All Ireland Minor Football Quarter Finals

I seen Kildare play and beat a good Meath team this year.It went to extra time,Meath missed a penalty and Kildare scored a few points after that to win the game.I would say they looked bigger than Meath,but not overly bigger.They look to have more natural players compared to some previous teams that they have had.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/07/2016 11:06:14    1888452

Replying To ziggy32001:  "I seen Kildare play and beat a good Meath team this year.It went to extra time,Meath missed a penalty and Kildare scored a few points after that to win the game.I would say they looked bigger than Meath,but not overly bigger.They look to have more natural players compared to some previous teams that they have had."
Good insight Ziggy maybe this was identified by those involved in the development of the players in Kildare. Hackett doing fantastic work....Westmeath's loss equals Kildare's gain.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 23/07/2016 14:08:43    1888514

Replying To ziggy32001:  "I seen Kildare play and beat a good Meath team this year.It went to extra time,Meath missed a penalty and Kildare scored a few points after that to win the game.I would say they looked bigger than Meath,but not overly bigger.They look to have more natural players compared to some previous teams that they have had."
that's what Kildare need
more natural skillfull players
watching their senior team play is hard going
like watching paint dry

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 23/07/2016 17:02:21    1888569

Replying To rhudson:  "that's what Kildare need
more natural skillfull players
watching their senior team play is hard going
like watching paint dry"
That may have been the case against Westmeath and Wexford but to be fair Kildare played a better style against Offaly and Mayo.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2990 - 23/07/2016 17:51:29    1888584

Replying To lilywhite1:  "That may have been the case against Westmeath and Wexford but to be fair Kildare played a better style against Offaly and Mayo."
I thought Kildare played well against Mayo and was nothing like the Westmeath game (only 2 Kildare games I seen this year). The score flattered Mayo.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 23/07/2016 20:55:12    1888770

fair enough I hope cian o neill can make progress with Kildare
leinster needs them to come good again
and of course a great football mad supporters and county

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 23/07/2016 21:01:40    1888778

Best of luck to all the minor sides over the weekend especially the Donegal minors who have a very tough test ahead against Cork today. Hopefully they can do the business and make it to Croke Park for another day or two.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 30/07/2016 10:50:52    1892229

Galway 3-10 Laois 0-12

Donegal 2-13 Cork 0-13

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2216 - 30/07/2016 17:18:18    1892328

Replying To Marooned:  "Galway 3-10 Laois 0-12

Donegal 2-13 Cork 0-13"
Well done Galway that was a great result.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/07/2016 18:36:22    1892396

So Galway v Donegal it is. I have seen Donegal in all their games bar the game in Belfast against Antrim. I have witnessed Galway once in their semi final win over Roscommon. I know a few people who had seen that Laois team before and felt they were very fortunate to be playing in a quarter final especially ahead of Meath and even Dublin. As a result I feel Donegal probably had the tougher game today. They were 4 points down at HT yet won by 6 despite hitting some bad wides. I know the Connaught men including some Galway lads here think Connaught was strong this year. Now I only witnessed one Connaught game and some highlights on TV but I do feel Ulster was operating at a higher level. Galway will be confident going into the game but ye would want to have improved 20-30% from what I saw in Kiltoom to beat this Donegal side. The Cork lads in attendance I think will testify what a good side they are. Plus I know the Kerry lads felt this was a decent Cork outfit despite defeat in Munster.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 30/07/2016 20:50:38    1892498

I see Donegal had only 1 point after 25 minutes, I believe something similar happened vs Derry in the Ulster Final?

Our game with Cork went very differently, we had scored 2-3 or 2-4 in the first 10 minutes (and could have easily had another 2 goals) and yet were behind by a point with 15 minutes left before a strong finish saw us win by 6 points.

Todays result indicates a close game with Derry tomorrow.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 30/07/2016 21:52:33    1892550

I arrived 20 mins into the game so cannot comment on it up to that point KY. I left to arrive on time but lost time finding parking close to Croke Park as I don't usually drive in coming from the M50 but had to today on account of the roadworks in the city centre.

From what I did see of the first half it was similar to the Derry game in that Donegal got outsmarted on the kickouts. They showed nerves when working into good positions but then playing loose passes or taking the wrong option. Cork must be commended as some of their point scoring was of the top drawer. I think it was you who singled out their full forward line and they were on fire especially the full forward who gave an exhibition in the first half. What should be noted KY is that there was a breeze that was favoured Cork in the first half.

Fair play to the Donegal management as changes made at HT really worked. The Cork full forward line did not get a sniff plus McGee and Gallagher took over at midfield. These 2 lads would not look out of place in a Kerry jersey. Love to field high balls and both real ball players. The thing is with them is that sometimes they are too honest going up trying to field balls when knocking down lay offs would be the better option. Peader Mongan who lines up as a corner forward but actually plays as a sweeper grabbed the game by the scruff of the neck again. He done well in first half but sometimes his passing was slightly off point but not in the second half. For a lad of his age he is a master of the sweeper role and has some footballing intelligence. Niall O'Donnell was well marshaled in the main but he still had a huge influence and the lad marking him had enough with about 10 mins to go as was out on his feet. Enda McCormack and Eoin McGettigan stepped up when needed in the second half to take pressure of O'Donnell. Donegal had some bad wides too I might add even though they won by 6.

The hallmark of this side is how quick they translate from defense to attack and unlike the senior side they have players inside who stay there opening up the middle for the runners. Also they have goals in them so even if a few scores down they can turn a game around quickly. Niall O'Donnell can take 2 or 3 players out of the game at the flick of a switch which opens things up quickly. They are a very good side, I would go as far to say better than the 2014 edition. I actually think Donegal were the 2nd best team in the country at the grade last year too but got beat by a Derry side they would have beaten 4 out of 5 times. The touchline let them down as well as some appalling finishing. I think they would have tested Kerry more than Derry or Tipp twice but we will never know. Good to see some of the players from that panel making amends this year.

From what I have seen this year I thought the standard was high in Ulster. I think Kerry will win though as even though Derry are well coached and have some good players they might lack the scoring power. Donegal were a 5-6 point better side than Derry despite the final scoreline. They conceded a soft goal at the death plus missed 2 or 3 other guilt edged goal chances themselves.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 30/07/2016 22:48:46    1892586

Replying To KYTitletown:  "I see Donegal had only 1 point after 25 minutes, I believe something similar happened vs Derry in the Ulster Final?

Our game with Cork went very differently, we had scored 2-3 or 2-4 in the first 10 minutes (and could have easily had another 2 goals) and yet were behind by a point with 15 minutes left before a strong finish saw us win by 6 points.

Todays result indicates a close game with Derry tomorrow."
Ya tomorrow's game could be sticky .from what iv seen of Derry they play every1 behind the ball but then again that's nothing new to us, our boys will have to be patient and try not to go behind.

Also well done to Donegal minors today that was a good win against a decent cork team.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/07/2016 22:55:22    1892588

Galway was my original tip to win this years minor All ireland before a ball was thrown in however they are now without four key players in Barry Goldrick John Daly, Cian Darcy Dara Silke and I have my doubts now.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 31/07/2016 00:10:45    1892626

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Galway was my original tip to win this years minor All ireland before a ball was thrown in however they are now without four key players in Barry Goldrick John Daly, Cian Darcy Dara Silke and I have my doubts now."
Are these lads injured or suspended? I seen Galway play in the semi final decent side but was certainly not overawed by them. The Rossies on the day were in 6 and 7's at the back and lacked any bottle in front of goal despite getting through the Galway defense on a few occasions. I make Donegal fav's to win this semi final.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 31/07/2016 10:20:17    1892672

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well done Galway that was a great result."
Not really Laois are poor and were beaten more easily by Kildare.They lost to Meath in round one(Laois) played Carlow,Offaly to get to the final.The big hitters were on the otherside of the draw.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 31/07/2016 11:01:46    1892695

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Not really Laois are poor and were beaten more easily by Kildare.They lost to Meath in round one(Laois) played Carlow,Offaly to get to the final.The big hitters were on the otherside of the draw."
I concur with you ziggy even though I did not see Laois myself. I talked to a few people who seen them play a couple of times and all said they were a poor side especially in the Leinster final. They were definitely the weakest of the 3 losing provincial finalists. I have had a little insight into the Connaught form and will learn more tomorrow as I will be in Tullamore for the final quarter final. As of now I am not convinced Connaught is as strong this year as in previous years.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 31/07/2016 11:33:49    1892709

Replying To panamasam:  "I concur with you ziggy even though I did not see Laois myself. I talked to a few people who seen them play a couple of times and all said they were a poor side especially in the Leinster final. They were definitely the weakest of the 3 losing provincial finalists. I have had a little insight into the Connaught form and will learn more tomorrow as I will be in Tullamore for the final quarter final. As of now I am not convinced Connaught is as strong this year as in previous years."
They are probably(Laois) the 5th best minor team in Leinster.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 31/07/2016 12:47:52    1892746

Replying To panamasam:  "Are these lads injured or suspended? I seen Galway play in the semi final decent side but was certainly not overawed by them. The Rossies on the day were in 6 and 7's at the back and lacked any bottle in front of goal despite getting through the Galway defense on a few occasions. I make Donegal fav's to win this semi final."
Two of them had long term injuries coming into the minor championship. Another lad has a concussion symptoms I believe. Goldrick broke his leg only last week I think and he had started all the games up to that point. All four of them would be starting if available I'd say. Daly in particular is a big loss. Galway still have a chance as they have some super forwards and some very good backs but squad stretched a bit thin in places now.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2216 - 31/07/2016 13:28:43    1892760

All those Galway players are injured the latest is Goldrick who broke his leg. Darcy is probably the best midfielder at this grade a massive loss.

Laois,Roscommon were both beaten by half time v Galway. Laois only managed 0-4 from play over the 60 mins. Roscommon not as good as other years but I believe they would beat all teams apart Galway Kerry Donegal Kildare the top four teams.

Kerry aren't as strong their last two minor teams and hammering Derry today confirms as I expected that Ulster is not as strong as some thought.

In the last quarter final tomorrow Kildare should have a comfortable win tomorrow as Mayo are only the 4th best in Connacht this year.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 31/07/2016 13:44:31    1892769