Well done Clare and Tipp

Point to ponder 7 Ulster counties(Ulster football is best!!) 10 Leinster counties 3 Connacht counties have all been beaten in the qualifiers. Clare Cork and Tipperary have all come through 2 of them to the quarter finals and they still argue the Kerry have a soft route Derry an Roscommon take note Kerry will have to beat Clare twice Roscommon and my own county did not succeed there Tipperary were annihilated by Kerry in Munster final if Cork beat Donegal it will mean 4 of the 6 Munster teams are through to last 8 I am tired of listening to Brolly et al. extol the quality of the Ulster Championship, negative, stop the other team at all costs, pack your deference and then sit back and enjoy a game that ends up 0 3 to 0 2 then off you go and sing "Jimmy's winning matches" great final in 2012 dismal one in 2014 when another team out Doegaled them

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 25/07/2016 20:26:44    1889992

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Meath would probably have more than 7 if they were in Munster etc etc."
Would Cork have more if they were not in same province as Kerry??

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 25/07/2016 20:28:37    1889993

Replying To 37sowhat:  "Point to ponder 7 Ulster counties(Ulster football is best!!) 10 Leinster counties 3 Connacht counties have all been beaten in the qualifiers. Clare Cork and Tipperary have all come through 2 of them to the quarter finals and they still argue the Kerry have a soft route Derry an Roscommon take note Kerry will have to beat Clare twice Roscommon and my own county did not succeed there Tipperary were annihilated by Kerry in Munster final if Cork beat Donegal it will mean 4 of the 6 Munster teams are through to last 8 I am tired of listening to Brolly et al. extol the quality of the Ulster Championship, negative, stop the other team at all costs, pack your deference and then sit back and enjoy a game that ends up 0 3 to 0 2 then off you go and sing "Jimmy's winning matches" great final in 2012 dismal one in 2014 when another team out Doegaled them"
You see the problem is Clare and Tipp aren't trendy football names like Meath, Kildare , Roscommon , Cavan etc doesn't matter how mediocre the latter group perform they will still be regarded as better than the likes of Clare and Tipp no matter what actually happens on the field of play.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 25/07/2016 21:32:49    1890030

Replying To KYTitletown:  "You see the problem is Clare and Tipp aren't trendy football names like Meath, Kildare , Roscommon , Cavan etc doesn't matter how mediocre the latter group perform they will still be regarded as better than the likes of Clare and Tipp no matter what actually happens on the field of play."
I agree with you 100%. Most of the teams you mention there were big once upon a time and for whatever reason are still seen as so.

We won a minor title in 2011, beating a whos who of the current Dublin team and contested minor and under 21 finals last year but judging by the comments since Saturday you'd swear it was our first ever qualifier win. We also got to the last 12 twice in the last couple of seasons before Saturday.

The teams we have lost to in the last three seasons are Cork, Kerry, Tyrone and Galway. Three of those are provincial champions this year and cork might join us in the quarter finals yet.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 25/07/2016 22:12:58    1890056

Kerry defeated Clare by 12 points and Dublin defeated Laois by 10 I think. Clare defeated Laois by 1 point. Could mean that a Kerry and Dublin final will be very close.

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 26/07/2016 01:44:44    1890095

Great achievement and Cork to win at weekend will be show strength of province to 4 team in last 8

Mullerm (Cork) - Posts: 87 - 26/07/2016 07:22:49    1890113

well done clare and tipp- fair play to liam kearns he did great job with limerick and is now finally getting the croke park quarter final that he nearly got with limerick --bit of a trend this week with former limerick managers going on to better things

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 26/07/2016 09:40:17    1890151

Replying To crikey:  "Kerry defeated Clare by 12 points and Dublin defeated Laois by 10 I think. Clare defeated Laois by 1 point. Could mean that a Kerry and Dublin final will be very close."
Dublin scored 2 goals in the first 3 minutes and just went to cruise mode for the remaining 67 minutes, not the same whatsoever.

The League Final is a better barometer and even then Dublin weren't that good, by their standards!

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 26/07/2016 10:53:12    1890209

Replying To KYTitletown:  "Dublin scored 2 goals in the first 3 minutes and just went to cruise mode for the remaining 67 minutes, not the same whatsoever.

The League Final is a better barometer and even then Dublin weren't that good, by their standards!"
Its hard to believe Dublin are 10 points better than Kerry. Kerry just had a bad day.

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 26/07/2016 11:51:33    1890269

Replying To janesboro:  "well done clare and tipp- fair play to liam kearns he did great job with limerick and is now finally getting the croke park quarter final that he nearly got with limerick --bit of a trend this week with former limerick managers going on to better things"
Hahaha, are you comparing Liam Kearns to Big Sam?

Big Sam mentioned his first job at Limerick in his first press conference as England manager.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 26/07/2016 14:03:15    1890393

Killarney.87 -yeah he was player manager in 1991/92 his last job as player and first as manager - won first division, his first three games were thomond park friendlies against chelsea everton and sunderland, (cant remember what order) alway though it ironic he went on to manage sunderland

he is third former limerick player manager to manage an international senior team after eoin hand and noel king, also had former player brian flynn caretaker manager of wales back in 2010

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 26/07/2016 14:38:55    1890424

I think it's about time the Munster council got some credit for restructuring the cship a few years ago. A lot of people from outside cork and Kerry were critical but I said at the time it could only be a good thing to have a match played before meeting either of them. Clare and tipp have improved since and I think it has helped. Will be interesting to see what they do next year as tipp beat cork.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 26/07/2016 15:13:51    1890450

Replying To KYTitletown:  "Dublin scored 2 goals in the first 3 minutes and just went to cruise mode for the remaining 67 minutes, not the same whatsoever.

The League Final is a better barometer and even then Dublin weren't that good, by their standards!"
Kerry never take league serious. We hammered ye many a game in league and got the odd munster win. We havent beaten ye in knockout game since 99.

Mullerm (Cork) - Posts: 87 - 26/07/2016 15:47:49    1890470

http://m.hoganstand.com/Home/Details/256604?county=National

tiobraid - tipp and kerry seeded into 2017 semi finals- open draw for semis - at worst ye will be in qualifer round 2,
Good luck to both your senior teams in coming weeks

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 26/07/2016 16:19:54    1890498

Replying To janesboro:  "http://m.hoganstand.com/Home/Details/256604?county=National

tiobraid - tipp and kerry seeded into 2017 semi finals- open draw for semis - at worst ye will be in qualifer round 2,
Good luck to both your senior teams in coming weeks"
I suspect that tipp would nearly prefer to stay with the old system but maybe lucky enough to get a good draw too.
It's a shame that the support for the footballers has yet to really improve significantly.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 27/07/2016 17:57:23    1891113

Replying To janesboro:  "Killarney.87 -yeah he was player manager in 1991/92 his last job as player and first as manager - won first division, his first three games were thomond park friendlies against chelsea everton and sunderland, (cant remember what order) alway though it ironic he went on to manage sunderland

he is third former limerick player manager to manage an international senior team after eoin hand and noel king, also had former player brian flynn caretaker manager of wales back in 2010"
That's class Janesboro. It's a pity Limerick FC don't be more recognition and support from the FAI. There is some much potential there.

I was fairly sceptical of the Kearns appointment when it was announced. I thought he was a bit of a chancer and I don't remember him doing much with Limerick. But in fairness you can't argue with what he has done with Tipp this year. Beating Cork is a huge psychological lift for Tipp football. If we could somehow beat Kerry in the coming years that would be great.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 27/07/2016 19:09:21    1891150

I was fairly sceptical of the Kearns appointment when it was announced. I thought he was a bit of a chancer and I don't remember him doing much with Limerick. Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts:1283 - 27/07/2016 19:09:21

Ah he did fine job with us took over in 1999 had seniors and 21s, we hadnt won championship game since 1991. In 2000 he brought 21s to all ireland final where they put it up to tyrone, good few of that team won 21s hurling with limerick few months later.
In 2002 he got our first championship wins beat cavan (away) and offaly and lost to mayo by 1
in 2003 got promoted to div 1 (twas 2 16 team divisions then) beat cork by 10 pts away and got to munster final
In 2004 got to league semi final and were one kick away from winning munster- were 7 up at one stage in the replay
He left after 2005 championship - nucleus of that team were so close to winning munster in 2009 and put it up to both cork and kerry in 2010 lost by 5pts and 1point AET respectively)

while we didnt win munster - relatively speaking he was successful -

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 28/07/2016 09:18:15    1891339

Kearns was in charge of Laois in 2007.. the last time they contested the Leinster Final. I'm not sure who he managed straight after that.

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 29/07/2016 14:37:31    1891999

Replying To crikey:  "Kearns was in charge of Laois in 2007.. the last time they contested the Leinster Final. I'm not sure who he managed straight after that."
Fair enough lads. I stand corrected. I am wary of managers coming back after a long hiatus cos the game changes so quickly now.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 29/07/2016 15:35:03    1892022