Professional referees

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Respect is a two way thing, the referee call's it as he sees it, or in some cases as he doesn't see it, he has the final say and is apparently answerable to no one, players on the other hand are at the referees mercy. - - - it's been said "Contraversory" is what keeps it going, keeps the blood on the boil and all that.
supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts:1452 - 21/08/2016 22:46:23
Respect is a two way thing but if you think how referees are currently treated is ok then you are deluded and referees have no shot at being helped to improve with how most treat them at/around games.
Referees do have the final say. Of course they do. Who should have it if they do not?"
I am not condoning "how some referees are currently treated" but they do leave themselves open for a certain type of criticism, ie, the 2010 LSF final, the 2010 All Ireland SF semi final, and more recently the the Tipp/Mayo sf. Those are just three examples of many.
There was adjudicator(s) put in situ a few years ago to be overseen by Pierce Freeney at the time for big games in HQ to access the referee's performance so imo that should partly answer your question regarding who should have the final say.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2908 - 26/08/2016 10:53:52    1906234

Is there a culture of keeping linesmen in their box? Why do they routinely say so little about stuff that goes on under their noses, even with half the crowd loudly pointing this out to them? Are they generally only supposed to speak when a ref speaks to them?

One of the bigger farces in the GAA is the fact that, in a hard-to-call incident, the crowd (on smartphones or on big screen) and the viewers back home all have the benefit of the slow-mo replay right away, yet the one man in black who actually needs it is not allowed to see it.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 26/08/2016 11:20:40    1906261

again why dont ye all go out and try refereeing a game? at the end of the day lads and lasses NO REF NO GAME. time to get real here we watch a game on tele so we see slow mows and slower mows at least 10 times over especially when its controversial. the referee gets a milli second and more so than often they are correct. and please dont give me this shite they are there because they are supposed to be the best at their job that so everyone makes a mistake at some stage, how many on this site has actually tried being a ref and how many are still at it?? i could be the best referee tonight and the worst the tomorrow the joys of it even though you do everything the same but just because the result goes against your team the ref gets the blunt of it nothing about the team being poor or the sideline get thecalls wrong NO wait a minute the ref was against us gave us nothing during the game come on be honest who on here would continue to give up their time to do it??? Bet this wont get posted or even someone agreeing if it does
mrsme (USA) - Posts:23 - 25/08/2016 22:25:06
Super post. Spot on.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 28/08/2016 16:39:11    1906946

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "again why dont ye all go out and try refereeing a game? at the end of the day lads and lasses NO REF NO GAME. time to get real here we watch a game on tele so we see slow mows and slower mows at least 10 times over especially when its controversial. the referee gets a milli second and more so than often they are correct. and please dont give me this shite they are there because they are supposed to be the best at their job that so everyone makes a mistake at some stage, how many on this site has actually tried being a ref and how many are still at it?? i could be the best referee tonight and the worst the tomorrow the joys of it even though you do everything the same but just because the result goes against your team the ref gets the blunt of it nothing about the team being poor or the sideline get thecalls wrong NO wait a minute the ref was against us gave us nothing during the game come on be honest who on here would continue to give up their time to do it??? Bet this wont get posted or even someone agreeing if it does
mrsme (USA) - Posts:23 - 25/08/2016 22:25:06
Super post. Spot on."
Totally agree, ref today got majority of decisions right in real time, easy to slag them off after watching replays of all the angles.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 28/08/2016 20:51:06    1907138

If Kerry had scored a few points the start of the second half they would have won.

No point in blaming the ref here. Move along nothing to see.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 28/08/2016 21:01:49    1907147

How would paying Refs make them better- makes no sense. Look at soccer and see all the bad decisions by paying refs. Making rules easy to interpret would be a start instead of adding on stupid rules like the black card. How are you to know some ones intentions? There are many poor Refs just as their are many poor footballers some at county level who are clueless when it comes to tackle. Many players pull the jersey or hand of the opposition- surely that is intentional but sometimes goes un-noticed. Most of the spectators who attend county matches do not know the rules-complete opposite to most people who attend club matches.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 28/08/2016 22:09:16    1907199

How would paying Refs make them better- makes no sense. Look at soccer and see all the bad decisions by paying refs. Making rules easy to interpret would be a start instead of adding on stupid rules like the black card. How are you to know some ones intentions? There are many poor Refs just as their are many poor footballers some at county level who are clueless when it comes to tackle. Many players pull the jersey or hand of the opposition- surely that is intentional but sometimes goes un-noticed.
Most of the spectators who attend county matches do not know the rules-complete opposite to most people who attend club matches.
browncows (Meath) - Posts:1113 - 28/08/2016 22:09:16
That last sentence is the biggest load of nonsense ever. Most people at club games don't know the rules as well. Paying the refs wont exactly make them better but if the best referees are training and preparing to ref on a full time basis they will improve.
The black card was needed and giving referees much better respect would be the best option

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 29/08/2016 08:38:35    1907286

Honestly thought ref and his whole team were v good yesterday. Only mistake was giving Philly McMahon a yellow for abusing the umpire after the first goal. That is a black card offence

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1125 - 29/08/2016 09:45:38    1907340

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Honestly thought ref and his whole team were v good yesterday. Only mistake was giving Philly McMahon a yellow for abusing the umpire after the first goal. That is a black card offence"
Mayo deserve to win an All Ireland too.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 29/08/2016 10:00:24    1907361

Paying the refs wont exactly make them better but if the best referees are training and preparing to ref on a full time basis they will improve.
The black card was needed and giving referees much better respect would be the best option
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts:11802 - 29/08/2016 08:38:35 1907286

In effect you are saying that the black card will give referees much more respect- such nonsense and what have you been watching all your life. Since when did paying people make them better?

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 29/08/2016 10:26:06    1907390

Ref was brilliant yesterday and the main reason we seen the best game in a long long time. He might not have followed the rules completely but one thing for sure was he was consistent towards both teams. IMO both the Crowley incident and When McMahon got taken out were both frees but thankfully the ref let them go like other incidents and this resulted in a very high intensity game with hard hitting and made the game.
I watch hurling and the likes of James McGrath let the games flow and it adds to the spectacle it has fans on edge their seats and roaring and shouting and this is what its all about.
Well done David Gough yesterday. Kerry fans should hang their heads in shame

longballin (Roscommon) - Posts: 91 - 29/08/2016 10:56:23    1907416

In effect you are saying that the black card will give referees much more respect- such nonsense and what have you been watching all your life. Since when did paying people make them better?
browncows (Meath) - Posts:1115 - 29/08/2016 10:26:06
I didn't say that at all. Read my post again.
I said the black card was needed. A yellow isn't enough and something between a black and red was needed. A yellow card getting a sin bin would be best but the black will do.
Paying referees so that you could have full time referees who only train and referee and can focus totally on the job of refereeing would improve referees.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 29/08/2016 11:20:14    1907443

Gaelic games, football in particular have always been steeped in contraversory and it's not going to change, the Kerry/Dublin game is no exception, imo, the best team (Dublin) won on the day no doubt about that, but it could so easily have been Kerry no doubt about that either, that's how close it was and a questionable call one way or the other can influence the outcome at the final whistle. I am not going to go down the road of passing comment on the referee's performance last Sunday.
Separately, I mentioned in a previous post that a few years ago a committee was put in place to monitor and access the performance of referees during certain games, just thought I would mention that again.
I believe there's a huge level of inconsistency's in how referees in general intrepid and implement the rules, if it doesn't affect the final outcome then that's ok, but if it does then that's where the problem is, imo again I believe the black card is not helpful at all, it can be more controversial than anything else. If the game was refereed according to the rules there would be no need for the black card, two yellow's and a red are more than enough.
Some referees flaunt their importance other ref's just do their job, I prefer the latter.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2908 - 30/08/2016 18:57:03    1908302

Replying To longballin:  "Ref was brilliant yesterday and the main reason we seen the best game in a long long time. He might not have followed the rules completely but one thing for sure was he was consistent towards both teams. IMO both the Crowley incident and When McMahon got taken out were both frees but thankfully the ref let them go like other incidents and this resulted in a very high intensity game with hard hitting and made the game.
I watch hurling and the likes of James McGrath let the games flow and it adds to the spectacle it has fans on edge their seats and roaring and shouting and this is what its all about.
Well done David Gough yesterday. Kerry fans should hang their heads in shame"
Maybe we should scrap the rule book altogether. Not much point having it if refs ignore it.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 30/08/2016 19:43:09    1908331