All Ireland Minor Football Quarter Finals

Big win for Kerry

Kerry 1-24 Derry 2-10

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2216 - 31/07/2016 14:06:31    1892777

Thanks for the info lads. Darcy must be near to senior side if you rate him that highly especially with the strength that Donegal have in this area with Jason McGee and Kieran Gallagher. As for weighing up the different provinces again I have seen a bit of Connaught action. I was in Kiltoom when Galway played Roscommon. I left feeling fairly confident that Donegal would beat Galway if they met later in the year and I still feel this way but hey maybe Galway have improved greatly from that day. As for the Kerry result very impressive indeed. I have to add though that the Ulster final was nowhere near as close as the final scoreline said. Apart from the first 15-20 mins Donegal dominated. Derry stayed in the game through some soft frees some of which were dubious. They also got a goal at the death when the game was over where the Donegal lads concentration had dropped. Donegal also left about 2 goals and a few more easy points behind them on the day.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 31/07/2016 14:25:17    1892784

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "All those Galway players are injured the latest is Goldrick who broke his leg. Darcy is probably the best midfielder at this grade a massive loss.

Laois,Roscommon were both beaten by half time v Galway. Laois only managed 0-4 from play over the 60 mins. Roscommon not as good as other years but I believe they would beat all teams apart Galway Kerry Donegal Kildare the top four teams.

Kerry aren't as strong their last two minor teams and hammering Derry today confirms as I expected that Ulster is not as strong as some thought.

In the last quarter final tomorrow Kildare should have a comfortable win tomorrow as Mayo are only the 4th best in Connacht this year."
In fairness have u being to any Ulster minor games this year to make the judgement that it is not as strong? Plus what about the strict line of form using Cork as a barometer? You are ignoring that both Donegal and Kerry have both played Cork. Both beat them by 6 points.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 31/07/2016 15:09:01    1892823

A late Kildare goal put a gloss on their margin of victory against our neighbors Mayo. Doesn't bode well for Kildare moving on to face Kerry next as most in Mayo would agree that was less than a vintage Mayo minor team.

I know Donegal have been talked up here but for me I think it will be a Kerry v Galway All Ireland final and a final to look forward too.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3757 - 01/08/2016 15:48:53    1893564

Replying To Marooned:  "Big win for Kerry

Kerry 1-24 Derry 2-10"
Ah it was a good win but we were poor enough in the first half we let our self down by conceeding those silly goals.

Although our defence was really well organised in the second half and we only conceded 4 points all from frees.

David Clifford was unreal, he was tripled marked and still got 3/4 points and set up the goal. That's some achievement for a 16 year old.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/08/2016 15:52:24    1893566

Replying To Marooned:  "Big win for Kerry

Kerry 1-24 Derry 2-10"
Ah it was a good win but we were poor enough in the first half we let our self down by conceeding those silly goals.

Although our defence was really well organised in the second half and we only conceded 4 points all from frees.

David Clifford was unreal, he was tripled marked and still got 3/4 points and set up the goal. That's some achievement for a 16 year old.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/08/2016 15:55:43    1893572

Replying To The_analyser:  "A late Kildare goal put a gloss on their margin of victory against our neighbors Mayo. Doesn't bode well for Kildare moving on to face Kerry next as most in Mayo would agree that was less than a vintage Mayo minor team.

I know Donegal have been talked up here but for me I think it will be a Kerry v Galway All Ireland final and a final to look forward too."
Grand. Suits us to be the underdog!

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 01/08/2016 16:09:24    1893580

Well done to Kildare and congrats on a decent win. Good to see plenty of Kildare people in the crowd cheering on the side. The scoreline flattered Mayo they were poor. Bar the No 15 who was main difference the last time I seen them against Leitrim, No 13 and No 10 there was not much to be impressed with sorry to say. Kildare dominated really for the majority of the game but do lack an x-factor for me. They should have had the game won at HT with the prospect of having a decent wind at their backs for the 2nd half. The No 10 is it Jack Robinson? Played well throughout and what was significant was that he was the slightest of the Kildare side physically. The Kildare No 13 kicked a couple of great scores and the full forward finished his goal well when it came to him. Actually thought the No 15 done well in first half till what seemed like a harsh black card after the silly melee. I would have liked to see the Kildare No 12 more on the ball because on the occasions he did he was a threat. Again this is another big physical Kildare side with alot of the players having legs like tree trunks especially from 2 to 8 and the inside forward line. Mayo were 2nd physically nearly everywhere on the pitch and their midfield and backline could not handle Kildare's physicality. Going forward for Kildare I think the pressure will be off. I know their will be high expectations within the county but nothing like previous years. I think it was 2013 when Kildare were strongly fancied by the bookies to go all the way only to flop to Roscommon. Kerry will be fav's and rightly so. My fear for Kildare moving forward is that I think that back line could be very susceptible to pace especially to runners coming through. Kerry seem to have a young lad Clifford who can take a few players out at once bringing others into play. I know Donegal have a similar player in Niall O'Donnell and Donegal have serious pace and runners in the full forward, half forward and half back lines as well as midfield.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 01/08/2016 17:37:30    1893645

Replying To The_analyser:  "A late Kildare goal put a gloss on their margin of victory against our neighbors Mayo. Doesn't bode well for Kildare moving on to face Kerry next as most in Mayo would agree that was less than a vintage Mayo minor team.

I know Donegal have been talked up here but for me I think it will be a Kerry v Galway All Ireland final and a final to look forward too."
I presume when you mention 'talking up' you are referring to me mainly. I feel I have got a pretty good insight into alot of the minor teams this year. Of the quarter finalists I have seen Donegal 3 times live, with Galway, Cork, Mayo and Derry once. Also in Ulster I seen Donegal play what I rated a good Monaghan side along with Roscommon. Now I must ask outside of Connaught what teams have you seen play? Also after the Munster final I started a thread to seek out what the Kerry and Cork people thought of the final and the teams involved.

Donegal do have a very good side I know this. They beat a good side in Cork by 6 points despite showing nerves and being 4 points down at HT. I knew from talking to people on here and then a line through Derry that Kerry who are going for 3 in a row are also strong. I thought Kildare played reasonably well today but were quite a few levels above Mayo. I question the Connaught form based on being at one semi final, seeing highlights of the 2nd semi final as well as seeing the beaten Connaught finalists today. I also read that Laois missed a pen plus the Galway keeper (Haslam I think) had a stormer making a number of fine saves plus Laois had one cleared off the line. The general consensus here and from people I have spoken to, who have seen Laois thought they were a poor side.

So I must ask if you feel this 'talking up' of Donegal is just that 'talk' on what basis do you base this on? Of the teams I have seen play at the grade Donegal have being the best. I seen the beaten Cork minor manager in his post match analysis felt his side were unlucky to what he thought play the best 2 teams in the country in Kerry and Donegal (no disrespect to Kildare or Galway). I was apprehensive of the Cork game as the Kerry people I spoke to thought they were a good side with a good full forward line and exceptional full forward in Buckley and they were right. As a result I feel that is worthwhile form. I wonder what do the people of Cork, Mayo or Westmeath who seen the minor match Saturday think? Is this a good Donegal side or is this talking up just that...talk.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 01/08/2016 17:57:52    1893655

Well done to Kildare today. Sounds like a really sound win.
Kildare are doing some great work at underage over the last 3/4 years like our selfs and Donegal , it's great watching football at this level before the purity and skill is coached out of them later on.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/08/2016 18:00:49    1893656

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well done to Kildare today. Sounds like a really sound win.
Kildare are doing some great work at underage over the last 3/4 years like our selfs and Donegal , it's great watching football at this level before the purity and skill is coached out of them later on."
Kildare beat a pretty good Meath team after extra time.Meath beat Dublin by 10 points.I expect Kildare to give Kerry a game at the very least.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 01/08/2016 18:05:56    1893662

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well done to Kildare today. Sounds like a really sound win.
Kildare are doing some great work at underage over the last 3/4 years like our selfs and Donegal , it's great watching football at this level before the purity and skill is coached out of them later on."
Donegal definitely play in a system that is not dissimilar to the seniors but definitely less restricted. It is definitely something that is being coached. They have a sweeper, they are always looking for swift transitions through the hands with runners coming from everywhere plus translate from defense to attack very quickly without leaving the house free at the back. So I would say they are less pure and free spirited than alot of minor sides.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 01/08/2016 18:29:04    1893676

Kerry beat Kildare well in a challenge game just after the Leaving Cert. I hope our lads can turn the tables in the semi final but it's a big ask.

beir_bua (Kildare) - Posts: 746 - 01/08/2016 19:15:28    1893701

Good enough win today for Kildare alright, great to be back in another semi final but Kerry you'd imagine will be a big step up from Mayo.

Got cleaned out in midfield in the first half, needed a different option than just going long when we were kicking into a strong wind - one of the Mayo goals came straight from them winning one of our own kickouts on the 45 and just running straight up the middle.

Mayo had a good few bad wides in the first half as well, lucky to be only one point behind I thought at the break considering the amount of possession they had from midfeild up.

Came into it much better in the second half, couple of bad balls into the forwards early on but once we got on top on midfield we seemed relatively comfortable. The last 2 days out Masterson stood out in the middle but Marnell really stepped up today. Would have been nice to kill the game off with one of the goal chances we created before McLoughlin eventually found the net. Had enough possession and got forward enough to rack up a bigger score but Mayo never really seemed out of it. When they resorted to the long ball late on the looked to have a couple of half chances for a goal. Dempsey and Shaw did well in the fullback line though and we had enough bodies back to crowd them out.

Two All Ireland semi's in a row now at least, probably shouldn't complain too much I suppose. Nice to get 1-10 without Hyland in the second half as well. Against Meath and Laois it was the likes of Masterson, Kelly and O'Toole who stepped up, good to see lads like Robinson, McLoughlin, Marnell and Shaw step up when it mattered today. Compared to a couple of minor teams that went before them there's a nice balance to the side without a reliance on a couple of individuals.

After the match today and the wins against Meath and Laois I don't think it's fair to say Kildare enjoy much of a physical advantage over other teams. None of the Kildare forwards today were bigger than the defenders marking them and in the second half the Mayo forwards did well under the high ball - nearly got a goal or two from it as well.

Kerry will be strong favourites but two semi's in two years is definitely a good stepping stone. Under 17's and under 16's are doing well too which bodes well for the future, Meath look to be improving at those levels too so hopefully both counties are able to challenge going forward.

Hard to judge the provinces against each other without seeing a team play more than once but if Meath were playing Mayo then based on the performances against Kildare I'd be backing Meath to win.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 01/08/2016 19:45:59    1893718

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "Good enough win today for Kildare alright, great to be back in another semi final but Kerry you'd imagine will be a big step up from Mayo.

Got cleaned out in midfield in the first half, needed a different option than just going long when we were kicking into a strong wind - one of the Mayo goals came straight from them winning one of our own kickouts on the 45 and just running straight up the middle.

Mayo had a good few bad wides in the first half as well, lucky to be only one point behind I thought at the break considering the amount of possession they had from midfeild up.

Came into it much better in the second half, couple of bad balls into the forwards early on but once we got on top on midfield we seemed relatively comfortable. The last 2 days out Masterson stood out in the middle but Marnell really stepped up today. Would have been nice to kill the game off with one of the goal chances we created before McLoughlin eventually found the net. Had enough possession and got forward enough to rack up a bigger score but Mayo never really seemed out of it. When they resorted to the long ball late on the looked to have a couple of half chances for a goal. Dempsey and Shaw did well in the fullback line though and we had enough bodies back to crowd them out.

Two All Ireland semi's in a row now at least, probably shouldn't complain too much I suppose. Nice to get 1-10 without Hyland in the second half as well. Against Meath and Laois it was the likes of Masterson, Kelly and O'Toole who stepped up, good to see lads like Robinson, McLoughlin, Marnell and Shaw step up when it mattered today. Compared to a couple of minor teams that went before them there's a nice balance to the side without a reliance on a couple of individuals.

After the match today and the wins against Meath and Laois I don't think it's fair to say Kildare enjoy much of a physical advantage over other teams. None of the Kildare forwards today were bigger than the defenders marking them and in the second half the Mayo forwards did well under the high ball - nearly got a goal or two from it as well.

Kerry will be strong favourites but two semi's in two years is definitely a good stepping stone. Under 17's and under 16's are doing well too which bodes well for the future, Meath look to be improving at those levels too so hopefully both counties are able to challenge going forward.

Hard to judge the provinces against each other without seeing a team play more than once but if Meath were playing Mayo then based on the performances against Kildare I'd be backing Meath to win."
Well done on the win today but I disagree with some of your points. I thought Kildare were the better team in the first half. Mayo got an opportunistic second goal against the run of play at the time. It was a nice ball in by their No 15 and finished well but at that point Kildare were the better side. It was a game that had alot of sloppy play from both sides especially from Kildare which I felt kept mayo in it a bit. I was chatting to a few Kildare supporters at HT and we were all in agreement that Mayo were poor and with the wind in the second half there was only one winner. Mayo tried the high ball in a few times in the second half but they could never get any penetration as they were second best in most areas of the field. As for the physical comments I completely disagree. All the inside forward line were physically more powerful. Maybe some of the Mayo lads were taller but definitely did not have the same physique. The No 14 was a bigger guy than the full back.....the same with No 13 and the right corner back for Mayo was only a slight lad. The same with your No 12 on his marker.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 01/08/2016 20:59:58    1893754

In relation to the 2 games I have seen of Mayo themselves and Roscommon were the weakest of the teams I have seen in the flesh. I know the Roscommon lads feel there were mitigating circumstances in that they had to play 2 games close together which is a fair enough point. In Ulster outside of Donegal I thought Monaghan were the best side I seen play of the Ulster sides and if they met Mayo or Roscommon I certainly would be backing them.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 01/08/2016 21:08:19    1893757

Opinions eh?

I thought Mayo dominated the first half for the most part. Won the vast majority of kickouts and breaking ball around the middle - think we won only one of our own kickouts cleanly. Mayo kicked five or six wides and hit the post / bar twice as well. In comparison Kildare kicked one or two wides and had another two attempts drop short into the keepers hands.

A few of us were happy to be only one down at the break and thought Mayo could have been out of sight at that point - especially with one of our main attacking threats going off with a black card.

Hard not to be happy with the second half performance but to be honest I didn't see it coming regardless of the what way the wind was blowing - don't think we played to the level we showed against Meath and Laois which I suppose can be a good thing when you're preparing for a semi you'll no doubt be the underdog in.

As for the physical side of things I wouldn't agree at all. I thought Mayo were able to match us for height, strength and speed for the most part. I've seen Kildare sides look capable of dominating underage teams in the past but that wasn't the case today.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 01/08/2016 21:34:39    1893770

The wind was a big factor in the game today. Both keepers were struggling to pass the 45 with their kickouts from the town end.

beir_bua (Kildare) - Posts: 746 - 01/08/2016 21:46:52    1893779

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "Opinions eh?

I thought Mayo dominated the first half for the most part. Won the vast majority of kickouts and breaking ball around the middle - think we won only one of our own kickouts cleanly. Mayo kicked five or six wides and hit the post / bar twice as well. In comparison Kildare kicked one or two wides and had another two attempts drop short into the keepers hands.

A few of us were happy to be only one down at the break and thought Mayo could have been out of sight at that point - especially with one of our main attacking threats going off with a black card.

Hard not to be happy with the second half performance but to be honest I didn't see it coming regardless of the what way the wind was blowing - don't think we played to the level we showed against Meath and Laois which I suppose can be a good thing when you're preparing for a semi you'll no doubt be the underdog in.

As for the physical side of things I wouldn't agree at all. I thought Mayo were able to match us for height, strength and speed for the most part. I've seen Kildare sides look capable of dominating underage teams in the past but that wasn't the case today."
Ha Ha we will have to agree to disagree. The first half was error strewn sloppy passing from foot and hand from both sides. Kildare were playing against the wind and only for a quick fire 1-1 before HT ye would have been a goal up. Plus ye made a mess of great goal chance when your corner forward showed have done so much better. The time Mayo hit the woodwork were potshots for me. I was not referring to speed or skill but physique. Muscle size especially in the arms and legs. Like I said I looked at this closely as I had read here that this Kildare team had moved away from the body bulky look. In my eyes ye had parity or advantage in at least 1-12 positions on the field. Like I said Mayo had a couple of lads who displayed a never die attitude but Kildare were much the better side. I do agree that it should not have been as close as it was before the goal which came as a result of poor attacking play prior to your No 13 retrieving the ball.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 01/08/2016 21:49:00    1893782

Replying To beir_bua:  "Kerry beat Kildare well in a challenge game just after the Leaving Cert. I hope our lads can turn the tables in the semi final but it's a big ask."
I wouldn't worry about losing a challenge one bit, we lost to Meath in a challenge and obviously ye knocked them out, a Meath side that beat Dublin by 10 points so they were obviously a good side. I'd imagine in that game both teams were far from full strength and experimenting a lot, Croke Park in a semi-final situation is a totally different scenario.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 01/08/2016 21:53:12    1893784