Tyrone contenders?

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "We should have beaten Tyrone but we haven't hit our best form yet, not helped by the decisions RG has made with subs etc. I expect Mayo to beat Tyrone in the quarter final, Mayo haven't hit their for yet either but I expect them too once they hit Croker, I think this Tyrone team are average enough and I don't buy into this media hype surrounding them,for all their talk about a young team it took 33 year old Sean Cavanagh to drag them over the line.
As for ourselves we are on the wrong side of the draw but I'd love to get another crack at the Dubs,Cork are an unknown quantity, capable of beating anyone on their day, I'll never forget our match with them in 2012,one of the best games of football I've ever seen."
A 22 year old Johnny Munroe to nail Mc Glynn to the wall, a 22 year old Kieran mc geary to score the winning point and a 26/7 year old Peter Harte to smash any heart left in yous!

You should not have won the game and more importantly weren't able to win the game

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 21/07/2016 13:49:08    1887626

Replying To BaldyBadger:  "Not sure how Tyrone would be "odds on" in a QF against Mayo. I would think it would be a fairly even call, if not slightly Mayo favourites. Mayo are not playing anywhere near their level of the past 4 years, however they have a full pack to pick from now and will always be a threat with their personnel. Tyrone were excellent in the 2nd half against Donegal, however they still had to sneak it in the end and Donegal probably feel they did not do themselves justice after dominating the 1st half. It also has to be said that like Mayo, Donegal have played nowhere near the level this year, they have been at over the last 4 or 5 years. So in reality, Tyrone have struggled over the line against an out of sorts Donegal and will now have to play probably Dublin's biggest threat over the past 3 years in Mayo. Tyrone are fast developing and a team on the rise that may be meeting teams on the way down but I feel it's too early to write off Mayo saying they are "odds on" to beat them."
All I will say is believe whatever you want, I didn't see the impressive Donegal team last summer, they're playing better this year!

I mean if you want to base an entire summers work on beating Tyrone at home in the opening match of the championship fair play to ya but you're missing the point, it's not about coming out with the hair on fire in May (although that wouldn't be worst) it's about coming to play in late July and August.

As a Cork man you should know this yourself all too well, Mayo people should also know this. If you're one of the "big teams" you bring it in Croke Park and that's it, no ifs, ands or buts.

It's lovely to be provincial champions don't get me wrong but when you expect the big boy to come next and it doesn't that provincial cup might as well be a big rock .

Tyrone are in bonus territory now but next year the main aim will not be the Anglo Celt!

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 21/07/2016 13:59:09    1887633

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "We should have beaten Tyrone but we haven't hit our best form yet, not helped by the decisions RG has made with subs etc. I expect Mayo to beat Tyrone in the quarter final, Mayo haven't hit their for yet either but I expect them too once they hit Croker, I think this Tyrone team are average enough and I don't buy into this media hype surrounding them,for all their talk about a young team it took 33 year old Sean Cavanagh to drag them over the line.
As for ourselves we are on the wrong side of the draw but I'd love to get another crack at the Dubs,Cork are an unknown quantity, capable of beating anyone on their day, I'll never forget our match with them in 2012,one of the best games of football I've ever seen."
2 points from play in the 2nd half....nahhhhh

I mean i'd get it if Donegal were ever the team to push on and kill off the game but they're not and they haven't been since this successful period.

One occasion I recall that happening and that was Dublin 2014, this Donegal team seems to be judged more on that victory alone that their All Ireland campaign. Frankly I find that utterly ridiculous, that match is the anomaly and it's so very clear that it's the anomaly. Didn't score like that in the campaign leading up to that match, didn't score like that in the final that year, haven't scored like that since against a big team

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 21/07/2016 14:05:45    1887641

So Tyrone didn't win the match Donegal lost it?? if Donegal had come out and played more attacking football Tyrone would have lay down and let them walk over would they??? IMO if Donegal did come out and attack more because they knew the game would have opened up a lot more and the faster fitter Tyrone team would have found a lot more space in attack and we would still have won the match also the fact that Donegal didn't attack more in the second had a lot to do with the changes Tyrone made in the second half more than anything Rory Brennan on McHugh was a big reason Donegal could not attack and score as freely as they did in the 1st half.
Also I think Donegal would not have been fit enough to play an all out attack game in the 2nd as most of them where out on their feet around the 68th min mark.
of course we are ahead of Donegal in the pecking order for the AI

redbomb (Tyrone) - Posts: 167 - 21/07/2016 14:24:47    1887660

This just gets more amazing as the week goes on!

Last week Tyrone were a division 2 team that couldn't beat division 1 Donegal.

I was told we didn't know what was coming to us on Sunday

I was told it was all media hype, we were being built up to be something we aren't because the last thing the Dublin media wanted was an Ulster champion Donegal coming down to Croke Park to spoil another party

And now in an insane turn of events it turns out Donegal aren't at the top of their game, weren't as ready as they could have been, were let down by management and the ref gave them a hard time (despite the black cards to Donnelly and McShane).

We can't beat Mayo even though we may not play and even if we do, haven't played them in the championship for 3 years.

I'm bloody sick of hearing Tyrone deserved to win butttt, it's sad to be honest. Wonder how it would have went if we'd have Mattie and Cathal for the rest of the match. It could have been a hiding !

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 21/07/2016 15:22:43    1887732

Dublin, Mayo, Tyrone, Kerry at the moment. I still think Donegal with the raw talent they have could be real contenders if only they started to play some real football!

sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 797 - 21/07/2016 16:28:08    1887766

Replying To Seansy48:  "This just gets more amazing as the week goes on!

Last week Tyrone were a division 2 team that couldn't beat division 1 Donegal.

I was told we didn't know what was coming to us on Sunday

I was told it was all media hype, we were being built up to be something we aren't because the last thing the Dublin media wanted was an Ulster champion Donegal coming down to Croke Park to spoil another party

And now in an insane turn of events it turns out Donegal aren't at the top of their game, weren't as ready as they could have been, were let down by management and the ref gave them a hard time (despite the black cards to Donnelly and McShane).

We can't beat Mayo even though we may not play and even if we do, haven't played them in the championship for 3 years.

I'm bloody sick of hearing Tyrone deserved to win butttt, it's sad to be honest. Wonder how it would have went if we'd have Mattie and Cathal for the rest of the match. It could have been a hiding !"
Totally agree with your post. From listening to interviews, reading etc about different teams and where they are at I believe that Tyrone are in a very good position at this moment. They set out at the beginning of the year with 3 items on their wish list. To win the following Mc Kenna cup, National league div 2, and Ulster championship. They have achieved all of this and remain unbeaten this year. They are now in bonus territory with three games left to win all. Grant it these next three are the toughest but after beating Donegal at their own game they will be on a roll. From here on in anything can happen if they stick with it.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 21/07/2016 19:54:38    1887876

Replying To border Gael:  "Totally agree with your post. From listening to interviews, reading etc about different teams and where they are at I believe that Tyrone are in a very good position at this moment. They set out at the beginning of the year with 3 items on their wish list. To win the following Mc Kenna cup, National league div 2, and Ulster championship. They have achieved all of this and remain unbeaten this year. They are now in bonus territory with three games left to win all. Grant it these next three are the toughest but after beating Donegal at their own game they will be on a roll. From here on in anything can happen if they stick with it."
Cheers BorderGael, they never really congratulated yourselves either for your Ulsters.

They're a bit of a sour group these Donegal lads it seems.

They seem to be the most outspoken of all counties on this thread about Tyrone where they continue to slate us despite losing on Sunday whilst on another thread they're stroking the ego of Cork football, is that a bit of cute hoorism on their part!?

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 21/07/2016 20:26:06    1887888

Cheers BorderGael, they never really congratulated yourselves either for your Ulsters.

They seem to be the most outspoken of all counties on this thread about Tyrone where they continue to slate us despite losing on Sunday whilst on another thread they're stroking the ego of Cork football, is that a bit of cute hoorism on their part!?
Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts:73 - 21/07/2016 20:26:06 1

Donegal fans really only seem to be annoyed at their managers use of the bench or rather lack of use, and questionable subs in the form of Colm McFadden. They have a lot of young quality players sitting on the bench, and their manager is throwing on old players who haven't been on form since 2013, while their team's half time lead has slowly dissipated.

I've been impressed with Donegal so far this year, they look refreshed with the newer faces, and seem to be on a upward trend again. There is very little between these two teams now, although there is no doubting Tyrone deserved to win last weekend, with a brilliant comeback in the 2nd half and their subs worked well.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 21/07/2016 21:44:37    1887930

If Tyrone aren't contenders then the bar is set very high for what you would class contender.

They have the longest serving and most successful manager of all the current managers.

They consistently qualify for the semi finals even after a heartbreaking defeat in Ulster.

They have some really experienced players like the Cavanaghs and McMahons and the best player's from last year's under side are starting to make a mark for themselves. I thought Brennan for one did really well when called in as a black card substitution and another under 21 from last year kick a crucial score late on.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 21/07/2016 22:12:22    1887938

Replying To redhanddefender:  "I don't get this " Donegal probably should have beat Tyrone " rubbish. A lot of your supporters were saying this after the game. Tyrone played wiith a real fear in the first half which isn't surprising given the last years. No team should do anything, you go out and win or you don't simple as!

I genuinely think with that monkey of our back we will improve massively the next game. whether we can beat mayo or not is another matter."
Have to agree with this post. Most of that Tyrone panel hadn't played in an Ulster Final before and the nerves really showed. Tyrone are a much better team than they showed last week and the win was very important to them. The fact that it was an Ulster Final success against Donegal was an even bigger boost to them as Donegal had been their bogey team since 2011.

I fully expect them to be improving from here on and they most certainly are contenders. They showed last year that they have no nerves in Croke Park in quarters or semi's. An All Ireland Final against Dublin would be an interesting one and it would all be on the day however I don't expect them to be ready just yet for an All Ireland but you never know and therefore they certainly are contenders.

If they don't win the AI this year I think there is one in them soon.

I was reading through underage results in Ulster this year from intercounty U16, U17, Minor and U21 and the same three teams are winning or getting to finals, Donegal, Tyrone and Monaghan. Looks like Ulster will be very competitive between these for a few years to come.

Best of luck to Tyrone going forward. You were worthy winners on the pitch last Sunday and very good winners in the stands.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 21/07/2016 22:34:59    1887950

Replying To sam2008:  "Dublin, Mayo, Tyrone, Kerry at the moment. I still think Donegal with the raw talent they have could be real contenders if only they started to play some real football!"
Playing real football. Have a look at our page and see the comments from the Donegal supporters. We are sick to death of the current tactics and with the players we have I'd love to see a manager come in and set us up to play football. I don't even enjoy the victories that much any more playing the defensive stuff. Unfortunately we won't get our act together under Rory as he isn't capable of changing it. He had a very talented Kilcar team when managing club football and tries to play the same brand of football. They won nothing!! Martin Mc Hugh has them now and they're flying!!

I think the Tyrone posters are seeing our frustration but believe me its not sour grapes from last week. The overwhelming feeling on Donegal is that Tyrone deserved the title and we're just more pissed off at the way we are playing tbh. The worrying thing is that we have a very talented minor team that are going down the same tactical route!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 21/07/2016 22:42:53    1887957

I said it after Tyrone played us in Navan in the league, back in March. They played with us, and every time we scored under severe pressure and seriously hard work, Tyrone simply went up the other end and kicked a point or two at ease. Pace and skill to match. Impressive game plan pressing the ball, counterattacking at pace with diagonal running, and most importantly patience to create the position for the scorer.
They are best equipped to topple Dublin.
And with Micky Harte's tactical awareness, I think they will be hard stopped.
My prediction is Dublin v Tyrone final, with Sam heading north by a point or two.
But then again, I've been wrong once before!

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 21/07/2016 22:46:45    1887959

Replying To GaryMc82:  "Cheers BorderGael, they never really congratulated yourselves either for your Ulsters.

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts:73 - 21/07/2016 20:26:06 1

Donegal fans really only seem to be annoyed at their managers use of the bench or rather lack of use, and questionable subs in the form of Colm McFadden. They have a lot of young quality players sitting on the bench, and their manager is throwing on old players who haven't been on form since 2013, while their team's half time lead has slowly dissipated.

I've been impressed with Donegal so far this year, they look refreshed with the newer faces, and seem to be on a upward trend again. There is very little between these two teams now, although there is no doubting Tyrone deserved to win last weekend, with a brilliant comeback in the 2nd half and their subs worked well."
Gary if we lost i'd have handed it to them.

I've handed it to them every time apart from last year where I feel they caught us on the bounce, I think that as we went 4 down to start the game which is outrageous for a Tyrone team under Mickey Harte.

I don't understand why you're defending Donegal people coming to this thread to bash Tyrone a team on the rise, considering they're building up a Cork team that just can't seem to get it together on another thread.

At the end of the day a couple of Donegal players could have been black carded and that includes Michael Murphy, we've seen this year how Donegal go without Murphy, it's a shocking reality! All we have after the game is the result and you have to live with it as Tyrone people had to live with it for 5 years, a thread entitled "Tyrone contenders?" Is really not the place to come and air out your washing about the mistakes of Donegal, is it now!?

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 22/07/2016 13:03:50    1888154

I don't understand why you're defending Donegal people coming to this thread to bash Tyrone a team on the rise, considering they're building up a Cork team that just can't seem to get it together on another thread.

At the end of the day a couple of Donegal players could have been black carded and that includes Michael Murphy, we've seen this year how Donegal go without Murphy, it's a shocking reality! All we have after the game is the result and you have to live with it as Tyrone people had to live with it for 5 years, a thread entitled "Tyrone contenders?" Is really not the place to come and air out your washing about the mistakes of Donegal, is it now!?
Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts:76 - 22/07/2016 13:03:50

I'm defending them because your points are biased towards your own side, and your maybe not looking at the bigger picture here.

- On one hand here, we have a thread about "Tyrone Contenders?", which is strongly based on them just having overcome Donegal in the Ulster final last Sunday and can they now push on and win the All Ireland ( Which I think they can).

- On the other hand your slagging Donegal fans for discussing reasons they failed to beat Tyrone on Sunday, maybe failing to consider that Donegal were leading in Injury time after the 70 minutes, and lost to some wonder shots.

I think both of these sides (Tyrone and Donegal) are on the rise, you act like Tyrone have been away rebuilding and you just came back to beat the 2011/2012 Donegal side who are at end of life. When in fact Donegal have been rebuilding as last 2 or 3 years, and seem to be on the upward trend again. Both teams have an average squad and starting 15 age of around 25 years, both sides are fielding younger sides than Dublin, Kerry and Mayo.

As for them building Cork up, It's not because they think Cork are consistently outstanding, rather that they recognise that all Provincial runners up always struggle to lift team morale after a big loss in a final and rarely perform well in their Round 4 qualifier any year. Donegal are playing a Cork side who seem to be getting some momentum together after a poor National League and Provincial Campaign, and know Cork have the players to cause an upset against any of the top sides.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 22/07/2016 17:14:59    1888312

I think the Tyrone posters are seeing our frustration but believe me its not sour grapes from last week. The overwhelming feeling on Donegal is that Tyrone deserved the title and we're just more pissed off at the way we are playing tbh. The worrying thing is that we have a very talented minor team that are going down the same tactical route!!
Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts:1278 - 21/07/2016 22:42:53

Thank God someone from a blanket defence set up county is prepared to admit that it is horrible football to watch and not try to portray these tactics as a fascinating chess game that has you on the edge of your seat right up to the end.Anyone who is not completely blind could see that it is desperate to watch.Pete McGrath referred to it as programming I think as in it is stopping the natural ability and skill set of players from being utelised and instead coaching them to essentially stop teams from playing open expansive football.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 22/07/2016 18:21:23    1888327

I think both of these sides (Tyrone and Donegal) are on the rise, you act like Tyrone have been away rebuilding and you just came back to beat the 2011/2012 Donegal side who are at end of life. When in fact Donegal have been rebuilding as last 2 or 3 years, and seem to be on the upward trend again. Both teams have an average squad and starting 15 age of around 25 years, both sides are fielding younger sides than Dublin, Kerry and Mayo.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts:2621 - 22/07/2016 17:14:59

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm not surprised by this post. Gary has long been one of Donegal's greatest admirers, and is an equally longtime Tyrone-sceptic. Donegal are not on the rise; they are on the way down. They may be introducing new players, but most of their key men from 2011 are all pushing on or have already departed the scene. It's fine to say that you have young players, but unless those young players can immediately fill the shoes of Neil Gallagher, Paul Durcan, Karl Lacey, Colm McFadden and the McGees, then they are not going to improve things. Donegal reached the AI final in 2014, and I don't expect them to be back there for a while, this year included. To me, they are on the slide.

I was actually surprised at how close the Ulster final was on the scoreboard, as I expected Tyrone to win with a bit to spare. As it turned out, despite playing nervously, we squandered several easy chances in the first half, and should probably have gone in on level terms at the break. The 2nd half was, by and large, dominated by Tyrone - Donegal only had 6 shots in the entire half, and scored only 3 points in the last 42 minutes.

Donegal have been an excellent side for the last 5 years, but I think that their window of AI opportunity has now closed.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 22/07/2016 18:28:27    1888329

Replying To GaryMc82:  "I don't understand why you're defending Donegal people coming to this thread to bash Tyrone a team on the rise, considering they're building up a Cork team that just can't seem to get it together on another thread.

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts:76 - 22/07/2016 13:03:50

I'm defending them because your points are biased towards your own side, and your maybe not looking at the bigger picture here.

- On one hand here, we have a thread about "Tyrone Contenders?", which is strongly based on them just having overcome Donegal in the Ulster final last Sunday and can they now push on and win the All Ireland ( Which I think they can).

- On the other hand your slagging Donegal fans for discussing reasons they failed to beat Tyrone on Sunday, maybe failing to consider that Donegal were leading in Injury time after the 70 minutes, and lost to some wonder shots.

As for them building Cork up, It's not because they think Cork are consistently outstanding, rather that they recognise that all Provincial runners up always struggle to lift team morale after a big loss in a final and rarely perform well in their Round 4 qualifier any year. Donegal are playing a Cork side who seem to be getting some momentum together after a poor National League and Provincial Campaign, and know Cork have the players to cause an upset against any of the top sides."
Gary the point i've made is that Donegal people have simply made excuses for a fair loss. I've never once undermined the Donegal team and I do think they can march on, in fact i'll go as far as to say they're the very last team I want to meet this year!

I'm slagging some of the Donegal fans as I feel some of the reasoning is bordering on delusional, do you really think this team has a few more gears in them? Some of the things that were said last week...they really needed to take their oil with the loss and they haven't really.

One thing I will say about Donegal vs. Tyrone is that I feel the talent we've brought through is of a higher quality and frequency than Donegal, where's the new Karl Lacey, where's the new Neil Gallagher, where's the new Eamon McGee, where's the new Colm McFadden...I can't see them, that is undermining the Donegal team but I assure you it's first deliberate statement

I feel like you're bringing things i've said on other threads into this one particularly the point about us having been rebuilding, you're right that was my view...now you point it out to me it does seem rather silly. I'll ask though if Donegal are on an upward trend, where's it upward from? Jim brought through most of the lads in rebuilding after the AI victory. I hope you're aware the team that faced Dublin in 2014 and the team that faced Tyrone in the Ulster final were very very similar, the big names are the same on both teams (minus Durcan).

You can't start a rebuild with the rebuilds finest moment.

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 22/07/2016 18:38:03    1888331

Mayo and Donegal will be expected to make the quarter-finals resulting in the following pairings:
Tyrone v Mayo
Dublin Region v Donegal

Tyrone are All-Ireland contenders no doubt. Could tell last year in our semi-final. It was similar to when we beat Mayo in 11. Mayo were clearly on an upward trajectory then. If Tyrone make the next two finals, they won't leave empty handed like Mayo.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7853 - 22/07/2016 20:41:44    1888353

I'm not surprised by this post. Gary has long been one of Donegal's greatest admirers, and is an equally longtime Tyrone-sceptic. Donegal are not on the rise; they are on the way down. They may be introducing new players, but most of their key men from 2011 are all pushing on or have already departed the scene. It's fine to say that you have young players, but unless those young players can immediately fill the shoes of Neil Gallagher, Paul Durcan, Karl Lacey, Colm McFadden and the McGees, then they are not going to improve things. Donegal reached the AI final in 2014, and I don't expect them to be back there for a while, this year included. To me, they are on the slide.

You're wrong about me being a Tyrone-sceptic, I was a big fan of Tyrone in the 2000's, and grew frustrated with Mickey Hartes refusal to replace key talent from 2009 until 2013. And I have openly been a big fan of Donegal since 2011/2012, when I started to see what McGuinness was doing behind the scenes, now I am definitely biased, as my fathers family are from Donegal and my mothers family are from Tyrone, which probably magnified those two teams to me. But your playing the wee violin there, like a few Tyrone posters often do, feeling victimized.

I was actually surprised at how close the Ulster final was on the scoreboard, as I expected Tyrone to win with a bit to spare. As it turned out, despite playing nervously, we squandered several easy chances in the first half, and should probably have gone in on level terms at the break. The 2nd half was, by and large, dominated by Tyrone - Donegal only had 6 shots in the entire half, and scored only 3 points in the last 42 minutes.
Donegal have been an excellent side for the last 5 years, but I think that their window of AI opportunity has now closed.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts:886 - 22/07/2016 18:28:27 18

The Ulster final was a poor game, and Tyrone overall looked slightly the better side on the day. But as much as Tyrone could have won this game by more, a more forward thinking Donegal could also have finished Tyrone just as easily in that 2nd half. Tyrone's performance was not of such magnitude that I would see them steam roll Donegal the next time the play in Championship, It could go either way next time as well.

Donegal's problem seem to be more how personnel were utilized, rather than the quality of player they have, and seeing them at various underage grades, they seem to be constantly bringing through a lot of talent at every age grade. Time will tell, but management rather than player quality could be their real problem challenging for SAM.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 23/07/2016 02:02:07    1888401