to play as a sweeper, the same with football. We remember the characters and the individuals more than anything.

Leave Davey alone, in a GAA world gone mad with "political correctness", systems and robot like obedience hes' a breath of fresh air"
tearintom, Davey Fitz has as much blame for the debacle hurling is turning into as anyone.. His Godawful system is strangling the life out of potentially the most talented Clare side in decades... yeah, he's a 'character', if acting like a demented nutter on the sideline is your thing, but talk to most Clare supporters at this stage. I think they'd like to see their team go out to hurl instead of trying to stop the other team.The first round Munster championship match last year between Limerick and Clare was horrific.possibly the worst i'd ever seen up to then .This year was even worse...Clare won an AI under him. Fair play. A great achievement, but they've been very tough to watch since 2013 in the Championship...Clare should be pushing for another AI, instead they're sinking into mediocrity.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1063 - 25/07/2016 14:50:34    1889768

He's brilliant for Gaelic Games; wears his heart on his sleeve, is rabidly passionate for hurling and isn't shy about giving an opinion. Having said that if I was an opposition manager or official I would probably end up digging him.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 25/07/2016 16:02:28    1889829

Replying To Ulsterman:  "He's brilliant for Gaelic Games; wears his heart on his sleeve, is rabidly passionate for hurling and isn't shy about giving an opinion. Having said that if I was an opposition manager or official I would probably end up digging him."
Lol I'd say many feel like doing it!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 25/07/2016 17:29:53    1889904

Replying To skillet:  "tearintom, Davey Fitz has as much blame for the debacle hurling is turning into as anyone.. His Godawful system is strangling the life out of potentially the most talented Clare side in decades... yeah, he's a 'character', if acting like a demented nutter on the sideline is your thing, but talk to most Clare supporters at this stage. I think they'd like to see their team go out to hurl instead of trying to stop the other team.The first round Munster championship match last year between Limerick and Clare was horrific.possibly the worst i'd ever seen up to then .This year was even worse...Clare won an AI under him. Fair play. A great achievement, but they've been very tough to watch since 2013 in the Championship...Clare should be pushing for another AI, instead they're sinking into mediocrity."
Skillett. With the exception of the 2013 AI final Clare have been hard to watch in almost every other game they played in. I have never heard so many gasps and sighs of 'oh my god why are they doing that' heard all over the place when they are playing. Even in 2013 they struggled to beat Wexford and were beaten by them the following year.(all due respects). Fitz has not got the best out of these players.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 25/07/2016 17:46:28    1889914

There is no badness in Davy but the opposition manager must love his antics. In the time it takes to cool down and re-focus the ball could be in the net twice against his team. Especially in hurling. We hear so much about the game been won between the lines, not on the side line. What has his animation done for the team. I would hate to see the poor guy get a heart attack. He is a good coach so just cut out the antics and concentrate on that. His own players will tire of it sooner or later and lose confidence in him.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 25/07/2016 18:20:44    1889932

Replying To uibhfhaili1986:  "The supposed give respect get respect initiative for treating referees with respect is again been made a mockery of by the GAA who refuse to deal with Davy Fitzgerald and put him into the stands for his continual abuse of officials.

People wonder why people at all levels abuse officials but when they see one of the most high profile figures in the game and get away it for the entirety of his managerial career it doesn't exactly set a great example.

He should have been suspended for it a long time ago."
I was at the game yesterday, pretty close to where Davy was positioned and I have to say that some of the decisions made/not made by linesman and referee were astonishing! I thought they were out to finish off poor Davy..

That said - it wouldnt have impacting the final score - Galway were the better team by far. Davy can be fairly over the top at times but maybe we can be cut some slack on this occasion.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 25/07/2016 22:14:54    1890057

Can never make up my mind on Davy. I think he enjoy's the role of pantomime villain. He loves it all being about Davy. I can understand if it was taking pressure off his team but I think it proves a distraction for his team and puts more pressure on him.
My big objection to Davy Fitz is how he treated those 2 hurlers last year who were out drinking Mi Wadi in Ennis. Considering he always tells about how he was bullied himself, how does he think he made those players feel? And while I could understand if they were drinking pints, you can't treat 2 young lads out to enjoy a night out like that. I believe this "no drinking ever" attitude is causing a load of other problems for inter county hurlers and footballers such as gambling, etc.
But he's definitely a marmite character!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 26/07/2016 08:49:36    1890127

It's great to have characters in the game but ask yourself if everyone behaved as he does where would it end up? everyone on the side line has a responsibility to behave in an acceptable manner and show some measure of self control and example to their players.

lillyboy (Kildare) - Posts: 429 - 26/07/2016 11:37:03    1890251

Replying To lillyboy:  "It's great to have characters in the game but ask yourself if everyone behaved as he does where would it end up? everyone on the side line has a responsibility to behave in an acceptable manner and show some measure of self control and example to their players."
Absolutely right.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 26/07/2016 12:05:32    1890282

somebody stole his pot of gold and he hasn't been right since ;-)

AnBuachaillGlas (Fermanagh) - Posts: 287 - 26/07/2016 12:09:51    1890285

I admire Davy Fitzgerald's passion but I would not want to be a linesman on his side of the pitch!

mikeyjoe (USA) - Posts: 415 - 26/07/2016 15:49:21    1890472

Replying To carlovia:  "Every clare match you just have to laugh at the sideline stuff.

In carlow, we had one of our best players suspended for 3 months due to verbal abuse
of a ref in a kehoe cup game.

Last year our football manager got the same suspension for disputing a score
against offaly in a league match.

But different rules for different folks i guess."
a couple weeks you had a selector running onto field at every moment, No suspension. The rules for Division 3 & 4 differ to Division 1&2 teams. You have a one high profile player one for a top team who consistently berates referees . I seen him do this for years and no action. Abuse towards officials is automatic black card

Mullerm (Cork) - Posts: 87 - 26/07/2016 16:02:58    1890485

its called small man syndrome i believe.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 26/07/2016 16:06:22    1890488