Well done Clare and Tipp

Replying To jimbodub:  "Kerry lads are very sensitive when they hear "Soft All Ireland's or easy runs"

Fact is that they'd still have a very impressive tally even if they had of been in Ulster or Leinster or Connacht because they have produced great players.

But...

They wouldn't have as many as they do now, for a very long time no one gave a flying feck about football in Munster

So Kerry have without question enjoyed a geographical advantage, year after year playing hurling first counties and finding themselves in AI semifinals, winning breeds winning, and builds momentum. That's easier to build upon when you have a natural advantage.

The reason a few gombeens are now latching onto a most uncommon thing of Munster football teams performing well, is just exposing the fact that they know well how handy they had it down there for generation after generation.. almost a guaranteed ticket into a AI semi-final before kicking a ball... yeah sure, that's not an advantage, sure.

And the thing is.... They still do have it handy enough... For all the hype Clare and Tipp are getting Kerry won Munster without any fuss in 2016

But quick... Let's point out some trivial BS about Munster teams beating 6 day turn around counties to try and justify ourselves!!!

Kerry would have still enjoyed many AI wins regardless but would they have 37 if they weren't playing football in Munster...

No chance."
Meath would probably have more than 7 if they were in Munster etc etc.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 24/07/2016 11:45:44    1889046

Replying To jimbodub:  "Kerry lads are very sensitive when they hear "Soft All Ireland's or easy runs"

Fact is that they'd still have a very impressive tally even if they had of been in Ulster or Leinster or Connacht because they have produced great players.

But...

They wouldn't have as many as they do now, for a very long time no one gave a flying feck about football in Munster

So Kerry have without question enjoyed a geographical advantage, year after year playing hurling first counties and finding themselves in AI semifinals, winning breeds winning, and builds momentum. That's easier to build upon when you have a natural advantage.

The reason a few gombeens are now latching onto a most uncommon thing of Munster football teams performing well, is just exposing the fact that they know well how handy they had it down there for generation after generation.. almost a guaranteed ticket into a AI semi-final before kicking a ball... yeah sure, that's not an advantage, sure.

And the thing is.... They still do have it handy enough... For all the hype Clare and Tipp are getting Kerry won Munster without any fuss in 2016

But quick... Let's point out some trivial BS about Munster teams beating 6 day turn around counties to try and justify ourselves!!!

Kerry would have still enjoyed many AI wins regardless but would they have 37 if they weren't playing football in Munster...

No chance."
Would dublin have won what they have if they didn't have home advantage, way bigger population and more funding than the rest of Ireland?

No chance

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 24/07/2016 11:59:34    1889051

We're now taking advantage of our natural advantages for sure

But we're decades and decades behind Kerry on that front... even with all that, Kerry GAA still has to go about basically down playing themselves... even with all the victories and silverware, a very disingenuous bunch, liars in fact.

But when you have Kerry lads playing the poor mouth, you know you're doing something right.

Now don't let me stop you from your BS campaigns KY... :)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 24/07/2016 12:28:43    1889068

And it's Kerry fault that ye didn't avail of those huge advantages isn't it?

It's sad that people are bashing Kerry as opposed to praising the remarkable of 2 (hurling dominated) counties reaching the QF on very small playing pool and resources relative to the rest of the country.

You think Clare and Tipp's accomplishments would be an inspiration to teams everywhere in Ireland but it's the same begrudgery as usual

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 24/07/2016 12:38:40    1889073

Big thumbs up to tipp and clare. I listened to the clare game and they obviously were well worth their win. Are they without their mid fielder for the quarter final against kerry? Also big thumbs up to tipp who seemed to score on sight in the first 20 minutes. Will look forward to themselves and galway in the quarters, it will make for a freshening up of the games and pairings we are used to watching.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 24/07/2016 13:05:18    1889086

Replying To Donegalman:  "Big thumbs up to tipp and clare. I listened to the clare game and they obviously were well worth their win. Are they without their mid fielder for the quarter final against kerry? Also big thumbs up to tipp who seemed to score on sight in the first 20 minutes. Will look forward to themselves and galway in the quarters, it will make for a freshening up of the games and pairings we are used to watching."
Well Clare will definitely appeal, we can only hope the GAA do what is right and rescind the red card for what was a yellow card offence.

It's great to see new counties break barriers and hopefully other teams who haven't had much success can take inspiration, people slate 'weaker counties' for not being competitive and them slate them whey then upset 'bigger counties'.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 24/07/2016 13:17:25    1889093

Replying To salvador:  "Fair play to Clare .Some very nice footballers. By a mile the better team, We were very lucky to be beaten by only six.

Best of luck .Hope ye do really well going forward.And Tipp were super also.Well done lads. Great to see, despite my disapointment I wish Clare the very best.And Tipp."
Two great wins - was watching Thank GAA It's Friday and the tipster at end punted for Rossies and Derry. Think I will put money on Wexford and Galway based on his predictions here.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 24/07/2016 13:37:44    1889107

Replying To crikey:  "Clare defeated a sub standard tired Laois team by one point and after Laois led for most of the match. Shouldn't label a whole province sub standard."
Sorry if I offended Crikey. I got a bit annoyed with the Dubs turning Tipp and Clare's wins into a Kerry vs Dublin thing.

The thread is about Tipp and Clare so they could at least have commended us on a great achievement here and set up a different thread to vent at Kerry.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 24/07/2016 13:46:42    1889110

Its great for football to see two teams emerge to challenge the two big guns in Munster.
For many years these two counties seemed to be only there to make up the numbers with hurling the first sport in both counties.
I really hope they keep it up and it's not a one-off year. Football needs this especially Munster football.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 24/07/2016 13:55:03    1889115

People used to laugh at me supporting the Tipp footballers! Including some Tipp people!

Delighted that not only are we mixing it with some serious teams and beating the likes of Cork and Derry but we're doing it playing attacking football and running up big scores. Gives the lie to the notion that weaker counties need to play ultra-defensive to make progress.

Unfortunately I think we'll struggle against Galway at midfield with Flynn and Conroy in there. Acheson is a savage player but not convinced that's his best position. Would feel much more confident had we O'Brien and O'Riordan at 8 and 9. Or even having Casey and Fahey available would help.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 24/07/2016 14:53:01    1889140

Well done to both praticularly as both are successfull in other codes, if they can get there acts together in terms of sustainable success in football pound for pound, they could be the biggest GAA counties in Munster.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 24/07/2016 15:10:04    1889150

Brilliant results for both.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/07/2016 15:20:28    1889154

Replying To roundball:  "People used to laugh at me supporting the Tipp footballers! Including some Tipp people!

Delighted that not only are we mixing it with some serious teams and beating the likes of Cork and Derry but we're doing it playing attacking football and running up big scores. Gives the lie to the notion that weaker counties need to play ultra-defensive to make progress.

Unfortunately I think we'll struggle against Galway at midfield with Flynn and Conroy in there. Acheson is a savage player but not convinced that's his best position. Would feel much more confident had we O'Brien and O'Riordan at 8 and 9. Or even having Casey and Fahey available would help."
Congrats Roundball.

Given the success you've had at underage recently there's a great chance this isn't a flash in the pan.

I wish Antrim played with a more fearless approach like yourselves and Clare.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 24/07/2016 15:39:16    1889165

I don't think people realise the calibre of player Tipperary are missing. They arw missing 5/6 top class players and 3/4 food depth players.

Just look at the Dublin team they beat I'm the 2011 final they had an absolute superstar team and Tipperary beat them on their own turf.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 24/07/2016 16:10:22    1889187

Replying To KYTitletown:  "I don't think people realise the calibre of player Tipperary are missing. They arw missing 5/6 top class players and 3/4 food depth players.

Just look at the Dublin team they beat I'm the 2011 final they had an absolute superstar team and Tipperary beat them on their own turf."
Damn predictive text!

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 24/07/2016 16:30:39    1889193

Replying To roundball:  "People used to laugh at me supporting the Tipp footballers! Including some Tipp people!

Unfortunately I think we'll struggle against Galway at midfield with Flynn and Conroy in there. Acheson is a savage player but not convinced that's his best position. Would feel much more confident had we O'Brien and O'Riordan at 8 and 9. Or even having Casey and Fahey available would help."
What's the story with Fahey's injury? Yeah Flynn and Conroy look very dominant.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 24/07/2016 21:29:38    1889398

The 2020 plan is definitely on track it's only 2016 and we're just one game away from an Ireland semi final.
Like roundball I think we might struggle if Galway get on top around the middle.
Derry scored easily 1-6 from Tipp kick outs.
Also that Danny Cummins fella will take some stopping. Galway are playing great football at the moment.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 24/07/2016 22:10:01    1889425

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Sorry if I offended Crikey. I got a bit annoyed with the Dubs turning Tipp and Clare's wins into a Kerry vs Dublin thing.

The thread is about Tipp and Clare so they could at least have commended us on a great achievement here and set up a different thread to vent at Kerry."
No offence taken ☺. Best of luck to Tipp.

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 25/07/2016 04:20:48    1889486

Yerra there's lads on here that would rather see Kerry lose an All-Ireland rather than see their own county win one, given that is it any surprise that they dismiss Clare and Tipp's achievement just to have their swipe at Kerry.

If we win the All-Ireland this year we will still mostly likely have to beat Dublin in a semi and someone like Mayo/Donegal/Tyrone in the final, yet they'll still go off cribbing about a 'soft' title won by only playing the likes of Clare and Tipp apparently!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 25/07/2016 10:42:27    1889560

Delighted for both Tipp and Clare. Maybe div 3 wasn't as bad as I thought. Westmeath in Leinster final and Longford beating monaghan as well. Might be the place to be...

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 25/07/2016 19:23:55    1889969