What makes your County Great?

In a sporting context it is our ability to come back year after year with the same enthusiasm and hope, players and fans alike. I know other teams have lost finals and some even more but they have also picked up wins. I think our mentality is to keep banging on the door and eventually it will fall down. I am also proud of our hero's of the past and hoping that the hero's of today can become legends. I am beginning to watch too many great Mayo fans go to their eternal rest without having witnessed a Mayo man climb the Hogan steps. Life is more important than football but when the life and heartbeat of your county is football, it is a huge part of life.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 20/07/2016 09:08:17    1886798

Replying To Pinkie:  "The summer of 1996. The rich tradition of Wexford hurlers of bygone era's. The Rackards, the Quigleys, the Doran's, the O'Connor clan, the Fitzhenry's.
I hope we can return to those days soon."
1996, 100% agree. The only one in my lifetime, so far. Was funny to clock the confusion on some of the faces over here walking about in my jersey singing "hurling's coming home" a couple of months after the end of Euro96!

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 20/07/2016 09:27:13    1886811

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "2014 against Dublin was the day that brought tears of pride & belonging to my eyes.

After 25 mins my daughter turned to me & said "we're in trouble here". I told her just to sit back and try to enjoy the greatest display of football she would ever likely see. I thought we were going to be massacared.

What happened over the next hour was beyond belief & if the good Lord had decided to choose that evening to come & take me to my eternal reward, I would have gone a happy man with a smile on my face."
Dublin and indeed the rest of the country might scoff at us making such a big deal of beating Dublin. After all, it was just one match and we ended up losing the final, so we didn't even win any silverware off it.

But there was something more than that. For generations, we have been the forgotten county of Ireland. Not in the Northern 6 and isolated "way up there". The Celtic Tiger was a news soundbite to us in reality. We never really experienced the so-called boom times as much as the rest of Ireland. Emigration is, was and will be a major part of life in Donegal.

That day in playing Dublin, our players grew in stature after a shaky start. Granted we rode our luck on occasion in the first half. We defiantly stuck at it and as the scores started flowing second half the masses from the Hills realised that this was going to be a special day. I'll always remember Paddy bursting through the middle in the second half and lamping over a mighty score from way out into the Hill. The guttural roar that greeted it will stay with me forever.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 20/07/2016 09:48:55    1886823

I don't think anything makes Meath great at the minute, except maybe if you're a neutral and you love to watch teams dramatically collapse.

I suppose what made us great in the past, especially under Boylan was the never say die attitude and all the heart stopping comebacks that came with it. Ok we didn't win the All-Ireland every year and sometimes we were just comfortably beaten by a better team but we rarely threw in the towel and more often than not rallied in the last 10-15 mins, which was heart stopping to watch as a Meath fan and must have been far worse for the opposition.

I think it was very much a psychological advantage, teams in the lead against us seemed to think 'ah balls, they're going to do us here!' and we thrived on that.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/07/2016 10:09:39    1886834

Replying To realdub:  "The banter, the craic, the general spirit of the Dublin people when times were hard, and of course, the Dubs. It ain't what is used to be but I'm glad I grew up in Dublin in the time that I did."
Couldn't agree more , often have the craic with my eldest about who's Dublin generation was better , he admitted defeat when an under 16 player admitted to missing training recently as he was off chasing pokemon , Christ I though they were the rare auld times

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 20/07/2016 10:54:57    1886862

being in Croke Park in September 16 1990..being on Patrick st the night after...will never ever forget those days..

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 20/07/2016 16:07:25    1887125

5-0 against Kerry in the Championship
is a very proud record for us. Also
having the good luck to always play them
when we are at our very best so that the
run can continue !!!!@

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1618 - 20/07/2016 16:48:36    1887145

Replying To REDANDBLACK30:  "5-0 against Kerry in the Championship
is a very proud record for us. Also
having the good luck to always play them
when we are at our very best so that the
run can continue !!!!@"
A proud record to be sure! God what I'd give to finally get that monkey off the Kingdom's back, a dream All-Ireland campaign for me would be beating Cork, Dublin and Down on the way to the All-Ireland. Someday soon hopefully, Kerry get the chance to finally 'Down' ye in Championship football!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 20/07/2016 17:05:38    1887154

Replying To TheHermit:  "A proud record to be sure! God what I'd give to finally get that monkey off the Kingdom's back, a dream All-Ireland campaign for me would be beating Cork, Dublin and Down on the way to the All-Ireland. Someday soon hopefully, Kerry get the chance to finally 'Down' ye in Championship football!!"
Its lucky we are avoiding use at the
minute anyway put it that way!!!!

I think a lot of people would of
thought u would have thought
you would have won in 2010
but we were terrific that day.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1618 - 20/07/2016 17:17:47    1887160

Replying To REDANDBLACK30:  "Its lucky we are avoiding use at the
minute anyway put it that way!!!!

I think a lot of people would of
thought u would have thought
you would have won in 2010
but we were terrific that day."
Don't remind me of 2010! I don't think any Kerry supporter gave Down's record a second thought going into that game, but it certainly seemed to be something which the Down players gripped onto that day.

When we beat Cork in extra time in the Munster final replay down in the Pairc with Marc's glorious winning point, I was sure we were on our way to second double in 5 years. The suspensions we picked up going into the Q-final didn't help, nor did the loss of Dara from midfield due to retirement but I was fairly confident we would have more than enough for that Down side. How wrong I was!

Still can't understand how we fecked up at least 2 or 3 glorious goal chances that day. The entire team seemed to experiencing a system's malfunction! But if they had gone in it would have been a robbery, credit to Down because ye played great and were by far the better side.

Just a pity ye couldn't have gone on and beaten Cork, it would have been some achievement to win a title from nowhere like that!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 20/07/2016 17:30:16    1887169

Replying To TheHermit:  "Don't remind me of 2010! I don't think any Kerry supporter gave Down's record a second thought going into that game, but it certainly seemed to be something which the Down players gripped onto that day.

When we beat Cork in extra time in the Munster final replay down in the Pairc with Marc's glorious winning point, I was sure we were on our way to second double in 5 years. The suspensions we picked up going into the Q-final didn't help, nor did the loss of Dara from midfield due to retirement but I was fairly confident we would have more than enough for that Down side. How wrong I was!

Still can't understand how we fecked up at least 2 or 3 glorious goal chances that day. The entire team seemed to experiencing a system's malfunction! But if they had gone in it would have been a robbery, credit to Down because ye played great and were by far the better side.

Just a pity ye couldn't have gone on and beaten Cork, it would have been some achievement to win a title from nowhere like that!"
Yeah it was a great game when we
played use in 2010. Your right
McVeigh made two great saves
that day!!! Also both teams had
goals disallowed for illegal hand
passes. Our point taking was great.
Poland scored a goal in the first
minute. Thought the penalty use
got was very harsh at the very end
though. Use played well too just
didn't take the goal chances which
would have made it closer at the
finish.

Yeah Cork was disappointing as we
were leading them by 4 points at
half time and seemed to be in
control. Ambrose Rodgers got
injured and it came back to haunt
us as we couldn't get a supply of
ball in midfield. We had the firepower
up front that year to hurt any team.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1618 - 20/07/2016 17:53:03    1887183

Ambrose Rodgers got injured in
a club championship game for
Longstone between the Kerry
and Kildare games. That Kildare
game was a really exciting game
right to the last second too!!!

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1618 - 20/07/2016 18:06:10    1887189

Ambrose Rodgers got injured in
a club championship game for
Longstone between the Kerry
and Kildare games. That Kildare
game was a really exciting game
right to the last second too!!!

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1618 - 20/07/2016 18:06:10    1887190

Replying To Htaem:  "I don't think anything makes Meath great at the minute, except maybe if you're a neutral and you love to watch teams dramatically collapse.

I suppose what made us great in the past, especially under Boylan was the never say die attitude and all the heart stopping comebacks that came with it. Ok we didn't win the All-Ireland every year and sometimes we were just comfortably beaten by a better team but we rarely threw in the towel and more often than not rallied in the last 10-15 mins, which was heart stopping to watch as a Meath fan and must have been far worse for the opposition.

I think it was very much a psychological advantage, teams in the lead against us seemed to think 'ah balls, they're going to do us here!' and we thrived on that."
Yeah the comebacks were magnificent, unfortunately over past 4 years its been a case of 7/10 up dont worry lads we will still neat them.
Hopefully it will return sooner rather than later v

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/07/2016 19:12:52    1887215

Flatherty 81, Darby 82, Dooley 94 Whelehan 98, Heading to Croker knowing we could take on anyone Kerry Dublin Meath Kilkenny Wexford Cork Clare Galway The players giving Antrim a guard of honour in defeat in 89, grat days to be an Offaly man, Allstars in every position in hurling and football, Going head to head with the greats Mick o Connell, Mick o Dwyer, Brian Mullins, Keaveny, Hanahoe, Bobby Doyle Jacko, Oigie Moran, Paidi, The Spillanes etc, Fenrton, Jimmy Barry, Seani O Leary Corcoran, The ROCK, DJ, Frank Cummins The Fennelys Connolys, The Banner boys, We held our own against the best of them Uibh fhaile ABU

theref (Offaly) - Posts: 7 - 20/07/2016 20:42:48    1887253

The fact that they could have selected a Kerryman for every position on the GAA's Team of the Millennium and still have had uproar because they could have selected 30 more. The fact that in the 16 years since then there's another 10 Kerry players that could lay claim to places.

The fact that we keep coming back year after year, decade after decade, regardless of how many All-Ireland's we win or lose.

The fact that there is a begrudging acceptance that the greatest All-Ireland's are the ones you win when you topple the Kingdom along the way.

The fact that other counties come and go, but Kerry are as constant as the northern star.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 21/07/2016 12:49:50    1887569

Replying To TheHermit:  "The fact that they could have selected a Kerryman for every position on the GAA's Team of the Millennium and still have had uproar because they could have selected 30 more. The fact that in the 16 years since then there's another 10 Kerry players that could lay claim to places.

The fact that we keep coming back year after year, decade after decade, regardless of how many All-Ireland's we win or lose.

The fact that there is a begrudging acceptance that the greatest All-Ireland's are the ones you win when you topple the Kingdom along the way.

The fact that other counties come and go, but Kerry are as constant as the northern star."
Use have some production line of talent
down there alright.

Is there something in the water or what???
Lol

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1618 - 21/07/2016 13:19:46    1887597

Replying To REDANDBLACK30:  "Use have some production line of talent
down there alright.

Is there something in the water or what???
Lol"
Tradition and hard work Redandblack: to paraphrase Samuel L. Jackson in Pulp Fiction: 'it goes a long way'.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 21/07/2016 13:26:02    1887601

a Kerry down love in I see, surprise surprise

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 21/07/2016 13:45:16    1887620

Replying To TheHermit:  "Tradition and hard work Redandblack: to paraphrase Samuel L. Jackson in Pulp Fiction: 'it goes a long way'."
Use have defo been the standard
bearers down the years. Are Kerry
people worried that the current
Dublin team is the biggest threat
to your dominance in GAA history???
Even with your tradition and history
they are looking unstoppable right
now for a good few years??? Use
always seem to find a way to
overcome every challenge so far.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1618 - 21/07/2016 13:57:07    1887629