Pete McGrath says "up the Dubs"

No Bother - Had a few beers on board for the initial response but couldn't back down after that !!

As regards the Dublin point - What will be interesting will be the style adopted from August onwards
Yes Dublin have played the best football consistently through the league against all comers and through Leinster

Last year certainly the first game against Mayo and the game against Dublin were much less expansive

The last 3 games this year could be Cork/Donegal or Mayo followed by Kerry followed by Tyrone
so its probably the most difficult path they could possibly face as the Dublin side of the Qualifiers is much heavier than the Tyrone/Galway side

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 21/07/2016 14:54:22    1887704

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Hearing people talking about possession and turnovers, that the problem with the way Gaelic football, it is now a possession game, it absolutely doesn't suit it and that's why it is gone so much more monotonous and boring."
Nothing wrong with possession football if Ye go and do something with the ball. Second half in Ulster final Donegal had 68% possession compared to around 32%for Tyrone. Much of that time they spent going lateral or backwards and didn't attempt a shot or long ball in. We attacked and made it count to have the ball, out scoring them 9-4 in that second half.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 21/07/2016 14:56:28    1887706

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "once again, i ask u, has it ever struck u that maybe he AGREED with them and therefore felt no need to inject
or are you of the opinion that he was obliged to interject simply because he is from Ulster! Even if he agreed with them!
And if that's your opinion that that's all we need to know about your logic!!"
I cant cure stupidity - you just don't get the argument - if I say he doesn't have to disagree with the panellists (aka he may agree with their viewpoint) but he could have taken the hysteria out of discussion and explain the massive rivalry between 2 Ulster counties - something you wouldnt know in Leinster. If you don't get this I give up!!!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 21/07/2016 14:56:37    1887707

In reality it was an awful game

TBH what were people expecting.. open football?

There was a few moments of brilliance though

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/07/2016 14:59:31    1887710

Replying To Wally:  "I like Pete but it really gets on my nerves how short of a memory people tend to have regarding our games.

I mean we scored the equivalent of 127 points throughout the league and scored 3-14 against Derry and 5-34 over two games against Cavan in the championship.

After those games we were being hailed as one of the most exiting teams in the country even by men like spillane and brolly.

But now we are the destroyers of everything good in our game again, due to the fact that we had one bad outing against one of the most defensive teams in the country."
Good lord Wally, don't take it to heart so much.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 21/07/2016 15:07:50    1887719

Replying To sam2008:  "It is the football played in the Ulster Final that Pete should in aspiring to with his native county! He is living a pipe dream if he thinks he can get Fermanagh anywhere near the level of Tyrone, Donegal, Monaghan or for that matter Dublin.

The money monsters that are Dublin, Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone etc will always be streets ahead of the now minor counties like Down - the only way to start getting back at these countries is to play defensive football.

It is exactly this unwillingness by Down to change with the times that leads to them becoming a joke like some Leinster team!"
I like your ranking of counties, Sam. Dublin in 4th place? Good on you.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 21/07/2016 15:11:21    1887724

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "once again, i ask u, has it ever struck u that maybe he AGREED with them and therefore felt no need to inject
or are you of the opinion that he was obliged to interject simply because he is from Ulster! Even if he agreed with them!
And if that's your opinion that that's all we need to know about your logic!!"
Work it out for yourself

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 21/07/2016 15:24:46    1887734

Replying To neverright:  "Good lord Wally, don't take it to heart so much."
Sorry neverright,

I just get so mad sometimes!!

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 21/07/2016 15:51:28    1887752

Replying To IrishGael3:  "I cant cure stupidity - you just don't get the argument - if I say he doesn't have to disagree with the panellists (aka he may agree with their viewpoint) but he could have taken the hysteria out of discussion and explain the massive rivalry between 2 Ulster counties - something you wouldnt know in Leinster. If you don't get this I give up!!!"
Irish Gael u think there are no real rivalries in Leinster football!!! Jesus Wept! and you say I haven't a clue! The game in question on the SG was Monaghan Tyrone.....now if your gonna tell me that's a bigger rivalry than Dublin Meath.......ARE U ?!

Again, your whole argument stems from Pete not basically sticking up for Ulster....and I contend that he has no obligation to whatsoever and it just spoke to the fact that he most probably agreed with what was being said!! In which case, there is no onus on him to interject

Do u really not get this?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 21/07/2016 16:02:46    1887755

Replying To ruanua:  "No Bother - Had a few beers on board for the initial response but couldn't back down after that !!

As regards the Dublin point - What will be interesting will be the style adopted from August onwards
Yes Dublin have played the best football consistently through the league against all comers and through Leinster

Last year certainly the first game against Mayo and the game against Dublin were much less expansive

The last 3 games this year could be Cork/Donegal or Mayo followed by Kerry followed by Tyrone
so its probably the most difficult path they could possibly face as the Dublin side of the Qualifiers is much heavier than the Tyrone/Galway side"
Rua, did the same meself!! Had a few beers in Sunday night when i sent the post re Diarmuid Connolly and sure I couldnt back down then after that!!! :)
I'm one of those lads who when I wake up after a night out, first thing i do is go to "sent messages" on the phone in a cold sweat!!! :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 21/07/2016 16:03:56    1887757

This it in a nutshell and why everyone wants to beat the Dubs. Why so insecure? You're odds on favourites to retain your All Ireland title with everyone in the media fawning over you. Yes you play attacking football and do look unstoppable. Why the need to be constantly patted on the head as the saviours of football? If I was you I'd just be content for now because there will come a time again when you're not top dogs.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 21/07/2016 16:29:46    1887769

This it in a nutshell and why everyone wants to beat the Dubs. Why so insecure? You're odds on favourites to retain your All Ireland title with everyone in the media fawning over you. Yes you play attacking football and do look unstoppable. Why the need to be constantly patted on the head as the saviours of football? If I was you I'd just be content for now because there will come a time again when you're not top dogs.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 21/07/2016 16:30:58    1887772

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Irish Gael u think there are no real rivalries in Leinster football!!! Jesus Wept! and you say I haven't a clue! The game in question on the SG was Monaghan Tyrone.....now if your gonna tell me that's a bigger rivalry than Dublin Meath.......ARE U ?!

Again, your whole argument stems from Pete not basically sticking up for Ulster....and I contend that he has no obligation to whatsoever and it just spoke to the fact that he most probably agreed with what was being said!! In which case, there is no onus on him to interject

Do u really not get this?"
Are you for real? The Meath Dublin game this year was brutal - more rivalry in a tiddlywinks game in a primary school playground - if your comparing that to a full blooded Ulster match then you're deluded. Maybe 20 years ago I would have agreed with you. With respect to Pete McGrath its you that doesn't get my argument - so I wont waste my time drawing the picture for you.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 21/07/2016 16:37:32    1887778

Replying To Lockjaw:  "This it in a nutshell and why everyone wants to beat the Dubs. Why so insecure? You're odds on favourites to retain your All Ireland title with everyone in the media fawning over you. Yes you play attacking football and do look unstoppable. Why the need to be constantly patted on the head as the saviours of football? If I was you I'd just be content for now because there will come a time again when you're not top dogs."
Lock, buddy trust me, as a mid 30's Dub, i have had a lifetime of insecurities and false dawns. ridicule and August embarrassment......
we aren't used to this winning craic atall atall
When most counties lose they bow out with dignity
when we lost, invariably we bowed out in a haze of laughter and public delight....

We're not really here
This isn't happening
We're not really here!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 21/07/2016 16:40:43    1887782

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Are you for real? The Meath Dublin game this year was brutal - more rivalry in a tiddlywinks game in a primary school playground - if your comparing that to a full blooded Ulster match then you're deluded. Maybe 20 years ago I would have agreed with you. With respect to Pete McGrath its you that doesn't get my argument - so I wont waste my time drawing the picture for you."
Irish gael.....how do u define a "rivalry" ?
Does history/tradition come into it?
This year Tipp beat Cork in football, would you contend that this makes Tipp Cork bigger rivals in football, than Dublin Meath?

As for the Pete McGrath thing. You are wrong, u know it, and your bottling it.

Good man!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 21/07/2016 16:42:47    1887783

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Irish gael.....how do u define a "rivalry" ?
Does history/tradition come into it?
This year Tipp beat Cork in football, would you contend that this makes Tipp Cork bigger rivals in football, than Dublin Meath?

As for the Pete McGrath thing. You are wrong, u know it, and your bottling it.

Good man!"
I refer to my previous post - over and out.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 21/07/2016 17:54:16    1887834

Replying To IrishGael3:  "I refer to my previous post - over and out."
Course u do! Ha ha....

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 21/07/2016 17:58:52    1887836

Does anyone have a link to the full interview?

Uh Ah Pete McGrath!

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 21/07/2016 20:40:39    1887894

Replying To sam2008:  "It is the football played in the Ulster Final that Pete should in aspiring to with his native county! He is living a pipe dream if he thinks he can get Fermanagh anywhere near the level of Tyrone, Donegal, Monaghan or for that matter Dublin.

The money monsters that are Dublin, Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone etc will always be streets ahead of the now minor counties like Down - the only way to start getting back at these countries is to play defensive football.

It is exactly this unwillingness by Down to change with the times that leads to them becoming a joke like some Leinster team!"
Kerry: 37 times All-Ireland senior football winners.
Dublin: 25 times All- Ireland senior football winners.

Everyone else: Minor counties.

Don't fool yourself into thinking Tyrone are one of the big boys with your 3 All-Ireland's ffs.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 21/07/2016 20:48:01    1887897

Liam and Irishgael chill out. Shake hands, or hug or something lol

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 21/07/2016 20:52:39    1887903