Podge Collins dive

Replying To KYTitletown:  "No one is disputing the strength of Ulster in the last 10-15 years but Leinster has been a joke during that timespan

What team in Leinster are Dublin only 70% likely to beat? They were 1/200 to beat Westmeath in the Leinster Final. I think they were 1/66 to beat Meath."
Did I not just say that the last 10 years is not even the argument. And this is an exceptional Dublin team regardless.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 23/07/2016 19:40:30    1888686

Replying To thelongridge:  "Put Kerry in Ulster/ Leinster over the years, how many All Ireland's would they have?"
If my granny had....... She'd be my granda....

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 23/07/2016 19:52:03    1888710

Replying To benjyyy:  "Did I not just say that the last 10 years is not even the argument. And this is an exceptional Dublin team regardless."
Okay let's look at connacht championship five teams two very outsiders after that maybe roscommon but there is two teams Galway and Mayo how many all Ireland's do they have ,just except 99% of the time the best team wins or maybe get rid of that huge chip ye ulster boys have on your shoulder thinking it's the Ulster championship holding ye back didnt hold ye back 91 92 93 94

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 779 - 23/07/2016 19:53:16    1888712

So i'm taking it there's very little interest in whether Podge dived or not.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 23/07/2016 20:50:04    1888765

So i'm taking it there's very little interest in whether Podge dived or not.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - 23/07/2016 20:50:04

It shouldn't matter the profile of the player, it should be highlighted the same as Clondalkin said at the top.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 23/07/2016 21:06:33    1888785

It is the ref I would blame more than Podge tbh. I don't know what angle he was viewing it from but it was very clear on TV that Podge made contact with the Ros player (actually belting him on the shoulder) rather than the other way round. Yet because Podge fell over/dived and the Ros player stayed on his feet it was the Ros player that was sent off. The problem is poor refereeing more than anything else

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1904 - 23/07/2016 21:27:01    1888809

Further reason why a 'citing' officer is needed for GAA games.
Bringing the game into disrepute

manfromdelmonte (UK) - Posts: 541 - 23/07/2016 21:42:07    1888826

Is there anywhere to view it? I missed it when it was on.

muffinbutton (Clare) - Posts: 20 - 23/07/2016 21:42:34    1888828

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "It is the ref I would blame more than Podge tbh. I don't know what angle he was viewing it from but it was very clear on TV that Podge made contact with the Ros player (actually belting him on the shoulder) rather than the other way round. Yet because Podge fell over/dived and the Ros player stayed on his feet it was the Ros player that was sent off. The problem is poor refereeing more than anything else"
Agree thats the ref should have called it. However i didnt see the analysts after the game call podge a cheat or show the incident on video to kevin mcstay right after the final whistle to get a reaction.

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 23/07/2016 21:49:11    1888832

Is there anywhere to view it? I missed it when it was on.

muffinbutton (Clare) - Posts: 20 - 23/07/2016 21:52:29    1888836

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "So i'm taking it there's very little interest in whether Podge dived or not."
well other people brought up different subject's but yes this diving shit needs to be punished but really just shows that you agree aidan shea dived fair play first time I heard a mayo lad agree

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 779 - 23/07/2016 21:53:12    1888837

Replying To cityman73:  "well other people brought up different subject's but yes this diving shit needs to be punished but really just shows that you agree aidan shea dived fair play first time I heard a mayo lad agree"
And you figured that out how exactly?

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 23/07/2016 23:27:21    1888898

He bleeding dived and then pretending to be injured he's gone way down in my estimation after that , galway have a new supporter tomorrow.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/07/2016 23:49:16    1888906

strange, i watched this game but didnt see a dive. was it for a straight red or was it later for a black. the straight red i thought was a dangerous tackle

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 24/07/2016 01:10:26    1888925

Replying To manfromdelmonte:  "Further reason why a 'citing' officer is needed for GAA games.
Bringing the game into disrepute"
Yeah, diving should be straight red card , yellow cards have no effect on this type of behavior, in the event of referees not catching the dive, if a post game review confirms there was a dive then dole out match bans for offending player.

murrax (Wexford) - Posts: 90 - 24/07/2016 02:05:06    1888935

Replying To muffinbutton:  "Is there anywhere to view it? I missed it when it was on."
Podge played a lose ball soccer style past our in rushing full back,
The defenders momentum caused some contact with Podge,
It wasnt a bad foul and the second yellow card was very harsh but it was not a blatant dive by Podge
Doesnt compare in any way to the incident in Castlebar... wont stop people clutching at straws though.
Thought the referee was inconsistent,
Red card to the Clare midfielder was followed by yellow for two of our players committing identical fouls.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 24/07/2016 02:36:01    1888940

Replying To thelongridge:  "Put Kerry in Ulster/ Leinster over the years, how many All Ireland's would they have?"
Plenty of them and Ulster and Leinster counties would have less provincial and All Ireland titles than they have now . Kerry are the only team left in this years championship who have beaten two teams who have qualified for this years All Ireland quarter finals.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 24/07/2016 04:54:08    1888944

Replying To Curlew66:  "Podge played a lose ball soccer style past our in rushing full back,
The defenders momentum caused some contact with Podge,
It wasnt a bad foul and the second yellow card was very harsh but it was not a blatant dive by Podge
Doesnt compare in any way to the incident in Castlebar... wont stop people clutching at straws though.
Thought the referee was inconsistent,
Red card to the Clare midfielder was followed by yellow for two of our players committing identical fouls."
Podge put his arm across Mullooly to make the contact and then launched himself into a dive

doesn't get any clearer than that

manfromdelmonte (UK) - Posts: 541 - 24/07/2016 10:51:05    1889013

Mayo folk I wonder will this be highlighted on tonight's Sunday Game???

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/07/2016 12:25:22    1889067

Replying To cityman73:  "You might want to rethink that statement"
Don't think so.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 24/07/2016 12:45:06    1889076