Sean Cavanagh- Greatest Player of Modern Era?

Replying To pdempsey:  "He's up there but he's not best player since 2000 in my view. He's been very up and down for last few years. Magnificent displays mixed with mediocre displays. 3 All Ireland Medals is good but many of the Kerry players from the same era have 4, 5 or 6 medals. Plenty of the current Dublin team will pass him out this year or next in terms of medals. Connolly, Cian O'Sullivan and Bernard B would be better players than Cavanagh"
what a silly comment, from a mayo man to. Obviously Kerry and Dublin players are going to rack up more medals, does that make them better players, so none of mayos players over the past 50 years can be considered great if that's the bar.

I never get criticism of Cavanagh, even from sectors in tyrone last few years. Every game I see him play he at a minimum has a few game changing moments. Think 2014 point v Down from free kick to earn a replay. every game this year he has had a major impact and has worked his absolute socks of popping up at corner back then supporting in the full forward line. Always wondered where I would put him in list of greats.

Canavan will always be 1 but certainly imo Cavanagh is now number 2. Would love to see him lift sam this year, what a fitting end for a true great

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 22/07/2016 12:21:15    1888132

Replying To Damothedub:  "I like the guy , theatrics and all I like him , he's up there with a handful of 5 or 6 lads that in twenty years time will be talked about as a great by us , just remember this , 20 years on lads will be fitter stronger god knows how the game will be played and in 20 years from now some guy not born now will be saying Sean who ? and hed never last in the modern day , sure look at tg4 those players were over rated , as time moves on so does a players star , nobody appreciates a player more than the audience they have , as lads grow they lean towards their peers and tend to show a lack of respect or understanding as to how good a players was , talent was talent , talent is talent regardless"
Damo i'd say we're much closer to filling out the frames and sporting capacity of players than we ever have.

Sports science grew massively as a research subject in the 80s and 90s and unfortunately took a while to be applied to the G.A.A, now it has I really don't see people kicking on in terms of physical development....we're still mainly white Irish people so i could see the likes of a faster maybe taller Aiden O Shea playing but it'll still be as rare as today as that's pure genetics.

That being said I think that bodes very well for the current Dublin team as I assume they won't be topped as a team in the eyes of the public for a long time

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 22/07/2016 13:22:16    1888161

Exceptional player. But for me wouldn't even be in Tyrones top three of modern greats. Watching players and witness them do something you know the majority of the rest of the country only dream about for me makes a player "a great" Cavanagh would probably score 8/10 in most of the skills needed to be a top player: speed, ball carrying, fielding, shooting, workrate, tackling, attitude ect ect but Canavan, Stephen O Neil and Conor Gormley could do things you could watch a hundred times over on a loop and never get bored looking at them.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 591 - 22/07/2016 13:48:16    1888180

I think he is the best footballer in the past 30 years, he has everything and can virtually play anywhere. Canavan and Gooch were great players but I don't think they could play midfield for example. He also has amazing leadership qualities, how many games has he drove Tyrone over the line in, countless I'd imagine.

I thought he should have won player of the year in 2013 but the whole controversy about the Conor McManus tackle ruined his chances. I think MD McCauley won it that year, had a great year but Caavanagh was immense.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 22/07/2016 13:51:49    1888184

Connolly..... enough said!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 22/07/2016 13:52:46    1888187

Super player

Has it all. He'd def be in the top 5

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/07/2016 14:04:28    1888195

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "Exceptional player. But for me wouldn't even be in Tyrones top three of modern greats. Watching players and witness them do something you know the majority of the rest of the country only dream about for me makes a player "a great" Cavanagh would probably score 8/10 in most of the skills needed to be a top player: speed, ball carrying, fielding, shooting, workrate, tackling, attitude ect ect but Canavan, Stephen O Neil and Conor Gormley could do things you could watch a hundred times over on a loop and never get bored looking at them."
Cavanagh scores 10/10 in longevity, same can't be said for Stephen O'Neill to be fair...

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 22/07/2016 14:07:12    1888196

This conversation would be better tabled for the end of the season, as this is probably Sean's last year, and a lot could yet change that would impact his legacy as a player.

At present, he is one of the top 5 Ulster players of all-time, and probably in the top 20 or so nationally. If he finishes this year by lifting Sam as captain, and perhaps even adding a 6th all-star (13 years after his first), then he'd jump considerably up both those lists.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 22/07/2016 14:12:06    1888200

Replying To Thomas Clarke:  "This conversation would be better tabled for the end of the season, as this is probably Sean's last year, and a lot could yet change that would impact his legacy as a player.

At present, he is one of the top 5 Ulster players of all-time, and probably in the top 20 or so nationally. If he finishes this year by lifting Sam as captain, and perhaps even adding a 6th all-star (13 years after his first), then he'd jump considerably up both those lists."
Will he overtake Cian O'Sullivan though?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 22/07/2016 14:30:04    1888211

Ok we all know Sean is a better footballer than Cian but don't start slating Cian now like he's useless cause he's far from that, Cian O Sullivan is a great footballer who won all Ireland's as a corner back midfielder and centre back so go easy on him.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/07/2016 14:50:58    1888225

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ok we all know Sean is a better footballer than Cian but don't start slating Cian now like he's useless cause he's far from that, Cian O Sullivan is a great footballer who won all Ireland's as a corner back midfielder and centre back so go easy on him."
Nobody said he was useless, far from it.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 22/07/2016 14:55:37    1888226

Replying To GallantJohnJoe:  "Cavanagh scores 10/10 in longevity, same can't be said for Stephen O'Neill to be fair..."
Longevity isn't something I would rate a player by. A players body not being able to keep itself together proves very little. Only advantage is their skill set gets to be seen more often over a long period of time. Richie Powers story this week shows no matter how much a player wants it or has the heart to carry on sometimes the body doesn't agree. It's unfortunate when it happens. From my own county Mike Meehan and Mikey Donnellan left the inter county set up in their twenties due to injuries. Doesn't diminish the impact they had when they played.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 591 - 22/07/2016 15:01:48    1888236

Replying To Breffni39:  "Nobody said he was useless, far from it."
+1

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7900 - 22/07/2016 15:20:14    1888247

Definitely one of the all-time greats. A great leader.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 22/07/2016 15:42:36    1888257

Sean Cavanagh is a legend in his own time. Savage leader of men. Great player and a totally inspirational team captain.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 23/07/2016 04:29:29    1888408

Brilliant player, always amazed he got away with the same side step everytime!
Let himself down against monaghan with that now infamous rugby tackle.
Having said that to be still going after all these years and still be influential shows the talent the man has.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 23/07/2016 10:42:43    1888449

Replying To westkerry:  "Brilliant player, always amazed he got away with the same side step everytime!
Having said that to be still going after all these years and still be influential shows the talent the man has."
You mean the famous tackle where he took out McManus clean through on goal? A lesser mortal would have let McManus through for the goal. But not Sean Cavanagh. Good players love winning, great players hate losing.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 23/07/2016 11:48:40    1888465

Replying To westkerry:  "Brilliant player, always amazed he got away with the same side step everytime!
Having said that to be still going after all these years and still be influential shows the talent the man has."
Yeah, I had actually forgotten about that incident to be honest. A bit like Thierry Henry, that will be well down the list of both players' most memorable career moments.

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 23/07/2016 12:23:55    1888473

Replying To GreenandRed:  "You mean the famous tackle where he took out McManus clean through on goal? A lesser mortal would have let McManus through for the goal. But not Sean Cavanagh. Good players love winning, great players hate losing."
Not opening this can of worms again I don't want to take away from his fabulous achievements but I'll say this doing something like that to win is not what makes you great my man.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 23/07/2016 13:23:08    1888500

Replying To Superglue:  "Great player...reminds me of Gerrard in his pomp at Liverpool. The runs up the filed...diving his team on. A leader.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts:7552 - 22/07/2016 11:04:26 1888083

Typo?"
Indeed it is

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 23/07/2016 13:40:51    1888508