1992 SHOCK!!!!!

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It was 08 quarterfinal city man , it took me a week to dry out but it was some game of football.
Might throw it on again tonight."
Some game is right . They had to turn on the lights . I was there that day . Reminded me of the Leinster hurling final in 1995.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 23/07/2016 19:13:40    1888653

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "The best game was the 2014 semi final, Donegal v Dublin, the day we beat the team that supposedly couldn't be beat, then again I remember hearing the same story before the '92 final, both were very sweet victories, maybe a repeat this year if we can get past Cork, they say things happen in 3's...
as for Spillane, im certainly not a fan."
Yea 2014 was a great day for you donegal boys..but im afraid it wont be happening again. .i havnt seen donegal produce anything like that display in 2014 ever since..plus we have yis well figured out now buddy..rory gallagher doesnt have the tactical nouse like jim mcguinness did to produce a victory like that on a big match day in croker..if we do meet gallagher will set up the way he has all year.it'll be like 2011 again with gallagher..only difference will be a much higher scoreline from dublin than 2011 semi..but i hope we do cross paths as the donegal fans are always great craic..for that reason alone i hope we meet again..although saying that i do think cork as bad as they are lately still have 1 big game in them and will be raring to go against yis and i think they will beat ye by a point or 2..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 24/07/2016 11:34:14    1889040

Replying To Greengrass:  "Some game is right . They had to turn on the lights . I was there that day . Reminded me of the Leinster hurling final in 1995."
Were you there supporting Armagh green grass ?
That was a good game between them selves and Wexford .
We were in the cannal end that day lower tier so we got soaked.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/07/2016 11:48:09    1889047

Replying To GGdub:  "Yea 2014 was a great day for you donegal boys..but im afraid it wont be happening again. .i havnt seen donegal produce anything like that display in 2014 ever since..plus we have yis well figured out now buddy..rory gallagher doesnt have the tactical nouse like jim mcguinness did to produce a victory like that on a big match day in croker..if we do meet gallagher will set up the way he has all year.it'll be like 2011 again with gallagher..only difference will be a much higher scoreline from dublin than 2011 semi..but i hope we do cross paths as the donegal fans are always great craic..for that reason alone i hope we meet again..although saying that i do think cork as bad as they are lately still have 1 big game in them and will be raring to go against yis and i think they will beat ye by a point or 2.."
Yes and we always enjoy playing Dublin as well,great fans and always good craic with them before and after whatever the result, to be honest I don't think there were many of us there in 2014 apart from Jim and the boys that believed we could win,I think that's what makes it so memorable for us,no doubt in my mind if ye had won that day ye'd be going for 4 in a row now.
You're right about RG I'm afraid,we won't see the best of Donegal till we have a new management team in place who everyone is united behind, but we'll still enjoy meeting the Dubs and that's 'if' we can get by Cork, a dangerous team if they get their act together.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 24/07/2016 14:35:03    1889127

Replying To DoireCityFC:  "So to all those people who say football is dead or dying here is a quote from Spillane in 92 to show nothing has changed

"its a poor standard, its a very poor championship this year"

He goes on to say what most people with ideas that the golden days are over often think

"What I notice is one skill that is very much missing in football at the moment is the long kick pass where the ball quickly from one end of the field to the other from one side of the field to the other and getting scores."

It shows people remember mainly good games and try to forget the bad (which we have every year)

And just to make sure it is understood this is 1992 not 2016

"there's no flowing play in football anymore. its too scrappy defenses dominating.""
"its a poor standard, its a very poor championship this year" - in fairness in peoples very recent memories were the greatest team of all time, Micko's Kerry and then very good Meath and Cork teams dominated after this, this is his bench mark he is comparing to. Also remember this was a year of shocks and underdogs, people said the similar things when Lecister City won the Premier league this season and when Greece won European championships a number of years ago.
What I notice is one skill that is very much missing in football at the moment is the long kick pass where the ball quickly from one end of the field to the other from one side of the field to the other and getting scores. - In fairness Donegal won the all Ireland relying on handpassing to an extent not seen before and attempting to execute less foot passes than before. He was basically right on this relative to what had been seen prior to this. The level of handpassing relative to footpassing has got much worse since but at the time this seemed very bad.
Defences dominating- back then the big issue was pulling and dragging of players. Spillane was saying it as he saw it then. He was comparing play to previous years. I don't think he in his wildest dreams he could have foreseen the style of play Gaelic football would change to in the present days, managers nowadays position most players on a team to block off space in the areas where attackers could potentially score from and attackers being outnumbered by multiples, its a problem of a much bigger magnitude. In 1992 if a team had extra defensive players it was because someone had been sent off.
Dont think because people complained of the standard of play in 1992 and felt that the game faced big issues that this in any way matches the disillusionment people have with the way Gaelic football is going today.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1360 - 24/07/2016 14:41:55    1889130

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "Yes and we always enjoy playing Dublin as well,great fans and always good craic with them before and after whatever the result, to be honest I don't think there were many of us there in 2014 apart from Jim and the boys that believed we could win,I think that's what makes it so memorable for us,no doubt in my mind if ye had won that day ye'd be going for 4 in a row now.
You're right about RG I'm afraid,we won't see the best of Donegal till we have a new management team in place who everyone is united behind, but we'll still enjoy meeting the Dubs and that's 'if' we can get by Cork, a dangerous team if they get their act together."
Well said..agree 100%

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 24/07/2016 15:59:10    1889179