All Ireland hurling quarter finals

Ah c'mon fellow Wexford men, why the total pessimism? I mean you'll all better qualified than me to make a prediction because I'm a bit out of the loop living in Kent but, (and I'm generally a glass half empty man more than I should be) I never expected anything against Cork, particularly with other posters stressing the injury situation yet look what happened. Truth is we should've score a couple of goals on top of that and won with a bit to spare.

No disrespect whatsoever to Waterford, but on what basis are they going to stuff us by 8+?

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 21/07/2016 11:03:05    1887466

Replying To tiobraid:  "They need to alter their system a bit if it is to happen and Brick has to go at this stage imo.
BUT....I'd give them a chance at the same time if they do change their system a bit. They have to create goal chances."
Ahhh brick is on his last campaign for sure, dont think he has done anything to warrant be dropped though?! He is a leader on the pitch, fair enough the legs are giving up but he was never known for his speed. He should be good for 55/60 mins id imagine. I really dont think they will change up the system though. It has worked almost every game. Could be a small shake up in players though. Reaally looking forward to sunday

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 21/07/2016 12:00:05    1887510

Replying To juniorjudge:  "Ahhh brick is on his last campaign for sure, dont think he has done anything to warrant be dropped though?! He is a leader on the pitch, fair enough the legs are giving up but he was never known for his speed. He should be good for 55/60 mins id imagine. I really dont think they will change up the system though. It has worked almost every game. Could be a small shake up in players though. Reaally looking forward to sunday"
I understand the leadership part of it but I think changes needs to be made. I don't think he has made a huge impact as a half forward. It's extra tough when there are only 4-5 forwards up there for long periods

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 21/07/2016 12:30:50    1887555

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "Ah c'mon fellow Wexford men, why the total pessimism? I mean you'll all better qualified than me to make a prediction because I'm a bit out of the loop living in Kent but, (and I'm generally a glass half empty man more than I should be) I never expected anything against Cork, particularly with other posters stressing the injury situation yet look what happened. Truth is we should've score a couple of goals on top of that and won with a bit to spare.

No disrespect whatsoever to Waterford, but on what basis are they going to stuff us by 8+?"
to many injuries lad missing about 8 players or so

gusseraneman (Wexford) - Posts: 521 - 21/07/2016 13:11:08    1887590

Replying To gusseraneman:  "to many injuries lad missing about 8 players or so"
Ah here now, we didn't come down in the last shower of rain. Wexford are coming to this match in the expectation of another big win.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 21/07/2016 14:12:58    1887646

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Ah here now, we didn't come down in the last shower of rain. Wexford are coming to this match in the expectation of another big win."
I'd say expectation is a bit strong but I think the confidence will be high and why shouldn't it be? Similar injury list for the Cork game after all, I mean, are Waterford a much tougher proposition?

If we were facing KK or Tipp then yes, I'd be pessimistic but Waterford? We're right in there with a decent shout.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 21/07/2016 15:05:59    1887718

MedWayIrish,i agree but i think with all due respects to cork,waterford are a step up from them.if we were hurling them with a full team,i think we would beat them.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 21/07/2016 16:31:42    1887773

Replying To juniorjudge:  "Ahhh brick is on his last campaign for sure, dont think he has done anything to warrant be dropped though?! He is a leader on the pitch, fair enough the legs are giving up but he was never known for his speed. He should be good for 55/60 mins id imagine. I really dont think they will change up the system though. It has worked almost every game. Could be a small shake up in players though. Reaally looking forward to sunday"
You said earlier Waterford are still contenders for all Ireland but yet you state that ye shouldn't go away from the "system" . Are ye for real ? Did you see what Tipp did well double that nightmare and that's what KK will do to the system. When will this Waterford team be just sent out to hurl of the cuff, I think if Waterford don't go away from the system asap the current bunch of players will be destroyed.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 21/07/2016 20:35:16    1887892

Replying To therealtmo:  "You said earlier Waterford are still contenders for all Ireland but yet you state that ye shouldn't go away from the "system" . Are ye for real ? Did you see what Tipp did well double that nightmare and that's what KK will do to the system. When will this Waterford team be just sent out to hurl of the cuff, I think if Waterford don't go away from the system asap the current bunch of players will be destroyed."
There's a lot to what you say realtmo. Waterford have some really fine hurlers that could stand toe to toe with any hurler in the country. Despite having been destroyed by Tipp the last day, I would say it has the potential to be the best Waterford team of the past 60 years. They don't need the crutch of slavishly following a defensive system. Systems are things that are useful for bad hurlers and it might have been an asset for them at times over the past 20 years when they were short of talent in some key areas and were trying to plug holes. But despite the hammering they got this current panel is oozing with talent and they are well capable of going man to man with any team and beating them.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1904 - 21/07/2016 21:29:55    1887928

From reading through the posts here, it looks like the Wexford boys are quietly confident that they will add 2016 to their wins over Waterford in 2014 and 2004.

Does anyone know when was the last time Waterford beat Wexford in championship hurling if at all? I was just looking at the 1948 and 1959 all-Irelands. Waterford beat Dublin and Kilkenny in those matches so I am struggling to think if they met at any other point aside from 2004 and 2014.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 21/07/2016 21:49:39    1887931

Replying To therealtmo:  "You said earlier Waterford are still contenders for all Ireland but yet you state that ye shouldn't go away from the "system" . Are ye for real ? Did you see what Tipp did well double that nightmare and that's what KK will do to the system. When will this Waterford team be just sent out to hurl of the cuff, I think if Waterford don't go away from the system asap the current bunch of players will be destroyed."
Why cant we win the AI with the system?? 3rd best team in country in 18 months....beat kk and tipp albeit the league this year....if waterford played tipp again b4 september id put my house on the line it wouldnt be anywhere near same score. Like it or love it we are a team on the up

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 21/07/2016 21:54:57    1887933

Results over the last number of years have shown Wexford are a bit below Limerick and I wouldn't expect Limerick to get within 6 points of Waterford Sunday. Waterford to win handy.

The other one is a toss of a coin. If Galway turn up I'd expect them to win.

Tipp Kilkenny final regardless of what happens Sunday.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 21/07/2016 22:09:12    1887937

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "There's a lot to what you say realtmo. Waterford have some really fine hurlers that could stand toe to toe with any hurler in the country. Despite having been destroyed by Tipp the last day, I would say it has the potential to be the best Waterford team of the past 60 years. They don't need the crutch of slavishly following a defensive system. Systems are things that are useful for bad hurlers and it might have been an asset for them at times over the past 20 years when they were short of talent in some key areas and were trying to plug holes. But despite the hammering they got this current panel is oozing with talent and they are well capable of going man to man with any team and beating them."
I agree but the system is stoping them. The big question now is have Waterford wasted the last two or three years with this system ? I have always said it no team will win the all all Ireland playing a sweeper system. My motto about the system is it's about winning something fast before the system gets found out but does nothing for a county long term in regards development.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 21/07/2016 22:34:40    1887948

Replying To juniorjudge:  "Why cant we win the AI with the system?? 3rd best team in country in 18 months....beat kk and tipp albeit the league this year....if waterford played tipp again b4 september id put my house on the line it wouldnt be anywhere near same score. Like it or love it we are a team on the up"
If you think Waterford can win all Ireland with the system you haven't being watching hurling that long. The system can be torn apart by a good team like Tipp, now I said good team, KK are a great team can you see Waterford beaten KK with the system ? What's to say Liam Dunne hasn't a plan to pull the system apart ? I'd only love to see Waterford win the all Ireland but not with the way they hurl at the moment.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 21/07/2016 22:50:21    1887961

Replying To therealtmo:  "I agree but the system is stoping them. The big question now is have Waterford wasted the last two or three years with this system ? I have always said it no team will win the all all Ireland playing a sweeper system. My motto about the system is it's about winning something fast before the system gets found out but does nothing for a county long term in regards development."
The whole point of the system, as I understood it, was to allow a talented but young team grow and adapt in a structure that was designed to give them a chance against top teams and protect them from a confidence shattering hammering like the 08 All Ireland or the 2011 Munster Final.

I guess it was working... until the Munster Final.

Too easily picked apart by top teams for me.

Kilkenny's system is brilliant. So simple. It's almost rhythmical, tidal. They drop half a line to swamp space, hunt in packs to turn ball over and then have space and men in forward positions, who can win 50-50 ball. No sweepers but it looks absolutely suffocating to play against.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 21/07/2016 23:26:12    1887971

Replying To roundball:  "The whole point of the system, as I understood it, was to allow a talented but young team grow and adapt in a structure that was designed to give them a chance against top teams and protect them from a confidence shattering hammering like the 08 All Ireland or the 2011 Munster Final.

I guess it was working... until the Munster Final.

Too easily picked apart by top teams for me.

Kilkenny's system is brilliant. So simple. It's almost rhythmical, tidal. They drop half a line to swamp space, hunt in packs to turn ball over and then have space and men in forward positions, who can win 50-50 ball. No sweepers but it looks absolutely suffocating to play against."
That's my whole point the team can't develop when playing to a system, they are rigid and one dimension. If Waterford had being able to fall back and just play of the cuff natural hurling when the system was torn apart, then we could of said they have developed over the last three years, instead they were like rabbit in a head light. I think Clare might be slipping down this line to, both teams need to go back to just hurling cause they do have lovely young hurlers.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 22/07/2016 09:32:26    1888027

Waterford and Clare for me.

I think most people expect there to be a reaction from Waterford after the munster final and their 2nd half demolition of Clare U21's could be a sign of things to come. Sorry Wexford lads but I think they could win with a bit to spare.
I would have backed Clare to edge home against Galway anyway but I think they'll now have extra motivation with the Davy Fitz situation.
On that point get well soon Davy, for his occasional faults and my da continually blaming him for the demise of hurling this year most people would miss him if he wasn't on the sideline!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 22/07/2016 10:54:39    1888077

Replying To bumpernut:  "Waterford and Clare for me.

I think most people expect there to be a reaction from Waterford after the munster final and their 2nd half demolition of Clare U21's could be a sign of things to come. Sorry Wexford lads but I think they could win with a bit to spare.
I would have backed Clare to edge home against Galway anyway but I think they'll now have extra motivation with the Davy Fitz situation.
On that point get well soon Davy, for his occasional faults and my da continually blaming him for the demise of hurling this year most people would miss him if he wasn't on the sideline!"
What basis do you put Clare ahead of Galway? It's not 2013 anymore... that was a long time ago. Since then, the only team of ANY note they have beaten in the Championship has been a very average Limerick team. 2 years ago they went out to Wexford... last year to Cork who then went on and were hammered by Galway. This year Clare lost to Waterford who then went and lost by 21points to Tipp.

Galway on the other hand are last years finalist's and currently the no2 team in the country (personally on form they are no 3 for me behind KK and Tipp). They hammered Dublin last year, beat Cork and then a very good Tipp team in the Semi. In the final they put in a first half performance which shows the potential of the team again reinforced by this years first half of the leinster final, as frustrating as the second half played out. When you match those two scripts side by side please explain why you favour Clare? I am from Galway but honestly call a spade a spade... I just don't see why so many people tip Clare, what do you base it on???

mr305 (Galway) - Posts: 46 - 22/07/2016 13:33:24    1888166

Replying To mr305:  "What basis do you put Clare ahead of Galway? It's not 2013 anymore... that was a long time ago. Since then, the only team of ANY note they have beaten in the Championship has been a very average Limerick team. 2 years ago they went out to Wexford... last year to Cork who then went on and were hammered by Galway. This year Clare lost to Waterford who then went and lost by 21points to Tipp.

Galway on the other hand are last years finalist's and currently the no2 team in the country (personally on form they are no 3 for me behind KK and Tipp). They hammered Dublin last year, beat Cork and then a very good Tipp team in the Semi. In the final they put in a first half performance which shows the potential of the team again reinforced by this years first half of the leinster final, as frustrating as the second half played out. When you match those two scripts side by side please explain why you favour Clare? I am from Galway but honestly call a spade a spade... I just don't see why so many people tip Clare, what do you base it on???"
I can see why they are tipped , they are the nhl champions beat kk and tipp on the way to the final. I know people say the league is only the league and im one of them but its still a national title. Clare have lost only 1 game this year and have won their last 2 games albeit against sides that were low on confidence while galway have lost 3 this year including the last game albeit against the favourites for the all ireland . But i think its too close to call. Hopefully we'll shade it ;-) . Best wishes to davy on a speedy recovery too

fireinthebelly (Galway) - Posts: 89 - 22/07/2016 14:21:42    1888206

Replying To fireinthebelly:  "I can see why they are tipped , they are the nhl champions beat kk and tipp on the way to the final. I know people say the league is only the league and im one of them but its still a national title. Clare have lost only 1 game this year and have won their last 2 games albeit against sides that were low on confidence while galway have lost 3 this year including the last game albeit against the favourites for the all ireland . But i think its too close to call. Hopefully we'll shade it ;-) . Best wishes to davy on a speedy recovery too"
Could easily see your game ending up as a replay there Fire but...............let's see if the old crystal ball (and we're not talking Waterford crystal!) is working, I'll go for you to nick it by 2 points.

And while I'm at it, despite the obituaries already being written, I'll go for us to beat Waterford by the same 2 points.

It's going to be a cracking afternoon one way or another.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 22/07/2016 14:47:05    1888223