Dubs to win Back to Back.. I just don't see it!

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Are we not a Juggernaut anymore?"
Of course there are endless superlatives I could use just decide to freshen it up.

Regarding Rd and Meath I'm sure when Dublin began winning the first 3/4 of these 11 Leinsters that people said it's just a phase and things would return to normal. Well it hasn't and the domination is the new normal the worry is the same is happening on a national scale.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 19/07/2016 17:16:03    1886503

I said this back at the start of March:

Well that's that

Time to get on with it

Big gaps to be filled and no doubt we've lost 2 big game players..

It would be an outstanding result to win back to back Sam's... even more so now! Fingers crossed on the injury front... Can't afford to lose anymore guaranteed starters.

All we can do is our best... hopefully we'll have more options up front compared to last year to help us along.

-----------

If I could have picked a player not to lose to injury off the back of Rory/Jack heading off.. it would have been James McCarthy

That's 3 massive big game playes gone from one area..

It's not codology, it's not cute hoorism.. its common fecking sense

Some of you boys think we're supermen or something! Hahaha... pull the media hype BS out from between your ears!

Lose Rory, Jack and now James... it changes the entire dynamic of that Dublin team

Not only are they top defenders, James and Jack offer a huge amount going forward

I've said it before and I'll repeat it again.. This Dublin team hasnt been that far ahead of the other big guns

Now it's all to play for.. Dublin have been considerably weakened all in the one key area

Dublin could well be caught at Quarter Final stage this year

Dublin are there to be got at now big time... lets see if yiz have the balls to go for it!

We still have the talent up front... and that may still have the fear factor and create doubt, Dublin are there to be got at but it will take commitment and an offensive approach to really fully expose it

All to play for... Dublin going for back to back titles are alreayd ata disadvantage, take out Rory, Jack and now James... you have no excuses left.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20608 - 19/07/2016 17:44:09    1886532

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Rory O Carroll
Jack McCaffrey
James McCarthy
Alan Brogan

I honestly don't know if we can do back to backs missing all these players.

Take Lee Keegan Colm Boyle and Ger Caff out of Mayo and I don't think they'd be as confident likewise any other county really"
We're not confident as we are. Take Keegan and Boyle out and we wouldn't beat New York.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 19/07/2016 18:14:41    1886555

If the news coming out regarding McCarthy are true then I think that's a hammer blow for Dublin.
McCarthy is the rock in that defence more important than any other defender including COS and ROC.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 19/07/2016 18:33:32    1886562

Replying To TheHermit:  "Think you might be mistaking Kerry for Meath there boyo, terrified of the Dubs would you get up the yard! We're Kerry ffs!!!!"
Deluded, Kerry are over rated, and ove the hill. Stick to puck fair guys!

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1758 - 19/07/2016 18:46:06    1886574

Replying To thelongridge:  "Deluded, Kerry are over rated, and ove the hill. Stick to puck fair guys!"
I've been hearing that for years yet we still come back year after year and play football in late summer.
We may not win Sam but given the absolute state of football in Offaly, Meath and most of Leinster I'd pipe down.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 19/07/2016 18:57:18    1886581

Its possible but without 3 starting backs from last year missing, 2 if which are the best attacking wing backs in the country and the launchpad for all of Dublin's attacks, well a good majority anyway......its gonna be very hard. Yes dubs have a good panel but nobody comes within an arses roar of these three players at 3, 5 and 7

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 895 - 19/07/2016 18:58:14    1886584

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Its possible but without 3 starting backs from last year missing, 2 if which are the best attacking wing backs in the country and the launchpad for all of Dublin's attacks, well a good majority anyway......its gonna be very hard. Yes dubs have a good panel but nobody comes within an arses roar of these three players at 3, 5 and 7"
Well..

It's nice to see a poster that actually has a clue.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20608 - 19/07/2016 19:12:00    1886591

Replying To westkerry:  "I've been hearing that for years yet we still come back year after year and play football in late summer.
We may not win Sam but given the absolute state of football in Offaly, Meath and most of Leinster I'd pipe down."
We know we are poor in Offaly, but we will come good eventually. If we had a handy provincial run like Kerry, we might have a few more All Ireland's. Meath people can speak for themselves.Don't need a Kerryman to patronise us.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1758 - 19/07/2016 19:15:49    1886595

Replying To westkerry:  "I've been hearing that for years yet we still come back year after year and play football in late summer.
We may not win Sam but given the absolute state of football in Offaly, Meath and most of Leinster I'd pipe down."
Yeah very hard on u, if only Meath and offaly could play Clare and Tipp to be in last 8 we would all be happy. Kerry are finished for a generation FACT.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/07/2016 19:29:19    1886606

Replying To thelongridge:  "Deluded, Kerry are over rated, and ove the hill. Stick to puck fair guys!"
Puck is on between the Quarters and Semi, so too the Rose of Tralee so we'll get them all in this summer with any luck boy.

Instead of calling us deluded you'd want to concentrate a bit more on getting yourselves and the rest of Leinster out from under the Dubs jackboots. 1982 is an age ago now!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 19/07/2016 20:22:00    1886634

Kerry love the easy draws. Sure didnt they win most of their all irelands off the easy pickings side of the draw...ha

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 19/07/2016 21:38:28    1886681

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah very hard on u, if only Meath and offaly could play Clare and Tipp to be in last 8 we would all be happy. Kerry are finished for a generation FACT."
You still wouldn't make the last 8 ?

Tipp are miles ahead of Meath right now.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/07/2016 21:43:19    1886685

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah very hard on u, if only Meath and offaly could play Clare and Tipp to be in last 8 we would all be happy. Kerry are finished for a generation FACT."
Unfortunately writing something in block capitals will not turn your fantasies into any reality: if you are hoping that Kerry are headed for 25 years in the wilderness my friend you are going to be sorely disappointed. With luck said disappointment will start this September.

There's 4 Championships left in this decade plenty of time for us to pick up another All-Ireland or two.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 19/07/2016 21:46:28    1886688

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Its possible but without 3 starting backs from last year missing, 2 if which are the best attacking wing backs in the country and the launchpad for all of Dublin's attacks, well a good majority anyway......its gonna be very hard. Yes dubs have a good panel but nobody comes within an arses roar of these three players at 3, 5 and 7"
I know Dublin will miss the three lads but who is there around to take advantage. Tyrone are the most obvious but I think they are still a year or two away from being up to that standard. Mayo or Donegal from three years ago would have been good enough, but not anymore. Kerry are probably good enough to beat anyone else but they just don't have the pace anymore for Dublin. Galway may come good down the line but it won't be this year. In my opinion Dublin will dominate for the next couple of years but will find the likes of Cluxton, Brogan, Flynn and Connolly impossible to replace and, although they will still be competitive, will find it difficult to replicate their dominance of today. Tyrone look to be next big contenders with a brilliant manager and a good crop of young players to work with. Kerry will come good again but it might take a couple of years to bring the good minors plus the best of their development squad (which doubles as their junior team) through. But make no mistake they will be back. Donegal will be competitive as they seem to be replacing some of the old warriors and are having some success at underage but Tyrone will be a big stumbling block. Mayo are relying too much on the same group of players and will soon need a serious rebuild and with Galway on the rise could be in for a few lean years. The jury is still out on Galway. They are always a dangerous county when they get a run going but they are still a long way away from the finished article. I hope the Cavans, Tipperarys, Clares and Roscommons continue to improve to make things interesting but there is still a huge chasm between themselves and the likes of Dublin. So the near future is still blue but Tyrone are waiting for any sign of weakness.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 19/07/2016 22:36:42    1886727

Yeah good man those mighty battles against carlow/wickow etc really prevented you wing more All Ireland's.
Just remind me how many Leinster sides are left in the championship and how many from Munster?
Our generation from 2000s is gone but you might have missed that we are going for 3 in a row in the minor.
Unfortunately as Meath are in free fall we certainly are not.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 19/07/2016 22:44:36    1886734

Replying To GGdub:  "Kerry love the easy draws. Sure didnt they win most of their all irelands off the easy pickings side of the draw...ha"
Very true.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/07/2016 10:04:28    1886832

Replying To TheHermit:  "Puck is on between the Quarters and Semi, so too the Rose of Tralee so we'll get them all in this summer with any luck boy.

Instead of calling us deluded you'd want to concentrate a bit more on getting yourselves and the rest of Leinster out from under the Dubs jackboots. 1982 is an age ago now!"
Some Kerry folk haven't moved on from 1982!! We keep battling on up here, and will turn the corner.
If I was to bet on the All Ireland winners, Dublin would be my choice, based on their results over the past 5 years. If Kerry eventually beat Dublin, I might reconsider.
The best thing about the forum is that we can all contribute, subject to the site moderator's control. Kerry posters can't decide who submits a post, nor any other individual.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1758 - 20/07/2016 10:48:10    1886859

Replying To GGdub:  "Kerry love the easy draws. Sure didnt they win most of their all irelands off the easy pickings side of the draw...ha"
Ah the 'Handy All-Ireland thesis', I suppose its true: sure it's only a proper All-Ireland when you defeat Kerry along the way so we will never win a tough one on that basis!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 20/07/2016 12:03:51    1886907

Replying To royaldunne:  "Very true."
Are ye lads disrespecting our Golden Generation team from the 1970's and 80's?

Because I can post our results vs Leinster teams from that era and trust me it won't look pretty for ye.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 20/07/2016 13:15:09    1886952