Dubs to win Back to Back.. I just don't see it!

I don't see anyone who can realistically beat them at the moment. Yes, Dublin have lost two influential players, but other teams in the country are dealing with their own problems too. Dublin seem to have Kerry's number at this stage and Kerry seem a bit spooked by that fact. Donegal have some good footballers, but the sideline is a disaster. Mayo, while showing signs of improvement, are a long way off their best. Tyrone are a coming team and have a man on the sideline who is probably capable of outfoxing Jim Gavin, but then the argument could be made that his group of players might still be a bit green and wouldn't be quite at Dublin's tempo just yet. So there's nothing really to suggest as of yet that any of the other contenders are capable of knocking Dublin off their perch when push comes to shove.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 18/07/2016 23:26:25    1885960

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Having players out for various reasons happens to every team. We have lost Tom Cunniffe, Ger Caff and Jason Gibbons for the year. Chris Barrett has been unavailable so far and even if he does come back his fitness levels will be low. Tom Parsons missed the last two matches and now Kev Keane is injured. Only difference Dublin have a better squad than everyone else and can absorb these kind of losses. Still Dublins to lose."
Fully agree.

GormlaighG (Mayo) - Posts: 77 - 18/07/2016 23:52:29    1885967

Back to Back is hard to do but Dublin are still very hot favourites for Sam this year.
If ye do happen to get beat it wont be because of your panel because injuries or not ye have the top panel in Ireland by a long way.

If ye do get beat it will be due to tactics and hunger. That is why the back to back is so hard. everyone wants to knock you off your perch and its up to your own players to leave no stone unturned in training and test matches.

I think the way the draw goes mean ye will be playing Cork/Donegal in the quarters and Kerry in the semis. If I was Dublin I would hope to play Donegal. I think ye would win but it would be a challenge for ye which is something this Dublin team need I think.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 19/07/2016 09:09:31    1886020

I see Dublin winning it this year. They have by far the best team. Realistically I don't expect any team to actually get that close to them. The only thing that might beat them is complacency. I could possibly see maybe Mayo regrouping after their surprise loss against Galway (hearing the scoreline it sounded like they did well against Kildare) and surprising them as they have good players and Aiden O' Shea when on song he is just a phenomenon, but even this would mean Dublin performing below par. Kerry have no chance in a match against Dublin this year as you would expect Dublin to be really be up for any match against them due to Kerrys record as the greatest county in Gaelic football history. If Kerry are to win All Ireland I think they will need another team to take out Dublin.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1365 - 19/07/2016 09:09:37    1886021

Replying To royaldunne:  "Cute hoorism at its worst.
Tyrone are not near dubs, Donegal are about to apply for their pensions, Kerry are terrified of dubs, mayo are falling further behind, the only county that may pose a problem is surprisingly Galway, who with their experience of winning and beating dubs at underage may stand to them.
But its dubs to loose unfortunately."
Think you might be mistaking Kerry for Meath there boyo, terrified of the Dubs would you get up the yard! We're Kerry ffs!!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 19/07/2016 10:01:44    1886046

Replying To dstuction:  "Back to Back is hard to do but Dublin are still very hot favourites for Sam this year.
If ye do happen to get beat it wont be because of your panel because injuries or not ye have the top panel in Ireland by a long way.

If ye do get beat it will be due to tactics and hunger. That is why the back to back is so hard. everyone wants to knock you off your perch and its up to your own players to leave no stone unturned in training and test matches.

I think the way the draw goes mean ye will be playing Cork/Donegal in the quarters and Kerry in the semis. If I was Dublin I would hope to play Donegal. I think ye would win but it would be a challenge for ye which is something this Dublin team need I think."
Why would you want to play Donegal if you were the Dubs? Surely this is the best time to play Cork, fell away to Kildare last year and Tipp this year. I think the Dubs would bury Cork alive at the moment.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 19/07/2016 10:28:04    1886063

Replying To ZeitChrist:  "I don't see anyone who can realistically beat them at the moment. Yes, Dublin have lost two influential players, but other teams in the country are dealing with their own problems too. Dublin seem to have Kerry's number at this stage and Kerry seem a bit spooked by that fact. Donegal have some good footballers, but the sideline is a disaster. Mayo, while showing signs of improvement, are a long way off their best. Tyrone are a coming team and have a man on the sideline who is probably capable of outfoxing Jim Gavin, but then the argument could be made that his group of players might still be a bit green and wouldn't be quite at Dublin's tempo just yet. So there's nothing really to suggest as of yet that any of the other contenders are capable of knocking Dublin off their perch when push comes to shove."
Nicely summed up.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 19/07/2016 10:48:23    1886078

So it seems people outside Kerry and Dublin and the verdict is unanimous - Kerry are scared of Dublin and thus have no chance of competing with them. Thanks very much lads when we see Dublin playing the poor mouth ignore them and just get the neutrals unbiased opinion

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 19/07/2016 12:24:23    1886176

Replying To KYTitletown:  "So it seems people outside Kerry and Dublin and the verdict is unanimous - Kerry are scared of Dublin and thus have no chance of competing with them. Thanks very much lads when we see Dublin playing the poor mouth ignore them and just get the neutrals unbiased opinion"
I think "no chance" is stretching it a bit, I'd probably make the Dubs 70/30 favourites in a head-to-head. Having seen the main runners and riders once or twice by now, I agree the Dubs are likely to get consecutive titles. Well, aside Galway. I've seen nothing from them. I think I'd like to see them come from nowhere and blitz it. But like I said I haven't seen them play yet this season.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 19/07/2016 12:32:55    1886185

Rory O Carroll
Jack McCaffrey
James McCarthy
Alan Brogan

I honestly don't know if we can do back to backs missing all these players.

Take Lee Keegan Colm Boyle and Ger Caff out of Mayo and I don't think they'd be as confident likewise any other county really

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/07/2016 13:44:59    1886278

Replying To TheHermit:  "Think you might be mistaking Kerry for Meath there boyo, terrified of the Dubs would you get up the yard! We're Kerry ffs!!!!"
Nope not in slightest, Kerry are terrified, nay petrified of dubs. As has been seen lately, Dublin will annihilate Kerry should they meet, so you are right to fear them.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/07/2016 13:51:06    1886286

Replying To KYTitletown:  "So it seems people outside Kerry and Dublin and the verdict is unanimous - Kerry are scared of Dublin and thus have no chance of competing with them. Thanks very much lads when we see Dublin playing the poor mouth ignore them and just get the neutrals unbiased opinion"
Id give Derry a better chance of beating dubs than Kerry at this stage. The scars are their, what's more is the players seem to know it too, this Kerry team are afraid of Dublin. And anyone saying anything else is deluded.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/07/2016 13:54:18    1886289

Replying To avonali:  "Lads, lads , lads will ye stop with cute hoorism for Jaysus' sake!!!! It's unbecoming for us Dubs to indulge in that short of sh*t*. We are favourites and rightly so. Jamesy Mc will be alright. WE have the players and the ability to win the double. We have one of the best set of forwatds the game has ever seen. I am supremely confident we will do back to backs. Tyrone, Cork Kerry mayo.....I don't care who we get or when we get 'em...we will beat them...and beat them well."
At last a proper dub supporter, I despise cute hoorism ,I hated Kerry for it, thankfully us in Meath never went for it when we were on top, same for cork/Tyrone. Etc, its very undub like, I mean do you really have to borrow the worst Kerry trait of them all?? , be happy that you have the best team in country by some distance, and if Kerry kept it kicked out to u they'd be lucky, enjoy it while it lasts, cause despite what some might think it wont last forever, dont tarnish it with cute hoorism.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/07/2016 14:00:33    1886293

Replying To jimski:  "Well said RD.

The Dubs will have us feeling sorry for them soon!"
Exactly, Jesus wept.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/07/2016 14:01:36    1886295

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "Why would you want to play Donegal if you were the Dubs? Surely this is the best time to play Cork, fell away to Kildare last year and Tipp this year. I think the Dubs would bury Cork alive at the moment."
That's what I mean. I think the Dubs need a battle. That's not to say that Cork wont beat Donegal but I feel Donegal could put it up to the Dubs better and so would be a benefit to them going forward. If Dubs hammer Donegal/Cork in the quarters and then face Kerry in the semis without having a competitive match then they could be caught cold (Donegal 2014)

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 19/07/2016 14:13:19    1886317

Replying To royaldunne:  "Id give Derry a better chance of beating dubs than Kerry at this stage. The scars are their, what's more is the players seem to know it too, this Kerry team are afraid of Dublin. And anyone saying anything else is deluded."
You see this is what outsiders think of Kerry that we are less regarded than the team who finish 6th in Division 2 and haven't won Ulster since 1998 only making 1 other Ulster Final (from memory - 2011) They did beat us in a league final before anyone mentions it

So the Dublin posters ignore me if you must, but please heed the neutral view like this Meath man who I assume doesn't want ye to win

I knew people didn't fear this Kerry team but my God I didn't realise we had fallen in neutral's estimations as far as RoyalDunne indicates

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 19/07/2016 14:29:01    1886338

Replying To dstuction:  "That's what I mean. I think the Dubs need a battle. That's not to say that Cork wont beat Donegal but I feel Donegal could put it up to the Dubs better and so would be a benefit to them going forward. If Dubs hammer Donegal/Cork in the quarters and then face Kerry in the semis without having a competitive match then they could be caught cold (Donegal 2014)"
And who will Kerry have faced in the build up to the semi final?

Not that there is a team we could face that would resemble anywhere near the Blue Tidal Wave on August 28

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 19/07/2016 14:34:30    1886345

Replying To KYTitletown:  "And who will Kerry have faced in the build up to the semi final?

Not that there is a team we could face that would resemble anywhere near the Blue Tidal Wave on August 28"
Are we not a Juggernaut anymore?

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 19/07/2016 14:59:09    1886374

Replying To KYTitletown:  "You see this is what outsiders think of Kerry that we are less regarded than the team who finish 6th in Division 2 and haven't won Ulster since 1998 only making 1 other Ulster Final (from memory - 2011) They did beat us in a league final before anyone mentions it

So the Dublin posters ignore me if you must, but please heed the neutral view like this Meath man who I assume doesn't want ye to win

I knew people didn't fear this Kerry team but my God I didn't realise we had fallen in neutral's estimations as far as RoyalDunne indicates"
Nothing would give me greater pleasure, (now that Meath are out) to see Kerry, mayo, Tyrone, Donegal, Derry, tipp, Galway even Westmeath to beat them, but it just wont happen unfortunately, every other county is falling further and further behind the blue juggernaut, and to say otherwise is very disingenuous of dub supporters, they all know it, and are only saying it so the players wont get complacent, which is only thing that may catch them out.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/07/2016 15:00:09    1886378

Replying To KYTitletown:  "You see this is what outsiders think of Kerry that we are less regarded than the team who finish 6th in Division 2 and haven't won Ulster since 1998 only making 1 other Ulster Final (from memory - 2011) They did beat us in a league final before anyone mentions it

I knew people didn't fear this Kerry team but my God I didn't realise we had fallen in neutral's estimations as far as RoyalDunne indicates"
Ah don't mind royaldunne, he is naturally petrified of the Dubs being a Meath man! :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 19/07/2016 15:15:47    1886394