Hope Tyrone give Dublin a very good rattle!

Replying To GGdub:  "Well said ..terrible football..dire to watch turned it off after 20 minutes .lads were trying to talk it up last week..but it was everything i expected..crap..too much handpassing rubbish from side to side both teams running into massed defences..shot taking was muck aswell.some might call all that nonsense a tactical battle 'id just call it for what it was..crap.."
How do you know when you turned it off after 20 mins - if your going to analyse a game and criticise team tactics at least watch the bloody thing!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 21/07/2016 09:20:15    1887399

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Won't get any argument from this end. Mayo are going along on a wing and a prayer at the moment, making things up as we go along. The most optimistic supporter sees us scraping past Westmeath and then either being hammered by Dublin or well beaten by Tyrone. Injuries, loss of form and a struggle to adapt to different tactics have left us among the also rans. We are just happy to have our day out in Croke Park, which didn't seem likely after Galway. It's back to watching Connacht finals between Galway and Ross for a few years I'm afraid, like it was in the seventies. But we'll be back!"
Ya I agree. We are hoping to get a win against a good Westmeath team if we can pull that off then we are there to make up the numbers after that. Tyrone will be too slick and Dublin are unbeatable. Our best days are behind us with this group unfortunately. You have to look at well oiled teams like galway, who seem to be on the way to repeating the feat of 98. We had a good 5 years of it so cant complain.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/07/2016 09:33:37    1887405

Replying To topdownfan:  "
Replying To Yourjoking:  "Firstly I'm a down man then a ulster man, i for one would love to see my own county win ulster and all irelands more often but being honest the way our county is run thats not going to happen for many a year.
If down can't win the all ireland then i am hoping a ulster team does [ yes all of them
and I'm getting sick and tired of my fellow down people trying to put the boot into tyrone i find this insulting, ulster football is different to the rest because of the history in the north we stick together i know some down south don't get this and wouldn't cheer on there neighbours but we do and take great pride when it comes back up north.
To my fellow down supporters please give this shite talk about tyrone a rest your giving us a bad name on here."
Read Jimmy McGinness book , then come back to me"]Here here well said topdownfan - to be fair its only 2-3 who are constantly at it and can hardly representative of all Down fans but they sure are irritating.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 21/07/2016 09:42:06    1887407

Replying To IrishGael3:  "How do you know when you turned it off after 20 mins - if your going to analyse a game and criticise team tactics at least watch the bloody thing!"
.saying what i saw in the first 20mins or so..pure and utter scutter.should have recorded it for the nights i cant sleep as it would put yea to sleep quicker than box of valium..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 21/07/2016 20:51:21    1887901

Replying To topdownfan:  "
Replying To Yourjoking:  "Firstly I'm a down man then a ulster man, i for one would love to see my own county win ulster and all irelands more often but being honest the way our county is run thats not going to happen for many a year.
If down can't win the all ireland then i am hoping a ulster team does [ yes all of them
and I'm getting sick and tired of my fellow down people trying to put the boot into tyrone i find this insulting, ulster football is different to the rest because of the history in the north we stick together i know some down south don't get this and wouldn't cheer on there neighbours but we do and take great pride when it comes back up north.
To my fellow down supporters please give this shite talk about tyrone a rest your giving us a bad name on here."
Read Jimmy McGinness book , then come back to me"]Did I miss something?

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 21/07/2016 21:04:11    1887914

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "The 70's? you must be the most pessimistic Mayo supporter in the land ..witnessed all 6/7 (not sure on the number 89,96,97,04,06,12,13 i think I can't recall exactly)all ireland losses . Mayo will absolutely hammer westmeath stop being silly everyone knows that. Secondly they have every chance of beating us its probably 50/50 .Sweeper is messed up true but your players are prob technically better than ours from 1 to 15...and your subs. This Mayo pessimism has been around since the 00's . Ye played rubbish against a good Galway team but F.O if you think ye will get hammered by us or Dublin,it could end up either way seriously stupid.With all the Dublins players out It's up for any one of Dublin , mayo,Doneagl ,tyrone or even Galway(very off chance ) but stop talking crap everyone knows ye won't lose to Westmeath and at worst will lose to Dublin by 3-5"
At the start of the year I was quietly confident of getting to an All Ireland final. Win the Connacht title, a bit of luck in avoiding a tricky team in the quarter final and we'd be in a semi final against probably Donegal or Tyrone. We had the measure of Donegal over the last couple of years and I didn't think Tyrone would be quite ready this year. Our league form was poor, but we retained Division One status, therefore I gave management the benefit of the doubt, telling myself it was all part of the master plan. The game against Galway changed all that. We looked a team devoid of ideas both on the field and on the line. Nothing I have seen since has been overly encouraging. We have limped along, just about winning but with no sign that we are getting back to our best. We are still relying on the same players who have been about for the last five or six years and peaked as a team two or three years ago. I had been impressed with Donegal this year and felt that they were coming along nicely integrating some new young players with the best of the old guard. I thought that they would be too good for Tyrone in the final. Now Tyrone are coming into a quarter final fresh, hungry and full of confidence. Dublin beat us easily in last years replay when we had a full squad to pick from and were actually playing quite well. This year we have three players out for the year, along with several carrying injuries or suffering from a loss in form. I'm glad that you can be optimistic on my behalf but if you haven't won an All Ireland in sixty five years then a little bit of pessimism is understandable. So there it stands. There may be a Lazarus like resurrection in the next couple of weeks or more likely not. I see By the way redhanddefender agrees with me but then I suppose he's stupid and posting crap as well.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 21/07/2016 22:39:51    1887953