Sean Cavanagh- Greatest Player of Modern Era?

Tyrone may not be a very popular county but it's becoming hard to dispute that this guy is one of the all-time true greats. Surely now has to be regarded as the greatest player ever to emerge from Ulster anyway? What I find most impressive is that his brilliance has straddled 2 eras of gaelic games, the pre-McGuinness era and the current landscape. Would Peter Canavan for example get a kick in the modern game? Only 2 Ulstermen made the GAA Team of the Millennium- Sean O'Neill and yours truly!-....this guy would surely stroll onto an updated all-time 15. Regards the modern era (say 2000 onwards), who can realistically challenge him? For me, he has probably eclipsed Cooper at this point...Thoughts?

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 22/07/2016 10:34:02    1888062

Replying To GallantJohnJoe:  "Tyrone may not be a very popular county but it's becoming hard to dispute that this guy is one of the all-time true greats. Surely now has to be regarded as the greatest player ever to emerge from Ulster anyway? What I find most impressive is that his brilliance has straddled 2 eras of gaelic games, the pre-McGuinness era and the current landscape. Would Peter Canavan for example get a kick in the modern game? Only 2 Ulstermen made the GAA Team of the Millennium- Sean O'Neill and yours truly!-....this guy would surely stroll onto an updated all-time 15. Regards the modern era (say 2000 onwards), who can realistically challenge him? For me, he has probably eclipsed Cooper at this point...Thoughts?"
Cavanagh is one of the greats. Canavan would have made it in this era too, talent is still the most important attribute in the modern game.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 22/07/2016 10:41:16    1888065

Replying To GallantJohnJoe:  "Tyrone may not be a very popular county but it's becoming hard to dispute that this guy is one of the all-time true greats. Surely now has to be regarded as the greatest player ever to emerge from Ulster anyway? What I find most impressive is that his brilliance has straddled 2 eras of gaelic games, the pre-McGuinness era and the current landscape. Would Peter Canavan for example get a kick in the modern game? Only 2 Ulstermen made the GAA Team of the Millennium- Sean O'Neill and yours truly!-....this guy would surely stroll onto an updated all-time 15. Regards the modern era (say 2000 onwards), who can realistically challenge him? For me, he has probably eclipsed Cooper at this point...Thoughts?"
He's up there but he's not best player since 2000 in my view. He's been very up and down for last few years. Magnificent displays mixed with mediocre displays. 3 All Ireland Medals is good but many of the Kerry players from the same era have 4, 5 or 6 medals. Plenty of the current Dublin team will pass him out this year or next in terms of medals. Connolly, Cian O'Sullivan and Bernard B would be better players than Cavanagh

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 22/07/2016 10:46:46    1888069

Impossible to pick one player, especially as people in different positions get largely ignored in these discussions. You could argue that somebody like Cluxton could be talked about in the same way but he is a goalkeeper. And I'm sure Canavan would have done alright!!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7908 - 22/07/2016 10:47:13    1888070

Outstanding footballer one of the greats no doubt about it up there with anyone except Canavan and Gooch. Imo there Out on there own but he's not far behind an unbelievable talent and very likeable man to go with it.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/07/2016 10:49:06    1888072

Super player, absolute class
But no, not the greatest
interesting discussion none the less
In my humble opinion the top 5 players of the last few years would be
Gooch, Tomas, Cluxton, Bernard and Sean Cav
For me, of those 5, Tomas was the best

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 22/07/2016 10:57:09    1888080

If he leads Tyrone to an All-Ireland this year - then yes.

He will be able to retire happy!

Like all great players Sean has been surrounded by a team who help him achieve greatness.

My most recent pick for a 'great' player was Tyrone's Conor Gormley!

sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 797 - 22/07/2016 11:00:24    1888081

I like the guy , theatrics and all I like him , he's up there with a handful of 5 or 6 lads that in twenty years time will be talked about as a great by us , just remember this , 20 years on lads will be fitter stronger god knows how the game will be played and in 20 years from now some guy not born now will be saying Sean who ? and hed never last in the modern day , sure look at tg4 those players were over rated , as time moves on so does a players star , nobody appreciates a player more than the audience they have , as lads grow they lean towards their peers and tend to show a lack of respect or understanding as to how good a players was , talent was talent , talent is talent regardless

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 22/07/2016 11:00:37    1888082

Great player...reminds me of Gerrard in his pomp at Liverpool. The runs up the filed...diving his team on. A leader.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11248 - 22/07/2016 11:04:26    1888083

Replying To pdempsey:  "He's up there but he's not best player since 2000 in my view. He's been very up and down for last few years. Magnificent displays mixed with mediocre displays. 3 All Ireland Medals is good but many of the Kerry players from the same era have 4, 5 or 6 medals. Plenty of the current Dublin team will pass him out this year or next in terms of medals. Connolly, Cian O'Sullivan and Bernard B would be better players than Cavanagh"
Cian O'Sullivan? Ah here. Very good player yes but I'm baffled how he has such a lofty reputation. It's like half way through last seasons championship someone flicked a switch and everyone considered him class. Maybe my mind is playing tricks on me but he wasn't even a guaranteed starter before then.

I'm not criticising him but we're talking about best players of a generation here.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12133 - 22/07/2016 11:09:32    1888087

Absolute mammoth of a player. The amount of games he dragged Tyrone over the line over the years is phenomenal. His performance in the 2008 final was spectacular but he is more consistent that people give him credit for. The driving runs, the jink (it works because he can go both ways) and unerring accuracy off that right foot.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 22/07/2016 11:25:21    1888097

Great player...reminds me of Gerrard in his pomp at Liverpool. The runs up the filed...diving his team on. A leader.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts:7552 - 22/07/2016 11:04:26 1888083

Typo?

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 22/07/2016 11:26:16    1888098

Replying To pdempsey:  "He's up there but he's not best player since 2000 in my view. He's been very up and down for last few years. Magnificent displays mixed with mediocre displays. 3 All Ireland Medals is good but many of the Kerry players from the same era have 4, 5 or 6 medals. Plenty of the current Dublin team will pass him out this year or next in terms of medals. Connolly, Cian O'Sullivan and Bernard B would be better players than Cavanagh"
Cian O Sullivan? That's pretty random.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7908 - 22/07/2016 11:29:02    1888100

Replying To Breffni39:  "Cian O'Sullivan? Ah here. Very good player yes but I'm baffled how he has such a lofty reputation. It's like half way through last seasons championship someone flicked a switch and everyone considered him class. Maybe my mind is playing tricks on me but he wasn't even a guaranteed starter before then.

I'm not criticising him but we're talking about best players of a generation here."
My thoughts exactly. Cian is a good, intelligent player but if we're talking players of the last 20 years? Don't think so.
Cavanagh has soldiered on during Tyrone's lean years and he was rewarded last Sunday. He had a quiet first half but when the game was in the melting pot he stood tall and scored two really, really top drawer points. If we're talking about a post 2000 dream 15, Sean is a definite.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9171 - 22/07/2016 11:29:46    1888101

Replying To yew_tree:  "Great player...reminds me of Gerrard in his pomp at Liverpool. The runs up the filed...diving his team on. A leader."
You better clarify that "diving the team on" was a typo before you get accused of Anti-Ulster bias.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4247 - 22/07/2016 11:32:00    1888106

Magnificence player and leader for Tyrone. His second half display and three tremendous points in the second half of a Clones caldron sums the man up best.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 22/07/2016 11:33:43    1888109

100% the best player of his generation and I've never seen a better footballer. We're talking the best player here, the best footballer. Not the best midfielder, forward, freetaker, leader but a player blessed with a very high level in a lot of skillsets and he hates losing. He can do all of those things, even now to a very high level and get back and be a decent defender too. What other players in GAA history, not to mind this generation, could fill all those roles, often in the same game, to such a high level? He does the smart things at the right time and has dragged Tyrone to many a victory even without a big contribution to the scoreboard.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7381 - 22/07/2016 11:36:23    1888111

Replying To gotmilk:  "Cavanagh is one of the greats. Canavan would have made it in this era too, talent is still the most important attribute in the modern game."
Agree gotmilk - Canavan was special and what he continued to do which Sean isn't at minute is take the important free kicks - not sure why he has stopped considering that its Tyrone's Achilles Heal. However in saying that big fan of him but past few years he seems to have not lived up to his normal standards and I thought he should have hung the boots up end of last season - but he has proved everyone wrong - which is also the sign of a great player. The young Tyrone lads have revitalised him.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 22/07/2016 11:54:53    1888117

An exceptional footballer and is definitely in the Top 3 since the turn of 2000. The look on his face last Sunday as he lifted the Anglo-Celt was something. This is a man who has won 3 All-Irelands already and you could see what it meant to him. Special type of players them.

mon (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 22/07/2016 12:13:20    1888128

Connolly, Cian O'Sullivan and Bernard B would be better players than Cavanagh

Would have Cavanagh just above all three. I mean Cian O'Sullivan a better footballer than Sean Cavanagh? He's a stylish player but he has some way to go to match a guy with five all-stars.

Connolly's still quite up and down. In most of Dublin's big games (semi-finals and finals) he's been quiet enough in my opinion. No doubting his talent though and unlike some I don't think he's a particularly dirty player.

Brogan's great though, your best player along with Cluxton.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 22/07/2016 12:15:09    1888129