Clare Tipperary Clare

Replying To westkerry:  "And Dublin beating Laois / Meath / westmeath is any better?
Ask the Kerry players they want games not 4 week lay offs.
As for Clare they are full deserving of their place in the last 8."
Yeah Dublins run has been easier. It's a disgrace they get such an easy passage to the quarters. You wouldn't have Galway playing in the connaught championship in hurling with the winner qualifying to the all Ireland semi? That's basically what Dublin have.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 24/07/2016 07:27:10    1888951

Tipp and Clare are deservedly there.
Tipp have beaten cork and Derry. Not a whole lot different than who tyrone have had to play. I think both tipp and clare would fancy their chances against any team Dublin have played.
Looking at the results between clare and Kerry last few years...they've been closer than a lot of the other matches they've played.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 24/07/2016 08:59:08    1888964

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I said well done to Tipp and Clare my point is on a crazy system that has Kerry playing Clare Tipp and Clare again, well done again Clare and Tipp great achievement. if Kerry had to play Kildare Meath Kildare I'd be saying the exact same thing a joke of a system. How you's can't agree with me on this is really strange."
There are two things at play here. One the draw and the other is Clare and Tipp had to actually win some matches to get this far.

If Clare had lost to Roscommon and the quarter final was Kerry vs Roacommon you wouldn't be commenting on the system as much.

You have inflated opinions of some teams and you don't seem to think Clare or Tipp are any good.

It's not like this happens every year with the draw. Plus when the quarter finals were loaded with Ulster teams no body was saying the system was strange then.

We are not going to agree on this because you think Tipp and Clare are crap and I don't think they are.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 24/07/2016 13:53:39    1889113

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ah sure it's a fair system well done Kerry."
Complete lack of respect for Clare and Tipp who are there on merit. Shameful.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2506 - 24/07/2016 14:21:56    1889125

Nothing to see here it's always been a handy run from Munster, decades of it, it's just funny this year that Kerry will hardly play a game against a team outside of Munster.

Hopefully football rather than Gerrymandering will win the day, either way I have Kerry as roaming hot favourites this year, but there onto a loser either way. Just a pity over all to see good and likely better footballing countes out of the compitition due to tougher routes.

Looking forward to Dublin playing Donegal or Mayo, a convincing win will be hard for Kerry to deal with psychologically heading into an away game in Croke Park, that said Dublin might get stuffed too,

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4446 - 24/07/2016 14:45:51    1889134

Ah sure it's a fair system well done Kerry.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts:7666 - 23/07/2016 18:39:40

'Well done Kerry'???

What has Tipp and Clare getting to the last 8 got anything to do with us?

Tipp and Clare have beaten the likes of Cork, Roscommon, Sligo, Laois and Derry to get this far. Some decent teams they have had to beat and totally deserve to be where they are. Complete lack of respect for these teams.

Hilarious especially a dub complaining about the system as ye have every advantage available.

Its a pity we are playing Clare as if we do win we will take little pleasure in knocking them out but thats the way the draw has fallen this year, we would much rather be playing a team from another province but thats down to the likes of Roscommon and Derry..nothing to do with us.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 24/07/2016 15:30:33    1889158

Why are Dublin posters trying to convince everyone that Leinster is anything but a bad joke.

Ever since Meath lost to Galway I'm 2001 they have been a no-show and they are all football counties bar KK and Wexford so please spare us the nonsense.

Is it any wonder the GAA president has promised huge money to the East Coast, its because the shocking state of Leinster Football.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 24/07/2016 15:32:46    1889160

so the county with half the population of the country ,that gets to play all its games at home are complaining about fairness?!!?

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 24/07/2016 15:42:11    1889167

Folks getting obsessed with what province a team comes from. Ridiculous. Once province is done with , knock out football. With a bit of luck in the draw and with some good performances on the day , any team can make the QF. Well done to those who did. The teams got there based on their own prep and performances not cause they belonged to a certain province.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 24/07/2016 16:04:07    1889182

Replying To kavvie:  "so the county with half the population of the country ,that gets to play all its games at home are complaining about fairness?!!?"
Well to be to fair it's only a third of the population not a half and they did go to Kilkenny to play Laois, fair play

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 24/07/2016 16:05:19    1889183

Replying To KYTitletown:  "Why are Dublin posters trying to convince everyone that Leinster is anything but a bad joke.

Ever since Meath lost to Galway I'm 2001 they have been a no-show and they are all football counties bar KK and Wexford so please spare us the nonsense.

Is it any wonder the GAA president has promised huge money to the East Coast, its because the shocking state of Leinster Football."
How much has he promised and how's he gonna make good use of it. They'd be better of restucturing the league to try and improve standards than the plan to have an A and Small Ireland B championship.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7390 - 24/07/2016 16:12:23    1889188

Didnt read it all but how are tipp and clare not there on merrit? We are in the 1/4 final beating some good teams along the way. If it was cork they had to play nobody would be calling it soft despite us having beat cork already.

tipp11 (Tipperary) - Posts: 353 - 24/07/2016 16:15:03    1889189

Replying To KYTitletown:  "Why are Dublin posters trying to convince everyone that Leinster is anything but a bad joke.

Is it any wonder the GAA president has promised huge money to the East Coast, its because the shocking state of Leinster Football."
Well Meath did make two All-Ireland semis in 2007 and 2009.I would say since 2010 Meath have been a no-show.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 24/07/2016 16:38:28    1889204

When did the GAA president say that they were putting money into other counties on the East Coast?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 24/07/2016 16:40:18    1889206

Replying To ziggy32001:  "When did the GAA president say that they were putting money into other counties on the East Coast?"
Looks like he didn't. I'm still waiting for a reply to my question about it. A URL with some details perhaps?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7390 - 24/07/2016 21:27:59    1889394

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I said well done to Tipp and Clare my point is on a crazy system that has Kerry playing Clare Tipp and Clare again, well done again Clare and Tipp great achievement. if Kerry had to play Kildare Meath Kildare I'd be saying the exact same thing a joke of a system. How you's can't agree with me on this is really strange."
Because Tipp & Clare are far better than Meath or Kildare methinks...Tipp & Clare are top 10 teams....Longford are the only top 16 team in Leinster after Dublin...

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 24/07/2016 21:57:26    1889414

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Ah sure it's a fair system well done Kerry.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts:7666 - 23/07/2016 18:39:40

'Well done Kerry'???

What has Tipp and Clare getting to the last 8 got anything to do with us?

Tipp and Clare have beaten the likes of Cork, Roscommon, Sligo, Laois and Derry to get this far. Some decent teams they have had to beat and totally deserve to be where they are. Complete lack of respect for these teams.

Hilarious especially a dub complaining about the system as ye have every advantage available.

Its a pity we are playing Clare as if we do win we will take little pleasure in knocking them out but thats the way the draw has fallen this year, we would much rather be playing a team from another province but thats down to the likes of Roscommon and Derry..nothing to do with us."
I myself have complete respect for Tipperary and Clare. I've misgivings about the qualifier system. If teams draw the replay is usually the week after. Doesn't leave them much time to recover. Why don't they have extra time?
Roscommon Laois and Monaghan lost after a replay the weekend before. Why did Derry have 3 games in 3 weekends?

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 24/07/2016 23:29:36    1889453

Replying To crikey:  "I myself have complete respect for Tipperary and Clare. I've misgivings about the qualifier system. If teams draw the replay is usually the week after. Doesn't leave them much time to recover. Why don't they have extra time?
Roscommon Laois and Monaghan lost after a replay the weekend before. Why did Derry have 3 games in 3 weekends?"
Good point about having extra time instead of replays. I think the motion was put to congress and defeated this year which was a shame.

Clare played for the last three weeks too. I think Roscommon's problem was they couldn't lift themselves psychologically after the flat performance against Galway in the replay.

But please give Clare some credit too. They are a good team. They won division 3, beating Kildare in the final. Before the start of the league I would have had them in the promotion mix so it wasn't a surprise to see them go up. They've given Kerry too really tight games in Munster over the last 3/4 years.

Lads right now Clare are a good team. You seem to be mixing them up with other Clare teams that were very poor, but this team are very good. Please look beyond the Clare team's of old and appreciate this fine team.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 25/07/2016 00:05:36    1889463

I am looking forward to watching both clare and tipp again. I also will be backing kerry to win sam this year now. I think that they are and have been training to beat the dubs since january, as it is the only way that a team will either get to or win sam. Playing a team like clare in the quarters means they will be able to keep their powder dry. Is it kerry's fault re the draw? No, but I would like to have seen an open one rather than this A and B side of the draw. I think clare would have done a lot better by getting a team like galway or tyrone both in terms of their own development and for interest sakes in the championship.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 25/07/2016 11:20:50    1889590

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Potential paths to Semi Final

Kerry = Clare, Tipp and Clare Again!!! = 3 Games
Donegal = Fermanagh, Monaghan x 2, Tyrone. Cork, Dublin = 6 Games
Dublin = Laois, Meath, W'Meath, Donegal = 4 Games
Tyrone = Derry, Cavan x 2, Donegal, Mayo = 5 Games
Galway = Mayo, Roscommon x 2, Tipperary = 4 Games
Mayo = Galway, Fermanagh, Kildare, Westmeath, Tyrone = 5 Games

No further explanation needed me thinks!!"
Hold on tho. .

Take the replays out for a start.
Then take the fact that Mayo and Donegal lost into account.

The only fair comparison left is Dublin and Kerry's route.
Now if the draw had worked out differently and pipped Kerry against Donegal and Dublin against Clare in the quarters, who would you say had the easier path?

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5028 - 25/07/2016 11:25:46    1889593