Hope Tyrone give Dublin a very good rattle!

Replying To border Gael:  "Stay on the boat and keep paddling.. If you were at the other few games Tyrone played in the championship you would appreciate their plan a football. A thing of beauty. They had to play Donegal on Sunday and had to seriously change their game to play them never mind beat them. Donegal had a desperate game plan for Sunday and Tyrone had to mirror it to beat them. Wait to they get to the big open spaces of Croke Park then you will see how they can play lovely flowing football."
Hi border Gael: If Donegal had a desperate game plan for Sunday how come they were leading by 1 point after 70 minutes? If you do a bit of research and investigation on pitch size playing surfaces you will find out that there are no big open spaces in Croke Park.

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 648 - 20/07/2016 10:08:07    1886833

Dublin will have 2 very tough matches before they get near Tyrone so i wouldn't count my chickens.just yet, and james McCarthy will be fine by august the 6th

mightydubs (Dublin) - Posts: 48 - 20/07/2016 10:13:49    1886838

Replying To redhanddefender:  "Are you one of those mayo fans that just turns up for croke park games lol! What have you been watching, have seen nothing from mayo yet to put them anywhere near dublins level.

Tyrone certainly haven't proved anything and we seem to have the toughest quarter from all the provincial winners. However, I would not fear mayo whatsoever at present. They may be improving and some new things are starting to click but they will need more than that when they face a well drilled side like tyrone.

Mayo turning back to the likes of andy moran is a bad sign to. Tyrone will test some of these lads legs. Kevin mc laughlin will get dragged ragged all over the place"
redhander - you're now starting to develop the Kerry'esk Cute Hoorism - I recall lots of people on these forums including Tyrone people saying that Tyrone haven't proved anything until they've beaten a Div 1 team. Arguably the most difficult team for them to beat considering their history and the fact that Donegal are one of the toughest teams in Ireland is Donegal and they've just done that. They've played with absolute flare up to that point and then changed their style and played a dogged teak tough team in the final and prevailed there. I really don't accept this playing down of Tyrone chances. I've watched Mayo and they are nowhere near where they have been for past 6 years (however they could improve), Kerry are victims of an easy Munster Province and as TOShea says there's 5/6 weeks they have to wait until the quarters and I still think they rely on too many old hands. Tyrone always seem to play well in Croke Park, Mickey H will have a plan which will flex when needed and if you look at who's actually stood up to Dublin over past 4/5 years its actually Tyrone. So don't be kidding us, at this stage Tyrone are the main challengers to Dubs and Paddy Christie even acknowledges this.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 20/07/2016 10:23:31    1886841

We just about bet Donegal who were winning most of the game . The fact that Donegal are now 28/1 and we are in and around 4/1 to win the AI is madness. There's a kick of a ball between us and Donegal now everyone is on the Tyrone V Dublin bandwagon.

The reason for the difference in odds is that Tyrone have an easy enough route to an all Ireland final while Donegal have a complete minefield to go through. I dont think Tyrone are the finished article yet. They won Ulster and got the Donegal monkey off their backs but they actually played poor in the final. They just hit some monster scores at vital times which got them over the line. They deserved the win but the performance of champions wasnt there.
Harte will have to sort of a few things before tackling the big boys but I do believe there is a good chance of a Final and once there anything can happen

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 20/07/2016 10:42:04    1886851

Replying To IrishGael3:  "redhander - you're now starting to develop the Kerry'esk Cute Hoorism - I recall lots of people on these forums including Tyrone people saying that Tyrone haven't proved anything until they've beaten a Div 1 team. Arguably the most difficult team for them to beat considering their history and the fact that Donegal are one of the toughest teams in Ireland is Donegal and they've just done that. They've played with absolute flare up to that point and then changed their style and played a dogged teak tough team in the final and prevailed there. I really don't accept this playing down of Tyrone chances. I've watched Mayo and they are nowhere near where they have been for past 6 years (however they could improve), Kerry are victims of an easy Munster Province and as TOShea says there's 5/6 weeks they have to wait until the quarters and I still think they rely on too many old hands. Tyrone always seem to play well in Croke Park, Mickey H will have a plan which will flex when needed and if you look at who's actually stood up to Dublin over past 4/5 years its actually Tyrone. So don't be kidding us, at this stage Tyrone are the main challengers to Dubs and Paddy Christie even acknowledges this."
Don't get me wrong. Grinding out a result against Donegal was massive as it gets a monkey of our back. I think we are actually a lot better than we showed Sunday but understandably feared Donegal because of past experience.

I'm not trying to be cute. I do not fear Mayo at all this year from what I have seen. They have some great players but they appear to be a bit of a mess which could get found out against us.

What I meant is I still don't think he have shown enough to let me think we can beat the Dubs yet and we are still 2 tough games away from a final. Anything can happen in Croker.

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 20/07/2016 10:48:19    1886860

I'm not 100% on this but are Mayo possibly likely to play Tyrone in a semi?
If so it's highly unlikely Tyrone will play Dublin.
The possibly loss of both wing backs on the Dublin team cannot be understated. Along with Philly McMahon not flying as well this year from an attacking point of view. Just don't rule Kerry out just yet either

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 20/07/2016 10:48:34    1886861

Replying To AudiMan:  "Hi border Gael: If Donegal had a desperate game plan for Sunday how come they were leading by 1 point after 70 minutes? If you do a bit of research and investigation on pitch size playing surfaces you will find out that there are no big open spaces in Croke Park."
Wrongly phrased there. Point I meant to make was that it was a desperate style of football to watch. The most awful stuff I have seen for a long time. Last 8 or 9 minutes were a joy to watch when the pressure was on Tyrone and they had to take a chance and go for it. Also what didn't help matters was the fact that everytime a Tyrone player went in to tackle a Donegal player the ref deemed it a foul so they darent tackle and so Donegal played... Keep ball.. It destroyed the game as a spectacle and for that reason I was delighted to see them beaten.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 20/07/2016 10:57:12    1886863

Replying To tiobraid:  "I'm not 100% on this but are Mayo possibly likely to play Tyrone in a semi?
If so it's highly unlikely Tyrone will play Dublin.
The possibly loss of both wing backs on the Dublin team cannot be understated. Along with Philly McMahon not flying as well this year from an attacking point of view. Just don't rule Kerry out just yet either"
No Tyrone can't get Mayo in the semis, a good chance of getting them in the quarters but after that they are in opposite sides for the semis

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 20/07/2016 11:00:52    1886867

Replying To benched:  "No Tyrone can't get Mayo in the semis, a good chance of getting them in the quarters but after that they are in opposite sides for the semis"
Maybe it was the Quarters I was looking at so.
That'll be a serious test for Tyrone.
When all is done and said Mayo have huge experience and I'd fancy them to beat Tyrone. Things start to get interesting this year from the Quarters

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 20/07/2016 11:14:51    1886878

Replying To redhanddefender:  "Are you one of those mayo fans that just turns up for croke park games lol! What have you been watching, have seen nothing from mayo yet to put them anywhere near dublins level.

Tyrone certainly haven't proved anything and we seem to have the toughest quarter from all the provincial winners. However, I would not fear mayo whatsoever at present. They may be improving and some new things are starting to click but they will need more than that when they face a well drilled side like tyrone.

Mayo turning back to the likes of andy moran is a bad sign to. Tyrone will test some of these lads legs. Kevin mc laughlin will get dragged ragged all over the place"
Won't get any argument from this end. Mayo are going along on a wing and a prayer at the moment, making things up as we go along. The most optimistic supporter sees us scraping past Westmeath and then either being hammered by Dublin or well beaten by Tyrone. Injuries, loss of form and a struggle to adapt to different tactics have left us among the also rans. We are just happy to have our day out in Croke Park, which didn't seem likely after Galway. It's back to watching Connacht finals between Galway and Ross for a few years I'm afraid, like it was in the seventies. But we'll be back!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 20/07/2016 12:59:23    1886938

Replying To mightydubs:  "Dublin will have 2 very tough matches before they get near Tyrone so i wouldn't count my chickens.just yet, and james McCarthy will be fine by august the 6th"
If ye avoid Mayo in the QF ye will have none

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 20/07/2016 13:04:14    1886942

Replying To border Gael:  "Wrongly phrased there. Point I meant to make was that it was a desperate style of football to watch. The most awful stuff I have seen for a long time. Last 8 or 9 minutes were a joy to watch when the pressure was on Tyrone and they had to take a chance and go for it. Also what didn't help matters was the fact that everytime a Tyrone player went in to tackle a Donegal player the ref deemed it a foul so they darent tackle and so Donegal played... Keep ball.. It destroyed the game as a spectacle and for that reason I was delighted to see them beaten."
Well said ..terrible football..dire to watch turned it off after 20 minutes .lads were trying to talk it up last week..but it was everything i expected..crap..too much handpassing rubbish from side to side both teams running into massed defences..shot taking was muck aswell.some might call all that nonsense a tactical battle 'id just call it for what it was..crap..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 20/07/2016 18:26:04    1887203

Replying To Vishred:  "Cant see Tyrone living with Dublin or an ever improving Mayo team..
They are just too physical, and unlike Donegal, Mayo and Dublin wont run out of legs."
Dublin are well ahead , for what it is worth and I wasn't debating what we could or couldn't do read above !! Mayo won't beat Tyrone .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 20/07/2016 21:08:14    1887267

Replying To GGdub:  "Well said ..terrible football..dire to watch turned it off after 20 minutes .lads were trying to talk it up last week..but it was everything i expected..crap..too much handpassing rubbish from side to side both teams running into massed defences..shot taking was muck aswell.some might call all that nonsense a tactical battle 'id just call it for what it was..crap.."
Had some of the best scores of the championship to date. Obviously youre just goin with the flow on this. Wasn't a great game to watch but neither was the spectacle of Dublin hammering West Meath.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 20/07/2016 22:34:16    1887316

Replying To ta32:  "Dublin are well ahead , for what it is worth and I wasn't debating what we could or couldn't do read above !! Mayo won't beat Tyrone ."
Mayo are getting used to a new sweeper system and their slowly getting their mojo back,
Tyrone will not match Mayo physically , and I don't think they are in 4th gear yet.
Tyrone beat a Donegal team that should have been scrapped last summer.
Mayo walked all over them so you really need to get off your high-horse with such a bold prediction.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 20/07/2016 22:42:43    1887318

Replying To Vishred:  "Mayo are getting used to a new sweeper system and their slowly getting their mojo back,
Tyrone will not match Mayo physically , and I don't think they are in 4th gear yet.
Mayo walked all over them so you really need to get off your high-horse with such a bold prediction."
Tyrone will more than match Mayo physically and Mayo better bring their running shoes the next day cos they looked half asleep in first half in Fermanagh game.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 20/07/2016 22:52:19    1887324

Replying To Vishred:  "Mayo are getting used to a new sweeper system and their slowly getting their mojo back,
Mayo walked all over them so you really need to get off your high-horse with such a bold prediction."
It's not a bold prediction , it's just my opinion . Cork walked all over Kildare and Donegal rattled them . Every game is diffrent . Mayo as much as I respect the county , they have had their chance and all those defeats in croker may just have had negative impact on then when it matters . This team Tyrone that ie reminds me of the 2005 side . But we shall see

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 20/07/2016 22:55:59    1887326

BTW is this the same Donegal side that average the age of 25 ? Just curious

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 20/07/2016 22:57:29    1887328

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Won't get any argument from this end. Mayo are going along on a wing and a prayer at the moment, making things up as we go along. The most optimistic supporter sees us scraping past Westmeath and then either being hammered by Dublin or well beaten by Tyrone. Injuries, loss of form and a struggle to adapt to different tactics have left us among the also rans. We are just happy to have our day out in Croke Park, which didn't seem likely after Galway. It's back to watching Connacht finals between Galway and Ross for a few years I'm afraid, like it was in the seventies. But we'll be back!"
The 70's? you must be the most pessimistic Mayo supporter in the land ..witnessed all 6/7 (not sure on the number 89,96,97,04,06,12,13 i think I can't recall exactly)all ireland losses . Mayo will absolutely hammer westmeath stop being silly everyone knows that. Secondly they have every chance of beating us its probably 50/50 .Sweeper is messed up true but your players are prob technically better than ours from 1 to 15...and your subs. This Mayo pessimism has been around since the 00's . Ye played rubbish against a good Galway team but F.O if you think ye will get hammered by us or Dublin,it could end up either way seriously stupid.With all the Dublins players out It's up for any one of Dublin , mayo,Doneagl ,tyrone or even Galway(very off chance ) but stop talking crap everyone knows ye won't lose to Westmeath and at worst will lose to Dublin by 3-5

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 21/07/2016 00:15:20    1887359

Replying To Yourjoking:  "Firstly I'm a down man then a ulster man, i for one would love to see my own county win ulster and all irelands more often but being honest the way our county is run thats not going to happen for many a year.
If down can't win the all ireland then i am hoping a ulster team does [ yes all of them
and I'm getting sick and tired of my fellow down people trying to put the boot into tyrone i find this insulting, ulster football is different to the rest because of the history in the north we stick together i know some down south don't get this and wouldn't cheer on there neighbours but we do and take great pride when it comes back up north.
To my fellow down supporters please give this shite talk about tyrone a rest your giving us a bad name on here."]Read Jimmy McGinness book , then come back to me

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 21/07/2016 01:09:18    1887367